Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Blue Water Resort at Cable Beach

Nassau, Bahamas


  • Avatar for jennifer302
    By jennifer302 Updated Mar 6, 2010

    Updated Review 03/06/2010 Blue Water has updated the Ocean Front Units in this resort. There are new furnishings,new updated kitchens and remodeled bathrooms. The ocean front unit is huge. We had 7 people and everyone had plenty of space this year with the 3 bedrooms and 31/2 baths. The ocean view is spectacular from the livingroom and bedrooms. We love Guanahani Village and recently upgraded here to an ocean front unit from the Garden unit after 10 years and are very happy. I love the proximity of the units to the pool and ocean. Everything is just a few steps away. The action on Cable Beach is just a short walk away at the Radisson Hotel and Casino. Buses run up and down Cable Beach all day as well. Although this is one of the older properties on Cable Beach, it has been well maintained and it's size and beach compensates for it's age. We own 3 timeshares in the Bahamas, and this is still my favorite.

  • Avatar for ellen332
    By ellen332 Updated Feb 23, 2009

    Guanahani Village changed ownership a little over a year ago and under the direction of the new owner the entire Resort is being revamped. As of December 2008, 21 of the 30-some units at Bluewater Resort had been upgraded. This includes new furniture, new stainless steel kitchen appliances, new dishes and cutlery, large screen flat-panel TV's, DVD players, new flooring, all rooms were painted, new windows, new bathrooms, etc. The Resort now has wireless internet, water sports, an expanded Beach Bar & Grill and a Tuck Shop. The pathways and lanscaping have also been upgraded. Both Reception and the pool area have been upgraded. The Resort Manager and the Head of Housekeeping have also been replaced. The finished units are truly beautiful. The only similarity between the old Guanahani Village and the new Bluewater Resort is the incredibly beautiful surroundings, the spacious size of the villas and the friendly staff. All of the remaining villas will have been redone by the end of 2009. Any problem which existed previously has been addressed and dealt with and what remains is likely one of the nicest family resorts in the Caribbean. We spend 2 to 3 weeks at Guanahani Village every year and have done so for the past 9 years. We love it.

    The oceanfront units are very large with 3 bdrms and 3 1/2 baths. They have 2 groundfloor patios and 1 rooftop sundeck. The view is incredible from the living room, the master bedroom and the 3rd story bedroom. You can watch cruise ships arriving and departing from Nassau.

    It is a short walk to almost everything including major hotels, the casino, many restaurants, grocery stores and several small straw markets. The bus into downtown takes about 15 minutes, costs $1 and is available right outside the door.

    You can have fun snorkelling directly in front of Guanahani Village or you can snorkel to Sandals Resort on your left or the Sheraton on your right. Or youcan go up to the Sheraton Hotel (formerly the Radisson) for wonderful snorkelling.

    Guanahani Village staff is extremely friendly. They will happily book any excursion that you would like to take. We have done the Dolphin Encounter, the Ardastra Zoo, the Robinson Caruso Day Away to Rose Island, the City Tour and the Booze Cruise. We have enjoyed every tour but our absolute favourites were the Zoo and Rose Island.

    Nassau is a great location. It's a short, direct flight from Toronto, Montreal and most US hubs. The island is very clean and the crime rate is low. We tried several different areas in the Caribbean before we found Guanahani Village and stayed. I highly recommend it for a great family vacation.

  • Avatar for bobbin0308
    By bobbin0308 Updated Jul 16, 2006

    Stayed July 8 - 15, 2006 in Unit 4. Do not place stock in the pictures on this site or the printed or online brochure of this "resort". NOT a true representation of the shape this place is in today. The place is just old and the unit I was in needs major refurbishing. Rust on all appliances and on all bath fixtures. Kitchen wall had holes that were very unprofessionally patched. Ants crawling up wall in one of the second floor bedrooms. Cabinet doors totally missing in 3rd floor bathroom. Pool unswimmable half the week we were there. I paid the resort $300 upgrade fee for a poolside/oceanview unit, and was told it was the last one they had available. When we arrived, that was NOT the case. There were a number of poolside ocean view units vacant; therefore, I feel I should've been upgraded without fee. That's the least they could've done with the shape the place is in. I was there on an RCI extra vacation wk. Called them 100 times trying to get moved to another resort. RCI kept promising "tomorrow we'll move you". This went on Saturday thru Wed., when they finally admitted they had nowhere to move us. Tried to make the best of it since we were stuck there, but would never stay there again.

  • Avatar for nisker
    By nisker Oct 21, 2003

    New management is doing what it takes to make this resort a place for a great family vacation. There have been many upgrades and has now become a bargain for the space and location it provides.

  • Avatar for moomoo
    By moomoo Aug 5, 2003

    This place is nothing like it's picture, it's scary even in the daylight. Our door wouldn't even close. When we went out on an excursion and came back we found 3 maids in our living room, sitting down, smoking and watching a soap opera. Our family moved to another timeshare down the street. Awful place.

Back to reviews
Resort review