Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai

Princeville, Hawaii

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Wyndham Ka 'Eo Kai

Princeville, Hawaii


  • Avatar for js98
    By js98 Dec 3, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    PHASE lll fronts St Regis Golf Course with OCEAN AND POOL VIEWS!

    Units are largest in timeshare industry! Top floor/Penthouse units with two story ceilings!

    Lanais or balconies are nearly 30 feet by 5 ft with 10 foot wide areas!!! Plus guest room has its own entrance and private balcony plus kitchennet!

    Both baths have whirlpool oversized tubs and showers. Complete remodeled floor to ceiling ib 2011 & 2012 including top of the line flooring, baths, furnishings and drapes + window treatmenrs

  • Avatar for jaceks
    By jaceks Oct 12, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for heidij17
    By heidij17 Jul 15, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort
  • Avatar for jonij4
    By jonij4 Jul 14, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    This is a wonderful resort in the most peaceful part of the world. We have been staying at this resort for 20 years and the upkeep of the units have been prestine. The island of Kauai has not changed any since we started vacationing here. We love it and will always come back. Mahalo!

  • Avatar for dorisb46
    By dorisb46 Apr 29, 2011
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Other reviews are 3 years old!

    This has always been a great resort--spacious rooms, ( much larger than other nearby) resorts, wonderful wrap-around lanai--but did need remodeling.

    New owners Wyndham Resorts has done a great job in their remodeling, a great resort, now even better.

    We have owned here for 20 years, and love it here.

  • Avatar for jeremyd18
    By jeremyd18 Feb 2, 2008

    I can't believe they got rid of the free Mai Tai's!! Other than that, the place is great. Try to get a top floor unit, the celings are 20 ft high. Huge units, fully-stocked kitchen, nice pool. It is a bit dated, but the new company is doing a good job with remodel. Perfect place for taking kids. We go every-other year with my parents and our kids, and all of us are very comfortable in the huge apartments. I haven't seen a balcony/lanai like this one anywhere (another plus for the top floor). The kids love the putting green and the waterfall at the pool. We go with 4 other couples who own here as well, and we all love the place.

  • Avatar for klaughl0
    By klaughl0 Updated Aug 9, 2007

    March 2007 Our unit had a Ionic Breeze air filter and industrial fan blowing as we entered the unit. The smell - mold/mildew - was horrible. We immediately contacted RCI for a move elsewhere. We were given key to another unit that smelled worse - like urine. Carpet was torn in many places, stained in many more, bug droppings on kitchen counter, mold in bathroom shower. The stairs up were rotted in places and there was very poor lighting making night-time movements outside dangerous - even getting to and from your car (trip over 2 unlit steps). How BAD was this place - we were willing to pay big bucks to reschedule an immediate trip home! Thankfully RCI got us another unit the next day - we were forced to spend 1 night there as we arrived around 6-7pm and couldn't really get any other accomodations. This resort needs massive makeover and clean up. Staff was very nice and gave us RCI complaint number - another couple had been moved elsewhere the day before - front desk told us that. Don't see how they keep RCI rating. It was a large unit.

  • Avatar for susank133
    By susank133 Sep 19, 2006

    This is by far the most relaxing resort. From this resort you can travel the island sightseeing and particpate in many tours. The staff is friendly and you can easily feel like home here. Make sure you attend the orientations and potluck activities if you want to feel like a local.

  • Avatar for e45
    By e45 Updated Feb 14, 2006

    Another week in Paradise at this lovely resort. Check-in at the airport is convenient, quick, courteous, with extremely helpful staff. This allowed us time to stop on the trip up to Princeville to pick up essentials.

    This is a very quiet facility. It is engulfed by the golf course and borders the Northern Cliffs...with nothing adjacent to it...being lulled to sleep at night by the sound of the waves against the cliffs, is a nice touch from Mother Nature. There are only 86, 6 person units, total, in both Phase II and III.

    The unit was very clean and bright...2 full VERY large bedrooms with a pullout queen sleeper sofa, for a total of 6 people. There is over 2200 square feet living space with 2 lanais...one off of the main side, and a small sitting area lanai off of the lock-off portion. There was complementary Kaua'i coffee, creamer, and sugar for breakfast the next morning...a nice treat. The kitchens (two of them)...one for the main unit, and a smaller one for the lock-off...were amazingly stocked...with everything one might need. (In the event, we needed something, Housekeeping provided it the same day we asked for it.) A coffee maker and coffee grinder, a new blender, a new microwave were all appreciated. And, if something needed repair, maintenance was there the same day to replace or repair anything! One great thing was the washer/dryer in the main unit...something we always appreciate wherever we travel. The two huge bathrooms each have a large 2 person whirlpool tub, in addition to the grand shower. The beds have NEW extra thick mattresses and box springs with new bed coverings...very comfortable.

