Sheraton Desert Oasis

Scottsdale, Arizona

Back to resort

Reviews of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Scottsdale, Arizona

4.3

Out of 5
36 reviews
  • 5

    (35)

  • 4

    (17)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (3)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Sheraton Desert Oasis lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for jade18
    By jade18 Updated May 9, 2016

    One of the best timeshares! Managed like a 5 STAR resort!

  • Avatar for katier92
    By katier92 Apr 30, 2015

    We had a great time at the Sheraton Desert Oasis! The units are all newly updated, beds very comfortable. We traveled with our two boys (six and four) and they loved it. The pool is large and the staff is very friendly. We ate a few lunches poolside, and enjoyed the ice cream treats, too. We would definitely return!

  • Avatar for teresal226
    By teresal226 Jan 31, 2015

    We have stayed here many times over the years. It has always been a beautiful, spotless resort! The recent remodel only made it better.

    We love the fully-furnished/full-size kitchen because we can buy food & cook or BBQ here! However if we prefer, there are dozens of wonderful restaurants in the vicinity or even fast food chains.

    The bed they call "Heavenly" is just that...heavenly! We have never been in more comfortable beds than the Sheraton/Westin resorts!

    We love everything you can do here from relaxing in the jacuzzi or swimming in one of 2 pools to sitting in our room whirlpool tub and watching a good movie!

    I can't say enough good things about the Sheraton Desert Oasis. You will not be disappointed.

  • Avatar for mikes929
    By mikes929 Aug 6, 2014

    We have owned multiple weeks at the Sheraton Desert Oasis for approximately 10 years. It is a lovely resort, all of the rooms completely remodeled and updated in 2014 and the grounds are kept beautifully. A wonderful resort to enjoy while in Scottsdale.

  • Avatar for cindys540
    By cindys540 Nov 14, 2013

    We have stayed here four times because my husband likes the area. The pool area is good size but not huge. The rooms a little small because we have a four year old. We enjoy our stays but wish the rooms were bigger and beds more comfortable.

  • Avatar for j260
    By j260 Mar 23, 2012

    Four plus stars. We had the larger side of the lock-off. Plenty roomy for the two of us. Two younger kids would probably fit in easily. Not a real large resort. Addressing some issue I read about. Appliances are newer and of good quality. Toaster could be bigger, or better yet, a toaster oven. Flat screen TVs and DVD player, Bose radio, free wireless. Food served poolside. No restaurant is not a problem because there are so many places within 10 minutes. Right off the 101, so easy access to the freeway. Lots of shopping nearby. Arizona is beautiful, and this area is not boring. Museums, hiking, golf, spring training, the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Native American ruins. If you're bored you're probably dead. Work out room needs to be bigger, which we were told will happen. Better machines are needed. Pool is large, and it was busy, but not crowded, and Spring Break is starting up now. Water aerobics could be better, but they were offered. Staff is great. The oranges on the trees are ready to be picked, and they have been delicious. Fireplaces were used when our first two days were wet and in the 40s and 50s. Our door is open, it's 9 P.M., and there is no noise. It's not a Marriott, but is is very nice.

  • Avatar for leasac2
    By leasac2 Mar 19, 2012

    We recently stayed through March Break at this resort in a one bedroom unit. It was a little tight for 4 of us but we were still able make meals as well as use the barbecue area outside. The pool was beautiful and staff extremely pleasant and helpful with directions, etc. Daily activities are planned and provided at check-in. There's lots to do and the sights are amazing!

  • Avatar for thomas472
    By thomas472 Updated Nov 24, 2011

    We had a one bedroom which is the lockoff of the main. It was small but more than adequate for wife and I. You could probably put kids below teenage years on the pull out. Although small the kitchen was more complete than many bigger units we have stayed in. Be warned there is almost no storage space, but the resort is aware of that and offers additional storage. Since there was only the wife and i for one week we did not take them up on the offer.

