Marriott's Monarch Oceanfront in Sea Pines

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Monarch Oceanfront in Sea Pines

Hilton Head Island, South Carolina

4.3

Out of 5
23 reviews
  • 5

    (27)

  • 4

    (10)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (3)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Monarch Oceanfront in Sea Pines lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for john7306
    By john7306 Jul 31, 2016

    Our oceanfront unit looks directly out to the beach and ocean. We have observed dolphins going by from our double-wide deck. This is a smaller resort, but has everything you could want.

  • Avatar for jamesm1709
    By jamesm1709 Dec 30, 2015

    Location, Location. Beautiful beach views, steps away from the Ocean. Very relaxing. Great staff.

  • Avatar for l0410z
    By l0410z Jul 26, 2014

    Important to me for a resort on the ocean is with my back to the ocean, facing the resort, what do I see. At the Monarch I see the tropics with little cement. I then have my back to the resort and face the ocean and I see a very short walk to the ocean. The resort doesn't have the standard Marriottt look and feel It is a smaller property in the heart of Sea Pines, the more tropical looking area on Hilton Head.

    This all comes at a price. It is an older timeshare, I think Marriotts first. The second bedroom is small with 2 single beds so it sleeps 6 instead of 8.

    To be cliche ....if it is about location, location, location...

  • Avatar for steve177
    By steve177 Dec 7, 2013

    We have stayed here for the past 5 years and love it. The beach is wonderful and it is nice being in a quiet section of Sea Pines yet within easy walking or biking distance of all the action. Although this is an older resort, the recent refurbishments make it feel like new. Typical Marriott quality and service. We actually enjoy this resort more than the Grand Ocean, Barony Beach Club and Surfwatch, where we also stay regularly.

  • Avatar for lindak430
    By lindak430 Oct 2, 2013

    We have been coming here for 6 years and rent the same unit. This is an amazing place for a vacation. The front desk staff is amazing. If you need a repair of some kind they are very prompt. Remodeled this year and it is beautiful. love the lay out of units. Overall the entire monarch land is clean and the beach is awesome and well taken care of. Alot of things to do in sea pines and on the island... You can't go wrong in visiting here....

  • Avatar for rick1151
    By rick1151 Jan 22, 2012

    My late husband and I purchased this RCI timeshare on the secondary market several years ago. All of the updating and remodeling is complete and quite nice. We loved going to Monarch and usually spent two weeks there. Unfortunately, I am unable to use the two weeks this year because of the memories that are a little painful to re-live. Still its a beautiful property and has many wonderful features and attractions, for all ages- all within a short distance of the resort.

  • Avatar for greer
    By greer Updated Mar 1, 2010

    Marriott's Monarch on the ocean at Sea Pines has been completely upgraded and refurbished. Villas look and feel good! Marriott's supreme bedding package is in place and is great.

    An established garden area adds to the sub-tropical feel. A relaxing, comfortable, fun place to be.

  • Avatar for lstearns
    By lstearns Oct 18, 2009

    We're not new to HH and we've stayed in many timeshare units on the island, but this one is one of the best- but then Marriott just knows how to do it right! While the complex appeared to be full, even though it was October, it was quiet, uncrowded and wonderful. Can't say enough about the cleanliness of the common areas and the immaculate grounds! Great to have bikes and beach chairs to rent so reasonably! The location is great- can walk on paved paths in either direction and see homes, nature, golf, etc. And so easy to get to shopping, restaurants too- we really enjoyed the restaurant next to the property for lunch at the pool- great menu and great prices! While Monarch may be old in years, it's definitely been well maintained and managed. We're already talking about next year!

  • Avatar for raym9
    By raym9 Updated Jan 23, 2016

    We have stayed at Marriott Monarch and Marriott Grande Ocean and we like Monarch much better. Monarch's location in Sea Pines Plantation is far superior. Grande Ocean is off plantation and you get a pass to get into Sea Pines gates. Monarch is away from the crowds but within wallking distance of Harbor Town with bike paths in every direction. Tennis is at Sea Pines Tennis Club, one of the best in the country. Monarch is cozy, much smaller, more lush landscaping with less concrete. Grande Ocean is very nice, but I feel like I am overlooking the local public pool. But everyone has their own taste. Monarch has the typical Marriott features with granite counters, pools, hot tubs, etc. The only place we stay on Hilton Head is Marriott Monarch.

  • Avatar for donw126
    By donw126 Dec 11, 2007

    We have owned week 46 at Monarch for over 20 years and the latest refurb. is the best yet! The style and comfort is great. The new bedding is particularly nice. We love the convenience to Harbor Town, as well as restaurants and shops.

    The new "personal concierge" is a nice feature and he arranged our tee times at preferred rates. When our kids were small, we felt comfortable letting them ride their bikes on the paths throughout Sea Pines.

  • Avatar for henry346
    By henry346 Jan 5, 2007

    This is a great place for a family beach vacation. The facility is oceanfront with all units walking distance to the beach and pools. The ocean at sea pines is so calm it's like a warm pool in the summer which is great for families with small kids.

    There is a bus/shuttle to town and other attractions so you don't need to drive. Better yet, rent bikes and take the bike trails to town for dinner and the nightly summer kid concerts.

    The Marriott also has lots of weekly activities for kids and adults. Can't forget to mention the great tennis and golf as well. We really had a wonderful vacation and would highly recommend it.

