The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

San Francisco, California

Back to resort

Reviews of The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

San Francisco, California

4.3

Out of 5
13 reviews
  • 5

    (9)

  • 4

    (9)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for johnh1013
    By johnh1013 Jul 15, 2015

    We sailed in to San Francisco on Celebrity May 15, 2015 and arranged a rental stay with an owner for five days. WOW, how sweet the stay was. The building is having renovation on the exterior balconies and new exterior windows installed. We stayed in room #203 which was completed with the changes. The exterior of the building is covered in a netting to prevent any falling debris on the street below. They hope to have the work completed by September. The location is fantastic, two blocks to Fisherman’s Wharf, two blocks to the cable car switching and the car stops right at the front door. We do most of our cooking in, and found that we could catch the bus outside the front door and ride 6-8 blocks and hop off and shop at Safeway and Trader Joe’s. The return bus was a short block from the shopping and a quick return back to the resort. Our room was very adequate in size with a large living/dining room, smaller kitchen with all the amenities for preparing meals and nice sized bedroom and bath. The resort has only 24 rooms situated around an inside lounge area. The roof top terrace was so enjoyable with views of the bay and Alcatraz. Loved the sounds of the city and the ever ringing of the cable car bells. We purchased a city pass ticket on the internet and enjoyed the Muni and Cable Car Passport, California Academy of Sciences, The Blue & Gold Bay Cruise, The Aquarium of the Bay missed the De Young Museum as it was closed on Monday. Don’t forget the main attraction at Pier 39, those comic sea lions. Pricing the hotel accommodations in our vicinity ranged from The Holiday Inn Express starting at $350, Best Western Plus starting at $365 and a stand-alone Hotel one block away starting at $500, all per night. Our rental agreement with the owner for Friday May 15th thru Tuesday was $800, at $160 a night, we were thrilled. We enjoyed dinner out one block away at The Buena Vista on Hyde Street, known for their Irish Coffee and great dinner selections of local seafood. Can’t forget the ice cream sundaes at Ghiradelli Square a block away. The staff and housekeeping was top notch. Chris, at the front desk provided all the answers to our questions for transportation, thank you Chris. The weather was perfect! Hard to beat!

  • Avatar for lcinag
    By lcinag Updated Jan 22, 2015

    Be advised this building is undergoing remodeling. Entire bldg is wrapped in scaffolding & black netting It is supposed to be completed by the end of April 2015. All window views were obstructed from our 2 bedroom unit The roof deck has a panoramic view which is wonderful. The location is great for Fisherman's Wharf, cable car and streetcars. The unit is older but clean. No closet or dresser in second bedroom just nightstands. Large closet in main bedroom. No counter space in bathroom just a sink. Very small kitchen with two burner stove and countertop microwave/convection oven combination. Full size refrigerator. All kitchen supplies provided and in good condition. Parking garage underground - fee charged daily as everywhere in SF!

  • Avatar for marciar26
    By marciar26 Aug 13, 2013

    Awesome....Awesome....Awesome!!!

    Great location close to everything (including the great public transportation San Francisco has). Great staff...friendly and helpful. Maid service everyday and breathtaking views (rooftop and balcony)

  • Avatar for carolines45
    By carolines45 Updated Aug 13, 2009

    We just got back from a 5 day stay with our three kids and I must say it is the BEST location in San Francisco, especially with kids! We could walk to anywhere on Fishermans Wharf, and took the electric or cable cars everywhere else (ATT Park, Union Square, Chinatown). Buy a 3 or 7 day pass to save money on the muni system. With a family, a hotel room truly does not work for a comfortable, restful stay, thus the need for a condo (they have one and two bedroom units). You can buy food at Walgreens or Trader Joes and use the fridge and microwave, in a hotel there is no such option, AND A HOTEL ROOM COSTS MORE, trust me we stayed at the Hilton last year and paid more for a hotel room! The view from the rooftop deck is amazing, you see the entire bay! People posting comments need to remember San Fran is an old city, thus ANY condo or hotel is older, but you cannot pay enough for the location, location, location, especially a condo vs. a hotel room! We are picky timeshare owners but for the LOCATION ALONE, this place gets a high rating. The Franciscan Restaurant on the wharf is the best food for the price and location, even with kids.

