Back to resort

Reviews of Hawaiian Princess at Makaha Beach

Waianae, Hawaii

3.9

Out of 5
10 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (7)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hawaiian Princess at Makaha Beach lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for robertb611
    By robertb611 May 20, 2013

    The reason the reviews are old is because most people come back over and over and owners don't trade, they use their units.

  • Avatar for michaelr384
    By michaelr384 Jan 21, 2013

    I HAVE NOT BEEN THERE YET BUT WHY ARE ALL YOUR REVIEWS SO OLD. THE NEWEST ONE IS 2009.?????????

  • Avatar for dorthyl
    By dorthyl Updated Apr 12, 2009

    wE STAYED HERE IN 2007. THE UNIT WAS BEAUTIFUL AND THE VIEW AND BEACH WERE OUTSTANDING. OUR ONLY ISSUE WAS THE FACT THAT THE AREA IS POPULATED WITH MANY HOMELESS CAMPS ON THE BEACHES JUST SOUTH OF THE PRINCESS. THE AREA IN GENERAL IS RUNDOWN AND A BIT SCARY AFTER DARK. IT IS OUR UNDERSTANDING THAT THEY ARE TRYING TO GET RID OF THE HOMELESS TENT CITIES WHICH WOULD MAKE THE ENTIRE AREA MUCH NICE. THE RESORT ITSELF IS VERY NICE .

  • Avatar for annl85
    By annl85 Apr 30, 2008

    We were in a corner unit on the 15th floor,surrounded by sliding glass doors that lead into the living room and dining room.We felt like we were on a boat in the middle of the ocean!Very spacious(800-900 sq.')unit,elegantly decorated with new furnishings throughout.Kitchen is well equipped and there is also a washer/dryer in the closet.Air conditioning with separate controls in the living room and bedroom.There are 11/2 baths.We used the boogie boards and beach chairs in the unit and lounged on the beach a lot.Other guests were swimming or snorkeling w/the big sea turtles! Other days we would drive to the north shore and also explored the beaches on the east side of the island since we don't like the surrounding area outside of the Hawaian Princess.There is a little town Kapolei about 15 minutes away,there are some good restaurants and we went for dinner there a few times.All in all,we felt this is a special place and will return soon.

  • Avatar for marlene109
    By marlene109 Oct 15, 2006

    Had the pleasure of visiting this resort in the '70s and enjoyed it again in the '90s. From reading the reviews it has not changed. Ocean front views are unsurpassed, easy drive to anywhere on Oahu. A step back in time away from the crowd. Be sure to watch from your balcony, turtles, dolphins, rays can be seen in the clear waters.

  • Avatar for brian817
    By brian817 Updated Feb 24, 2006

    My wife, daughter and sister-in-law just spent 2 wonderful weeks at the Princess - our first time there. We were just floored with the view from the lanais and the wonderful beach area. The staff we dealt with were extremely helpful and friendly and we can't wait until our return visit in February 2007. We met a number of native Hawaiians during our trip and it was a wonderful treat and learning experience discovering such a different culture from our own here in Canada.

  • Avatar for mike2938
    By mike2938 Mar 6, 2005

    Real Hawaii. Remote enough from the tourists-but still an easy drive to anywhere on the island. Funky, homey downtown area. Phenomenal, uncrowded beach. Great surf, snorkeling, hiking and climbing nearby. Super place to chill and relax with mountain views and sunrises on one side, and ocean and sunsets on the other.

  • Avatar for kochsenbein
    By kochsenbein Mar 14, 2004

    If you are looking for a quiet vacation away from the crowds of Waikiki, then this IS the place to be! The beach is outstanding. The snorkeling is great and the view from the condo is unsurpassed!

    Heidi and Steve

  • Avatar for lance
    By lance Dec 18, 2003

    Our first trip to Makaha and we didn't know what to expect. Although we had lived on Oahu for many years in the 70's and 80's we had never visited the southwest coast.

    The landscape is beautiful. Very dramatic pali and valleys; very memorable and close enough to major shopping centers and the water park.

    The Makaha Princess sits on one of the nicest beaches we have seen(we live in Hawaii). It seems like a private beach because the public access is not too convenient, there are so many other beaches nearby, and not many tourists have found this area yet.

    The pictures on the web page do not do the beach justice. The units have everything except a rice cooker and are very spacious. I would love to go there again.

  • Avatar for dave
    By dave Updated Oct 2, 2002

    Beautiful location overlooking Makaha Beach. We could watch the sea turtles from our deck. The area is not overly developed yet giving guests a secluded, Old Hawaii feel. Waikiki is about 45 minutes away when you be among the tourists.

Back to reviews
Resort review