Makai Club Resort

Princeville, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of Makai Club Resort

Princeville, Hawaii

3.7

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (1)

  • 4

    (9)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Makai Club Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for craigf98
    By craigf98 Updated Feb 10, 2014

    We own 2 Makai Club Condos and used our 2 units in November 2014. The upgrades were decent and made the place more comfortable and livable. Wyndham was not particularly attentive to the small details like paint quality but you had an unlimited supply of towels and related items. I would grade customer service a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10 Foodland is within walking distance. There are many restaurants and tourist shops in that complex. The pool is small but there are enough BBQ to handle cooking. With only 40 units you don't feel like you are in a busy hotel. The area is very quiet except for the roosters. The beaches are close by with Hanalei about 3 miles away. This is a paradise for walking and cycling Golf course are within walking distance Grand Pacific Resorts now manages the Makai Club and that promises to be a real enhancement. We've stayed at other Grand Pacific places and they are well maintained. I had a serious conversation with the new manager, telling her the things that needed handling and upgrading. Princeville is a very beautiful location and Makai Club is graced by the location. We would recommend the Makai Club for those who want a good Kauai experience. In past years we would not have said that but are comfortable with that statement today

  • Avatar for honeyw6
    By honeyw6 Jul 26, 2011

    Total renovation in 2011 makes Makai Club a good vacation option.

    Honey Ward

  • Avatar for dorisb46
    By dorisb46 Updated Apr 28, 2011

    April 28, 2011

    Resort has been completely redecorated with all new furniture, appliances, etc. It now is well worth

    a visit. This is a smaller, quiet resort with golf course and mountain views. Short drive to beaches and

    shopping.

    I agree, the resort was very much in need of an upgrade. But as an owner, I am very happy with the

    "New Look".

  • Avatar for hellen1
    By hellen1 Updated Aug 26, 2010

    The unit was dirty and didn't look kept up. There were lots of flies in the unit. It appeared to be run down. The kitchen was tiny. Too bad for such a nice location (Princeville). I have stayed in other timeshares in Princeville that were wonderful compared to this place.

  • Avatar for williama230
    By williama230 Jun 7, 2010

    I was there in August 2009. While the unit itself is due for updates, the location is perfect and beautiful, pool is great and staff is friendly.

    It is now managed by Wyndham and the free Mai Tai's are no longer available, but the pool area is nice, never crowded and has several bar-b-que grills. So do as we do, stock up with hamburgers, steaks, fish and lots of sesame and terriyaki sauce and grill out every night.

    Very relaxing and close to Hanalei Town and Annini Beach.

    I go to Kauai every year to unwind and rest. This is a great place to do that.

    Bill

  • Avatar for andrewk30
    By andrewk30 Jul 18, 2006

    We spent three weeks in Hawaii last year, on Maui, the big island of Hawaii and at the Kauai Makai Club Condos last year. Our best week was at the Makai Club.

    This area of Hawaii is the most beautiful, lush and peaceful of all the islands. The resort staff is great. The one bedroom condo on the Makai Golf course (on the grounds of the Princeville Resort) was clean, sleeps four and is very well furnished and equipped. The in-unit washer and dryer is always a welcome amenity. The facility is beautiful and has great views of the surrounding flora and fauna.

    Golfing is the best in Hawaii and affordable. The beaches and towns are quaint and serene. Bali Hai's cliffs look down on beautiful Hanalei Bay's turquoise waters like a God viewing it's creation. We can't wait to go back!

  • Avatar for jogeo
    By jogeo Apr 14, 2005

    This is a tired facility. Premises rundown and furniture shabby. Was dirty and uncomfortable. Has a good location in Princeville, a car is a necessity. Our unit had a broken screen door to balcony, appeared to have been unusable for months. When they were informed of this problem stated it would be replaced, had not been by the time we left. Staff is friendly, but there are no one site management personnel here, just activity advisor.

  • Avatar for lanceanddonna
    By lanceanddonna Sep 23, 2004

    Resort has a relaxed environment, close to a market and some shopping. Modest resort located in the beautiful Princeville area. You should have a car to fully enjoy the area however walking the Princeville neighborhood is lovely in the evenings or early morning.

    Friendly staff. Pool and B-B-Q area is easy walk from units. The get together to learn about the activities in the area was nice and we're glad we went. The Makai Golf Course that borders the resort is pretty to look at even if you don't golf!

    Sitting in our unit one afternoon reading we experienced a rain shower. Soon after we noticed waterfalls appearing on the mountainside we could see from our unit. It was breathtaking! Being able to enjoy that great site sitting indoors was awsome!

  • Avatar for thomas136
    By thomas136 Aug 29, 2004

    Great location. Very lush and green. 2 Minutes to grocery store, and 5 minutes to Hanalei. The north shore is the best part of Kauai, and MCP is about as north as timeshares get.

    The 1BR 1 BA units have laundry in the unit. The couch folds out, so there's room for 4. The kitchenette has a 4 burner gas stove. We ate in about 1/2 the time.

    There's a pool and a hot tub. Sometimes there's live entertainment and free snacks and drinks.

    There's a free breakfast where people representing different activity companies tout what they have to offer.

    The princeville golf course is within walking distance, and the course goes by the complex.

    This is a great resort to use as a home base while exploring the island. It's not the marriott, where you'd never have to leave the resort, but it's in a much better loation.

    P.s. there are some very sweet cats living on the property. We "adopted" one while we were there, and called him "Tabs," since he was a tabby. We were very sad when we had to say goodbye to him. Hopefully others who stay there will treat him and his friends well.

  • Avatar for elliswb
    By elliswb Jun 18, 2003

    Now administered by Pahio Resorts ( 4 nearby), excellent programs, very attentive staff, (Mai Tai's by the pool provided by our hosts allowed us to get to know the neighbours very easily).

    Facilities good, but the airconditioner was a bit tired.

    Very laid back and an excellent holiday, but not for those looking for Las Vegas glitz.

  • Avatar for snocone
    By snocone Nov 7, 2002

    Nice quiet and clean, very spacious. Very friendly staff and group activities and welcomes. You did have to have a car to get around but a nice drive to all amenities!

Back to reviews
Resort review