Hollywood Sands Resort

Hollywood, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Hollywood Sands Resort

Hollywood, Florida

3.7

Out of 5
3 reviews
  • 5

    (0)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hollywood Sands Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for donna2351
    By donna2351 Updated May 14, 2009

    This is a great small resort right on the beach and totally renovated and reopened on 2/16/08. We liked so much we brought 2 weeks back to back. Hollywood has totally redone the beachfront and boardwalk too.

  • Avatar for georger78
    By georger78 Updated Feb 14, 2007

    Am an owner of week 17. The facility is currently under major renovation, bringing it up to the high standards of the fabulous new renovations of the Hollywood Beach Front by the City. It is next door to the new Marriott. We are sad we can not use it this year, but are excited about making a pleasant facility even nicer. Have enjoyed this facility for twelve years.

  • Avatar for kekouri
    By kekouri Updated Mar 30, 2005

    3/1/05: Well, the predictions mentioned below in 2002 have become true. Right next door to the Sands, the HoJo is transformed into the Marriott Hollywood Resort. Looks like 39 flavors of HoJo ice cream will now be a Benehana's restaurant. Also will be a standard restaurant. If they provide the standard Marriott Breakfast Buffet (Egg station, bagels, Lox), this would be excellent. Not 100 feet from your Sands apartment, roll out of bed and enjoy a breakfast buffet. Opens in May 2005...just in time for the 'quiet season'

    10/01/04: Units and resort continue to look great. Unfortunately, the Howard Johnson Plaza (hi rise) next door seems to have lost its franchise. Parts were open, other parts under renovations. HoJo resturant now closed. Ruffys across the street is OK but costs more. Also try Capones Flicker light, and some of the others S on A1A. Marthas (N on A1A is very good)

    3/14/03- Added this date: Unfortunately, there are some owners that appear to inflate their resorts ratings. I believe this does a diservice to Redweek and its members. I own none in Hollywood, but have been in all but the Neptune. Although the 5 starred Diplomat (it deserves 5 stars- but I don't think is a T/S) is the top, the only one (T/S) at this time that could be considered good to excellent is the Sands. I would look for the SSL (Superior Small Lodging) winners award, as this independent group rates small lodging in all of Fl and some of Ga. If the rating inflation of resorts continue, Redweeks rating will mean nothing.

    10/02/02- Non owner- This small Superior Small Lodging winner is a very nice, clean, well managed lodging. There are BBQs, each unit has a small kitchen, the front desk will help with tours and any problems you may have. Rooms a bit smaller than average 5 star Gold Crown resorts, but you will spend more time out- walking along B'walk.

    Near areas where in line skates are allowed. Walk to many good resturants. HoJo next door only fair, but future says this will become a Marriott Hotel.

    I would return here. Every unit gets one free spot to park. Laundry...............................

    This fully guarded Boward beach might be surpassed (maybe) by Ft Laud - but no others in Broward County or any N of Palm Beach County-or S

Back to reviews
Resort review