Sand Pebbles Resort

Solana Beach, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Sand Pebbles Resort

Solana Beach, California

4.3

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (8)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Sand Pebbles Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for claudiab98
    By claudiab98 Updated Feb 3, 2016

    Sand Pebbles is a nice, simple "resort" ideally located on Hwy 1 in the artsy beach town of Solana Beach, CA. The units have been updated as the pictures show with modern type furniture; the resort has a nice pool and a "spa". There are studios, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom townhouses and 2 bedroom "flats" (upstairs units and all on one level). The front desk staff is very helpful. My extended family has stayed in all of the unit types at one time or another - my favorite is the 'one bedroom flat' (there are only 4 and all overlook the pool area). Some of the units overlook the pool area, while others overlook the other units; some face hwy 1 (which may be more noisy). I think all units have nice white shutters on the windows (instead of ugly drapes). There is public access to a set of stairs that lead you down the cliff to a nice, secluded beach - it will get you in shape walking down and up these stairs! Crossing Hwy 1 is a walking bridge that that leads to the Cedros Design District with upscale shops (clothing, accessories, furniture), brewery, coffee house, night club, dog accessory store, Sunday afternoon Farmer's Market (with food vendors) and some various other "cool" places to roam - my favorite is a shop called "Solo". There is a Rubios walking distance with $1.50 original tacos after 2:30 on Tuesdays. There is a walking path and sidewalk the entire length of Solana Beach, so you can rent bikes and ride to a lot of cool places along the town. The Hwy 1 bus can take you up and down the coast to other small beach towns like Del Mar, Encinitas, Leucadia and Cardiff-by-the-sea. The Amtrack and Coaster trains station is walking distance. (You can take Amtrack to Disneyland - no need to drive! and the Coaster to downtown SD and rent bikes right by Union Station). Overall, a nice "place to stay and spread out" at a reasonable cost (rather than a hotel or motel room which are located near by).

  • Avatar for evelyna45
    By evelyna45 Apr 27, 2014

    I have stayed here 3 years in a row. I love that so many things are accessible, many restaurants in walking distance. Also, the train is right up the street if you want to go to downtown, which we always do. They have a pool and spa which has a BBQ right next to it. And of course, you can't beat the fact that the beach is a block away and that area of the beach is pretty secluded. I would definitely stay again.

  • Avatar for briang121
    By briang121 Mar 6, 2014

    While not a posh resort, it may be a little under rated. Very clean, has been refurbished, great location, hop the go train into San Diego, very short walk to the beach, short walk to cool interesting street of shops. This resort has everything you want for a relaxing getaway. Have stayed in studio and 2 bdrm and all were well equipped.

  • Avatar for katiek54
    By katiek54 May 31, 2012

    i'd stay here again!!! i rented a first floor studio unit in the fall of 2010. my space was perfect for one person,clean, nicely furnished and within walking distance to the beach and nearby restaurants. the pool and jacuzzi were well maintained. above all it was quiet and private.... a wonderful getaway!!! it was also convenient to drive to other towns up the coast for variety in dining, shopping and other attractions. i am also looking forward to staying here again in the fall!!!

  • Avatar for kenneth642
    By kenneth642 Jul 2, 2011

    We stayed at this resort in June, 2011. All the units have been nicely refurbished. The location is convenient, the rooms are large and there is plenty of closet space. The kitchen is well supplied with cooking, preparation and serving items. The staff is friendly and acommodating, parking is plentiful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Avatar for susan3847
    By susan3847 Dec 5, 2010

    Just aweful! Carpets were dirty, stained and an ugly turquoise. "Resort" is an older building right on the 101 and a stones throw to the railroad track. It's very noisy and not sound proof at all. The bathrooms were really old and grungy and the shower head was at shoulder level. The decor was tacky and old - white rattan furniture, frosted glass mirrors, gaudy prints on couch and bedspreads. They've renovated some of the rooms, but don't be fooled by the photos - you'll probably end up with one of the old ones and they are gross!

  • Avatar for olgad11
    By olgad11 Updated Sep 12, 2008

    Great Location - near the race track and the train to San Deigo. Studio has a full kitchen...........unit great for 2 people. Friendly staff. Weather is always good.

  • Avatar for susan422
    By susan422 Oct 21, 2006

    We stayed here in February of 2006. With a family of 4, and two teenagers, a one bedroom unit flat was still large enough. The kitchen was huge, and the living room and dining room area was larger than any I have seen. The blow up mattess that we asked for was blown up and was made up with sheets when we arrived.

    The location was superb, with the gorgeous beach about a block away, a very short walk across the street. The beach, with the sandstone cliffs were breathtaking, and the short walk was easy. The grounds and pool were beautiful. The units and grounds were scrubbed clean and the bird of paradise flowers were in full bloom. I was very pleasantly surprised at all of the gorgeous flowers and plantings on the property!

    There was a California Pizza Kitchen within walking distance that was a lifesaver when we didn't want to go far in the car. The free breakfast at Sand Pebbles to welcome guests was a big push to get you to sign up for day long, guided bus trips at $100 a person. We took one to Mexico, and were sorely disappointed. Skip the tours from the Sand Pebbles travel desk and save your money. It was quite a long drive to Universal Studios (over 3 hours in traffic), but Disneyland was much closer. The San Diego Zoo was not too far, and moe than I had hoped for.

    Sand Pebbles location is perfect, and we can't wait to return! This was a great timeshare week, and we are eagerly planning our return trip!

  • Avatar for leslie209
    By leslie209 May 6, 2004

    Great location but can tell it used to be apartments because of the cabinetry. However, it has all that you need and the main thing is that it has a GREAT location...easy access to San Diego or LA. Plus many attractions. Oh, you can't use the pool area after 10pm. Don't really like that since I am an adult and not a child and can be quiet in the hot tub!

  • Avatar for lpoirier1
    By lpoirier1 Dec 24, 2003

    Great resort, very well kept--close to everything we wanted in San Diego and most of Southern Cal. 1 block from a very nice, uncrowded beach.

  • Avatar for lassie
    By lassie Jul 16, 2003

    We stayed at Sand Pebbles over the Fourth of July and it was very pleasant. Location was perfect, close to Del Mar race track and San Diego and the beach. I gave it 5 stars for the location and the staff made us feel like we belonged there, very nice and were going back for Thanksgiving too.

Back to reviews
Resort review