Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

South Lake Tahoe, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

South Lake Tahoe, California

4.3

Out of 5
19 reviews
  • 5

    (18)

  • 4

    (10)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for ohdewer
    By ohdewer Updated Jun 6, 2016

    Stayed here several times. The updated rooms are nice, but the are a little smile by timeshare standards. The 2 bedroom lockout is actually a 1 bedroom and a studio, with each having its own entrance with a shared foyer. Take this in account if you have children. If they close the door on the studio, they will need a key to get in. Great location, grocery store, shopping, beach, skiing, boat rentals, etc., all withing a mile or 2. Year round pool which is also great. Outdoor fire pits for roasting marshmallows. Overall, a really good place to stay and explore Lake Tahoe!

  • Avatar for andrewm125
    By andrewm125 Updated Sep 23, 2014

    Just had a wonderful week stay here and loved it! Lots of activities, easy to get to casinos, lots of good restaurants and the LAKE!!! Love to come back during ski season since the resort is right next to the lifts. Certainly would be beautiful during the winter! Staff was awesome and went above and beyond to do things for us. Best place to stay in the Lake Tahoe area. especially in the winter. Loved the fireplace...warm and toasty, comfortable beds (we needed a crib and they provided it quickly). Views are beautiful, smell of trees, activities on the lake. Just wonderful! Restaurant on site is great and has specials that are definitely worth it. Nice bar area with a lodge like atmosphere. Interesting that the lock-off unit is HUGE. Two double beds and a kitchenette. Easily sleeps 4 as long as 2 and 2 don't mind being together. Very well maintained grounds and units. Try to get a high floor lake view if possible. I wish I could have gotten this but we could see what it would look like...worth it!

  • Avatar for lawrence37
    By lawrence37 Updated Oct 27, 2013

    Be aware that if you trade in using Interval International you are assessed $20/night for parking. That was $140 we were not expecting. It is one of their hooks to have you become an owner.

  • Avatar for tomw185
    By tomw185 Updated Dec 24, 2011

    The most striking element of this resort is it's location. The property is right on Lake Tahoe in the south curve and centrally located next to everything. You have a beach and several shopping malls and restaurants are within walking distance. After we got passed the usual sales push during check-in, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. There are several activities planned during the week and my daughters made tie dye t-shirts one day and there were many other events setup during the week.

    The resort has a big open space in the center, which is where the BBQs and tables are. There is also one of those indoor/outdoor combination pools which is versatile and fun to relax in. The only real negative we found is the parking. Often when we returned from sight-seeing all of the parking spots were taken. The backup plan is to have the resort valet park your car across the street. The valet service is free, but you always feel like you should tip the young guys every time they bring your car to you.

    All in all, a very convenient and vibrant resort to spend a week in.

  • Avatar for suet94
    By suet94 Aug 16, 2011

    Very surprised this is a Diamond property....very disappointing in every aspect. The worst part was the the management and staff - unprofessional and rude.

    We would NEVER stay here again!

  • Avatar for ck54
    By ck54 Updated Feb 5, 2011

    Great place to rent. Costly to keep as owner.

  • Avatar for charlesm143
    By charlesm143 Jan 18, 2011

    We are Diamond Resort owners in Maui and exchanged one week Ocean Front for two studio units for January 7-14, 2011. Staff was excellent. Resort has direct access to Lake Tahoe. We skied at Sierra Tahoe and took the gondola trip to Heavenly for pictures and lunch. Numerous activities close to resort. Many ski resorts located around Lake Tahoe and other activities, shops and restaurants available, or within a short drive. Our previous ski trips were to Whistler, British Columbia, but we really enjoyed our stay at Lake Tahoe more. Our rooms were clean and quite. Only resort problems incurred were some limited parking at resort due to heavy snow, some icy parking areas and difficulty accessing resort parking with room key due to a malfunctioning card reader. Resort staff would activate parking gate for us and they do offer valet parking in a covered garage, etc. One of our rooms remained warm even with the heat turned off and the other room was a little cold with the heat on?

    We will return to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort for our next ski vacation!

  • Avatar for jamesy10
    By jamesy10 Updated Apr 21, 2010

    We went during a nice spring snowstorm during the week of April 4th and had a fantastic time. The skiing was great at Heavenly, which was just about a mile down the street. There are plenty of ski/snowboard rental shops in the area and some which are just across the street. If you prefer not to leave your room, the Ski Butlers will bring them to you as well as pick them up when you are done. Plenty of fast food restaurants surround the area, including a McDonald's that is just on the other side of the resort parking lot. If you prefer to cook, there is a Vons Market down the street, less than a mile away. If you are a DR Club member, the parking is free, whether you choose to self park or valet. Don't forget about Sierra, which is only a 30 minute drive away, especially if you are a beginner snowboarder/skier. The indoor/outdoor heated pool was nice, but very crowded and chlorinated. The staff at this resort could not have been more friendly or helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here and are very happy with our purchase of this resort using Redweek.

  • Avatar for marvinz
    By marvinz Updated Aug 24, 2009

    We are at the property as I write this. We are using the "hotel room" of the 2 room unit. We are in the newly constructed wing which is well furnished. The queen bed in the lock-off unit is very comfortable. The widescreen TV is of good quality although it is not using HD, only RCA plugs for input. Still, it swivels, allowing it to be viewed from every corner of the room. Sadly, there is no table for eating, just a log with a polished top that's 24" wide, even though the kitchenette has a cooktop, full pots/pans/dishes and a small refrig.