  • Avatar for sanford5
    By sanford5 Dec 25, 2008

    If not for the location this would be a one star. The 5 star ratings must be from owners. This is not a 4 or 5 star resort! Don't get duped. Way overpriced.

  • Avatar for cheryl424
    By cheryl424 Sep 1, 2008

    A converted apartment building. The units were rundown and unexciting. I don't know how it received a 5 star rating. The 1 bedroom unit had a partial ktichen, 2 burners, a microwave and a refrigerator. Like many Shell Vacation properties, there are no on site activities. Location is the best thing about this resort, but I would have preferred to stay in a surronding hotel, for a more comfortable bed and a more spacious bathroom. It was too windy to go to the rooftop.

  • Avatar for paulc167
    By paulc167 Jun 29, 2007

    Beautiful rooftop views of the Bay! Near the Wharf, which is great. The 2 bedroom unit was spacious . . . plenty of room to roam. Friendly staff!

  • Avatar for tammyb74
    By tammyb74 Feb 25, 2007

    If you want to peruse the sights of Fisherman's Wharf and all that it offers, The Suite's is extremely convenient! The living room alone, is bigger than a deluxe room at a 4 star in the same area. I like luxury, and while the furnishing do not include "Frette" linens, it's a very comfortable and well appointed property. The rooftop deck allows you to capture unobstructed views of Alcatraz Island and the Golden Gate Bridge. I stayed there in July and didn't need air conditioning, SF weather rarely gets above 80 in the summer and usually dips in the mid 50's by sundown. Front desk staff was very helpful in pointing me to where I wanted to get to, storing luggage et al. I have stayed and will stay again!

  • Avatar for lori686
    By lori686 Updated Apr 3, 2005

    We stayed in Room 304 Easter week 2005. We had a wonderful week. Our room was clean with most of the amenities of home. The location was perfect! Both the cable car and bus lines stop almost right outside your door. Two blocks down is Fishermans Wharf and four blocks up is Lombard Street. The view from the roof was spectacular.

  • Avatar for donna1025
    By donna1025 Feb 9, 2005

    Excellent resort. Parking is expensive but it is San Francisco. Drive to Napa Valley. Loved this vacation.

  • Avatar for sf3
    By sf3 Jul 16, 2004

    Excellent resort, close to many major attractions and restaurants. Beautiful view from from the BBQ roof top. We appreciate the superb service by all staff members. We will definitely return for our future vacation.

  • Avatar for bev
    By bev Oct 25, 2003

    Location, location,, this place is IT! Our wonderful suite (#301)was ideal.. the view from our windows and balcony was out over the bay, with the Nat. Park Hyde Pier and its antique vessels in the foreground.. Alacatraz as close as can be beyond that and a backdrop of Sausolito! Ghiradelli Sq. one block away, and loads to see and do. Fabulous transportation opportunities of 3 sorts..never missed having a car. Cable car line starts one block down the st. and you are sure to get a seat if you board at that point. Streetcars, electric bus system, and the BART rapid transit (subway)--there was no problem getting around. Staff was great. We were able to have our luggage stowed after checkout, so we could hang around and enjoy a Blue Angels air show from the rooftop deck. Kitchen adequate, and we did cook all breakfasts in plus several nites --with the beacon on Alcatraz ghostly broadcasting blips of light on through our sheer drapes.

  • Avatar for rcispecialist
    By rcispecialist Updated Dec 13, 2002

    One of my favorite locations in San Francisco. This resort is right in the middle of it. Have a coffee first thing in the morning sitting on the balcony over looking the bay and watching the fisherman bring in fresh catch. The main street with all your shops and food markets is just steps away. Live entertainment at its best!! The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf is definitely an eye opener.

Back to reviews
Resort review