Hyatt Beach House Resort

Key West, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Hyatt Beach House Resort

Key West, Florida

4.1

Out of 5
15 reviews
  • 5

    (20)

  • 4

    (16)

  • 3

    (9)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hyatt Beach House Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for marilynb162
    By marilynb162 Updated Sep 2, 2016

    I loved my week at the Hyatt Beach House! The entire resort is built around a gorgeous pool It has a beachy feel with sand and cabanas. Our large screened porch overlooked the pool and palm trees. And we had water views on the opposite side. You can walk along the water's edge and there are fishing piers if you want to do that. The tiki bar serves food poolside and we enjoyed lunch outside. We drove to downtown Key West most days and did all the touristy things. One day we took the trolley and got on and off at various sights. We ate at Sloppy Joe's, Jimmy Buffet's place, saw the Truman White House, and the Mel Fisher museum. Several nights we went to Mallory Square for the entertainment and to see the spectacular sunset. Sleeping was great back at the Beach House. Peaceful and quiet. We rested well and returned home refreshed. I'd love to go back and do it all over again.

  • Avatar for jgira12
    By jgira12 Mar 20, 2015

    Well, what can I say. If you are looking for a 'tropical' vacation, this is not it. It gives new definition to the term 'semi-tropical'....sure, the landscape and weather are good, but oh the noise from planes taking off, cars/trucks, and worst of all EMS/police sirens all day long. The Coast Guard is close by; the international airport is close by; and the hospital is too...a perfect storm of urban noise pollution.

    The 'resort' is located about 100 yards from the main highway onto the island...not isolated in any way. It is impossible to make a left turn to go north out of the property...I discovered if I cut through the neighboring Marriot grounds I could then make a left to head north on hwy 1.

    This land never should have been used for development...a city park would have been better use. The staff was great, but the place is showing its age...rust dripping from steel fasteners (why no stainless steel?) on the exterior. All the faucets are set to slow spray, to conserve water I am sure, but it is an irritation in the shower. Our microwave would only work if we held down the start button continuously....yikes. Yes, I know, call maintenance, but who wants a contractor repairing/switching out a microwave oven during your week vacation?

    Won't be going back.

  • Avatar for tomj675
    By tomj675 Feb 24, 2015

    Just returned from 4 days at this resort. It has lost its luster from the reviews in 2009 - 2014. I guess if you are there with kids it is probably fine because you don't have to worry that they are going to hurt anything. The pool was definitely nice especially for kids.

    There is no garbage disposal which was a pain and the lighting in the kitchen is very poor.

    The screened in porch is very nice.

    The lighting in the bathrooms is unbelievable dim and the fans are so noisy that you have to turn up the volume on the TV in the living room. Speaking of noise, you can hear everything from the next apartment, especially when you are in the bathroom. The place was probably very great when it was new, but it really needs to be updated from top to bottom including the bed in the master bedroom (the only one we used) The bedding was quite old and low end.

    The pier is a very nice feature with a nice couple of benches to sit on to watch the sunset at least until it goes behind the building at the Marriott.

    The location is far from where all the action is so if you want to experience eating downtown and just participating in the fun activities that Key West is known for.....its a bit of a pain. It would be great if they had a shuttle down to the Hyatt downtown or provided parking if you drive down.

    The staff was very friendly and there was no pressure to go to the "sales pitch" meeting.

  • Avatar for kenl219
    By kenl219 Jul 14, 2014

    Just got back from a week at the resort - family of 4 (incl. a 2 1/2 year old). We loved this place! Clean, spacious, great location. The pool is really nice for young ones. It's like the beach, only better - clean and clear! Also lots of sand to play in. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Avatar for renee514
    By renee514 Oct 7, 2013

    Fantastic resort with Hyatt quality, beautiful pool with zero entry. Great updated clean units. Comfortable recliners by pool as well as on the sand. Love the screened in porch for morning coffee and dining al fresco. If we weren't downtown we were relaxing in luxury at this resort! Brought friends and they enjoyed it as well.

