Kamaole Beach Club

Kihei, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of Kamaole Beach Club

Kihei, Hawaii

3.3

Out of 5
16 reviews
  • 5

    (2)

  • 4

    (9)

  • 3

    (6)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Kamaole Beach Club lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for irenek43
    By irenek43 Aug 16, 2012

    Couldn't ask for a better location on Maui! Gorgeous beaches within walking distance as is shopping and good restaurants. Very friendly staff as well.

  • Avatar for cindye87
    By cindye87 Dec 22, 2011

    I have been a KBC owner for more than 20 years and have been visiting Kihea since '89. I've seen a lot of things evolve at KBC. And it has evolved into a wonderful place. Others are right, if you are looking for the high rise and the frills this is not the place for you. But, if you love a nice place to come home to in Maui this is the one. The only appliance you need to take is your hair dryer. Everything else you could need is there! We have a fabulous staff. We have a terrific board. Our units have been and continue to be renovated just beautifully. The grounds are in great shape. Best of all, we have both charcoal and gas grills on the property now.

    This truly is a home away from home and a place to totally relax. It is a perfect place to bring your children. Mine enjoyed many trips to Kam Beach as they were growing up. Now it is a great place for them or for friends to return with us. Kihea has grown so over the years and has become the place everyone wants to be. Even so, it is still a haven for all of us. Kihea has grown well. We are right across Kihea Road from the beach, an easy walk over. We are so close to many other beaches and well located for any place on the island you want to go to. Some would complain about the traffic in this tiny town but seriously, it is not like you are listening to the late night streets of Chicago or NYC! The ocean waves do a splendid job of blending that sound out. It's rather nice that if you do wander down for an early breakfast at a local diner you feel safe in Kihea no matter what hour it is.

    We try to go every other year and have friends who travel to our home away from home on our off years. We've yet to have anyone ever do less than adore the place and ask to come back. Maui is a wonderful place to visit, Kamaole Beach is the best place to hang your hat for a week or so ;-)

  • Avatar for matts202
    By matts202 Jun 17, 2010

    We've owned a one bedroom unit here since 1999. It isn't the Ritz Carlton, but it's nice, and you can rent it for $100 a night. You can walk to lots of shopping and restaurants, and the weather's great!

    We've stayed here 4 times, I haven't had any problem with the street noise. The people are nice and the place is clean. I love going to Maui !

    My favorite beach in the whole world is Keawakapo Beach, just south of Kihei. It's a short dive or a long walk from the condos. You can park for free at the Maui Palms hotel and walk across the grounds to the beach. We walk all the way to the Grand Wailea and hang out on their beach, rubbing elbows with the rich and famous. It's a blast! Bring your wallet if you want to eat lunch at their resturant, though. Lunch for two was $45!

    There are plenty of affordable restaurants within walking distance of the Kamaole Beach Club. We've had fun and enjoyed every visit. No complaints.

  • Avatar for marcias88
    By marcias88 Apr 12, 2010

    We loved it! We can walk right across the street to the beach, ABC Store is right there. Everyone was nice. Even the neighbors that lived there year round were very nice! I shoud say bad things so it won't book up so quickly! The only thing I can think of is the bed was too soft for my taste, but not a big deal!

  • Avatar for harleygramp
    By harleygramp Oct 8, 2008

    Any stay in Hawaii is great. Besides, you're not in the room very much anyway. The location is central to everything including a short drive to and from the airport. The beach is right across the street and this side of the island is warmer and dryer in the winter and fall months. If you are coming from cold climates, it is much nicer that the north side by Kaanapali. The units are clean and well kept and the staff is excellent. They are doing major improvements to the units so if you get a chance to exchange here or want to buy an economical Hawaii condo, this is it!

  • Avatar for tys4
    By tys4 Updated Aug 28, 2008

    Stayed here several years ago on an RCI trade and found resort to be well maintained. The "manager" guy was really nice and helpful (don't know if he's still there). As the other reviews point out the street noise in Kihei can get a bit loud. Kihei is not as "fancy" or "glitzy" as Kaanapali. But Kihei is ALOT of fun after dark. You're in Maui to have a good time and PARTY! And you can get to alot of places in Kihei by walking. Not really true in Kaanapali (in Kaanapali you have to drive everywhere and parking can be a bitch, especially if you want to go to the beach). Kamaole is centrally located in Kihei and you can walk to lots of great places. And beaches. Much better off to get a unit with AC if you can (we did). Noise not a problem with the windows shut and the AC on. Units are spacious and well equipped. Pool is kinda small but who goes to Maui to waste time by a condo pool??!! BBQ grills readily available. GREAT beach right across the street. Good dive shops in the area if you're into diving. Good shore diving close-by at a place called "five graves/five caves". You do a shore entry just past a little cemetery and pass a series of caves running along a lava finger which extends out into the ocean. At least one of the caves is so big you can actually surface in it. At the end of the lava finger there is turtle "cleaning station" where there are ALWAYS turtles to be found. One of the best shore dives on Maui.

    Resort is not too far from Big Beach/Little Beach. Yeah, Little Beach is the nude beach. Definitely worth a "LOOK"! And Big Beach is probably THE best (and largest) beach on the island.