  • Avatar for sallyh53
    By sallyh53 Updated Jun 7, 2006

    We have been going to the Monarch for five years and find it the most relaxing place we have ever vacationed. This year we visited the local theater and found it topnotch. It will join the list of things we like to do on the island.

    This resort is not for the person who wants to be constantly on the go, but for those who would like to enjoy the beach, ocean, sea life, and nature. Kudos to Marriott for maintaining one of their first timeshares!

  • Avatar for schultzie6
    By schultzie6 May 24, 2006

    Fantastic Beachfront Location - Quality Resort.

    How can this resort be any better?? Marriott has recently announced that ALL Sea Pines condominiums will be completely refurbished from late November 2006 through March 2007.

  • Avatar for taxman
    By taxman May 6, 2006

    We traded to get down to Hilton Head in the gold season with two other couples. This is a great time of year - uncrowded, quiet, temperate. We own a Platinum season at another Marriott HH resort. This is a very old and tired property that needs a major face lift. Marriott management is competent but not attentive like they are at newer properties like Grande Ocean, Barony and Surf Watch. That said, upon arrival we were assigned to a low level suite that was dark and at the far end of the building away from beach. I asked the front desk for another suite and was given a top floor over the lobby which was the best location of any - we were very happy. Suites themselves are adequate and old feeling. The property does not have a "sundries" shop or an outside snack bar like other Marriotts. Other than a couple soda pop vending machines you cannot get anything for snacks here - not a bag of chips or candy bar. Fitness facility is OK. Parking just adequate - seems like thee would not be enough spaces if the property was filled. The entrance security was never manned all week - perhaps the Sea Pines gate is believed to be sufficient? We would not trade to come back here unless or until there are major renovations.

  • Avatar for william1022
    By william1022 Nov 24, 2005

    We are owners here and have been coming to Monarch for 20 years. As an older resort, you might expect it to be well worn and run down. This is definitely not the case with this resort. Several complete renovations (with accompanying assessments of the owners) have been completed over the years with another scheduled for next year. The beach is marvelous and the bike rentals make going riding on the beach extremely convenient. The Beach Club next door is the perfect place for an afternoon cocktail. While this does not have all the amenities of some of the other Marriott resorts, we always look forward to coming back.

  • Avatar for jeanne226
    By jeanne226 Sep 6, 2004

    We just came back and absolutely love this location. The new exercise room is a great addition and all of the brand new upgrades are exquisite. Marriott is first class.

  • Avatar for avery2
    By avery2 Aug 28, 2004

    The units have been recently refurbished, but the public areas/ halls/pool areas are quite tired. Lots of leaves and debris in the pool and hot tub. Peeling paint, etc.. not typical of other Marriotts. Still, the beachfront location is excellent, and we would probably return.

  • Avatar for ctbagley
    By ctbagley Nov 19, 2003

    Even though this is not a new property, the location is enough to make it get five stars. You are in Sea Pines Resort so most of your neighbors are upper-range homes. This means the beach is not crowded! Sea Pines Preserve is 5 minutes away where you have 650 acres of incredible birding and wildlife spotting. The units are spacious, well furnished (but have really FIRM beds which I do not like). The landscaping is really very nice, peaceful and perfectly kept. This is one of the most relaxing resorts I have stayed.

    Bike rentals, golf, tennis etc are all very nearby. You can use other Marriot facilities for working out. Monarch has two nice pools, three hot tubs and a beautiful fountain pool that is quite large.

    Our favorite pastime was going to South Beach (five minutes away) to watch dolphins playing/fishing about 15 FEET from the beach. It was incredible--they were so close!

    We will definitely go back to this resort/area for another vacation.

  • Avatar for housefrau
    By housefrau Mar 2, 2003

    Monarch at Sea Pines has the best location of the resorts I have visited! It is nestled in Sea Pines with multiple golf courses, 15 miles of bike trails, tennis courts and close to Harbor Town. It is right on the beach with a beach bar right next door.

    It is not brand new but that adds to its character as it's landscaping is well done and well developed. The units were recently refurnished and are bright and spacious.

    If you can not find something to do here for you and your children, you haven't walked out of the unit!

  • Avatar for rhoppy
    By rhoppy Jan 31, 2003

    Great setting on oceanfront in Sea Pines. An older (20 years?) property, but very attractive, comfortable and well-maintained.

  • Avatar for ejfrank
    By ejfrank Jan 12, 2003

    Beautiful setting, units are good size and well done, even though this is an older property not purpose-built by Marriott it is definitely a great resort.

  • Avatar for heatherdcl
    By heatherdcl Jan 5, 2003

    Although this is a Marriott, it is an older property than many of the others and so somewhat less pristine. Yet, the units are spacious and bright, the grounds are lovely and the ocean, although not viewable from most of the units, is steps away.

  • Avatar for monarch
    By monarch Updated Dec 26, 2002

    Spectacular Oceanfront Views:

    This Location Offers The Very Best Of Everything With The Guarantee You Can Repeat The Experience - Year After Year:

    Marriott Will Organize Every Activity - At Your Request.

    Golf - Tennis - Health & Fitness - Boating - Horseback - Bicycle Riding - Touring Savannah - Gourmet Dining - And....

    A Host Of Other Activities:

Back to reviews
Resort review