Buying, Renting, and Selling Timeshares

Was recently deeded 2 Marriott timeshares. Could use some advice

Nov 13, 2015

I am completely new to timeshare. My parents recently transferred ownership to deeded units both at the Royal Palms in Orlando. They are each 2 bedrooms, one in the red season and one in white. I have minimal interest in vacationing in Orlando. My understanding is I have 2 options. I can sign up for Interval International and exchange the units along with paying the various transfer fees. If I go this route do I have a reasonable option of exchanging for other Marriott locations (or other similar type resorts)? Alternately, I can opt to enroll these units (paying $2,395) and receive 3,800 Points. Looking at the various points charts for resorts I am interested in (for example the locations in Aruba or Hawaii) it looks like I would have enough points to book something.

Questions - Would you recommend I convert to points? It seems there are some downsides if you have a home resort you really like but I am not sure it applies in my case. If I were to enroll, should I try increase my total points to be above 4,000 (move from Owner to Select level)? Is it worth it? Could I just buy these points resale or is there going to be an issue with combining enrollment points and points from a resale or even just buying direct from Marriott?

Thank you

David P.
Nov 14, 2015

No offence to Redweek, but I would copy and paste your whole question and put it on the www.tug2.net website. There are a number of free forums, including Marriott, which are monitored by serious timeshare owners. They have years of owning experience and are experts at the in's and out's of timesharing. The website is free to participate, and you can get help with just about any question. Good luck.

John I.
Nov 14, 2015