Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Tahoe Vista, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge

Tahoe Vista, California

3.8

Out of 5
8 reviews
  • 5

    (4)

  • 4

    (4)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for lesliew183
    By lesliew183 Mar 15, 2015

    Excellent resort in every way. Have owned here for several years and bought a second week! Love this place. It is quaint, has full kitchens, NICE pool and spa on one deck, full dining deck by the lake and private beach with paddle boats, a dock and kayaks. The staff is incredibly good at what they do. We love this place!

  • Avatar for lucillea8
    By lucillea8 Sep 6, 2012

    We have been owners at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge since 2008 and will not be able to mention all the benefits we have received from our experiences at this boutique Lake Tahoe resort in the space provided.

    We have enjoyed the ability to walk down to the lake at all times of the day. In the morning, with a cup of coffee prepared by the staff in the Wolf Den/Office area, we can start our day enjoying the quiet and incredible beauty of Lake Tahoe and the snow capped mountains surrounding the lake. During the day, we can use the kayaks and paddle boat provided to explore the surrounding area, lounge by the pool with the stack of reading material we optimistically planned to read, walk to Safeway to pick up a sandwich or to restaurants at Tahoe Vista and King's Beach, swim in the pool or nap in the hammock. If we want to drive 10-20 minutes, we will go to Sand Harbor for a swim or the North Tahoe Regional park for a hike. We can choose to prepare our meals in the well equipped kitchen or bbq grills available on site and we can eat in our unit or outside on picnic tables. We usually head to the lake at night to enjoy the moonlight on the lake from the dock.

    The staff at Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge is friendly and accommodating to the best of their ability. We love the cozy environment, however, a small (27 unit) resort doesn't allow much room for moving reservations around and yet, if the staff can do it, they will. The maintenance of the grounds and the units is superb and if something isn't working to our satisfaction, they will respond promptly to fix it.

    Whenever possible, we enjoy sharing Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge with children, grandchildren and friends. It is one of their favorite places to visit, too. I'm about out of room, but not out of compliments. Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge is a place you can enjoy any time of the year.

  • Avatar for deborah656
    By deborah656 Oct 31, 2011

    We would not recommend this resort nor ever stay here again. We own 2 weeks at two different Grand Pacific Resorts and are in the process of buying a 3rd week. We've exchanged into other Grand Pacific Resorts and have always been extremely pleased. After only 2 nights we checked out! What a disappointing experience! We travelled over 600 miles and were looking forward to a relaxing week at Lake Tahoe. The lack of enforcement of the quiet hours made staying any longer impossible. At midnight the noise from the upper floor unit was intolerable. After the first night the manager offered to say something. The noise got worse and lasted later.

  • Avatar for etanneh
    By etanneh Updated Mar 17, 2011

    This was a lovely place to visit. We had an upstairs two bedroom unit toward the front but far enough away from the busy street so that we did not hear traffic noise. There are a few units that face the street and I think that durning the busy season these units must be quite noisy. Our unit was clean and quite comfortable. It was decorated nicely. It was also the first week in October so the crowds had slimmed down. The waterfront feature of this complex is lovely. Although our unit did not face the water we had only to walk a few hundred yards to look out at beautiful Lake Tahoe.

    The salmon were running so we had quite a treat as we watched a mother bear and her cub feasting on salmon on the southwest side of the lake. The stream was red with salmon.

    We attended a wine and food tasting event that was a favorite with the locals. We also met many of the other guest and had dinner each evening with several of them.

    The staff is outstanding. I cannot say enough about the knowledge and care the staff took with us. I wish we owned here!

  • Avatar for steve177
    By steve177 Jun 3, 2008

    We stayed here in a one bedroom the first week in October 2007. We really enjoyed the quaint atmosphere and the wood decor and furnishings. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the resort is well maintained with everything in good working order. The newly remodeled pool area was great and views were spectacular. The beach is nice and there is a long dock and also free kayaks, which we used several times. The clear water of Lake Tahoe is unbelievable. Staying here is like turning back the clock 40-50 years to the ma and pa resorts that were popular in the 50s and 60s. It is not huge and fancy like the Marriott or Hyatt but is a very comfortable place to stay for a relaxing vacation. The location is very convenient to access the many activities of the area.

  • Avatar for myip
    By myip Dec 7, 2007

    Nice small resort with a beach. Close to everything.

  • Avatar for carolyn404
    By carolyn404 Updated Oct 10, 2007

    I stayed in one of their studio units for 9 days in Sept. 2007. The people we were with also had a studio and theirs was similar.The studios had a murphy bed, but I didn't realize that the floor space was equal to the area of the murphy bed. There was a kitchen, but with the bed down, we couldn't get to the kitchen, and to get to the bathroom you had to crawl over the bed. There was a loveseat that had to be pushed out of the way to let the bed down and when the bed was up, the loveseat had to be moved in front of the murphy bed to help keep the murphy bed from coming down. I have seen studio units in other places, and this place was SMALL.

    This place is on Lake Tahoe, California side, and it has a small beach on the edge of the lake. But the units are arranged like a motel and you look out at the parked cars. Not my idea of a timeshare value. Don't bother with this so-called resort. css

  • Avatar for bobbin0308
    By bobbin0308 Sep 9, 2003

    Stayed here March, 2003. Had 2 one bedroom units side by side for our party. Hoping for snow.....none. Resort is really nice & staff friendly. RCI rates as Gold Crown, and I would basically agree, except I'd like to see king size bed in master and washer/dryer in unit in a Gold Crown resort. Lake Tahoe is so gorgeous and there are photo opps at every turn. Casinos mostly on south side of lake. Restaurants expensive in area. Good ski resorts on both sides of lake.

Back to reviews
Resort review