Maui Sunset

Kihei, Hawaii

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Maui Sunset

Kihei, Hawaii


  • Avatar for anikal2
    By anikal2 Jan 24, 2009

    We've stayed several times at the Maui Sunset & have had great vacations! The resort is impeccably maintained, beautiful grounds, nice BBQ area & even a vegetable garden w/banana trees! We like to hit the Farmers Market up the road in Kihei for fresh fruits & veggies & take advantage of the well stocked kitchen. Very important to me - the units are very clean, well maintained & recently renovated - I won't cook in most condo kitchens, but really enjoyed it here. The 2nd bathroom makes a world of difference when travelling with teenagers, as does the washer/dryer in the unit. Beautiful views, nice pool & the most sun on Maui - we loved it so we bought here!

  • Avatar for susan2381
    By susan2381 Updated Dec 9, 2006

    We've been staying at Maui Sunset for 20 years, and it's continually updated and improved. The grounds are incomparable on the island, and the maintenance is the best it's ever been. It's a beautiful resort without the cost of the island hotels.

    One important point about the north vs. the south side. The "A " building is on the north side, and gets full sun nearly all day, especially in the oceanfront/oceanview units. It can get VERY hot on the lanai, and so it may be difficult to spend much time on the deck.

    The "B" building is on the south side, and those oceanfront/oceanview units are shaded and comfortable all day. You can happily enjoy your lanai the entire day, if you wish.

  • Avatar for randy
    By randy Nov 29, 2006

    This resort has both timeshares and privately- owned condos. Rentals can come from both populations.

    There are timeshares spread out between both buildings, they range from 2Brm Ocean Front condos to 1Brm Partial Ocean View condos. All of them are "Premium" condos.

    There are two types of condo's the Premium's - which have had a major update -new kitchens, carpet, furniture, tile entries etc. They are beautiful inside.

    The "Standard" condo's are still kept to a high standard but have not had the major physical updates. All have updated furniture, nice carpet, but have the older kitchen cabinets and some older appliances.

    So you should ask whether the offered unit is a premium or standard.

  • Avatar for meganc13
    By meganc13 Aug 16, 2006

    I have stayed at alot of places in Maui and the Maui Sunset is one of the best with out paying and arm and a leg! Wonderful sunset every evening, it is easy to access any where you want to go. We rented a one bedroom and it was more than enough room for 2 people. If I was to go back I would stay here in a minute!

  • Avatar for stormey
    By stormey Updated May 30, 2006

    have now stayed there three times views just get better

  • Avatar for shilo
    By shilo May 15, 2005

    My wife and I really enjoyed the Maui Sunset. The room had fairly typical condo stylings and was clean and functional overall. The views from the deck were great. The grounds were well- maintained and excellent for morning walks along the beach. Traffic on S. Kihei Road can get a bit congested, but with access to the Pilani Highway, getting around is easy compared to other parts of the island we have stayed on.

  • Avatar for jimindetroit
    By jimindetroit Oct 1, 2003

    Sunset gets an additional star for being in Hawaii. Anywhere else its a 3 star resort. It's on the beach, besides having a nice pool. Resort has excursion people on premise to help with your sightseeing -- a nice touch. Our unit was spacious and clean. The resort has been here for awhile, but it is well-maintained.

  • Avatar for zenith
    By zenith Jan 8, 2003

    We have been visiting Hawaii three or four times a year for the past 12 years. We have visited all four of the major islands. The Maui Sunset complex is one of the best we have stayed at. We found the apartments well maintained and the staff helpful and informed. There is day and night time security. There is plenty of parking on the premises. There is a large pool, shuffleboard and tennis courts on the premises. Whale watching from the Maui Suset is superb and exciting.

  • Avatar for tsugaenv
    By tsugaenv Updated Dec 9, 2002

    Very nice. I encourage you to meet the Meyers who run the operation. Very nice.

  • Avatar for olivier
    By olivier Dec 3, 2002

    The grounds are well maintained and beach location is nice, but the units were marginal. Our bedrooms had windows on the elevator lobby and the bathrooms were tiny. We stayed in a two bedroom unit with partial beach views - the one bedrooms faced the inner courtyard. If you stay there, be sure to get a two bedroom on the northern side of the facility in order to see the sunset from your lanai. The Management holds a breakfast orientation which is a sales pitch for group activities on the island - they were somewhat helpful but definitely slanted toward activities in which they make a profit. Upon check-in, we were informed that extra towels were not available and there were not enough towels to last 4 people for a week. Although there was a washer/dryer, you had to purchase your own laundry detergent. We have stayed in much nicer timeshares than this one and were a little disappointed especially after travelling so far to get here.

Back to reviews
Resort review