    Would definitely stay at Kamaole again if opportunity arises.

  • Avatar for roy89
    By roy89 Updated Aug 23, 2008

    August 23,2008

    Just returned from a two week vacation at the Kamaole Beach Club. We really enjoyed being there . The location, view, and close proximaty to everything is great.

    The staff is very helpful and the place is being cared for nicely.

  • Avatar for k338
    By k338 Mar 15, 2008

    There are two LARGE NEGATIVES with this resort. It is extremely NOISY on the busiest street in Kiehe and noise continues late into evening especially on weekends and summer nights. Secondly, there is no Air Conditioning so it can be very warm and you must go get fans to place in rooms in order to sleep. Also, you can't open the windows to get any breeze because of the noise factor when trying to sleep. Sometimes it is not too clean but the new managers are really trying to keep the windows and other items clean. It is across from a very nice beach but that is getting to be crowded as growth means additional people in the area. ld

  • Avatar for patricias118
    By patricias118 Jan 20, 2006

    I own several weeks at Kamaole Beach Club and have stayed there every other year for 15 years. If you are looking for a Marriott, Embassy or big name company with lots of glitz - this is not for you. If you are interested in a comfortable, convenient, friendly place, this is the place.

    Kamaole is directly across from the beach (beautiful views from condos and perfect for swimming and snorkeling). You can walk to restaurants, shops, convenience stores and grocery stores. Friendly atmosphere - you can get to know your fellow vacationers (if you want to). There is a "sharing" room where you can borrow chairs, floats, coolers, etc. or leave them if you no longer want them. The pool is small, but plenty of room for the amount of guests. Kihei is the perfect town - it is more laid back than the larger resort towns. It rarely rains here. It can be raining all over the island, but Kihei stays dry. It is a lovely ride along the coast to Lahaina when you want to go (we take the drive just for fun).

    We've visited several other timeshares in the area and haven't found any we like better than Kamaole Beach Club! Go to the welcome breakfast on Sunday mornings - lawn chairs outside, donuts, fruit, coffee and juice - no selling, no pressure - Ron just tells you what there is to do (lots of things not in the books).

  • Avatar for steve2478
    By steve2478 Updated Mar 31, 2005

    Excellent location and very clean. I had a refurbished room. It was very plain, but clean. I stayed in Building C. The road noise was really loud! REALLY loud.

  • Avatar for keith164
    By keith164 Feb 1, 2005

    This resort is a wonderful location with a long, sunny, wide white sand beach right across the street. There are numerous eating establishments from fast food to expensive within 2 miles. Kihei has shops of all kinds in the area, scuba, real estate,crafts,movies,arts,etc. If you want to rent or book an activity it's probably available.Three large grocery stores and more are within walking distance. It would be possible to stay there without a car.

    Less than 5 miles away at Whaler's Point are the newest resorts for luaus, dining, hiking. It is legal to walk within 40 feet of high tide on the beaches of Hawaii. The larger resorts have beautiful sidewalks for a beach walk.

    The 2 bedroom unit we stayed in had newer, quality, name brand appliances. And soap, clothes washer and dryer were provided, no charge!

    The Lahaina, Napili, Kaanapali coastline area is about 25-40 minutes away with numerous shops, restaurants, resorts and world class golf course... and don't miss the large Banyan tree in downtown Lahaina.

    The pool is small and secluded. I never saw a crowd around it as you see at other resorts.

    The staff was friendly and helpful making for a very pleasant stay. Two thumbs up for this resort.

  • Avatar for cheryl173
    By cheryl173 Oct 18, 2004

    Just got back from a great trip to Maui(Oct. 2- 9, 2004). We stayed in this condo. It was clean, well stocked and great location to all areas. Not having a/c was difficult during the day but not a problem in am or sleeping at night. They have LOTS of fans to use. VERY CLEAN and quiet!

  • Avatar for dan139
    By dan139 Updated Mar 31, 2004

    We stayed here March 20-27 2004. Building A has quite a few corner units that have quite a bit of Trafic/noise. This would be allivated somewhat if the Units had AC so you could close the windows. The pool size was not a problem athough it is small. Babecues are charcoal/ Charcoal Not supplied, The beach view is deceiving in that they are just across the street from the ocean,we had a small view in A-202. Are unit was recently updated with new appliances,Carpet,Furniture. The Loacation was very convienent to most activites. I would give it 4 stars if it had AC. It was not a pit as described by another member described.

  • Avatar for jjerauld
    By jjerauld Updated Dec 1, 2003

    Large roomy condo right accross from the famous Kamole Beach. Beautiful Pool area. Located minutes from the beautifull Walea Golf Course. We've always been treated well here.

  • Avatar for seldon
    By seldon Sep 16, 2003

    Excellent Location near all activies and great snorkilg beaches! Have fun.

  • Avatar for ufreech
    By ufreech Updated Jan 25, 2003

    I rated this a one....if I could rate it a minus I would....my wife and I traveled from Massachusettes to that dump....we refused to stay there.........it is a disgrace.......to even allow yourselves to advertise this hotel or whatever you call it is a real scam.......shame on everyone. The pool is actual size as the picture. Place is dirty.....staff is awful......just awful

Back to reviews
Resort review