Lawai Beach Resort

Koloa, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of Lawai Beach Resort

Koloa, Hawaii

4.8

Out of 5
17 reviews
  • 5

    (30)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Lawai Beach Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for donnac90
    By donnac90 Aug 31, 2016

    We bought our timeshare at Lawai Beach Resort in 1993 and have been coming back every other year for the past 23 years! Our kids have grown up with LBR's friendly staff as "ohana," and think of Kauai as their second home.

    The grounds and location are stunning. Yes, there are newer properties with more granite vanities in the Poipu area, but who really cares how fancy the bathrooms are? As long as the accommodations have everything you need and are clean, that's what counts. There are even boogie boards, umbrellas, chairs and other supplies available to borrow. Just ask.

    If you want a family atmosphere -- with a sunset view, Monk Seals, whales, dolphins and turtles -- you can't do any better than LBR!

  • Avatar for lulu_k56
    By lulu_k56 Updated Sep 27, 2014

    We just returned from a week at this resort. It's an older resort and has been renovated. Our unit didn't have an ocean view which was disappointing. There are not many things to do at this place. However, the location couldn't be better. It's right across from the best beach on Kauai for sunsets. We really hated to leave there and are really considering buying a week there. We own 2 weeks in Mexico at a brand new resort so we're kinda spoiled. Next to ours nothing compares. The staff here was really nice and helpful. The grounds were clean and well kept. The kitchen was nice and new. The bad part was the bathroom was really small and the bed wasn't really comfortable. Maybe if we were in a room with a better view I would have given it a better rating.

    Since I wrote this review we bought a week here through redweek in the Alii building. We couldn't be happier! Our view was breathtaking and the accomadations were awesome. We stayed with another couple and had plenty of room for all 4 of us. The bathroom was much bigger than the coral and our bed was very comfortable. So was the hideabed. We are very happy and have made reservations for the next 2 years already! We also stayed in Princeville last year but were homesick for the south side of Kauai. And fast forward to 2014 and all the units have been renovated and are spectacular! Can't say enough about how nice it is here. A secret gem in Koloa!

  • Avatar for kampshop
    By kampshop Updated Oct 30, 2008

    We have just returned from our 6th stay at LBR and continue to find it wonderful. The property and and units are both very well maintained. The resort is quiet (never heard noise from the adjoining propery). The location is the best on Kauai - in sunny Poipu but away from the large resorts. The snorkeling across the street is among the best on the island but is not crowded. For us, LBR provides a superior value in that the resort units are as nice as the higher priced resorts but we aren't paying for amenities we don't use (such as poolside bar service). Of all the time shares at which we have stayed, LBR remains our absolute favorite.

  • Avatar for charlesv31
    By charlesv31 Updated Feb 13, 2008

    My wife and I stayed at LBR Jan 19 - 26, 2008. It was one of the most fantistic vacations we have had in a long time, and would recomend it to everyone. While there from our room we saw the most wounderful wahle show. We injoyed the ease of moving around the Island. This is a five star place to be. Chuck & Norma Van Sickle Fergus Falls,MN

  • Avatar for gumbelle
    By gumbelle Jan 9, 2008

    Just returned from LBR yesterday-it was very hard to leave this beautiful place! I didn't really notice the noise from the project behind us, but I got up every morning at 6:30 to walk to the Spouting Horn (best jewelry deals!) and back. Even with all the rain we had such a fantastic time-views from the balcony are awesome, the staff is very nice and helpful, and other visitors are so friendly-owners as well as traders. I am going back next year over New Years and was invited to the dinner a group of returnees has every year! The ATV trip is my favorote-it was so muddy which made it even more fun than usual! Several people that did the tubing said it was really great. If you come over the Christmas Holidays you might want to think about booking activities ahead as they were booked up until the end of the week. Great fun at a truly great resort!

  • Avatar for robertr266
    By robertr266 Updated Nov 27, 2007

    Massive developement project behind the resort creates a lot of noise starting at 7 AM during the week. The red dirt from the project blows right thru the units. It is truely a mess and not a very pleasent experience if you are there to enjoy the peace and solitude of this very nice resort. Unfortunately this will continue thoughout 2008.

