Morritt's Tortuga Club

Morritt's Tortgua Club: Fees/charges?

Mar 14, 2009

I am new to Redweek.com. My own timeshares only have annual fees - once I pay this, there are no other fees. Based on the reviews for Morritt's Tortuga Club, it appears that owners not only pay an annual fee but are also charged for electrical use and a daily use fee? Is this true? And, if so, why is this not charged ahead of time through the Annual fee?

Thanks to whomever responds!

-Rich

Richard G.
Apr 06, 2009

The resort does charge each individual unit for the electricity used. Electricity is very expensive in Cayman, and if it wasn't charged individually, I think a ton of $ would be wasted with people just running the ac full blast with the doors open. We have been going to Morritt's for 18 years and have never felt the charges were outrageous. Last year we spent $60 for the week and we kept the place plenty cool.

I don't remember ever paying any other daily charges except tips for housekeeping, of course in addition to the annual maintenance fees.

Maggie H.
Apr 09, 2009

Dear Maggie,

Thanks for your response! My wife and and decided to "bite the bullet" and we are heading to Morritt's for our 20th anniversary this coming October. After we return, I will post a review.

As to the extra electrical charge, I assume that owner's fees are reduced since it does not cover "average" unit electricity? I hope so for owner's sake!

Thanks again,

-Rich

Richard G.
Apr 27, 2009