Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Anyone know about rental companies recommended by Mayan Palace?

Oct 29, 2014

Hi all. this is my first year with this TimeShare. I tried calling the companies in the Mayan list... but while waiting in line I found this forum. As far as I can see there is not even one success in renting your weeks??!! if not with this companies, did anybody find another one?

Xrs R.
Oct 29, 2014

Did you pay any of these companies an upfront fee to rent out your unit? If so, that's a big no-no in the timeshare world. Once they have your money, there's zero incentive for them to try to rent it out. Even if they do try, there's no guarantee that it will rent out. At best, all they do is list it on their website for rental.

If you want to try to rent it out, advertise here on RedWeek, E-Bay, Craigslist, My Resort Network, or Timeshare Users Group (aka"TUG). Some are free to list while others charge a modest listing fee.

Also be aware that there is not a huge demand for rentals in Mexico right now. In fact, many owners are renting out their unit for less than what they're paying in maintenance fees. So be realistic in what you charge for the rental (ditto goes for when you try to sell).

Lance C.
Oct 29, 2014

I have never heard of anyone having success renting weeks out through any of the Mayan suggested agencies. They seem to take your listing fee and that is the end of that. People are successful in renting but generally only make enough to cover the MF's and maybe a little extra if they are lucky and have a fairly high demand week.

Tracey S.
Oct 30, 2014

Sorry to tell you but you'll be lucky to break even on the m/f if you can find a renter. Market is waaaay over stocked. If you bought for rental cancel it. Let me know if you don't know how to cancel. Stay away from anyone who has an upfront fee.....it's a rathole.

JW

xrsr wrote: