Playa Linda Beach Resort

Palm Beach, Aruba

Back to resort

Reviews of Playa Linda Beach Resort

Palm Beach, Aruba

4.3

Out of 5
24 reviews
  • 5

    (31)

  • 4

    (14)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Playa Linda Beach Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for amberk49
    By amberk49 Dec 4, 2016

    My family has owned a timeshare at the Playa Linda for the past several years. We originally had a two bedroom unit which was ok but seemed to always smell of sewage in one bathroom. In general, it was well-kept but had dated finishes and only had access to a shared laundry area used by the entire floor. I can't say whether they have updated those units or not, because we upgraded to the new penthouse unit a couple years ago since we always go with a big group. The rest of the review speaks only to the penthouse unit which is AMAZING. All the finishes are new and nothing smells like sewage. There's an in-suite laundry room and the most fantastic view from the private patio. The resort overall has an average pool area; it has gotten much better with the recent renovation. But the beach is where you want to go at the Playa Linda. The chickee huts are very quiet, the beach is immaculate (the best on the beach I'd say), and the service is so friendly. We go back annually and the staff remember us and we remember them and it's wonderful. You don't have to fight for a chickee like you do at other resorts and it's generally more of a relaxing vibe than some of the others. Can we talk about the food? Azzuro is our absolute favorite place to go on the island and has amazing views of the sunset. But then there's Scott's Brats on the beach; we talk about it all year until we can go back and get their breakfast sandwiches and hot Italian beef sandwiches for lunch. So delicious! If that's not your style, there's a Dunkin Donuts on the beach for morning coffees, bagels, and donuts. Location can't be beat; it's across the street from the mall which has shops, bars, a cinema, etc... and is only a short taxi ride from the airport. We also own a timeshare at the Marriott Surf Club and our family is generally split between who likes which resort better. Marriott has a better pool area, much nicer gym area, newer rooms generally, and in-suite washer and dryer. But Playa Linda has a much better beach, is more quiet generally, and has better food options on-site. Locations are pretty similar but Playa Linda has a slight edge just because it is at the center of all the retail. It really comes down to whether you prefer the beach or the pool. Can't go wrong with either though.

  • Avatar for kevinj160
    By kevinj160 Updated Jul 12, 2016

    Simply the best location and resort on the Island. Beach and pool are amazing, Been going to Aruba since 1982. BOUGHT IN 1989. love it

  • Avatar for deborah526
    By deborah526 Updated Feb 6, 2016

    The most awesome resort on the island!

  • Avatar for janb293
    By janb293 Updated Feb 12, 2015

    The Most AUTHENTIC FEELING Resort - Beautiful - Clean - Fabulous Staff

  • Avatar for annem428
    By annem428 Oct 31, 2013

    In my opinion best location and facility on the island. Staff is warm and friendly, rooms are great, the overall look of the resort is very pretty and it's smack in the middle of everything, but once you go to your room and close the door it's perfectly silent. Loved it. Cory C

  • Avatar for susanf495
    By susanf495 Feb 22, 2013

    The Big Resort with a little feel. You never feel crowded like at some of the other resorts. Staff is friendly and attentive. You feel like you are part of a family.

  • Avatar for julie1310
    By julie1310 Mar 4, 2012

    Awesome resorts right in the middle of everything. Loved the people, the city, and the short walk to the beach and bathtub ocean water.

  • Avatar for thomass440
    By thomass440 Sep 5, 2011

    you are on the best beach in Aruba and you dont need a car you are in walking distance to the best resturants and casinos

  • Avatar for lindam832
    By lindam832 Aug 7, 2009

    We have traveled all over the Caribbean and this resort has it all. Great size, variety of

    accommodations, friendly staff and terrific location. Many owners and celebrities have been coming for 20+ years because they have been very happy there and call it

    there "home away from home" Rooms are being reburbished and redecorated. It is safe,

    relaxed and rated a 5 star resort. It has also won many travel awards.

  • Avatar for maryalice
    By maryalice Updated May 30, 2009

    I don't understand why the owners at Playa Linda think they can ask over $4000 a one week in a one bedroom unit for New Years. It was a great resort, years ago, but there are so many nicer resorts now, for half the money. Playa Linda needs upating and their beach is small and crowded. Look around.

  • Avatar for davidc773
    By davidc773 Mar 9, 2009

    AH, Playa Linda! My wife and I have been to 9 other islands and have stayed at 3 places on Aruba at different times and we decided to buy at Playa Linda, because we were continually disappointed with the other resorts. Not so with Play Linda. We absolutely love the beach, the staff, the privacy and our unit has always been clean as a whistle and the maid service is World Class. Why go anywhere else?

    What's neat about Aruba is that it is a Dutch island and very prosperous, which translates into very good restaurants, clean water (to drink), well stocked supermarkets and a friendly local population. Excellent snorkeling and breathtaking sunsets.

    Our week in April has never disappointed us from a weather standpoint as Aruba is below the hurricane belt and very dry (who needs rain on their 7 days off?). Playa Linda is the best on that beach as it is smaller and more intimate than the other Giant hotel-like facilities. Love it!

  • Avatar for vickic69
    By vickic69 Updated Dec 30, 2008

    This timeshare is in a great location--you never have to go far for anything and the beach is great. However, the rooms are seriously in need of updating and our room smelled of mold/mildew (253). During the week we were there (5/11 thru 5/18/08) the owners/guests were mostly retirees. Facility was clean and attractive but in need of updating.

