Elysian Beach Resort

East End, St. Thomas (USVI)

Back to resort

Reviews of Elysian Beach Resort

East End, St. Thomas (USVI)

3.9

Out of 5
16 reviews
  • 5

    (6)

  • 4

    (11)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Elysian Beach Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for sharont214
    By sharont214 Nov 5, 2016

    Phenomenal, extremely relaxing location. Awesome ocean views. Located on the beachfront. Restaurants, gym, pool and jacuzzi Located on the premises. The environment is warm and inviting. The staff is extremely accommodating. Less than a five minute, $5.00 ride to the town of Red Hook. There you'll find your choice of a variety of restaurants and the local ferry to take you over to St. Johns and other Caribbean islands.

  • Avatar for patt173
    By patt173 Updated Apr 8, 2015

    Recent (2013-14) upscale renovation by Wyndham has enormously improved both the property and the accommodations - our studio/loft unit had a new, fully equipped kitchen and all new furnishings and TV's. The Caribbean Seafood Market (restaurant) is top notch (reservations recommended). Sangria (beach bar) offers a fun and inexpensive menu and happy hour, though it's a toss-up as to whether they, or the pool bar, make the best Bushwacker. We traveled to St. John twice, a 15 minute ride (or less) over to Cruz Bay from the readily accessible ferries in Red Hook, just five minutes by taxi from The Elysian.

    Wyndham provided a shuttle to the grocery store the Saturday afternoon of our arrival, which allowed us to fully stock our refrigerator for the week. We did not have to rent a car. Taxi'ed to and from the airport and twice to and from Red Hook to ferry to St. John. A Sunday morning briefing by the activities manager at the beach shack was chock full of good information on things-to-do and a complimentary Painkiller/punch and finger food spread. All-in-all it was exactly the relaxing, warm sun and turquoise sea we'd hoped for over Presidents' Week in February 2015.

    The only thing missing was the fitness center, which was closed, undergoing a facelift.

  • Avatar for lisa3650
    By lisa3650 Jan 15, 2012

    Gorgeous. Newly remodeled. Great location. 2 great restaurants on premises.

  • Avatar for veronical15
    By veronical15 Updated Nov 20, 2009

    We stayed at the Elysian the week of 11/14 to 11/21/09. The resort is dated & the rooms disappointing. We had a double unit. A single room is your typical hotel room with a bathroom & a room with 2 double beds & a wet bar with frig & microwave. So dont expect to cook in that unit. The 2nd unit had a living dining combo with a Murphy bed & a full kitchen and bathroom. At one time there was a laundry in the unit but now it houses the hot water heater & a bunch of dirty dishes. (Yes dirty dishes on the floor) The resort directory indicates mid-week maid service but we never saw a maid, so no fresh towels or sheets. The first floor units are like entering a basement apartment. The resort is extremely hilly with a lot of stairs everywhere. Not for the handicapped at all. The 2 on site dining options are good & reasonably priced. The gym on site is an extra charge & so is internet accessibility. They also charge $9 per person per day for an electric surcharge which adds up. Driving is treacherous around the island & the taxis are a fortune. Be sure to always ask the price of the taxi, they charge per person. Groceries are expensive. $8 for a gallon of milk. I highly recommend the St. Johns snorkeling trip to Honeymoon Cove & Christmas Cove & the British Virgin Island tour. Excellent two days of sightseeing. Under water camerarecommended - beautiful coral & fish. Remember to bring your passport or you cannot take the BVI trip. Two exceptional restaurants were the Old Stone Farmhouse (Megans Bay) & the Bluewater Restaurant(Ritz). Exceptional meals, great service & atmosphere. Weather was great but I would find a different place to stay next time.

  • Avatar for lesleer
    By lesleer Updated Aug 7, 2008

    This is a lovely, low key beach resort compared to a Marriott Frenchman's Reef, but that is what we like about it...no crowds to speak of. As half the property is comprised of units owned by individual owners who live there several months of the year or longer, the grounds are beautifully maintained. The Ritz Carleton next door, Red Hook and the ferry to St. John about 1.5 miles away and Charlotte Amalie about 20 minutes away, plus on a beautiful beach with a view. Water sports on property, they arrange outings and adventures there and are so accomodating! If you love huge resorts, then this is not for you, but if you are looking for a very nice, smaller, more intimate resort on a great beach with a lovely pool and all the amenities of the larger resorts, then the Elysian is a nice option. And yes, the furnishings could be updated, but I think of it as a great base to enjoy my vacation with a balcony and huge roof deck to enjoy. I was so impressed with the resort that I ended upbooking an early July vacation and can't wait to get back there in 2009!