    The unit was also quite well cared for, it looked like it had been recently painted. Ditto the grounds: well cared for and quite nice. However the resort is squeezed into a small area, so the units are close together surrounding courtyards. While we did not experience any noise problems I imagine in the summer with kids the noise may rebound off of the stucco walls. i would not really call it a resort due the limited grounds, but more of a very nice place to stay for a week or two. That's why i downgraded it to an eight.

    We had no problem checking in. They asked us to take the tour, no pressure, and my wife as always agreed. of course it lasted over the 90 minutes but no real sales pressure. Throughout our week the staff was always friendly and very helpful. Because the resort is not in the middle of things we frequently availed ourselves of the concierge services. the service was great. While it is not in the middle of things, it is close by a major local belt and we found it very easy to hop on the beltway and get to where we wanted to go.

    Planned resort activities were of the standard type, but seemed to be a little on the sparse side. They did throw a hot dog social, something I have never seen before in thirty years of timeshare.

    The resort has one very large pool in the center of the grounds and a small quiet pool. Since it was quite cool out we visited the main pool only twice, and it really was heated!! They also had 4 fairly new computers hooked up to printers which were free to use. WIFI in the rooms was also free.

    Overall a great place; We throughly enjoyed our stay even with the lousy weather.

  • Avatar for johngv
    By johngv Nov 5, 2011

    Our family has come to Desert Oasis during spring for years. We find it much nicer then Palm Desert. We actually appreciate the Desert Oasis' family atmosphere. The location is perfect. The number of restaurants in the area is astounding. Great golf courses in the wazoo. There is no way I can try them all before I die. There is shopping beyond your pocket book's ability to grasp, plenty of sight seeing if you bring a car, and plenty of suburban walking trails. We're from Los Angeles and have not found the area traffic heavy, and think it is pretty relaxed in Scottsdale. The resort is typical for Sheraton. Very nice. Two thumbs up!

  • Avatar for maryw306
    By maryw306 Jan 3, 2011

    I agree with the review below, this is not a "resort". Right off a busy highway. It is a good place for young families with kids. We went during Spring Break time. The pool was always crowded and noisy and the exercise room usually full. The villa was well maintained.

  • Avatar for leannec13
    By leannec13 Jan 4, 2010

    Just returned after a week's stay over Xmas. The property was very well maintained as were the units. Pool was heated. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Area has a lot to offer, golf, shopping, fine dining, museums, zoos and parks. Also make a day trip of the Grand Canyon, Sedona Red Rocks and other area attractions.

  • Avatar for johnb243
    By johnb243 Aug 25, 2009

    Fantastic location, right next door to the TPC Scottsdale Golf Course and super quick access to the 101 freeway. We have been to the Sheraton Desert Oasis many times and have used a large premium villa, standard villa and the two types together as a two-bedroom lockoff unit. The main pool is very good sized and there is also a huge jacuzzi close by. There is also a smaller quiet pool. The room accomodations are very nice, comfortable beds and sleeper sofas in each room. Very nice kitchens and patio areas in every unit, great for early morning coffee or a quiet dinner. Each unit also has a small stackable washer and dryer which comes in very handy. Nice grounds with propane gas grilles all throughout the complex for great BBQ's. There is a nice sized kids playground on one side of the complex. It has a nice exercise facility and there is always a planned activity going on, whether it's a movie, tour operators talking about a trip to the Grand Canyon or a local shopping trip. They have a nice lobby with very comfortable, large leather couches for hanging out or visiting, there is also a PC and printer available if you don't have your own. Internet access is free. There is a great mall and super dining choices close by. We just love the Scottsdale location and easy access to the freeway. It's a great place to relax and hang out, the staff has always taken care of any request. My wife and I have gone just by ourselves and had a fantastic romantic time and we've also gone with our kids and had a wonderful family vacation.

  • Avatar for toddr53
    By toddr53 May 28, 2009

    I really would not call this a "resort." It is more of a condo/apartment place. We saw a lot of people at the pool, who basically live in the phoenix area, have a Starwood membership and were just using it for the day.

    Also, there are NO restaurants on site, as thetre are with say Marriott resorts. We really missed that. Phoenix/Scottsdale in general is boring, flat as a pancake, spread out and nothing but malls with no character, mom and pop feel or charm.

    The pool is WAY smaller than what the pics show.... AND unlike the pictures which pretty much show it empty and tranquil is LOUD with families and screaming kids. Lousy for romance, with no way to get away from it. They do have a supposed quiet pool, but then you have NO sun there at that one.

    Kitchen was cramped, and appliances very low end.

    Keep in mind, I'm normally a very positive person and look down upon people who are too negative in their reviews, but these observations really are the case.

  • Avatar for rayd42
    By rayd42 Jun 12, 2008

    We stayed a week in april 2008 and really enjoyed the stay. On the positive side the 2 bedroom we had was terrific. Large unit, 2 fireplaces, whirlpool tub etc. The pool and hot tub are great, and the service was excellent. they had daily activities including live music by the pool one afternoon, a Wii tournament for the kids etc. The staff is excellent and always helpful. The reasons I can't give a higher rating include the limited food options (hot dogs and burgers around the pool), also while the location is convenient, the property is small and there really was not much of a view from our unit.

  • Avatar for gregm137
    By gregm137 Mar 23, 2008

    We just returned from staying at this location in a 2 bedroom lockout. This worked good for our family of 4 adults and 1 teenager to have 2 bathrooms also the two bedrooms with the fold out sofa. The foldout in the smaller unit would work for 2 children. The resort outdoors is clean as was the lodging. It was quiet. When we called for assistance- we had prompt response. We enjoyed the gas grills right outside our building to make food. The exercise room was adequate. The pool area was busy but enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and ready to assist us. The beds were comfortable. There was a wide variety of activities to do on their calendar daily. The location has easy access off the interstate so it was easy to get to various places in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area. We look forward to returning.

  • Avatar for david1780
    By david1780 Updated Apr 15, 2007

    Just came back from a week at this resort--it is fabulous! We have been there twice now and loved it each time. We have three kids (15, 13, and 8) and they've have a blast each time we've gone. The large pool with waterfall and oversized jacuzzi are great, and there is a quiet "oasis pool" as well. There are two playgrounds for the kids which are covered, making it nice if they want to use it during the afternoon when the sun gets pretty strong.

    The staff was very friendly and accomodating, unlike some places we've been where they barely give you the time of day. They do not pressure you at all to attend one of their presentations--they asked us once when we checked in and that was it for the week.

    The units are among the best we have been in--clean and nicely decorated. There are lots of wall coverings and artwork, unlike some resorts that have kind of a barren look to them. All the TV's now have DVD players instead of VCR's--if we had known we would have brought some along but we actually didn't spend much time watching TV since there is so much to do in the area. The whirlpool in the master bath is great, too.

    The nice thing about the 2-bedroom lockout is that there are two separate living rooms, which really adds to the space. It worked out great for the five of us, but can easily accomodate more.

    There are tons of great restaurants in Scottsdale. We had an amazing Sunday brunch at Marquesa Restaurant at the Fairmont Scottsdale Princess Resort (right around the corner from Desert Oasis)--a little pricey but well worth it. Kierland Commons is a fun place to go for food and shopping as well.

    The kids are already asking us when we're going back!

  • Avatar for jeffs152
    By jeffs152 Apr 2, 2007

    We just returned from our first visit to the Sheraton Desert Oasis. We actually bought on resale through someone who responded to an ad here on RedWeek.com.

    Being an owner without having actually seen the resort, I was a bit anxious. But the whole experience exceeded our expectations. We have a 4, 5, and 7 year old and they loved it. The pool is heated and fabulous along with the hot tub. There is a private pool for adults if they choose to use it.

    We had a 2BR lockoff unit and it was HUGE. The decor is nice, the amenities even better. The master unit has a double shower, jacuzzi tub, etc.

