Water's Edge Inn & Resort

Westbrook, Connecticut

Back to resort

Reviews of Water's Edge Inn & Resort

Westbrook, Connecticut

3.9

Out of 5
12 reviews
  • 5

    (7)

  • 4

    (4)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Water's Edge Inn & Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for marys241
    By marys241 Jan 10, 2012

    I stayed here in Dec. and after the reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised. I was in building 6 and had a partial view of the ocean. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were clean and modern and the '2 br" was very spacious, although it's really 1 BR and a large loft and only 1 bathroom. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The pool and spa were great.

  • Avatar for jkelman57
    By jkelman57 Jun 10, 2009

    JUST RENOVATED TOTALLY NICE JOB! GREAT LOCATION AND VALUE!! NOW OWN TWO SUMMER WEEKS HERE....

    PERFECT SPOT - BETTER THAN STAYCATION

  • Avatar for penelopew3
    By penelopew3 Updated Apr 16, 2009

    My husband and I stayed at this resort 15 years ago. Perhaps things are totally different by now. However, back then, we endured loud, bad rock music that played at the central lounge until 1 p.m. The resort was also extremely stingy with the towels. As a native of CT, long since displaced to the Midwest, a timeshare in CT is a delightful idea for me. However, I would love to find a location on Long Island Sound or north that guaranteed a chance to sleep and plenty of the expected amenities! Rating: ** pw

    p.s. Please keep me posted!

  • Avatar for captainjohn
    By captainjohn Apr 1, 2009

    Just stayed in a beautiful, totally renovated unit with great water views; we understand all units are undergoing renovation. Staff was attentive to our special requests and we found numerous local joints to enjoy while off property. Now trying to get in during the summer season!

  • Avatar for tome9
    By tome9 Oct 7, 2005

    Stayed here on Oct. 6 2005 and this place has gone "DOWNHILL" since we stayed in 2002. Carpeting in the halls and our room were stained and dirty. The marble floor in the bath is slippery and an accident waiting to happen. Grounds are still kept-up but the beach was dirty and small. Staff was pleasant. Hopefully someone will read these comments and get the carpeting either cleaned or replaced.

  • Avatar for donnachristian
    By donnachristian Oct 6, 2005

    Overrated...Small narrow units, very small outdoor pool, small beach, overpriced restaurant. EXCELLENT VIEW from restaurant but way overpriced for Thanksgiving buffet and unpleasant front desk staff. Enjoyed the beauty of the snowfall in November!

  • Avatar for judy723
    By judy723 Updated Sep 4, 2005

    Spent a week in July. Great resort--alot of activity going one and especially enjoyed the live music on the weekends. The beach was a bit disappointing as the water was so shallow. The pool was very small and filled with children and the hot tub crowded. The restaurant and hotel with the wonderful view took center stage for this resort. There was always much action from music to weddings. Our unit was pleasant and spacious for a one bedroom-- decorating was average The local area was exceptional! There is so much to do and we enjoyed our trips to Mystic, Foxwood, shopping etc

  • Avatar for joanne359
    By joanne359 Apr 25, 2005

    Water's Edge is elegant with an incredible dinning experience. The grounds are magnificent. You are close to everything - skiing, shopping, gambling, Mystic, Gillete's Castle and so much more. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Avatar for charles742
    By charles742 Aug 19, 2004

    This place top of the line. Plenty to do in the surrounding area i.e. shopping, dining, leaf peeping in the fall. The restaurant is one of the finest on the Connecticut shoreline. You really can't go wrong.

  • Avatar for lpoirier1
    By lpoirier1 Dec 24, 2003

    We stayed for a week in February at this resort and just loved it--the units are very large and comfortable--ours had a fireplace which we used constantly. There's a very nice restaurant on site which we enjoyed very much.

    You can take the train into NYC to see a show on Broadway or shop or sightsee--it's a great lowkey vacation spot.

  • Avatar for bridget
    By bridget Updated Sep 19, 2003

    Great resort with all the amenities,luxury spacious rooms, great location on the beach, many planned activities for all ages, 4 star restaurant with best brunch in Ct. Lots of things to see and do in the area, near to the casinos and outlet stores.

  • Avatar for wagnerx
    By wagnerx Feb 7, 2003

    Top notch resort, great staff, good location. Loft units spacious and attractively furnished. Hard to get. Second the other reviewer's opinion of the restaurant.

    Would go back!

Back to reviews
Resort review