Back to resort

Reviews of Divi Dutch Village Beach Resort

Oranjestad, Aruba

3.9

Out of 5
10 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Divi Dutch Village Beach Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for mikei57
    By mikei57 Updated Jun 6, 2015

    Hi,

    We were at the Divi Dutch Village in Late November and had a great time. The pools were very clean, there wasn't any trash lying around, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the beach was so close to the room it was fantastic! We stayed with friends in a two bedroom and it was more than enough space for us. We walked to the grocery store and stocked the kitchen with food, snacks, and wine. Plenty of space. We even did a few excursions while on the island and were happy to see that we didn't need to drive anywhere- the excursions picked us up at the resort. We will definitely be returning to Aruba and the Divi Dutch Village Resort.

  • Avatar for kellya77
    By kellya77 Aug 21, 2013

    I am a Divi owner but traded my home resort for the Divi Dutch Village. The unit was in desperate need of a facelift, the cupboards were in bad shape, bathroom tiles were cracked & yellow, and other cosmetic problems. However, what made us very unhappy is that we stayed there for New Years and on New Years Eve we were not allowed to purchase ANY food or beverages! We did not purchase the all-inclusive package and we were not told in advance so that we could have planned appropriately (ie, grocery shop). We ended up taking the bus to the hotel district where we ate, drank, and danced to live music at the Hardrock Café so we ended up having a better time than if we stayed that night at the Divi. As an owner, I was SO disappointed!!!!

  • Avatar for rebekahp16
    By rebekahp16 Jun 21, 2013

    I've spent 17 Christmases and New Years in Divi Dutch Village. Wonderful camaraderie with the other owners, who have become long-time friends. Right on the beach, pools, big units, golf across the street. This year, sadly, I can't make it.

  • Avatar for marianner31
    By marianner31 Mar 21, 2011

    Since the Divi Dutch Village has not been rated since 2009 and it is 2011, I think the review needs to be updated. The units renovation have been completed. New refrigerators, improvements in the kitchen and bath areas are good improvements. The low rise (three floors only) offer pool space open all day, no getting up at 5:30 am to "save your space". Most of the time it is peaceful and quiet. The beach is only a few steps away and although it is sometimes eroded it returns and down the beach it becomes one of the larges beach areas along the strip (this is still on the Divi property). The balconies are private We use ours a lot to eat and just relax. The Tiki Bar, a small hut that provides excellent lunches and snacks is only available to Dutch occupants and always makes you feel welcome. MR

  • Avatar for norman265
    By norman265 Updated May 7, 2009

    We made our reservations 5-6 months in advance of our stay for week 15. We requested a first floor unit since my wife has difficult climbing stairs. Our intentions were to look for a unit to buy and also see the Condo's for sale at the Divi Links. Anyway, when we arrived, they gave us a unit on the 2nd floor and it was awful. The A/C in the bedroom was so noisy we didn't use it. The A/C in the kitchen would leak rusty water on the floor in front of the kitchen isle. Screens on the patio door and front window were damaged and needed repair. Also, the windows were so dirty, looks like they hadn't been cleaned for years. The ceiling fans in the Bedroom, Dining Room and outside deck could only be used at low speed - at med to high speed, they would shake all over with the fear that they might fall. Obviously, we decided not to buy a unit or a Condo with the Divis. Appears that the Divi Resorts are more interested in selling units and/or Condos rather than keeping the current unit owners units in acceptable conditions. Sorry for the bad review, just being honest in my observations.

  • Avatar for jerry343
    By jerry343 Aug 27, 2007

    the 1 bedroom I had was spacious, completely updated with a nice king size bed ....living room and balcony were comfortable ..unit had ceiling fans in bedroom living room and balcony...divi dutch has 3 pools to use plus a hot tub..rooms face 1 of the 3 pools ..beach is walking distance but i did not care for it...it had very little shore ..many rocks and to few huts for shade..beach obviously is eroding in this part of the Divi however you can walk a little further down to a nicer and very large section of beach that is better

  • Avatar for elizabeth39
    By elizabeth39 Jan 1, 2006

    Just back from Christmas Vacation. Stayed 2 weeks. This is a charming resort set in a natural tropical environment that is 100% FAMILY friendly. Dogs too. Birds chirp each day, very clean, nice rooms, right behind Divi's Mega All Inclusive Resort (you can purchase the all inclusive which is very high price for what you get). Lots of beach (3 KM) and much to offer. Only complaint - this is one of Divi's 5 huge resorts (4 including the Dutch Village) that are all in one area - creating a huge mega mega resort. Getting around and hearing of activities is alot of work - too spread out. We also LOVE Divi Little Bay in Saint Maartin (rated as the best resort in the Caribean).

  • Avatar for pdm228
    By pdm228 Oct 25, 2004

    Units are in the process of being remodeled. Buildings 1 & 2 have been completed, 3 & 4 in progress. Owners of Divi Resorts can exchange with other resorts within same season for $69. Upgrade one season $300, upgrade 2 seasons $600. Room size can also be upgraded 1 bedroom to 2 bedroom $300. Very flexable without using exchange company.

  • Avatar for jalfonsoct
    By jalfonsoct Oct 21, 2003

    We stayed here in September, 2002. It is old and in need of upgrading. Staff was so-so as prices posted for meals on their website were not honored. We wrote to Divi and received a song and a dance. This was suppose to be a free week as my daughter purchased a Divi timeshare while on her honeymoon. Divi charged us $630 for the privilege of staying here "for free".

  • Avatar for rcispecialist
    By rcispecialist Dec 25, 2002

    The Divi Village resort is truley a touch of Europe in Aruba. This resort is very clean and feels like your own little private manion on Aruba. This resort is not so busy as others which made it even more enjoyable. The Divi Village provides a shuttle to and from the local casinos. A jeep tour is highly recommended to see all of Aruba, the other side of Aruba is breath taking. The beach from the resort is within a few steps.There is a crosswalk to get to the beach. The units itself are fairly spacious.

Back to reviews
Resort review