    Both units have patios and pull out couches. The kitchen in the master unit is much bigger and has a dishwasher, full stove, microwave, etc. Plenty of dishes, silverware and other utensils are included.

    There is a daily activity calendar and the staff does a good job of trying to get people involved.

    The only negative I had was that we were asked to attend an "Owners Update" meeting (ie, chance to sell you more weeks) and we accepted. However, when I told them my wife wouldn't be attending, they said that I wouldn't be able to go. I pressed on saying that I actually wanted to learn more about what was offered through Starwood. They ended up brining out someone to talk to me directly. It was obvious that they did not want someone who had paid 25% of list price to be in the room with other people who they were trying to get to pay full price. I thought that it wasn't very good customer service since I was actually interested in listening.

    But we're booked for next year, and already looking forward to it

  • Avatar for karen638
    By karen638 Mar 5, 2007

    We just returned from this resort with our two small children and my husbands parents where we stayed for 7 fun filled days. We had a great time and would highly recommend it to everyone young and old. The pool was like bathwater, the units were very nice and the food at the poolside grille was WONDERFUL! One of the childrens covered play areas was right next to our unit so it kept the kids busy and gave them an opportunity to meet other kids. This resort is in a very nice area with LOTS of shopping, dining and golf nearby. We did some sightseeing as well so it was convenient to be 1/2 a mile or so to the Hwy 101 loop. The Phoenix Zoo is a must see for families! If I had to complain about one thing (and I know those with small children who do more dining in than dining out can relate) it would only be that we had no place to store food as there were no available cupboards, they were all full of dishes. But we will be back again guaranteed!

  • Avatar for thomas983
    By thomas983 Updated Oct 1, 2006

    we just returned from 2 weeks in a lock off unit in sept..my brother and his wife (first timers to az.)and my wife and myself had a great time . the units where beautiful and well kept.the pool and grounds even better.we did plenty of siteseeing such as SEDONA,GRAND CANYON,BOTANICAL DESERT,TALIESON WEST AND MANY MORE TOO MENTION... even went to Cardinals Football home opener,beautiful new stadium..SCOTTSDALE IS HARD TO BEAT....

  • Avatar for garyg109
    By garyg109 Sep 22, 2006

    This was our first ever timeshare experience. It was wonderful. We had a 1 bedroom unit on the first floor. It was clean, well, equipped, and very nicely decorated. The unit was very spacious for the two of us. The king size bed was very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for. The pool area was great as well. No one tried to sell us a timeshare, per se, but everyday when we came back from adventuring out there was a voice mail message urging us to come to a timeshare presentation. It was interesting that on the first couple of days they offered a $50 gift card. The middle of the week is was $75. On our last day it was $100. But we just deleted the message each day. There was no other pressure to buy. I would definitly come back again and we are considering buying a timeshare here on the resale market.

  • Avatar for booboohead
    By booboohead Apr 23, 2006

    We just came back from Easter week. We rented the sleeps (8). We went with our teenage daughters and put them in the one bedroom w/mini kitchen lock out. Everything was perfect. The decor, the grounds, scenery and even the staff. We were conveniently located close to the pool which is gorgeous. All the ammenities needed. The grills were close to all rooms, the rooms have dial up internet access only. It isn't lightening speed but it is better than going to the lobby for access. The exercise room is small but it does have all the essentials for a good workout. Both bedrooms and living rooms have TV and stereo. The living rooms have VCR's only. but for $10.00 a week you can rent the DVD player. We brought a small one and rented one for the other room. Believe me, I would rather pay $10.00 for the week than bring one from home. You won't be disappointed staying here.

  • Avatar for douglash9
    By douglash9 Apr 11, 2006

    We stayed for two weeks in April 2006 and enjoyed our stay. My wife and I went with our 16 month old daughter and it worked pretty good. She slept most nights in the living room and we had the bedroom. The grounds were well maintained and when we had a broken coffee pot, it was replaced within a few minutes.

    When we changed rooms between weeks, the staff was very accommodating. We didn't have to pack up everything in our vehicle for four hours, they let us transfer directly from one room to another.

