The Summit at Massanutten

McGaheysville, Virginia

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at The Summit at Massanutten

McGaheysville, Virginia


  • Avatar for antoinej6
    By antoinej6 Jan 31, 2015
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We have stayed at several different Massanutten places IN the overall resort over many years. We used it as a base to visit Wineries (numerous throughout the area), to visit Washington DC for a day (in and out in one day was easily accomplished), visited Richmond and friends there, to visit museums, monuments, street fairs, Garden tours. We have hosted a large Family Reunion/Wedding anniversary 'event' that was catered by the Resort staff and was GREAT and easy to accomplish AND not that expensive for about 50 + friends and Family (close and extended). Everyone found activities to keep them very busy even before the Water Park became part of the properties. We have played golf on both of the courses several times and have enjoyed the courses greatly and even enjoyed watching a night golf tournament that we failed to enter on a timely basis. Great time had by MANY of our friends and Family over many years ! Great location to enjoy the Shenandoah Valley beauty, tubing, canoeing, hiking, just enjoying some wine and slowing down to great views. We return every few years to fall in love with the surrounding beauty over and over again. Visit VMI (Military-styled great University known for several highly recognized majors OR Washington & Lee University right across the green separating them from VMI with great museums to visit and get history on the Civil War and participants that were key in the area. So much, so close bye - it will take years to discover it all !

  • Avatar for johno242
    By johno242 Aug 24, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    I just rented two units for a week for 8 adults (6 seniors) and 2 children. The place is designed for family fun with tube riding, zip lining, miniature golf, and, of course, the water park. The children and their parents partook in all of it, and some very senior adults even did the zip lining. It was fun!

    We used it as a base of operations and visited Luray Caverns, Monticello, Montpelier, and 4 of the many vineyards they have in the area. The ladies took an afternoon to go antique shopping (the men declined). A couple of drawbacks to be aware of. The mountain view units did not have disabled access, so if you are traveling with someone who needs that, make sure you arrange for it. The check in was slowwww. We arrived at 3:15, check in was scheduled for 4, and our upstairs unit was not ready until 6:45. The units were large and comfortable, and we didn't have any trouble sleeping in the king size bed.

    Do NOT sign up for the sales pitch to get free water park passes or Massanutten dollars. The woman who was assigned to us was agressive, obnoxious, and sometimes insulting. The "pitch" lasted for 3 hours and in my opinion, the units are overpriced. Why buy a unit when you can rent one from an owner through Redweek?

    Other than that, we had a good time, but we are glad we weren't there when the earthquake happened!

  • Avatar for stevenv2
    By stevenv2 Aug 5, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Our family is just finishing our stay in one of the two bedroom lower units. We rented the unit from an owner on Redweek.

    The entire unit was very large and immaculate. The king bed was great and our 3 kids had plenty of room with the two twin beds and pull out sleeper sofa. Our unit was never more than a few minutes' drive from any of the resort amenities (indoor/outdoor pools, recreation center, mini golf, go karts, playgrounds, etc.). The resort itself is only a few minutes from the Water Park. We've been there before during a shorter stay when only the indoor section was open. The outdoor section is equally fun. Our kids could not get enough of the lily pad "water bridge" (you'll see what I mean). The wave pool was great fun, too, as were the giant outdoor slide, all of the indoor slides and the wave board ride.

    I would recommend getting a 3-Day pass to the Water Park rather than the 6-Day pass, though you do get 3 extra days for less than a 1-Day pass by purchasing the 6-Day pass. It's just that after a few hours, the kids were wiped out. We would go ealry, leave when they got tired and grab something to eat, then go back again in the late afternoon. But they also enjoyed all the activities at the resort - especially the indoor pools and diving boards. I think a 3-Day pass gives you plenty of time to enjoy everything without feeling like you have to go to the Water Park to make the pass worthwhile. Also, don't buy food at the Water Park - it's ridiculously expensive (though obviously more convenient if you're hungry and not ready to leave).

    We also went to Luray Caverns. That was fun and educational - kids and adults both had a good time. It's a 40 minute drive from the resort and it doesn't take much longer than that to go through the caverns, so it's not something that will take a whole day. I wouldn't waste your money on the garden maze, though. From the car, going through the entire maze with 3 kids, buying ice cream and returning to the car, it only took 25 minutes. It cost was $19 and would have been $25 if our daughter was one year older. Even at the reduced price, it's just not worth it. The "prize" for finding the 4 "clues" in the maze is a coupon for $1 off a t-shirt, hat or poster in the gift shop. Our maze experience was underwhelming at best. We've been through other mazes near where we live and on other vacations, so it's not that we just don't like them. This one just wasn't that interesting in our opinion.