    The first morning we were greeted with an "ALOHA" call to come to complementary breakfast, activities orientation, and complementary fresh flower leis for all the ladies...what a nice treat! Tons of activities with very friendly and accommodating staff. No one was obnoxious about "booking" activities...just plain info available for those who want to take advantage of them. The "desk" in the main building is staffed around the clock for anyone needing anything. WiFi is now available in the units at Ka'Eo Kai, for anyone bringing a laptop. In addition, if you prefer, all phones had a data port for a local dialup...if you locate a local phone number for you ISP. For those who don't bring your laptop, you can use a complementary computer in one hour segments in the main building.

    Activities everywhere on the Garden Island...just choose whatever you love the most...from pristine unoccupied beaches to local cultural hula, Zip Lines, bicycle tours, kayak tours, luaus, horseback riding, great hiking, swimming, walking, shopping, great restaurants, sailing, zodiac boats, orchid gardens, National Botanical Gardens (not to be missed), whale watching, wildlife right on the beaches...so much to see and do, and not enough time!

  • Avatar for rangies3
    By rangies3 Jan 14, 2006

    This is by far the most spacious unit you will likely find in most any timeshare. We've stayed in Phase III twice. The kitchen is well-equipped and the location is wonderful. We love the pool and sand-bottom hot tub. We love that in Phase III there are jacuzzi tubs in both full bathrooms with separate showers.

    The positioning of the buildings makes a difference in cross- ventilation. It isn't a big deal unless you cook all of your meals in your unit, which we do. During dinner preparation, even with the fans provided, it was very hot in our unit on our first visit. We requested a unit with better cross-ventilation the second time we came, and were accomodated with a MUCH breezier unit.

    We have stayed in a building by the road like the other reviewer mentioned, and it's true that the noise is irritating at the very least. Since you have to keep your windows open to get an evening breeze (you will stifle if you don't), you may not sleep well if you are sensitive to noise. Bring your bedside "noisemaker" to drown it out. Or, request a unit before arriving that is not close to the road. We've learned to always ask about unit proximity to amenities and streets whenever we travel (from this experience).

    The vaulted ceilings that you see in the photos are only on the third floor units, but the layout is exactly the same as what you see. The furniture could use updating. Overall, you will not find this much space in a unit for the money, and the pool is lovely (natural rock borders, etc.). Landscaping is gorgeous. Our whole family loved it.

  • Avatar for stacy177
    By stacy177 Updated Sep 6, 2015

    This resort is located in an excellent proximity to the greatest beaches, most tropical portion of the island and surrounded by a golf course over looking the Pacific. Amenities are not their strong point, but good value for the money.

  • Avatar for dawn91
    By dawn91 Mar 12, 2005

    Just returned from our stay at the resort. We found it to be wonderful. Were a bit leary at first because we always stay at Marriotts. But this was a nice resort. Very spacious with a lanai that can not be beat. The maintenance and outdated carpet etc could use a face lift, but it did not detract enough to be a problem. Although the lack of lightening in the kitchen was difficult when cooking at night. We were fortunate to have an upstairs unit with the lanai facing the green belt. Many of the units face the street so request one away from the street.

  • Avatar for melanie292
    By melanie292 Dec 28, 2004

    We stayed in a top floor 2 bed unit and it was very spacious. Very comfortable bed! Very nice condo layout and nice kitchen. The grounds are very well kept and the clubhouse and staff are very nice.

    That being said, it did seem rather dated and in need of renovation work, but nothing major... just getting old and beyond it's prime, (even a few rips in the carpeting). Also, the jets in the common hot tub shared with the next complex did not work!! Wouldn't you think this would be important!!

    Makes me wonder where the maintenance money goes! I noticed there was a new 3 car garage for the developer's car collection, but what about a working hot tub!!... must come out of a different 'fund'.

    Conclusion? nice place, but needs work, I guess the owners don't vote on maintenance priorities.

    ALSO... mattress in sofa bed is garbage!! not even suitable for the 'In Laws'.

    Would I go back? yes... but I would check out other places first.

  • Avatar for grandarizona
    By grandarizona Updated Nov 10, 2004

    RedWeek.com - Review PAHIO at Ka'Eo Kai We arrived at the Pahio at Ka’Eo on 23 October and were incredulous when we saw the condition of the timeshare. Pahio was no where close to what we are accustomed to or what we expected. We anticipated top of the line accommodations and what we received were mediocre at best. Pahio was not worth the 81,000 points that were to be deducted from our account.

    We called RCI to register our dissatisfaction and were told, “We have never had a complaint about that property.” We find that exceptionally hard to believe given the fact that as we were standing at the Registration Desk, another couple was there also expressing their dissatisfaction about the far from deluxe accommodations. The RCI rep told me that there were people ready to move into our unit even before the housekeeping was done and that people would actually pay to do so. Again, this is difficult to believe.

    We have sent RCI photos showing:

    1. the decayed wood on the landing at the top of the stairs. 2. the tub, showing the stains and unsightly caulking. 3.. the large hole in the carpeting 4. the pool nearest our unit; a good portion of the paint is missing.

    We did not take pictures of the heavy traffic that was outside our corner unit. The sound of the traffic made it impossible to sit outside and enjoy the peace and tranquility of Kaua’i.