    We phoned to reserve a high chair, but when we arrived, there was no note of our request. The one downside was that our daughter was crawling and the carpets hadn't been steam cleaned in a long time, so the knees and feet of her sleepers were very dirty.

    We didn't have anyone asking if we wanted to buy a time share, but then we didn't go to the concierge for our "free gift".

    We didn't find the menu from the pool snack bar very appealing, but kids might like it.

    We would probably go again. It's a good location, easy to find, easy to get to the 101 loop. Lots of good restaurants within a 10 minute drive.

  • Avatar for gayleneb
    By gayleneb Apr 9, 2006

    The accommodations are convenient to the 101 highway and that makes for easy access to the area attractions and the grounds are beautiful!!

    However, the unit we were in was close to the road so we dealt with highway noise, but the most disconcerting part was that the 1- Bedroom unit we were in was substantially less that what we had hoped for. The unit, while spacious, was dirty from the tile to the worn out and filthy carpets. We wore our shoes in the unit as when we tried going barefoot the soles of our feet were black. YUCK! Some of the furniture needs replacing and the sleeper sofa was very uncomfortable even to use as a sofa.

    The place has great potential with a wonderful pool, a great exercise room and fun activities; the unit itself was just a huge disappointment. The kitchen was not stocked as well as what we have found at other resorts, there was not a dresser to put clothes away so they were just stuck on a closet shelf.

    However, the people were very nice but we were still ready to bail out of there early because of the lack of cleanliness. Unless we can be guaranteed a unit that has been TOTALLY renovated, we have no interest in going back. Too bad too, because the resort has such great potential!! The spa tub and the spacious shower were very nice however.

  • Avatar for kareny8
    By kareny8 Mar 4, 2006

    We stayed here in February 2006 and had a great stay. In fact we loved it so much we extended our trip for another 4 nights. The resort was very nice, the grounds were very well kept and the rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated. The pictures on this website are exactly how the rooms look. The pool area was very nice and the pool itself was always heated. The hot tub behind the waterfall of the pool is large and very nice. They have a nice playground for children at the resort along with a sprinkler playground next to the pool that the kids also enjoyed. There is also a smaller pool at this resort not shown in any of the pictures, but that is a quieter area where most people relax and read books. The grille beside the pool served breakfast, lunch and dinner, but they didn't open until 9am and they closed by 7pm, which were kind of inconvenient hours. On the other hand the pool was kept open until 11pm, which was really nice considering it’s a heated pool. The staff was nice and helpful and quick to respond when you needed something. The only reason I am not giving this resort 5 stars is because the rooms still have regular TV's instead of flat screens and they still have VCR players and you have to rent a DVD player if that's your preference. They also only offer dial up internet in the rooms...if you want wireless you have to sit in the lobby and wi-fi charges you for it. Other than that this resort is really nice and I will definitely go back.

    We loved the Scottsdale area; it's very upscale and has a lot of nice shops and restaurants over at the Kierland Commons. We also enjoyed shopping in Old Town, which has more traditional western items. We would highly recommend a day trip to Sedona either through the resort or on your own. The concierge desk is very good about helping you plan your activities and the resort itself offers many things to do throughout the week.

  • Avatar for jalfonsoct
    By jalfonsoct Jul 20, 2005

    We stayed in a lockout and it was very spacious for the two of us. A jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable queen size bed made it very enjoyable. The grounds and pool were spotless and the staff very accommodating. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Avatar for mizzink
    By mizzink Jul 16, 2005

    We stayed in a 1 BR unit here in May 2005. We were very impressed with our unit. It was well appointed with nice furnishings and seemed practically new. We were missing an iron and a few items in the kitchen, but the staff responded with replacements right away. If you take the property tour, it will get you some nice discounts on golf course fees. There are lots of planned activities--we enjoyed the evening of wine tasting very much. Lots of shopping, restaurants and golf nearby. We experienced record high temperatures in May, and driving to Sedona and Prescott for the day gave us nice relief from the heat (not to mention some awesome sightseeing and golfing experieces). I would highly recommend this resort. We would definitely return!