  • Avatar for richardk238
    By richardk238 May 27, 2012

    Fantastic waterfront views, fishing, pool is awesome. Bar by the pool is nice, recliners are fantastic. You never want to go to the beach, the pool's sand is awesome and never gets hot. i bought a unit after staying here. Nice contrast to downtown.

  • Avatar for bill647
    By bill647 Jun 11, 2009

    Geat Views, a pool you never want to get out of. BBQ pits, louge chairs poolside as well as in the sand, helpful staff, a dock with boat and water sports rentals, large well furnished units, clean modern what else could you ask for. We have stayed here for Fantasy Fest 6 times. Had a great time, met fun people would highly recommend.

  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Updated May 10, 2009

    Hyatt Beach House Resort is one of three ingenuous Hyatt properties within Key West. Those guests who have matured beyond adolescence will appreciate the location away from the hordes in town center. The on- property pier offers a unique sunset vantange. This property is clearly the most peaceful of the three fantastic Hyatt properties.

    Hyatt Beach House Resort is a premier property. Hyatt clearly dealt a knock-out punch to Marriott with all three properties. If one is thinking about adding a Hyatt Key West timeshare to the stable, be certain to visit/exchange into all three Hyatts. All three are sophisticated elegance, but different clients will observe three different environments.

    Skip the Marriott Resort in Key Largo and head west to Key West.

  • Avatar for debbie492
    By debbie492 Updated Aug 26, 2008

    One of the best features of this property is that almost all units have a wonderful water view. This is hard to get in Key West and this property is able deliver on the water views for all the units due to the staggered lay out of the units. There is also a screened porch that is fully furnished that is wonderful for enjoying a cocktail or dinner while you watch the sunset. Also a rare thing for Key West. The Beach House was decorated beautifully and was very comofortable for our family. The living room was large and the kitchen was stocked for all our needs. Both the bedrooms were large and the bathrooms were wonderful. I loved relaxing in the master bath Hot Tub after having a cool drink while the sun set on the porch. We would go back to the Hyatt Beach House in a heart beat.

    We liked the location, as it was just far enough away for the Mallory Street congestion to be quiet. We found it very easy to jump in our car and go anywhere since Key West is only a few miles long. We even rode our bikes to several locations. My son and husband went deep sea fishing and caught dinner one day. Another day we all went to the Dry Torutugas to see Fort Jefferson. We also toured the "Little White House" which was Presidents Trumans retreat, the Key West Aquairum and the Mel Fisher exhibit. Key West had many actitives for both adults and children.

  • Avatar for jamesm263
    By jamesm263 Mar 4, 2006

    We had a wonderful stay in mid-February, and found the Beach House a clean and comfortable facility. The only negatives were dirty glassware and very low quality toilet tissue. The concierge, Jim McMillen, was extremely helpful in making activity arrangements for us.

  • Avatar for james2702
    By james2702 Jan 29, 2005

    We think Hyatt Beach House is Fabulous! Quieter than the other two Hyatt properties, but not far from the action. You cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Avatar for seapiner
    By seapiner Dec 15, 2004

    Hi,

    Awesome resort, great location, great pool, great screened porch, great layout of the unit.

    Does it get any better than this?

    Everything on the Island is easily accessable, but you come back to a unit that is quite and peaceful.

    We have been timesharing for over 25 years, and this is one is on our "top 10 list".

  • Avatar for joan130
    By joan130 May 27, 2004

    I was there in May for Mother's day. Loved it!! The pool was beautiful and very clean!! Great location. I loved the layout of the condo. Quiet and clean!!!

  • Avatar for cinlou7
    By cinlou7 Oct 17, 2003

    Very clean ,Very quiet Very nice . Great screened porches, 5-10 min drive to Mallory Square

  • Avatar for ringlese
    By ringlese Mar 6, 2003

    Stayed at Beach House last week and thought it was a great resort. Where else can you go in Us and have 83 degree the end of Feb?

Back to reviews
Resort review