    Nonetheless, the entire family had a great time and we'll definitely be back again in the future. I would highly recommend this resort for families or anyone looking to have a relaxing, fun time. It's also great if you love wildlife - we saw deer all over the place almost every day. There was also the occasional groundhog and other smaller animals. The trash receptacles are bear-proof, but we never saw a bear (for which I personally am very grateful). Definitely bring a camera - the deer are very used to people and you can get pretty close to take great shots of them.

    The only negative comment I would make (the garden maze notwithstanding) concerns the limited kitchen. Because we rented a lower unit, there isn't a stove or oven - just a microwave and a grill on the deck. We knew that ahead of time and came prepared. However, the microwave was not very good. It would stop rotating in the middle of cooking which made it difficult to time things properly. We burned several bags of popcorn before deciding to just buy popcorn at Food Lion. But honestly, the microwave issue was a minor annoyance at best. We never even bothered complaining about it, though we will let the staff know at check-out.

    Anyway, if you're considering staying here, we highly recommend this resort. This comes from a family of 5: mom, dad and 3 kids (ages 12, 8 and 5). The next time we visit, we're going to rent an entire upper and lower unit so that my mom, brother and niece can come, too. Based upon what we've told them already, they can't wait until next year!

  • Avatar for davidh657
    By davidh657 Jul 25, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    For a family reunion, we booked four two-bedroom units at The Summit at Massanutten 88U, 88L, 131U, and 205U (two as owners and two through RCI). All were clean and in good working order. (One of the toilets was continually running in two of the units, but the problems were quickly solved by a slight adjustment. There were no other issues.) The U units were upper units with a full kitchen. The L units are lower units with no stove but with a grill on the balcony. The U units had better views. Each set of one U unit and one L unit share a washer and dryer, which was downstairs in the hallway.

    We arrived at 5 pm and had no wait to register. (The resort was offering a financial incentive to arrive after 7 pm, so the earlier registration period had few people.) After registration, we were sent to the parking pass desk, where they tried to get us to attend a sales presentation. After several attempts, they accepted my decision not to attend. (They also called a couple times during the week to try to persuade us, but then gave up.) Except for the pools, almost everything had an additional cost. We didn’t find the activity discount card to be worth purchasing. Our kids (7 & 11 year old boys) particularly enjoyed the waterpark and the go-karts. They took the Flowrider lesson and enjoyed it a lot.

    Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s home) is about an hour away in Charlottesville, and Luray Caverns is about 45 minutes away. We enjoyed both. Our boys really liked Luray Caverns and didn’t complain at Monticello.

  • Avatar for miriamc
    By miriamc Updated Aug 1, 2009

    We love Massanutten. We have stayed at several of the Summit properties. Although several are called Summit, there is the original, Grenoble Woods, Hillside, and a few more, AND they are different. I believe they are assigned by check-in day. Grenoble Woods is a Friday and is awesome with fantastic views. Hillside is on the same road as the Mountainside Villas, still has great views but a strange layout. There is a small deck in front by the door facing the parking for the upper unit only. Both units have a rear deck with the views. BUT, you have to go through the master bed to reach it. That is great if you are in the master but not so great if someone else is and is still asleep when you want to sit outside. Also, on the lower deck the grill is on the balcony, but it seems really strange to me to carry my food through the bedroom to cook.

    The units themselves have all the amenities one needs for the week, spa tub, and fireplace. Now there is free wireless!!!!

    The property is amazing. We do not buy the activity card at nearly $100 each plus still fees for some activities, just with a discount. For a family of four, we have never used up that much in activities. This spring we did lots of smaller activities (one game golf, candy bag bingo, go kart, faquet ball, pool tables ) and water park and did just fine with our budget.

    The main pool is very large so there is lots of water activities, and indoor/outdoor hot tubs. It is in the rec center that has coin pool tables, arcade, but Basketball court is free and so is the pool and raquet ball is free to reserve and only $2 for the goggles and raquet. For 4 of us we usually split the hour and only spend $4.

    Lots of hiking opportunities, even just nice walks around the property. There are two fishing ponds where we have actually seen fish jump but never caught one. Lots and lots of deer. Nice to see but be careful driving.