  • Avatar for gavin5
    By gavin5 Jul 10, 2004

    We stayed here Easter 2004. Had a wonderful time. Our kids loved the pool and on site covered play ground area. Grounds were beautiful, weather was great. We purchased units at this resort before visiting it so we were pleasantly surprised to know we had made a great choice.

  • Avatar for mdwbo918
    By mdwbo918 Dec 27, 2003

    We stayed in a great one bedroom unit overlooking the main pool & waterfall. The unit was very well equipped and laid out. The landscaping is breathtaking ... a crew of 36 groundskeepers! The resort makes a real effort to have activities every day and all of the staff were very helpfull. The pool is the finest one we have seen at any resort.

    There is no on-site restaurant, but Scotsdale and Phoenix are packed with great places to eat so this is not a hardship. The minor weaknesses we saw were that the fitness facility is tiny, they don't allow you to take any drinks in the pool area, and the pool closes at 10:00 PM ... way too early!.

    We would love to go back and would seriously consider buying a unit here. We still have wonderful memories of sitting on the balcony of our unit, looking at the waterfall and drinking a frozen piña colada.

  • Avatar for geoffandaudrey
    By geoffandaudrey Updated Oct 26, 2003

    what can I say,absolutely fabulous.the units themselves are imaculate,the service from the staff is second to none,,,,,,,,,,,,it was wonderful

  • Avatar for ctokei
    By ctokei Oct 10, 2003

    This is one of the finest RCI resorts we have been to and we have stayed at some great Gold Crown properties! The pool and grounds are great, as is the professional staff. Day trips to Grand Canyon and Sedona are mandatory and the local Scottsdale area is very upscale as well. Check out the Phoenecian, Troon North, and Boulders resorts. They are all quite unique. The resort held a hot dog and beer party our first night there and it was very lively. They also bring in all the Jeep tour, horseback riding, hot air balloon, etc. promoters one morning to give their spiels. We ended up taking a hot air ballon ride with our young (10 & 7 yrs) daughters. It cost a few bucks, but what a great memory for us all. A first class resort all the way!

  • Avatar for gilgamesh_az
    By gilgamesh_az Updated Sep 18, 2003

    Awesome place. Pool is great. Area attractions are wonderful. Staff is friendly. Can't do better than this.

  • Avatar for kranston
    By kranston Sep 13, 2003

    This resort is terrific! The villas are luxurious and have everything you need. The pool complex is spectacular and the resort amenities and activities are very good. The location offers alot to do as well.

  • Avatar for rpoulin
    By rpoulin Sep 1, 2003

    This resort is fantastic. Super accomodations, close to everything. Great staff, always willing to help.

  • Avatar for billisinwv
    By billisinwv Jul 24, 2003

    We stayed here the week of July 12, 2003. The resort was great. The staff was wonderful. The resort has everything you can ask for. The entertainment was great, while we were there their was a storyteller that came and told about the old west, a bbq, a wine tasting party, and many more activities. There were special activities for the children including a night out activities so mom and dad could have some quiet time. The resort was beautiful and well maintained. It was nice to watch the hummingbirds from your patio. The only reason I am giving it a 4 star is because during the hottest week in the year they had some pool and hot tub problems, which they worked hard to resolve quickly.

  • Avatar for newman
    By newman Feb 3, 2003

    great resort perfectly located in the best part of scottsdale, incredible golf minutes away as well as amazing resteraunts and nightlife. A must visit.

  • Avatar for aponyah
    By aponyah Nov 19, 2002

    I have stayed here twice and it is one of the best ones I have ever been to. The grounds are immaculate as are the rooms. It is furnished in a southwestern theme. The two bedrooms are huge with a large jacuzzi tub in the bedroom, a huge clear shower in the bath and large comfortable furniture. I love this place! The staff is very professional.

Back to reviews
Resort review