The Whaler

Lahaina, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of The Whaler

Lahaina, Hawaii

4.1

Out of 5
7 reviews
  • 5

    (7)

  • 4

    (1)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Whaler lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for barbarae162
    By barbarae162 Updated Dec 5, 2012

    The remodeling is complete inside and out. The units have been completely remodeled with new bathrooms and kitchens, which are very well stocked. Our unit has beach chairs and mats. The beach in front of the Whaler is the best and SO close.

  • Avatar for harold187
    By harold187 Mar 31, 2011

    There is a lot written about The Whaler probably because it has been around for quite awhile. We have stayed at Kaanapali many times, but never here. Much to our surprise, it turned up as an Exchange under II, and we snapped it up.

    The property is under renovation, so there is a little noise but no inconvenience. Our unit is on the ground floor, and we love it because we can walk out the patio door to the grounds. The interior of the unit has been refurbished with new appliances, granite counter-tops, and an HD flat-screen TV with cable and Tivo. It is well stocked with brand new pots and pans, silverware, and cookware.

    You cannot beat the location on Kaanapali beach. There is ample underground parking with large spaces. The only thing we wished that our unit had is a washer-dryer, but there is a coin-op unit right down the hall.

  • Avatar for thaneys
    By thaneys Jun 15, 2007

    Absolutely perfect in every way. Immaculate grounds, great housekeeping, sufficient underground parking, perfect location adjacent to Whaler's Village, lovely wide beach, FULL kitchen and TWO bathrooms with 1 bedroom (spacious throughout), wonderful views, lovely balconies and furnishings. I only wish I'd made reservations for this Christmas because I've thus far been unable to find anything at the Whaler and hate to consider anywhere else. TSO from MO

  • Avatar for richardl98
    By richardl98 May 23, 2007

    We've been renting here for 26 years and it is getting very tired. The new manegment is interested in only the OWNERS and themselves!! The rates for rooms, parking and check-in( $50.) is outrageous for a tired, old condo. It's location is the only saving grace. We were faxing some business papers and the rates at the hotel were exorbitant but if we went to the local UPS store it was very reasonable. Bye, Bye, Whaler!!!!!

  • Avatar for pauln54
    By pauln54 Sep 6, 2006

    We rented here during our hineymoon and had a wonderful time. THe whaler is right next to the shops and resturants, and a close walk to the reef by the Sharaton. We'd consider buying.

  • Avatar for shaver
    By shaver Jan 4, 2004

    We stayed a week here in November 2003. Our 1 BR/2BA unit in the north tower on the 8th floor was very clean, quiet, and large. The Lani was especially huge and had a great view up to Black Rock. Even at Thanksgiving time the beach was not overly busy, but we spent most of our time at other beaches.

    Parking was easy in the underground facility and the shopping carts to move stuff up to the room were very handy. Location of buildings was good -- close to mall next door, good food nearby, nice beach right out front, etc. Having the dive shop literally out the back door was great for rentals.

    Marble bath and wood floor more than a bit dated, but very functional. Overall, if we could find a killer deal to stay here again, we would do it in a heartbeat. If you're paying as much as a newer building, just be sure this is the place for you.

  • Avatar for gdubya
    By gdubya Oct 17, 2003

    The Whaler Resort is located at the north end of Kaanapali Beach facing the ocean with a view of Molokai and Lanai. The rooms are extremely spacious and with all amenities including a full kitchen, large bathrooms, attractive furnishings, spectacular views and large wrap around balconies. It has a lovely swimming pool beside the beach, a jacuzzi and two lighted modern tennis courts.

    It is highly favoured by travellers to Maui and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Back to reviews
Resort review