    A true favorite of ours.

  • Avatar for reginaldb7
    By reginaldb7 Jan 26, 2009

    Prices are very reasonable here for everything, anyone who says otherwise must not travel much. We've stayed at resorts from Canada to the Dominican Republic and this is by far the best value, and with the most things to see and do of any of them. The units are very nice, no complaints there, not the most upscale I've stayed in, but very comfortable and relaxing, with anything you could need. Units with full kitchen have everything you would have at home and partial kitchens are only missing an oven. All units are being refurbished over the next few years with just about all new everything right down to the kitchen cabinets! Checkin is fast and easy even on busy weekends. We've been there for Christmas, Thanksgiving, and Presidents week when the kids are out of school and always gotten right in with no wait, and they have the nicest people working there. We own here and at a dozen other resorts and this is our favorite. We have had minor problems but you get those anywhere, things break, that's life, but the staff has always fixed anything immediately and on our schedule. We wish they took pets, but there is a great kennel (Wayworn Pet Kennel) we use when we go and it's right across the street. Yes, some activities are busier than others and can fill up but that's just a testament to how popular they are. If you can't get your first choice, then try one of the other 165 different activities they offer every week. We found Massanutten by accident through RCI and have been glad we did ever since! If you take the "tour" those sales people get paid commission only, so they will try to sell you, but no one forces you to go if you don't want the $100. We usually take the tour, say no, get our $100 and leave in 90 minutes, afterall, it isn't a prison and I'm willing to sit there for $66 and hour. Go, enjoy, repeat.

  • Avatar for bruce727
    By bruce727 Jun 20, 2008

    Just returned from a week in a lower unit. The "partial" kitchen lacks a stove apparently due to VA law only allowing one "full" kitchen per unit, and the lower unit is essentially a spacious, 2br lock-off of the upper unit. Other than some minor maintenance issues it was quite nice. The gas grill on the deck was a suitable substitute for a stove.

    I would recommend purchasing the weekly activity card if you plan to use their many amenities. Otherwise you will pay more for their amenities that charge fees. We enjoyed the full day D.C. bus tour. You get discounted rates on tours with the card. Be prepared for lots of walking to and from the bus. A small cooler is permitted and strongly suggested on a hot day. The chair lifts are operating 3 days per week. You can ride to the peak and back at a discount with the activity card. Admission to nearby Shenandoah Caverns is free with your activity card. Plenty to do.

    We went to the "Timeshare Owners Survey" a.k.a. sales pitch. You get a nice breakfast buffet at the waterpark and $100 "resort dollars" for on-site amenities. The 2 hour survey turned into a 4 hour sales presentation. You have to say "no" three separate times before they give up. $25 per hour ain't too bad when the food's good...

    The sales staff offered repo's mostly, as they were apparently running out of space for new development. They started with sky high "resort pricing" and ended with "owner resale" pricing. I was amazed how many salespeople were working there if there's not much in inventory to sell and assuming they earn commission. It must be the food...

    We blew our resort bucks at the waterpark the next day. It took most of it to admit 2 adults and two children. If your kids are over 42" tall they charge adult admission. Bring extra money if you get hungry. A hot dog combo will set you back $6 or more. It's a clean, well-maintained facility but kind of cramped when bus loads of children from nearby schools spend the day. The waterpark draws crowds from around the area as well as the resort owners and guests. The kids had a blast. Overall a nice place to visit...

    They are currently constructing the second phase of the waterpark which will cater more to the adults.

  • Avatar for tom245
    By tom245 Updated Sep 9, 2007

    We have owned here since 1999. This is a great resort. The Summit is my favorite place to stay. Sitting on the little back porch drinking coffee admiring the view is wonderful in the morning. Some of the sales staff are very aggresive, so be forwarned. Overall though you can't beat this place for amenities. championship golf courses, 3 outdoor pools, 2 indoor pools, health clubs, spas, family movie nights, on-site entertainment, trout-stocked ponds, playgrounds, over dozen tennis & basketball courts, indoor racquetball courts & a gymnasium, horse back riding stables, 2 championship mini golf courses, mountain biking, skiing, snow tubing, games rooms with billiards, air hockey, pinball, go kart track, kayaking, white water rafting, a huge waterpark, several restaurants now and they are saying they are now going to build a Mall and another waterpark!!!!!. I still didn't get them all. Some amenities are a bit pricey and they really need to revisit the ridiculous price they are charging for internet service.

