Bryan's Spanish Cove

Orlando, Florida

Back to resort

Reviews of Bryan's Spanish Cove

Orlando, Florida

4.2

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (7)

  • 4

    (6)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Bryan's Spanish Cove lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for pam545
    By pam545 Apr 3, 2006

    This was the first time we had rented a timeshare. We were very pleased. The room was spotless (no bugs, no dirt) and the staff was very helpful and pleasant. The view from the pool was beautiful in the evening because it overlooked the lake. The only downfall was the whirlpool was scalding hot. We notified staff and it was closed, then fixed the following morning. Definately would stay again!

  • Avatar for edward97
    By edward97 Nov 5, 2004

    We stayed the week of Thanksgiving 2003. This place is located about a mile from the entrance to Disney. Never stayed so close to the entrance and couldn't believe how easy it was to gain access to the park.

    The resort is located directly on Lake Bryan. This allows for some nice lake views from the pool and pier.

    Very impressed with the spaciousness and interior of our unit. Wife was skeptical of timeshare rentals, but now insists on fully equipped units for all future vacations. With children, the food expenses are kept in check by saving on breakfasts and late night meals. She was especially pleased with the washer & dryer.

    The pool was quite warm, but was enjoyable on cool nights. We would rather a warm pool than a cold one!

    As indicated by other renters, the exterior of this resort needs a fair amount of attention. The wooden pier is showing its age and the screens on our unit were rather dirty and worn. A little TLC could turn this place into a fantastic resort.

    You don't rent here for elegance, but for location and quaintness. Would we stay here again? Absolutely! We got a very competitive rate and were happy with the value. I wouldn't want to pay a significant price for this unit. If the price gets too high, there are plenty of rentals in the area that would be more attractive.

  • Avatar for dmdubuc
    By dmdubuc Updated Mar 5, 2004

    Bryant's Spanish cove is a small resort where you can actually escape from the crowds of Orlando to find some peace and quiet.

    With only two rows of villas, I'd estimate there are only about 70 units in the entire resort. Each timeshare has its own private entrace with ample parking right at your own entrance. You come and go with ease and privacy. No elevators, revolving doors, crowded parking lots, or busy lobbies.

    The villas (what they call each timeshare unit) are huge, more of an apartment than a timeshare. The total square footage of each unit is around 1200 square feet. The sheer space of these units adds to the leisurely, solitude of this resort.

    Even though the pool is small, it doesn't seem to get overcrowded. While we were swimming, we usualy only saw one other family or individual at the pool while we swam. I doubt that you will be hit by beach balls or spalshed by cannonballs. This is NOT a noisy, over crowded pool. Since there is a series of docks overlooking Lake Bryan, some sunbathers or readers opt for a lounge chair on the dock instead of poolside.There is even a small sandy beach area at the shoreline where toddlers or preschoolers could play in the sand or a solitude-seaking sunbather could set down on a blanket or chair.

    Bryan's Spanish Cove has location, location, location. In this up-and-coming Lake Buena Vista neighborhood of Orlando, you are a few east miles of Disney World and a few miles west of Seaworld. No matter where you want to go, you are one exit away. And you don't even need to get on the highway to reach Downtown Disney, it is just down the road. The setting is a quieter area than most. It's not on one of these commercial stretches overrun with neon blinking signs, fast food restaurants, and souvenir shops. Bryan's Spanish Cove is on a mile or two strech of route 385 that primarily hosts large lavish resorts, most notably Sheraton Vistana Resort. The resort nature of the area translates into less traffic, noise, and commotion. There are very few retail stores on this mile or two stretch of road: a small grocery store, a restaurant, and a drugstore. This is a street where people actually jog on the sidewalk on the sidewalk. There is open space on either side of Bryan's where I would expect to see more upscale resort development. Just around the corner, you'll find many exquisite, newly developed resorts on International Drive South, which offers an entirely different mood than the original Interantional Drive. I think weeks at this relatively low-priced resort are a wise investment.

  • Avatar for gerry10
    By gerry10 Feb 11, 2004

    Large well kept units which even had a fireplace.

    The place looks more like a motel than a resort.

    Fantastic location right across from Vistana and very close to Lake Buenavista.

    Pool was kept at a very high temperature (about 88 degrees) which was greatly appreciated at Christmas week when outside temperatures were 65 degrees.

    Staff very courteous.

    Located on a lake so view and ambiance was very quaint.

    I do not use resort services other than pool so I actually enjoyed this resort more than Vistana at which I stayed the week before but which had a cold pool.

  • Avatar for pattybjones
    By pattybjones Feb 1, 2004

    The unit was spacious and has recently been remodeled so was very nice.

    Convenient to all Disney Parks, Universal, Sea World and even Wal-Mart!!!!! Not very far to drive at all when you are dog tired from a day at the theme parks. It was close enough that we came back several days for lunch and a nap and then went back to the parks.

    The screened in patio was nice and faced the woods.

    Pool was nice and overlooked the lake which made it even more peaceful.

    Resort has several planned activities (free) like ice cream, hot dogs, etc which was nice for a break and the kids LOVED it.

    Not a large resort which, for me, is a plus.

    We didn't use them, but there were boats and canoes that could be used on the lake for free.

  • Avatar for dick
    By dick Updated Nov 21, 2003

    recently renovated, close to all attractions,units well maintained,lake-& amenities good, two tv sets,everything you would want, will def. return again, well satisfied......John M. Mass.

  • Avatar for dougm
    By dougm Aug 24, 2003

    The unit itself was very nice. It had been recently redone, a very bright, and well set up kitchen. The bathrooms were also quite nice. The master bedroom was very large. So this was a perfect unit for a family of four to stay in after running around all day at Disney.

    The staff were very friendly and accomodating. It was really closes to Disney, and once you get use to the crazy drivers and streets in Orlando, getting around was easy. It is difficult to find at night, as there are no street lights, and the resort is not very well lit up from the street.

    The only drawback was that the outside areas were not in as good shape as the interior of the unit. There was a washer or dryer cardboard box that sat outside of our unit the whole time we were there, the screened in patio, had ripped screens, and the deck outside the unit needed to be painted! We did not bother using them at all because of the sad shape they were in. Likewise, the pool was okay, but we would not let the kids use the hottub because it was not very well maintained. The view also was not the greatest, as the unit backed onto the back of the next resort, where there were a bunch of trailer units for their staff to reside in. But to be fair we did not pick this resort for the view.

    Since we were out all the time, we did not use the canoes etc, but Bryan Lake was very pretty, especially in the evening.

    So, this worked out well, for a spacious, clean place to stay, while we were doing the Disney thing.

  • Avatar for breezy1
    By breezy1 Updated Jul 28, 2003

    Old, run down, units overlook dumpsters, basically, A Dump!

  • Avatar for golden4
    By golden4 May 26, 2003

    Very large well-kept unit. Right across the street from Vistana but on Lake Bryan. Boats with electric motors were available at no charge for touring Lake Bryan. Disney gate only 1 mile away. Great location...would go again!

Back to reviews
Resort review