    The lobby is well furnished, but the facility is 100% occupied today and you can feel it from the crowds.

    Overall, this facility is very nice. The many restaurants from Denny's to Chevy's are within one block or so and there's a family bar and full restaurant across the parking lot with a Lake view that is an easy walk for anyone, including the handicapped.

    The burgers from the on-site restaurant were ordered medium rare and came out very well to over done.

    We walked about 1.5 miles to the casinos last night and found it relatively easy since sidewalks are pesent all the way. The beach and boat rentals are less than a block from the door.

    Parking is either via valet or self-park, both free.

    Overall impression, a very nice facility, close to the beach and ski lift to Heavenly.

    I'm a new owner and like this property enouth that I will consider purchasing another 2 bedroom unit at the right price.

  • Avatar for markt195
    By markt195 Mar 29, 2009

    We just returned from our first trip to Lake Tahoe and can't wait to plan for next year. The resort is very nice. We are Diamond owners in Maui and really enjoyed coming to Tahoe. We exchanged for a 2 bedroom unit which was perfect for the five of us. A beautiful view of the lake and of course the snowy mountains. The units were extremely clean and roomy. Free parking and/or valet service available. Most restaurants are within walking distance, Riva's accross the parking lot for steak and seafood, and the Naked Fish for sushi. Great deals on ski rentals (see the front desk). Located at the base of HEAVENLY, but worth the 30 min drive to Sierra-at-Tahoe. Definetly a great resort.

  • Avatar for js98
    By js98 Jan 31, 2009

    WOW!! One of the best resorts at all of Lake Tahoe! GREAT UNITS, GREAT LAKE VIEWS, CLOSE TO EVERYTHING!

  • Avatar for michaelj239
    By michaelj239 Jan 10, 2008

    A welcome mix of location and great facilities.

    We love the conveinence of having a shuttle to and from Lake Tahoe's casinos that runs almost 24/7. The resort has everything you could want, including a jacuzzi tub. If you get bored in Lake Tahoe, stop vacationing. There are the mountains, the lake, horseback riding, etc., etc. Plenty of shopping: Upscale to T-shirts.

    We live in Florida and vacation here!

  • Avatar for eleanorl12
    By eleanorl12 Oct 3, 2007

    We have owned and stayed at this resort for the last ten years. It's clean, comfortable, and a great location. My husband has lung problems now and we can't go, but it's a great place with nice people.

  • Avatar for sheri176
    By sheri176 Jan 4, 2007

    We just returned from the resort. It is very nice. The staff at check in seemed a little overwhelmed. We did make a one request that was not met and we received a different excuse as to why it couldn't be met everytime we asked. We had a couple of two bedroom units which are very spacious. One had a beautiful view of Heavenly and the other had a view of the summer storage area and the trash dumpster so try for a room ending in 22 or lower. The casinos are within walking distance if you like to walk, the casino shuttle is not free as some have claimed. We did ski Heavenly but did not not use their shuttle so I don't know if that is free or not. Heavenly Village is just down the road, near the casinos,with lots of shops. Their are many resturants and bars close by as well, we did not try any of them because we cooked out meals in our unit. Overall it is very nice and we would definately stay here again.

  • Avatar for susan506
    By susan506 Aug 27, 2006

    Stayed here in summer. Check-in easy, staff friendly and helpful. Resort is beautiful, very short walk to lake, facilities clean and top-notch. Great pool area, bicycles available, fun activities. Our 2 bedrrom unit was EXCELLENT-clean, well maintained, beds comfortable and lay out great! King in master (and jacuzzi tub) and two doubles in second bedrrom. Kitchen well stocked-enough pots, pans, silverware for our family of 5. Didn't use outdoor BBQ area. Restaurant good-very convenient-esp with kids. Overall, 5 star vacation resort-will definately go back! Only thing that could have been better would be a lake view unit. Looks like it would be a great place to stay in the fall or winter also.

  • Avatar for johnh180
    By johnh180 Jul 20, 2006

    The resort was clean with things for kids to do. Definitely not a romantic getaway place. Restaurant needs to add a few things to the menu and expand their hours. Very small beach area to use.

  • Avatar for tashadog
    By tashadog Updated Jan 28, 2004

    We stayed at the resort twice before we bought a two bedroom unit. Every trip has been great. There is so much to do around the lake, including beaches, skiing, boating, gaming, live entertainment, horse back riding, hiking, and lots of dining. It a great area to visit!

  • Avatar for suezq4cars
    By suezq4cars Jul 24, 2003

    The resort was fantastic! They had bikes to check out for free for 3 hours at a time we enjoyed riding along the beach and to the shops. They had many activities for both kids and adults. The location was wonderful.

  • Avatar for tom734
    By tom734 Jan 25, 2003

    On the lake, 1 mile to casino, 1 mile to Heavenly! Great facility and staff. Pool and exercise room spotless. Romm well maintained with great views. All ski shuttles board in front of resort. Must ski Kirkwood if you go to Tahoe!

Back to reviews
Resort review