Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Key West, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Key West, Florida

3.8

Out of 5
13 reviews
  • 5

    (16)

  • 4

    (9)

  • 3

    (7)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (3)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for williamp511
    By williamp511 Nov 27, 2016

    we have owned at Sun set for many years and it consider it as coming home every year. The location can't be beat, the staff and grounds have always beat our expectations. Our unit faces directly, unobstructed of the gulf. If you got any closer you would need a boat. With the access of a parking garage, Truman, and walking to any where you wanted to be. Who could ask for anything more.

  • Avatar for janetp278
    By janetp278 Updated Mar 2, 2016

    We own here and like everything - location, location, location. Close to everything, but seculed enough to be quiet and private. Don't need a car. We walk or bike. Best place to bike is thru Truman Annex; shortcut to Fastos grocery is thru the Annex. Many pluses staying at Hyatt Sunset Harbor :-)

  • Avatar for vincentm116
    By vincentm116 Updated Jan 20, 2016

    Beautiful resort. Have stayed there many times, all the rooms are beautiful and everything is right there. So nice to walk around corner to Mallory Sq. Duvall street just around the other corner!! Will be back!

  • Avatar for stevep352
    By stevep352 Updated Feb 13, 2015

    Stayed here many times, but not an owner. Staff has always been nothing but pleasant, friendly, and professional to us. But then again, I don't expect to be treated like I'm the CEO of the place either. We actually engage in conversation with them every day.

    The studio units have plenty of room. When we want a stove, hot plate or counter space, we get a bigger unit. Never had a problem with the WI-FI. No need to rent a car if you stay here. Everything is walking distance.

  • Avatar for ken1193
    By ken1193 Updated Jan 29, 2015

    Studio units here are relatively small, with no stove or hot plate, no counter space and no sink except for the bathroom sink, although the king size bed was a pleasant surprise. Much more like a motel room than a condo unit, actually. We were renting directly from an owner; no other unit size was available to rent. I believe this "studio" may actually have been the smaller portion of a "lock-off" unit. Small dormitory-type "mini-fridge". WiFi did not work inside the unit at any time during our week long stay (I reported the problem, but it was never addressed) --- not a big deal, as we certainly weren't in Key West to be spending time on the computer. $45.00 additional charge per week for parking in the garage next door (very convenient actually; we had no objection or problem with that fee). Front desk staff seemed disengaged and disinterested, but we had no special requests and little contact anyhow.

    This is certainly the best Hyatt location by far among the four Hyatt properties (only three of which are actually timeshares) in Key West, but the front desk staff seemed to consistently exhibit some "attitude". Housekeeping personnel tried to enter our unit at 8:00 a.m. on check-out day (check-out time is not until 10:00 a.m.), despite the obvious "Do Not Disturb" tag prominently hung on our door. No big deal; we politely sent her away and checked out around 9:15 a.m.

    This is a great Key West location and we thoroughly enjoyed our week in KW. The unexpected staff "attitude" here was a bit of a surprise and a bit of a disappointment for a Hyatt-quality property, but we would return (and we already plan to do so) --- but certainly NOT in a "studio" unit ever again.

  • Avatar for melissas538
    By melissas538 Jul 5, 2013

    We stayed at the Sunset Harbor over Spring Break. Our first time to Key West and this was an amazing spot to stay! Right at the water yet so close to everything you want to do in Key West. You don't need a car if staying at this resort - everything is walkable and bikeable. Beautiful private pool. Definitely will be back!

  • Avatar for johna324
    By johna324 May 6, 2013

    Don't listen to reviews on to small studios they are perfect and well appointed The staff is great it is very clean and close to everything one of the best

  • Avatar for j1390
    By j1390 May 19, 2011

    My wife and I have owned and stayed at Sunset Harbor for 13 years for a total of 20 times. We have contued to return to this HYATT resort because we have always had an excellent time. While the big unit is very nice we have found that the studio is about the sieze of a regular hotel room. We have used both parts of the unit to use our points and get 2 weeks of use in 1 year. The property is very close to the " action" end of Key West but far enough away so that it does not get any of the noise from Duval Street.

  • Avatar for nitao
    By nitao Updated Jul 16, 2015

    We have owned at the Hyatt Sunset Harbor since 1995. It is the best of the best as timeshares go! The resort lives up to what you would expect from the name Hyatt. The units are clean and comfortable, a getaway to the tropics. The location is the best, within walking distance to just about everything and right on the Gulf. The views of the sunset are spectacular from our master bedroom deck. Quiet, but located in the heart of all the activity.

  • Avatar for richardb241
    By richardb241 May 28, 2006

    We have been going to Sunset Harbor Resort now for 10 years. Every year we had a great time. Key West is a great place and so is Hyatt's Sunset Harbor Resort.

  • Avatar for melissa581
    By melissa581 Dec 8, 2004

    We love the location of this resort! Mallory Square is right outside your door and Duval Street is within walking distance. Rooms are clean and well decorated. The pool is very nice. We stayed during the summer and unfortunately had to leave early due to Hurricane Charley. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Avatar for melnimmo
    By melnimmo Aug 17, 2004

    Very nice quiet place to stay. Staff very helpful. Only down side is the resort has no onsite snack or drink bar. You have to bring drinks and snacks to the pool yourself. Besides that it is a very lovely place. The 1 bedroom units are very nicely appointed.

  • Avatar for cinlou7
    By cinlou7 Nov 9, 2003

    Just returned from Sunset Harbor, Well maintained property, friendly staff. Very quiet And only 2 blocks to crazyness of Duval St. I would give resort an 8 out of 10

Back to reviews
Resort review