  • Avatar for joannec72
    By joannec72 Dec 28, 2008

    used to be great but needs to make an investment. units smell extremely moldy, beds are poor though new, partial updates dont reflect the high mainteneance fees .

  • Avatar for carmelas3
    By carmelas3 Jul 9, 2008

    BEEN GOING TO ARUBA FOR 5 YEARS, AND STAYING AT THE PLAYA LINDA. GREAT RESORT, FRIENDLY STAFF, CLEAN AND THEY STARTED THERE RENOVATIONS. THE SPECS SHOW EVERY ROOM BEING STRIPPED BARE, NEW FURNITURE, NEW BEDS, NEW CARPENTING, NEW EVERYTHING, TO BE COMPLETED 2010. EVERYTHING IS ACROSS THE STREET FROM T.G.I.F. TO ANY TYPE OF RESTAURANTS FOR YOUR TASTE BUDS. GREAT BEACH, LOVE THE LOCATION IN BETWEEN HOLIDAY INN AND THE HYATT. FAMILY ORIENTED, THEY ARE BUILDING A TEEN/CHILDREN ACTIVITY ROOM. GREAT RESORT!!

  • Avatar for karenf163
    By karenf163 Jun 12, 2007

    THE FRIENDLINESS OF THE STAFF AND THE WHOLE ISLAND IS WHAT MAKE PEOPLE COME BACK TO ARUBA YEAR AFTER YEAR. YES, THEY LOVE THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHES, GORGEOUS SUNSETS, GREAT DINING AND THE FUN AT THE CASINOS BUT IT'S THE WARMTH AND HAPPINESS OF THE PEOPLE THAT BRINGS PEOPLE BACK. THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR ISLAND WITH MY FAMILY AND I. I AM HOPING TO BUY A WEEK SO THAT I CAN GUARANTEE I WILL BE ABLE TO COME AND VISIT AT LEAST ONCE EVERY YEAR!!

  • Avatar for derfwhite
    By derfwhite May 28, 2006

    STAYED IN JAN 2006- AWESOME RESORT. WE ALREADY LOVED ARUBA AND HAVE STAYED AT OTHER NICE REORTS THERE AS WELL AS GRAND CAYMEN, ST MAARTEN, PARADISE ISLAND, ETC. I RATE THIS ONE #1 SO FAR. IT HAS IT ALL.

    FRED

  • Avatar for janicele
    By janicele Updated Mar 27, 2006

    We are just back from a week in Aruba. The Playa Linda is the 4th place we've stayed at, and I think we've found a place to return to! I am generally very particular when it comes to staying anywhere. I do agree with others that some of the resort needs to be updated, but they are doing that one section at a time. We stayed in a studio and it was a little outdated, but it was clean which is more important to me than anything. We were told they are going to start remodeling the studios soon. We, too, heard a bit of noise on the day that many were checking out or changing rooms, but it was nothing we couldn't handle. We made some wonderful friends during our week and the time there was nothing short of spectacular.

    We are already looking into renting next year for week 12. When it comes to being in Aruba, nothing but torrential downpours could make me unhappy! We look forward to many more visits.

  • Avatar for johnd316
    By johnd316 Mar 4, 2006

    We just back from Aruba this week. The playa linda is in a great location. You never have to leave the area. The only downside is the age of the resort and that it should have been remodeled 10 years ago, by no means was it a bad resort, just outdated. We stayed in unit 632 which has the best views.

    You also have to get up at 5:30am, yes AM, to get a chickie on the beach, or you can sleep in until 6:30am and you can get one by the pool.

    Besides the need for remodeling, this was by far the best place to stay.

  • Avatar for daleroux
    By daleroux Jul 8, 2005

    We have been to Aruba several times and have stayed at 5 other resorts. Playa Linda is our favorite. The location is excellent. Plenty of restaurants and casinos close by. The beach is great and the staff is wonderful. The resorts does everything it can to please its guests.

  • Avatar for boris57
    By boris57 Updated May 13, 2005

    This is just the best place to stay in Aruba, Clean, Nice, friendly, best location, ( next to the Hyatt), and of course the best beach in the caribbean. Has everything you may need to spend a great week!

  • Avatar for alldolledup
    By alldolledup Oct 6, 2003

    We were very disappointed in this resort when we stayed in August. Our room was more like a Motel 6 than any timeshare we have stayed in before (this is our fourth visit and we had previously stayed at Allegro, Aruba Phoenix, and La Cabana). There were cigarette burns in the furniture, the bed is a double, not a queen or king, and you can hear everything in the halls (cleaning starts at 8 AM and you know it). you can also hear teasily through the walls. if the cleaning ladies don't wake you, the next door alarm clock does. The pool area and beach were very nice, but the kids were unsupervised, jumping in from the rocks, playing ball in the jacuzzi, which was quite annoying. Hotel staff reprimanded them, but it just continued. The jacuzzi was also luke warm. we had expected much more!!

  • Avatar for annventura
    By annventura Aug 6, 2003

    This is a very nice place well kept up

  • Avatar for karolann2
    By karolann2 Apr 21, 2003

    They don't call this "One Happy Island" for nothing. There is so much to do here. Gamble, Shows,the best island water if have seen. No matter what unit you stay in, you have a view of the water. We stayed on the top floor 2 bedroom unit. You open up 2 french doors to a large balcony w/outdoor furniture. We went w/6 people & ate breakfast outside every morning. Breathtaking.

  • Avatar for rosemary
    By rosemary Updated Oct 2, 2002

    One of the nicest timeshares I have been to. Really clean and convenient to everything.

Back to reviews
Resort review