Split Rock Resort

Lake Harmony, Pennsylvania

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Split Rock Resort

Lake Harmony, Pennsylvania


  • Avatar for willisj3
    By willisj3 May 2, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    I am an owner of this resort in The Galleria and have vacationed here at least 5 times in the last 8 years. In addition, we go up occasionally on weekends to use the facilities, Movie Theater, Bowling Alley, Restaurants, Ice Cream Parlor, Pizza Shop, Gift Shop, Game Room, Indoor Shuffle board table, Pool Tables, Swimming Pools, Water Park, and to participate in the Special Events and daily activities that are scheduled. It's not a 5 Star resort, but it is FANTASTIC for families to enjoy all that Split Rock has to offer. Turtle Races are a must see and and you can participate in them. Love Split Rock!

  • Avatar for aliceh46
    By aliceh46 Updated Dec 2, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    This place is awesome. The waterpark was so much fun and there is a lot to do in the area. The units were spacious and the grounds are meticulously maintained.

    If you are staying during the winter months, the Galleria is your best bet. This is the main building and all the resort activities take place here. There is a movie theater, bowling alley, restaurants and, of course, the waterpark. You don't want to be driving around kids in wet clothes to and from the waterpark during the winter months.

  • Avatar for lauriei2
    By lauriei2 Updated Sep 27, 2009

    I wasn't expecting anything great but was pleasantly surprised. The timeshare units were dated (furniture, tv, bedding, carpeting)--which they're just starting to upgrade. The units were spacious--up a flight of stairs to enter, then you went up stairs for kit/lv/dr/bthrm and balcony area or down to 2 bdrm/2 bath area. They had a jacuzzi and sauna--probably for the winter months. They also had a balcony area off the mstr bdrm. They bdrms had two queens. We had great fall weather and were able to open the windows for fresh air. We also were in an end unit with no one beside us. The resort was very empty and quiet. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony facing woods. We had a lot of privacy because it was empty. There are plenty of activities for families but since we don't have kids, we played golf. They have three 9 hole courses. We played one 18 holes and then another day ended up playing 27 holes. It was very challenging but picturesque. The leaves were starting to change. We tried Dick's Lake House restaurant and found it to be typical lake quality. However, we did find the PowerHouse in White Haven and it was excellent. We went there twice and the food was great both times. The service was a little slow but everything it made to order and worth a try. About 15 minutes by car on Rt. 940. We'd come back only if we were in the area. Would recommend to families because of the activities or could even be a guys getaway for fishing and golf. The resort is located right outside of Big Boulder and Jack Frost ski areas so it's a great location. The area is a nice area to hiking and not overly populated. Alot of wildlife also.

  • Avatar for kelly666
    By kelly666 Updated Mar 3, 2009

    We just stayed there during what was really a non peak time and we were very disappointed. We stayed in the Galleria slopeside suites which were small and very run down. There were a lot of activities and something for kids of all ages. The restaurant was not accomodating at all. We went to sit for dinner with no reservations and the place was empty and they would not seat us saying they were not prepared to serve us. We would have to wait a half hour. So reservations were not to ensure getting a table, but being able to eat. The food was not even that good.

    Also had valuables stolen from our room and the resort did nothing to accomodate me. I was disappointed in that fact. Security took a report and we have had no follow up from them to date. VERY DISAPPOINTED! I travel frequently and stay in a variety of type places and this was the most disappointing . Waterpark was okay. We enjoyed the nearby skiing and tubing at Big Boulder/Jack Frost and could have stayed there for much less - Next time we will!

  • Avatar for lanitap
    By lanitap Feb 6, 2008

    Don't stay in the main building...its a converted hotel. If you stay in the townhomes than you are going to be happy with large, clean, and suitable units. It has one big bedroom upstairs and bathroom and living/dining area downstairs with additional bedroom...plenty of room for you and your gear. They have stairs so if you have problems with climbing stairs stay somewhere else. The amenities, activities were great, like the movie theatre, and bowling area. But the restuarant was pricey and the food not that good. Also, if you stay in the main building be prepared to be dissappointed. The room we had at the main building had mold in the bathroom, stains on the ceiling and the walls.

  • Avatar for donaldj25
    By donaldj25 Jul 14, 2006

    This place is tremendous for families with pre- teen children. There is something for everyone

  • Avatar for shoelady
    By shoelady Jul 19, 2005

    We stayed in a two bedroom unit in the Galleria over the week of July 11, 2005 and will be returning to this resort.

    This was a fantastic place to go....with the number one rated activities and amenities in the world we had no problem finding things to do. This resort had everything and then some. Some days we dropped the kids off at Camp Split Rock, others were spent by the private lagoon swimming and cheering on the turtles in the turtle races. Other times we went to the Pit Lounge and played Bingo. My kids had so much fun that they could not decide just what they wanted to do. Kudos to Doc Holiday and his activities staff.

    Even though there were 1300 guests on site, we never heard people in the hall. My only complaint for the entire facility would be that the restrooms in our suite were small - but you don't live in the restroom do you?

  • Avatar for k28
    By k28 Mar 15, 2005

    Our visit was in the middle of a January ice storm. The resort was fully operative, but the surrounding area was without power. There was something for everyone--and really for all ages! Accommodating and friendly staff, good restaurants, nice unit. The only down side was the noise in the hallways, as in a hotel. It would be great in better weather.

  • Avatar for michael820
    By michael820 Jul 10, 2004

    So much to do all the time. They could upgrade the furnishings....

  • Avatar for vpr147
    By vpr147 Jul 19, 2003

    We stayed at the Galleria. There is a lot to do at the resort but I would highly recommend that the resort refurbish their units. The kitchen was very small and appliances are in great of of being replaced. The restaurant at the Galleria was not up to par but the restaurant located at the Lodge was great.

  • Avatar for anne1125
    By anne1125 Jun 2, 2003

    We stayed at Westwood at Split Rock in a nice two bedroom unit. Loved the fireplace, nice new kitchen with both bedrooms and two bathrooms on lower level. Also had sauna and jacuzzi in unit. The resort has skiing on site which was good for us snowboard beginners. Very nice staff, great activities and amenities.

  • Avatar for mikes
    By mikes Dec 22, 2002

    The resort consists of one huge building on a hill slope that offers little privacy. The units offer no interesting view and are in need of refurbishing. It's quite a far distance to the lake which is really suitable for boating. Older buildings at the lake house reception and a restaurant. Nice golf course.

  • Avatar for mike0917
    By mike0917 Updated Oct 2, 2002

    Place was very dated, typical Poconos.

Back to reviews
Resort review