    The furniture in the living room was arranged in such a manner that made it possible for only one person to sit on the sofa and view the television. We re-arranged the furniture and discovered the equivalent of a small bag of Frito chips under the sofa and that’s when we discovered the hole in the carpet.

    It is impossible to send you the scent of the furniture. The plastic coated fabric emitted an odor that reminded us of a wet dog or urine. We had to spread beach towels over the sofa.

    Needless to say we did not attend the Timeshare Presentation that the “resort” offered. In no way would we ever think of purchasing more points through this property.

    We don’t want to be completely negative about the property. We are sure that twenty years ago it was top of the line and probably deserved the Gold Crown designation. The units were spacious, the cathedral ceilings were dramatic, the wet bar is unusual and the kitchen was exceptionally well equipped. However, the negative far out weighed the positive. problem.

    We arranged for other accommodations in Kappa and left the Pahio on the 26th and vowed never to return even if it was the last place available in the Hawaiian paradise.

  • Avatar for irenelf
    By irenelf Jun 4, 2004

    A beautiful resort! Location can't be beat on the North Shore of Kauai, spread out on a lovely golf course. We were close to all the best beaches on the north shore and found it to be very convenient for the week.

    The one bedroom we had was huge, nicely furnished, beautifully laid out, and very comfortable for 2 adults and 2 children. The condo was fully equipped with everything you'd have at home -- and more!

    There were some fun activities (childrens' hula class, lei making for $5 materials fee) that my daughter enjoyed. There was also a welcome party with free drinks and enough sandwiches and fixings to serve as dinner one evening. They also had a breakfast buffet while you learned more about the resort and what it had to offer. We were too busy exploring the beautiful island to enjoy any other things at the resort, but I'd rate it a 5 based on the condo and the amenities and comfort.

  • Avatar for sbaral
    By sbaral Jan 25, 2004

    Loved this resort. We're a family of five: grandparents, parents, and grandson. The apartment was large and comfortable, and we were able to get an upper unit. We used the pool and the hot tub, but mostly spent the days exploring the island. It's a great place to vacation, and I hope to return to the exact same place on a future vacation.

    Only small problem was locating our unit the first time. Take your time getting full instructions from the staff - don't assume you'll just follow the numbers.

  • Avatar for glfblz
    By glfblz Updated Mar 6, 2003

    Have owned here for several (odd) years, and always enjoy coming back. Units are well kept, staff is super-friendly, and the "deals" on golf through the recreation desk are superb. Be sure and sign up for the owners golf clinic/outing. Well worth the $. Hanalei town is so much fun just walking around in the morning and grabbing a Hawaiian plate lunch - oh, YUM! Grocery shopping is best done in Kapaa (world's worst traffic), since the market in Princeville is more than a "little" pricey. The public golf course at Wailua is a real bargin. Fab views along the ocean and lots of fun to play holes. Also, the Green Garden restaurant in Hanapepe is wonderful. Big plates of food for little $. Stop there on your way to/from Waimea canyon. Brenneke's on the Beach in Poipu is a must at sundown for really fresh fish, or pasta, or a steak. Whatever... enjoy. Headed back this October.


  • Avatar for hbsuzanne
    By hbsuzanne Jan 29, 2003

    We stayed here Jan 3-10. Our unit had an open view of the golf course and the sea (horizon). Unit was really nice and open but since ours was on the second floor, it didn't have cathedral ceiling (as the picture in RCI shows). However, the lay-out is superb, very open with a wraparound lanai and a balcony off the 2 bedrooms. (Both of these have plenty of privacy and very nice full baths with spatubs and stepin-shower). The whole complex is very clean and quiet, and the staff in reception was always cheerful, very helpful and kept the mai-tai bowl always full and ready for us.... Response to housekeeping matters was almost immediate.

    There is an "Island Orientation" at the resort which is a presentation of activities from several vendors. We found it informative and very convenient since you can do all of your event bookings at that time. One of the organized tours we did was "Best of Kauai" which gave us a tour of the immediate area, a river cruise to the Fern Grotto and a helicopter ride. Well worth it. (Thanks to Steve, our tour guide!). We also did a catamaran snorkeling tour (early morning) out of Port Allen (Capt. Andy) which was unbelievable. Nothing like a sunrise on Kauai! (Or sunset for that matter...). Since our tour consisted of just 14 participants, it was like a private excursion. Staff and crew were excellent- and lunch on board, (with wine and beer), was great.

    Of the resort activities, the free hula class was a great hit with us, but we found the yoga class and nature walk a bit meager and wanting...and overpriced.

    We did the luau at the Princeville Resort and it was okay. Most of all, the location is priceless and the sunset such a treat. We also drove down to the Plantation one day to have lunch. Lovely.

    As for bare necessities and groceries, the FOODLAND in Princeville is more than adequate and will serve your needs well. It is less than a mile from the resort. Even their wine department has good selections and reasonable prices.

    Note though, that if it is nightlife you're looking for, better head for Poipu. (Even if you don't stay there down there, stop off at the Hyatt Regency and have a drink on their lanai....breathtaking).

    All in all, we had a fantastic time exploring the island and can't wait to go back!

Back to reviews
Resort review