  • Avatar for kathy2500
    By kathy2500 Feb 26, 2007

    The unit was comfortable and worked reasonably well for us as we have two children who shared the twin beds in the second bedroom. The kitchen is a joke, however, so we did little but eat breakfast at the condo. Also, the only DVD player is in the living room so be prepared with video tapes.

    The resort has many activities although many are rather pricey. We greatly enjoyed the water park (awesome, according to my kids) and the snow tubing. The ski conditions were not great so we didn't bother skiing, especially because the lift tickets were more expensive than anything you can find in Vermont. We also tried one of the art projects and they did a nice job with it.

    Major drawback is the lack of transportation around the resort. We used an entire tank of gas just getting around the resort and back and forth to Luray Caverns which is about a 40 minute drive away.

    Also, unless you love the resort and want to purchase a timeshare, do NOT go to the sales presentation. They told us it would take 2 hours and after 6.5 hours of a high pressure sales pitch, we were finally able to escape. It was miserable!

  • Avatar for robinh48
    By robinh48 Feb 22, 2007

    We love owning at the Summit. We have vacationed somewhere at Massanutten each summer from 2001 and have our 2007 week booked. We often trade our week for a week that better fits our schedule.

    The summit is our favorite of the Massanutten properties that we have stayed in. The accomodations are great. The views are awesome.

    There is always something to do. The waterpark is an added plus available in 2006. It is fun for all ages.

  • Avatar for maandpaham
    By maandpaham Updated Oct 21, 2006

    Resort was beautiful. Scenery in the fall is amazing. Enjoyed a week of color, golf and the spa. The only problem is that the 2nd bedroom had twin beds which could not be combined and it was difficult to sleep in as an adult. The only restaurant that is decent in the area is the Fairways. If you don't use your room for meals, you have to drive into Harrisonburg to find restaurants. My niece was there at the Eagle Killy Court and it was not nearly as nice. It was worn down and needed renovation.

  • Avatar for jennifert87
    By jennifert87 Oct 8, 2006

    Wonderful Place!Awsome Ski School!Great tubes!

  • Avatar for ahujachand
    By ahujachand Aug 16, 2006

    with the water park - cheap golf - and all the regional attractions - Wine Country - Caves and Monticello etc - this is truly exceptional value - used my RCI this year - but will be buying into this place for the future

  • Avatar for engfam
    By engfam Updated Aug 1, 2006

    We just stayed at the Summit this past week. The indoor/outdoor waterpark is OUTSTANDING. We stayed there for 9 hours. The kids loved it. Just a great place for the family. Best thing is that the indoor park is open for winter vacation, as well. Hope you get a chance to enjoy it.

  • Avatar for emilyc11
    By emilyc11 Jul 8, 2006

    Just returned from the resort. The region is beautiful and plenty to do. We enjoyed it a lot. The unit is big. We have a 2br lower unit. But the kitchen is a half kitchen. We prefer a full kitchen. The unit is on a mountain slope and there is no shuttle from the activity center to the unit. Since it is difficult to walk, it is the major inconvenience.

  • Avatar for bernie110
    By bernie110 Updated Sep 16, 2005

    Very Good resort. Excellent Base camp to explore the historic and senic Shenandoah Valley region. The resort has many activities but reserve early to make sure they have space for you. Activities fill up fast Enjoyed Candlemaking . Was a great expirence and the instructer was fabulous. Mattress could be better

  • Avatar for schultzie6
    By schultzie6 Updated Jul 25, 2005

    When considering the DOZENS of resorts that we've visited, Massanutten is one of the most incredible we've ever experienced. Our family LOVES this resort so much that we decided to purchase a year-round vacation home located next to the snow-tubing park/golf range!!!

    The waterpark is scheduled to open in October 2005 & the Massanutten Property Homeowners Association (year-round property owner assoc.) is now proposing construction of a go-cart track & batting cages!

    Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter activities include: championship golf courses, 3 outdoor pools, 2 indoor pools, health clubs, spas, family movie nights, on-site entertainment, trout-stocked ponds, playgrounds, over dozen tennis & basketball courts, indoor racquetball courts & a gymnasium, horse back riding stables, 2 championship MINI GOLF courses, mountain biking, skiing, snow tubing, games rooms with billiards, air hockey, pinball.