  • Avatar for harrisv
    By harrisv Feb 1, 2008

    robert's is one of the top restaurants on the island. the beach and caribbean view is excellent. cowbet bay is beautiful. facilities are kept up very well. tennis court little used so available most of time. pool renovated and large and beautiful. children's pool is excellent. you can walk or drive to town of red hook. much shopping and many restaurants, mostly high quality. good entertainment on and off site. ritz is next door neighbor and restaurant there also tops.

  • Avatar for faithd2
    By faithd2 Updated Dec 6, 2007

    Lovely, spacious rooms. Food and service was good, sitting at our table right on the sand was devine! Pool was lovely and uncrowded. The hill and stairs were somewhat steep for these out of shape knees. It would be nice if there was a shuttle more often into downtown St. Thomas. We'll be back!

  • Avatar for angie25
    By angie25 Jun 16, 2007

    Visited 5/07, stayed in a studio, clean rooms, all of the conveniences, the furnishings are dated, affiliated with Fairfield/Wyndham - not what we would have expected from this brand, convienent location to Red Hook/St. John Ferry.

  • Avatar for john1671
    By john1671 Updated Aug 26, 2006

    What an amazing turnaround in 2003 and 2004 since Fairfield acquired this resort and gave it the Fairfield name and quality touch. The pool has been fully redone, the landscaping is meticulous. Most units have new appliances, DVD players, paint, mattresses. All furniture being replaced in 2005. Inexpensive wi- fi internet access from all locations in the resort.

    New health club. The gourmet restaurant (Robert's) is two years old and excellent. Reverse osmosis water purification system (basically Desani water on tap). Generator system - last year we were lit like a christmas tree when the entire east end was dark all night. Retrained staff that are pleasant and friendly.

    Stopped by again in May, 2006 while staying at Bluebeards Beach Club (also great). Everything looks in tip top shape.

  • Avatar for kathyj54
    By kathyj54 May 16, 2006

    We stayed here in October, 2005, as a Go for More Points Dream Vacation thru Fairfield. We had trouble booking the reservation, since they originally booked us here and then mysteriously changing us to the Bluebeard. When we arrived at the airport, we were sent to the Elysian, and we thought everything had been resolved. But it hadn't. The front desk told us that our reservation was at the Bluebeard, and we should get back in the taxi and go there. We didn't, and just hung around and passively got our way. Sure pays to be nice and non-threatening to the front desk people.

    We loved this resort. The room was a studio, but plenty big. Bonnie's by the Sea was terrific - great drinks and better than average food, and live entertainment 4-5 days a week. Robert's was wonderful, the pool was great. My husband loved the hammocks near the beach, and even fell asleep in one. Jamie, the activities director, did a Sunday AM orientation, and we booked day trips for snorkeling and sailing. She was great, and really helpful.

    Taxi fare was a pain. Rates are set by the government, and are charged per person. So for two of us to go into Red Hook to catch the ferry, the charge was $12 each way, whether it was 2 of us in the van or six, so $24 round trip for a 10 minute drive. Next time I'll rent a car.

    We loved St. Thomas. The biggest drawback about the Elysian was that we liked it so much that we didn't see much of the rest of the island. We can't wait to go back.

  • Avatar for cathya19
    By cathya19 Updated Jan 13, 2006

    We stayed at the Elysian for a week in November. The staff was very unfriendly. You have to climb stairs to go to everything - pool, beach, restaurants. The only positive was the food. Both restaurants had a great menu and the food was superb. We're staying somewhere else next year but we will dine at the Elysian.

  • Avatar for lorraine36
    By lorraine36 Dec 17, 2005

    The Elysian is one of the secrets of the Caribbean. Gorgeous pool and fantastic restaurants. Excellent staff and beautiful, clean rooms.

  • Avatar for barbara760
    By barbara760 Updated Feb 24, 2005

    The view was lovely and the resort is older but well-maintained. The pool was being renovated. The air conditioning was noisy, but our unit was spacious. We enjoyed the restaurant there and walking on the beach. We plan to return.

    We revisited in Feb. 2005 and were very impressed with the updates to pool and landscaping.

  • Avatar for falczuk
    By falczuk Jan 24, 2005

    I stayed here in May 2005 and had a wonderful time. The pool was great. The food in the two restaurants more than adequate. Snorkeling right there off the beach. Room quite nice.

    You really don't have to leave the property. It's all right there for you.

    I will be back!!

  • Avatar for tntscooper
    By tntscooper Oct 23, 2003

    Enjoyed two wonderful weeks in August. Quiet with sandy beach and nice pool (re- done in 2001). Would definitely go again!

  • Avatar for bdedm2
    By bdedm2 Feb 26, 2003

    resort is nice on the outside, room needed to be redone, beach was nice but very rocky when you go into the water and the service was lacking at the resort

Back to reviews
Resort review