Winners Circle Resort

Solana Beach, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Winners Circle Resort

Solana Beach, California

4.0

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (5)

  • 4

    (4)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Winners Circle Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for etanneh
    By etanneh Updated Nov 6, 2016

    This is a well maintained timeshare. It has a lovely salt water pool and spa area. There is a shaded area with grills and picnic tables. The resort also has a workout area and clubhouse. The grounds are immaculate. It is located close to the beach, less than a mile and is across the street from the Del Mar Fair Grounds. Tennis courts are available for no additional charge. Try to get a unit facing the pool area.

    Units have all been upgraded and are always immaculate. Each unit has a deck or patio. If you are traveling with guests that must use the sleeper sofa be sure to notify the management and request a mattress topper or rollaway which will make sleeping much more comfortable.

    Several excellent restaurants are literally steps away.

  • Avatar for bmb11
    By bmb11 Jul 17, 2012

    Be aware of this resort --- If you think you rented a particular room, they will switch you into a less desirable room when you check in. I rented thru Red Week directly from the owner. I called the resort a couple of weeks before the scheduled arrival and was assured that every thing was in order.

    When I checked in I was given a different room that was smaller and in a different area of the resort. After repeated questions of the staff, everyone played dumb --- they are very good at that.

    Once we got to the room, we noticed that the TV remote was missing. After several calls and a few hours, one was finally delivered. This resort is in a good location, but the facilities are in need of work, and the staff is no help whatsoever.

  • Avatar for ernestd17
    By ernestd17 Jul 26, 2010

    We had a great time. Very easy to watch the kids. Maid service every day was a real plus! Very clean and very friendly. Location can't be beat!

  • Avatar for janettej2
    By janettej2 Dec 11, 2008

    I stayed at Winner's Circle at the end of September of 08. The weather was great, front desk foks were very friendly and location was very good. Solana Beach is a quaint and artsy little beach town just north of La Jolla in North San Diego County. Lots of charming restaurants and take outs nearby and lots of attractions in the area. This is an older resort but very well run. In the fall a lot of exchangers from either RCI or VRI exchange in and there are more retirees than kids at that time of the year. The resort has a pool, large hot tub area, a outdoor firepit, outdoor grills and picnic tables and access to the tennis courts next door. The rooms are a bit dated but are well kept up. The studios have already been renovated and look great but the one bedroom and two bedroom units for the most part are not yet updated. Owners have the right to last minute greatly discounted rates for up to three days if available which is a great perk. All in all, a friendly older well run resort next door to the Del Mar fairgrounds and a good Southern California location.

  • Avatar for carolynt50
    By carolynt50 Updated May 11, 2008

    We returned after 3 years - furnature and rugs were old, and the room on the parking lot was noisy, patio dirty - left early, won't return.

    Perhaps owners get better treatment than do those who trade for a week, but in the future I will trade to a resort that appreciates guests.

  • Avatar for bobbio2
    By bobbio2 Apr 26, 2008

    We went and toured the property today and got to see our unit for the first time.

    The property is older, but well maintained. The grounds were well manicured and there was plenty of parking. The restaurant parking spaces are well marked and guests at the property have markers in their cars which means that the parking seems pretty well enforced.

    In the parking lot is a great restaurant called The Fish Market. On the other side is a first rate restaurant called the Pamplemousse. There is also a restaurant/piano bar inside the property.

    The lobby is clean and nicely decorated. In the lobby are vending machines, a salon and a desk to book tours.

    The pool area was quite nice and very clean. The club room was newly renovated and very nice with marble counter tops, a poker table, books to borrow, a pool table and a big screen LCD TV.

    The hallways were clean and freshly painted. The carpets are older but will soon be replaced according to the front desk.

    We checked out a studio unit which has been freshly renovated. It had granite counter top, an apartment sized 4 burner stove with oven and also an apartment size refridgerator and dishwasher.

