Iron Blosam Lodge

Snowbird, Utah

Back to resort

Reviews of Iron Blosam Lodge

Snowbird, Utah

4.4

Out of 5
7 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (1)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Iron Blosam Lodge lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for maryv86
    By maryv86 Nov 15, 2008

    I have owned a timeshare at Iron Blosam for close to twenty years. The staff there is most hospitable, and the rooms, restaurant, pools and other amenities are excellent. I even like the solid concrete architecture, which is so necessary in that avalanche-prone valley. In particular, I like the indoor hot tub, and even more, the outside heated swimming pool, which is so relaxing after a day of skiing. When it is snowing (and that's often), it is delightful to watch the snowflakes gently descending into the water and settling on the surrounding trees that as one luxuriates in the warm water, with only the head in the air.

    As for slope proximity, you can carry the skis out the front or side door, across a parking lot and then down to the lift. With a slightly longer, five minute walk, you arrive at the main Snowbird Plaze, which you can catch the tram and be lifted to great heights with fabulous views. But that you probably already know . . .

  • Avatar for mark675
    By mark675 May 8, 2008

    This is the place for skiers. This ski year 2007/2008 has been fantastic. Tons and tons of powder. As of this date, 5/8/08, Snowbird still has 11 feet of snow and will be open at least until the end of May 2008. With the Iron Blosam Resort parking lot at 8000 feet and the top of the mountain 11000 feet you have an excellent chance of great snow.

  • Avatar for charlesk16
    By charlesk16 Updated Dec 13, 2007

    Great Value at the Iron Blossam.

    THIS IS A PLACE FOR SERIOUS SKIERS! You have the option to ski at either Snowbird or Alta. The Iron Blossam is a modest, very comfortable condo that is very well situated and represents excellent value for money. If you want more glitz and pay at least 3 x as much, then I suggest you try the Cliff Club, which is located up the street.

    As a Canadian, I have skied throughout Europe , Canada and the USA. By far , the best snow that I have encountered year after year is in Utah. Period. Whistler Blackcomb is an awesome mountain and has great apres ski, but the snow quality is lousy, and the visiblity is usually poor. Europe has great ambiance, is very chic, but once again, falls short when it comes to the snow. The Colorado resorts are great all-around resorts, but I have found that the powder tends to be heavier when compared to the champagne powder that falls in the Watsach mountains of Utah. Once you try Utah, you may never want to go anywhere else.

  • Avatar for jmilette
    By jmilette Nov 1, 2003

    The best resort for avid skiiers. The Wasatch Mountains have the driest powder snow in the world! If you are lucky enough to arrive during a fresh snow (which happens often in January and February) you will experience the best powder skiing imaginable!

    Snowbird also offers wonderful restaurants and nightclubs for dancing. Ski all day and dance all night...what more could you ask for?

  • Avatar for dawn
    By dawn Jan 1, 2003

    Exellent views to the mountain and ski runs. Fourth floor outdoor pool and hot tub fantastic. The concrete building can be cold in the hallways... not temp cold but cold feeling. It is truly designed for serious skiers. We owned a suite with an attached smaller unit. Total sleep capacity -- 12 with three full kitchens. It took five long years to sell our units after we moved away from Utah. The $50 token fee the on-site brokerage company charged to take the listing was almost an insult. Notwithstanding, we may buy another unit at this resort. Missing the grandchildren who live 35 minutes from the Snowbird and Iron Blosam Resort.

  • Avatar for khanft
    By khanft Dec 18, 2002

    The location is great for skiing, but be warned you must walk quite abit to the slopes. The units are nice, but spartan. The hallways and common areas are dark and cold feeling.

  • Avatar for ricardo001
    By ricardo001 Dec 18, 2002

    We have travelled to many ski areas and stayed in condos. I.B. Lodge beats all due to the great hot tub and outdoor pool. None better or more convenient. Great restaurant within building. Great housekeeping staff. Best ski area (in our opinions). If not your favorite, go one mile up the road to Alta. Or, relatively short drive to go to Park City or Deer Valley.

    Get a condo facing the ski slopes. Great view. Wake up every morning to the sounds of avalanche booming (guns and explosives). Serious place to ski.

Back to reviews
Resort review