  • Avatar for tdiannek
    By tdiannek Updated Oct 29, 2007

    My family of 4 adults and 2 young children stayed two weeks at Lawai Beach Resort beginning on 10/12/07 in a two bedroom unit. The first week was on the first floor in the Alii (RCI exchange) and the second week on the second floor in the Banyan building (we own this one). Both weeks were great. Weather was super for the beach or sitting by the pool. We used the grills located by the swimming pools several times during our stay. They are cleaned each morning by the pool staff. No pre planning just set your pan or something on the table near the grill to get in line for use.

    There is construction in the area that is planned for the next several years (private homes and golf course) we inquired about the time they could work and was told they could work between 7:00 A.M. and 6:00 P.M. The noise was sometimes loud, similar to street sounds, but we were early risers (6 hour difference from the east coast) so we adjusted.

    Great resort for kids. Rent your beach gear from Boss Frogs as it cost much less and is in better condition than from the Activity Hut's resort store (not part of the resort just rents space from them and arranges tours, etc). YOU CAN ASK AT THE FRONT DESK IF ANY ITEMS HAVE BEEN LEFT BY DEPARTING GUEST AND IF THEY HAVE CHAIRS, BOARDS, ETC YOU CAN USE THEM AT NO CHARGE. We purchased one week at LBR in 1995 and this was the only time we have used our week. We traded before but will use our week in the future as this really is a GREAT resort compared to several others we have exchanged for.

  • Avatar for nancy755
    By nancy755 Aug 3, 2007

    Stayed here in a 2 bdrm in the Coral bldg in March 2007. It was great!! Have stayed here before, but never in the Coral bldg. The unit was recently upgraded and was very nicely done and comfortable. Resort staff very friendly and helpful. A wonderful vacation!!

  • Avatar for rm93
    By rm93 May 31, 2007

    The best resort we stay at in Kauai (we have timeshares at 4 different places there).

    No A/C is preferred by us. When we stay at other resorts w/ an A/C , we find sitting on the lanai is not enjoyable. You hear the roaring of the units and there is no peace. At LBR we sit on lanai, hear no A/Cs and hear the waves on the beach.

    The front desk will give out beach chairs, mats, ice chests, etc that departing guests donate. Other resorts take those donations and "charge" you for them per day, not LBR.

    We use the beach more than the pool, but the Banyan pool is very nice. We like the grounds and have played the miniature golf and tennis. We have also enjoyed the on site activities. I have never been awakened by roosters, but we always stay in the Alii building, I would not go there and stay in the Coral building.

  • Avatar for actioncraft1
    By actioncraft1 Updated May 2, 2007

    We purchased a unit here in 1991 and have added four more weeks in the following years. This is a wonderful place, low key and very quiet. Beautiful views of the Pacific complete with roaring surf and palm trees rustling in the wind. The best snorkling beach on the island and the finest restaurant with beautiful views of the sunset are some of the best things about Lawai. The staff is friendly and genuine in their desire to please. There are three lovely pools and large units with many amenities. There is no air conditioning but we never have needed it, the breeze is wonderful. Note we have never stayed here in the summer.

  • Avatar for me12
    By me12 Updated Jan 1, 2005

    We stayed at the Lika Lani building over Christmas, 2004. Although we were able to get an exchange once before, this time we rented through Hawii Timeshares, which has offices at the resort.

    We love the Lika Lani units. There are only four units; they originally were the apartments for the sales agents. Each unit is about 1500 sf with two baths, two bedrooms, a spacious living room and full kitchen. Each bedroom and the living room has a private lanai, and each has a television. This is great if you have kids; no fighting over which show to watch. The master bedroom also includes a large walk-in closet to store all your luggage. Each unit also has a washer and dryer. The units are simple in their architecture and appointments (no marble or corian countertops here), but it has spaciousness, location, windows, and so much more to offer that we would definitely choose to stay here again. It also has its own small parking lot. It's like having your own home on the island; you can drive right up to up and go up just a few steps to your spacious unit.

    These units have lots of windows and lots of sunlight. The master bedroom has one wall of patio doors, a large 'picture' window, and three other windows with louvers. The windows are on three sides of the room, so there are breezes all day and night. The second bedroom and the living room have walls of windows, and the kitchen has several windows. So many timeshares seem dark to us, and this is just one reason why we like the Lika Lani so much.