    The downstairs units have a really big private patio. The upstairs units have smaller balconies, but still spacious and they run the length of the unit.

    The one bedrooms are scheduled to start renovations soon. I was very pleased with the layout of our unit. The kitchenette has a two burner stove, and under counter fridge, a full size dishwasher, and a microwave. There is a 3/4 bath attached to the living area. There is a wardrobe in the living area for clothes storage for whomever is sleeping on the pull out sofa.

    In the bedroom, there is another 3/4 bathroom with a separate make up/vanity area outside.

    This property is across the street from the Del Mar Fairgrounds where there is always something going on. It's about a mile to the beach and a little further to the train station. The Solana Beach train station is a stop for both the Coaster and Amtrak. From this location it is 15 minutes north to Lego Land, 15 minutes south to Sea World and 20 minutes south to downtown San Diego. You're close to Del Mar and La Jolla. It's also very close to the Torrey Pines Golf Course, which is a public course, so you can play where the pros play.

    Over all, we're pleased with our purchase. I can't wait to see what it looks like when the renovations are completely done.

  • Avatar for expresso10
    By expresso10 Dec 23, 2007

    Went in late September 2007 just after the conclusion of the racing season when the crowds had thinned. I rated a three star but this is actually 3.5 stars due to its location and the spaciousness of its units. The two bedroom unit is positively huge. This is a well maintained older property with a very pleasant courtyard/pool/picnic area. We enjoyed evening meals here on the picnic tables provided after using the outdoor barbecue grill. Divine! Has a hot tub and a pool and a game room and a gym and tennis courts to. And, you cannot beat this location near Del Mar Fairgrounds and race track and just a short ride to the beach and all that Southern California has to offer. We love the location and the staff keeps this resort neat as a pin. We will be back!!

  • Avatar for johnfornal
    By johnfornal Updated May 8, 2006

    This place is in my backyard so I have seen the changes over time. Think about the one bedroom condos next door within 200 ft that sold for around $450,000 in 2003 now $550,000. That should tell you what you are getting.

    This coastal area is one of the finest in Southern California. There is virtually no pollution. Some of the best natural scenery is at Torrey Pines State Park four miles South, where you can see all ocean without a house in view. Big Sur like.

    Del Mar village has great dining from take out picnics, (eat on the grassy knoll over the water) to top rated places complete with celebs. I should warn you the earth shakes like mad and scares the devil out of most everyone so maybe you should stay away. HA HA.

  • Avatar for randall118
    By randall118 May 4, 2005

    The location is excellent. The beach is very close as well as SeaWorld and the S.D. zoo. We also enjoyed the pool, spa, gym and tennis courts.

    The units are a converted older apartment building. It is fairly well maintained, however, in our room we had a cockroach, and need of minor repairs to the bathtub, light fixtures and refrigerator.

    The resort is adjacent to a main street. So, if you are noise sensitive, request an inside room.

  • Avatar for allthatshimmers
    By allthatshimmers Jan 11, 2003

    Make the Winner's Circle your home base and you can

    explore the Solana Beach,Del Mar,San Diego areas very

    easily and conveniently.Near Legoland,Balboa Park,beach,shopping,restaurants.Units are

    large,tastefully

    decorated and well lit.Utensils/dishes are plentiful.The

    1 bedroom units all have 2 FULL bathrooms.The staff is

    friendly and quite helpful.Enjoy!!

  • Avatar for doris777
    By doris777 Nov 9, 2002

    This resort is wonderful. You can take a morning walk to the beach or drive and park to spend the day. The pool and spa is nice and private - not windy. Lots of resteraunts closeby. Convenient to Interstate 5 or the Coastal road. 20 minute drive to San Diego. Many of the Units have been recently refurbished and have private patios with tables and chairs. Two bedrooms have TV's in each bedroom and living room and all 3 have sliding doors opening on patios, gated from pool. PERFECT!

Back to reviews
Resort review