Canyons Grand Summit Hotel

Park City, Utah

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Canyons Grand Summit Hotel

Park City, Utah


  • Avatar for powderrest
    By powderrest Updated Jan 17, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    I have to say 5 stars all the way. This is an amazing place-- paradise in summer and winter. They get 350-400 inches of snow -- and it's just 39 miles from the airport-- beats colorado resorts with multi-hour drives from the airports. There are 3800 acres there so there is plenty of skiiing-- this is the largest resort in all of UT -- but if that's not enough there are two other world-class resorts in Park City (Deer Valley and Park City Mountan Resort) PLUS there is another mountain about 45m drive from Park City with FOUR MORE resorts (Solitude, Alta, Snowbird and Brighton) And if you go to ogden, you have three more! Snowbasin Powder Mountain and Sundance)

    All of these resorts, ELEVEN OF THEM are less than one hour from the airport-- salt lake city rocks. (recall the winter olympics were held here in many of these resorts! )

    Resort is "posh" with granite countertops, upgraded appliances, flat screen tv's and mountain decor -- Many units have fireplaces and balconies. And best of all the lift is just like 100 steps from the door of the place. True ski in / ski out. No schlepping of equipment. Put the skiboots on in your room, grab your skis from the ski valet and hit the slopes. Can't be beat.

    Amenitites abound with huge heated pool, three hot tubs, spa/ steam room /sauna, and all the typical massage and pampering treatment. Full workout faciliteis and several onsite restaurants. Mini grocery store. Underground parking with valet.

    A five star resort. No question.

    Don't foget Park City- home of the sundance film festival... ton's of fabulous restaurants, art galeries, shops, etc. Just a few miles away or take a city shuttle bus if you don't want to drive.

    This place is paradise-- you must go!

  • Avatar for mitzih3
    By mitzih3 Sep 9, 2009

    My wife, I and our 2 little kids stayed in unit 539 for 8 days and had a great time. This is a perfect place and location for families. It is close to kid care, lessons and the gondola.

  • Avatar for daryla6
    By daryla6 Updated Jan 2, 2008

    My fiance and I love this resort. We regret we couldn't afford to buy a unit as they're all quarter-shares, but we've stayed here a couple of times as non-owner guests and drop in every other week during the summer for lunch (we're locals). We've never been treated like anything less that honored guests. We even decided to stage our (very expensive) wedding here in the summor of 2008, reserving a block of 25 rooms including a three and a four bedroom penthouse suite for the occasion...that's allot to risk on a hotel staff if we didn't think they'd treat everyone exceptionally well.

    If you're dropping in during the summer months, be prepared to hear crickets. It's very quiet and if you're not a hiker or mountain biker, you're likely to get bored. We love it this way, which is why we keep driving up for the afternoon.

    When it came down to it, we opted for a one-week share of the Westgate next door because of the price, but the Grand Summit is the main reason we considered The Canyons instead of downtown Park City. We just love the place.

  • Avatar for harangus
    By harangus Jan 16, 2007

    Agree that the one star posting is bogus. Very service-oriented staff and facility. They do not normally even know (only the front desk does) who owners are versus guests.

    This is a four star hotel where the units happen to be owned by others.

  • Avatar for hudson26
    By hudson26 Updated Nov 15, 2006

    11/15/06 Update: Regarding posting above where someone gave 1 star. This resort is awarded 4-diamonds by AAA, with special mention for its outstanding staff and service. Something odd about those comments above which are not in keeping with this resort and its reputation at all. I have been at the Grand Summit in every season year-round for 6 years.........and have yet to see or hear of that kind of experience.

    Every aspect of the Grand Summit is first class. It's a beautifully appointed resort where we are always proud to bring family and friends. The award-winning staff are superb year after year and available 24 hours a day for your needs.

    Park City is much more than a ski resort town, though it's best known since 2002 for hosting some events of the Winter Olympics. It's known for the summer art festival, the Sundance film festival, music festivals , gourmet dining, magnificent scenery and close proximity to both Salt Lake City and the wondrous Wasatch Front and Uintas of the Rocky Mountains. In fact, if you come to Canyons to ski during Sundance, you will feel like you have the entire mountain to yourself. .

    There is much to entertain non-skiers in the winter, too: Historic Main Street has 180 unique shoppes including custom jewelers, chocolatiers, art and photography galleries and specialty high end clothiers. Skip Starbucks and stop in to Bad Ass Coffee.....exclusively from Kona. The new Redstone complex in Kimball Junction is just minutes away and offers a new venue for movies, restaurants and mingling with Parkites.

    Olympic venues are a special feature of Park City. You can try out the Olympic biathlon range, luge, bobsleigh runs and ski jumping or just tour the facilities and watch the action fly by! Rides with a pro are available. Stop in to the Visitor's Centers in town and you'll find tour discounts and excellent local maps.

    The Grand Summit is perfectly situated for easy access to everything Park City has to offer. The Park City free bus shuttle is known for its strict on time performance to get you around in comfort and speed in every season. Should you have your own car, Grand Summit has the convenience of secure underground parking.

    Guests only seem to complain that their trips had to end too soon.

  • Avatar for chrisl101
    By chrisl101 Oct 26, 2006

    Was very disappointed with the staff and services. This is a beautiful resort with a lot of amenities, unfortunately condescending staff and managers are a requisite. • From the time we checked in we were treated as we weren’t “owners” - just merely guests. We used the valet parking and had to go to the desk multiple times to get someone to retrieve our keys. • As we were checking in, one of the hotel staff tried moving our vehicle with our daughter still inside as we were standing next to it. My wife tapped on the window to let him know we weren’t unloaded and he - very condescendingly - waved her off. Turns out one of the vans arriving with potential “owners” was arriving. We felt welcome... Not so much. • We had multiple items stolen from our room on two different occasions and had to contact security AND the hotel manager whom told us it “wasn’t a big deal or inconvenience” that the maid service stole our clothes. The items were returned to us after they “took care of the problem in house.”

    Needless to say, have been to Park City many times and this was the only problem. It is a beautiful city and highly recommend visiting any time of year.... just try somewhere else.

  • Avatar for karl64
    By karl64 Updated Mar 26, 2005

    Great Place with all amenities. Beautiful setting. Awesome skiing (especially in Deer snowboarders). Just loved it. Rented an awesome suite with full kitchen, fireplace etc. etc. thru PC Owner (hudson26) who was efficient, honest and a pleasure to deal with. Can't wait to do it again.

  • Avatar for joni56
    By joni56 Dec 11, 2004

    Nice 5 star hotel. I stayed here one night for a conference. I must say the bed was Rock hard and I did not sleep well. I much prefer the beds at the Westgate neighbors which I have also stayed at.

  • Avatar for terry516
    By terry516 Sep 7, 2004

    The Grand Summit is a first class place the service is excellent they want you to be happy. The rooms are clean and very modern and well taken care of. The location is close to everything shopping, skiing, and restaurants. The pool and exercise area is great and I could not have expected anything more. They have secure covered parking at the Grand Summit for all guest.

  • Avatar for dongoens
    By dongoens Nov 27, 2002

    The mountainside views are spectacular and the ski-in/ski-out location is ideal!

Back to reviews
Resort review