    The bottom two units have a limited view of the ocean, but I imagine the top two have better views. If the ocean view is important, I would suggest the Allii or the Banyon, because those buildings have great views off the balconies.

    The entire resort is very quiet and low-key, as others have commented. There are usually one or two activities offered through the resort each day, nothing major, really. It could be making a shell necklace, or showing how to fish from a simple line. This is a plus to us, but if it's important to you to have many activities going on at a resort, you might want to look somewhere else.

    Although some say the best beach on the island is the one across from this resort, that beach is a little difficult for many people (and lots of kids) because of all the rocks. A more kid-friendly beach with lots of sand to sit on and a sandy bottom, is the one shared by the Sheraton-Kuaii and the Planatation next to it. It's only about a mile away, and has an expansive beach and good waves for boogy boards. The snorkeling is pretty good there, too, and the easier access (sand bottom) more than makes up for a few less fish to look at.

    We stayed one night in the Coral building in a corner unit abutting the driveway. It had been recently refurbished, and was quite nice. It was on ground level, so you could walk directly from the lanai to the popular beach right across the street. However, we would not choose to stay there for two reasons: Because it was next to the driveway, it was a bit noisy. In addition, the kitchen cupboards were on the other side of the master bedroom, so sleeping in while someone else is rummaging around in the kitchen is pretty difficult.

    We had one difficulty this time. As I said above, we were renters this time. Although we had a confirmation for the Lika Lani from the Hawii Timeshare office, which has offices in the lobby of the resort, the resort itself had us confirmed for the Coral building. The opportunity to stay at the Lika Lani was the whole impetus for our going to Hawaii and showing up to get a different building was really disappointing. Someone was checking out of the Lika Lani the next day, so the general manager offered us a refund for one night's stay and moved us over the next day. However, at checkout, there was again a problem because the desk person decided to find out about what she called 'a discrepancy' (the refund) on the bill. While laudable for an employee to do this, it was irritating to have to go through this and wait another 20 minutes at checkout to have the refund verified. The bottom line for us: LBR needs to tune up on communication within the office and between Hawaii Timeshare and the office.

    Nonetheless, if we were to buy anything else, we would buy here.

  • Avatar for msandler
    By msandler Oct 4, 2004

    Wonderful resort with great amenities and friendly, helpful staff. Quiet location across the street from the best snorkling beach on Kauai. Alii and Banyan units have ocean views, Coral unit views vary, so RCI traders may not get ocean view. I have stayed here several times and enjoy the huge Lanai and spacious units.

  • Avatar for david538
    By david538 Updated Mar 5, 2004

    We spent New Years of 2001 at Lawai Beach Resort and it was one of the best New Years my wife Wanda and I ever had. The Lawai management was open, honest, and very professional. The location is perfect and the island was fun to hike, and the restaurants in the area are very good. (What a luau we had one time.) My wife loved the whirlpool across from the beach. I liked the pool better.

  • Avatar for zunimilo
    By zunimilo Dec 11, 2003

    Stayed here October 2003. The place is great. The location is great, the pools and hot tubs are great, it is quiet at night and the accommodations are spacious and extremely well maintained. We hope to go back sometime and stay again.

  • Avatar for care
    By care Mar 22, 2003

    We love the peace of this island, and this resort is our kids favorite. Miniature golf, classes, pool, equipment rentals, on-site minimarket--all units view the beach, and have large decks--we sometimes use it as a sleeping porch. Mild breezes keep it comfortable. Tryit, you'll like it!

  • Avatar for linrich
    By linrich Jan 27, 2003

    Absolutely paradise! Unbelieveable layout of multiple pools/gardens/hot tubs. Roomy and beautifully appointed units, with fabulous views from the lanais (deck balconies). Away from touristy hubub. Great staff, helpful, pleasant.

  • Avatar for csandin
    By csandin Dec 23, 2002

    This is a beautiful resort located directly across the road from the best snorkeling beach in Kauai. It is located on the south side of the island, which gets very little rain. The resort has three swimming pools, game rooms and rental equipment. The units are all one- and two-bedrooms with full kitchen.

Back to reviews
Resort review