  • Avatar for cmguli
    By cmguli Jul 17, 2005

    We stayed at the Summit in July 2005. Accomodations were nice. We stayed in a 2br 2ba lower level unit. It was new, clean and spacious. There was no stove, but we had a gas bbq out on our deck/balcony.

    We found plenty of activities to keep our 9 and 12 yr old daughters busy. The kid-rec program was a bit too boring for our kids, and resembles baby sitting much more than it does a recreational program.

    We utilized several of the many outdoor pools and the 2 indoor pools. We purchased activity cards for the kids ($50 ea) which entitled them to participate in many activities for free, or at a reduced rate. Reservations for the activities should be made well in advance, as they fill up quickly. I can attest that the candlemaking, tie-dying and the 2 complimentary rounds of mini-golf made purchasing the card well worth it.

    Drawbacks: limited dining facilities, activities are not accessible without a vehicle (being in the mountains makes this resort difficult to near impossible to navigate on foot).

  • Avatar for snoopy50
    By snoopy50 Jul 5, 2004

    Views were wonderful......unit size was ok....if you're in a upper unit you have a stove with the lower unit you get a BBQ grill instead of the stove. I'm glad I had the BBQ grill.

    Stay away from the so called "Survey" for the new water park. That's not what it is, it's a sales pitch from the first minute and they don't let go until you've signed. You have 7 days to cancel and they don't tell you this or much of anything else.The sales team put a damper on a very nice vacation.

  • Avatar for litarc
    By litarc Jun 21, 2004

    If you're a nature person, this is the resort for you. The scenery is beautiful. We easily saw several deer about the resort. The tube park is lots of fun in the winter. We ended up buying another week here. The units are clean, tastefully decorated, though a bit stuffy for my tastes. The jucuzzi tub is HUGE. There are grills on the balconies which is nice. The washer and dryer is shared by two units. I guess this better than having to share it with a whole floor as we did in another resort. I've noticed it's easy to exchange into this resort as well as use your bonus week there in the winter. They're now building a water park and food court. This played a big part in us deciding to buy.

  • Avatar for pintobay
    By pintobay Mar 30, 2004

    Our daughter went to JMU and we had a "family" weekend each fall. It is perfect for families. This past fall we had two units together and it was great because my two daughters and their friends stayed in one unit and my husband and I had the other.

    Terrific mountain setting, deer outside the door. The units were spacious and the jacuzzi bathroom is fabulous.

    We highly recommend Massanutten Resorts but the Summit is by far the best!!

  • Avatar for karolann2
    By karolann2 Apr 21, 2003

    The unit is spacious & clean. Great view of the mountains. The resort itself offers the entire family many things to do. They offer classes (ex. yoga) indoor pool, great hiking. You never have to leave the resort. There is also a restaurant on site w/great food.

  • Avatar for cindylamb
    By cindylamb Mar 15, 2003

    We went to this resort for the second time,April 2002, and found just as enjoyable and entertaining as the first time.(at which time we bought a week)There are so many things to do on the resort you never have to leave. Even my finicky nephew enjoyed himself and wants to return with us when we visit Massanutten next time.

  • Avatar for wagnerx
    By wagnerx Feb 7, 2003

    Super Gold Crown units with full access to all activities at Massanutten Resort. Easy access to the ski slopes, some units virtually ski-out. However, the roads are steep.

  • Avatar for lundgrens
    By lundgrens Jan 6, 2003

    A beautiful Resort with top notch units, spoiled by a overanxious sales staff. As a family who traded into the resort we were bombarded by calls and sales pitches... to the point where it ruined a perfrectly beautiful vacation. Stay away from the ravenous sales staff and you will have a really good time.

  • Avatar for kitt0799
    By kitt0799 Nov 8, 2002

    The Summit at Massanutten is a most beautiful way to spend a vacation. There is a wide variety of activities at the resort as well as in the surrounding area. The Blue Ridge Mountains, Skyline Drive and Shandoah Valley are all remarkable in their own way. Visiting Massanutten is one of the truly great things in life. I recommend it for families, singles and seniors. Everyone will love the Summit at Massanutten.

  • Avatar for sen
    By sen Oct 29, 2002

    We had a great time. The resort is beautiful, clean, spacious. There are lots of things to do. The view is fabulous.

    This is the perfect resort for the family with several different interests. We took several interesting classes during our stay. We went snow tubing. It can be very active or very relaxing an peaceful. You can be outdoors the whole time or indoors and always have something to do. I highly recommend this resort.

Back to reviews
Resort review