Royal Islander Club la Terrasse

St. Maarten, Sint Maarten & Saint Martin

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Royal Islander Club la Terrasse

St. Maarten, Sint Maarten & Saint Martin


  • Avatar for james3482
    By james3482 Updated Mar 21, 2008

    The location is more akin to an airport hotel - right by the end of the airport runway, (if you get a room overlooking it you'll see the planes landing all day long, although with the sliding glass balcony doors closed the room is soundproofed from the noise). The location is relatively convenient to most of the Dutch side of the island (except perhaps not downtown Phillipsburg which is just a port town); but it is not convenient to the main towns/areas of Grand Case and Orient Beach on the French side. This timeshare is located adjacent to the Casino Royal casino, shops, and restaurants (the best is Paris Bistro across the street). It's close to the island's only (and not well maintained) golf course. The Sonesta Hotel Resort and a sister resort, Royal Islander Club la Plage are across the street on the beach (where you have to go for the beach and where they try to discourage you from using their facilities). The best things about about La Terrasse verses it's sister resort La Plage are the balconies - La Terrasse has see-through glass railings that allow you an unobstructed views, and the parking garage that's beneath La Terrasse. If those things don't matter much to you then we'd recommend Club la Plage that's located across the street directly on the beach and is a little further from the airport runway and part of a much larger complex (La Plage and Sonesta) than La Terrasse, which sits by itself.

    While the rooms in La Terrasse were relatively new and nice, the housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired - there's a lack of attention to details (ie: mold behind the shower door), and the circuit breaker kept tripping whenever the microwave was used. Our problem - and the primary reason for only two stars in our rating - were the common areas and facilities. The timeshare appears to have been a former apartment building or hotel that is in the midst (as of our visit over Thanksgiving in November 2007) of being renovated. While we didn't experience a noise problem with the ongoing daily construction that was proceeding at a snail's pace; the hallways were a dusty dismal mess. Other than the pool and parking garage, grocery store and other retail shops, virtually all "resort" amenities were across the street at La Plage. Living in the midst of a construction site outside of our room isn't our idea of a resort vacation. While having the parking garage downstairs was convenient, be aware that there's an undisclosed (until check- in) $5 daily parking fee ($30/week). Also note that there is a $50 mandatory government occupancy tax/week and the resort puts a $1 per day voluntary "charitable donation" charge on your bill (that is removed upon request).

    Lastly, the absolute worst was our departure experience using the the common area men's and women's changing rooms located near the lobby, which we used to shower and dress after we had already checked out of our room. These large, UN- AIRCONDITIONED bathrooms were filthy, and sewer water laden with mosquitos and who knows what else was backed-up all over the floor. Yuck! When brought to the attention of the front desk, their reaction was so nonchalant as to suggest that the situation was well known and had existed for a long time with nothing done about it. Disgusting.

    Hope that provides a detailed glimpse into this timeshare. If the construction were complete and management paid more attention to building maintenance (grounds maintenance was fine though) then it would get three stars from us. However, its existing condition it is very sub-par.

  • Avatar for marilynm65
    By marilynm65 Mar 14, 2008

    March 14th 2008

    After 2 weeks of a great holiday and our 3 trip to St. Martin, I would definitely come back. After getting use to the Airplanes........(noisy by pool) My husband said it was Aviation 101.......the location is fabulous. IF you like to stay where the action is. Our first trip to St. Martin's we stayed in a smaller resort and remote location. (always in our car) This resort is much more convienent. A huge bonus is the grocery store close by and the variety of shops. The parking very convienent. We did everything the island offers and were always glad to come back here.

    The units are basic and comfortable. Very quiet.....never slept in so much!

    Depending on what you are interested in........this can work. Marilyn

  • Avatar for elizabeth39
    By elizabeth39 Jan 31, 2008

    We just did not like the location, the vacation "shopping mall", the lobby, parking area, or even the scary looking halls that led up to the room.

    The room was clean and neat, but smelled of smoke.

    It was very european in design, and the living area was right in with the kitchen.

    There were plenty of towels, and we were comfortable in the room.

    The outside area (common grounds) were well kept - but, you are sitting right next to the airport runway.

    The planes are loud = no scratch that, they shatter your ear drums.

    This location of St Maartin is not relaxed or quiet. It sort of reminds me of a "strip". There are many nicer locations on the island to stay.

    This club has clean rooms, but is not homey feeling or resort like. It sort of reminds me of budgetel Euro rooms that you get a decent clean room and that's it.

    The sister resort, la Paige sits right across the street - both are right on the street.

    Not quite a "resort" but more of a clean hotel room to stay in.

  • Avatar for cappywoman
    By cappywoman Jan 4, 2008

    Just got back from a week stay this Nov, 2007 & loved it!! Clean rooms great sun all day long & we went to the beach across the street in the afternoon so the planes were no problem!! I loved the beach there & Magic fingers ( a guy on the beach) does a massage on your feet while still laying on your beach chair!! Never had trouble in the room with them also! Try to get a higher floor for a better view.

  • Avatar for john3028
    By john3028 Updated Jan 1, 2006

    Spent 12/24/05 - 12/31/05 at Ta Terrasse. I was very disappointed. The beach is rather small and right near the airport runway. When large planes land, sand is blasted into the water and the air has a strong smell of jet fuel.

    Although the view from our balcony was nice, the chairs and table had to be wiped before use because they had a very fine film of soot from the airport next door.

    It a shame, because the location has just about everything you would want except for a larger beach.

    If you don't mind the constant arriving and departing planes of all sizes, the strong smell of jet fuel, and the oily soot that is deposited on everything outdoors, this is a great place!

  • Avatar for susan2366
    By susan2366 May 9, 2005

    Just returned from a two week trip to St. Maarten on April 2, 2005. Stayed at La Terrasse and was quite impressed how quiet it was being that close to the airport runway.

    All suites offer a magnificent view of the ocean and all the ships coming and going. There are so many restaurants nearby that there is no need to rent a car although we did. It was nice to be able to park on site.

    The laundry facilities were very clean and in a good location (not far from the pool).

    I look forward to our next trip to the Royal Islander.

  • Avatar for gary1366
    By gary1366 Updated Jan 25, 2005

    Stayed here first week of December 2004 and had a great and relaxing time. Enjoyed the large fresh water pool which is on an elevated deck, also took advantage of the jacuzzi and outdoor bar which offered very reasonably priced drinks. From our balcony and living room we were treated to views of the ocean and mountains, and watched planes landing. We very much enjoyed the French Restaurant downstairs in our resort.

    We found the rooms to be very quiet and and the bedrooms with stone bathrooms are top shelf. Everything felt so new and clean which it was!

    The entire Maho resort has a European feel too it and offered us many features including shopping, casino, night clubs and multiple restaurants that we did not feel the need to travel into hectic Philipsburg. We liked the fact that parking is offered underneath the resort.

    Finally, we felt very safe in Maho and made a point to fill up our fridge daily by taking advantage of the well stocked and clean grocery store only steps from our complex.

    Already thinking about our next trip back......

  • Avatar for danuta1
    By danuta1 Feb 24, 2004

    we just returned from a weeks stay there. The 2br 2 ba condo was just ok with a very small kitchenette.(no oven,just stovetop and microwave). Very noisy areadue to both car and airplane traffic. Fumes from airport really bad in afternoon- had to get away. Hardly any beach accross the street.View of bay from room though was terrific and nice to watch the cruise ships coming in. Resort not yet finished- no laudry facilities yet etc. It was a good deal for the money but wouldnt stay there again

Back to reviews
Resort review