Mayan Palace Acapulco

Acapulco, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of Mayan Palace Acapulco

Acapulco, Mexico

4.8

Out of 5
12 reviews
  • 5

    (12)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Mayan Palace Acapulco lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for georged65
    By georged65 Updated Jul 1, 2007

    We stayed in a one bedroom the last week of Dec. 2006. We loved the Grand Mayan. I must however give this Warning- Do Not Attend Their Time Share Presentation, just do not do it, remember that I warned you. Now that you know that, this place is Magnificent. Beautiful pools, friendly staff, good restaurants. The balconies have a small pool and nice views. The rooms are nicely appointed and the space is bountiful. The pool and water park are wonderful, the grounds are fantastic. When you leave you will want to go back, we certainly are going to go back. You may even want to purchase a time share, if you do... purchase it from the resale market, save some dollars and avoid the only bad experience at the resort which involves the lying, high pressure, 6 hours grueling experience their timeshare sales division will torture you through. Just when you think you have survived the arms of their octupus-vampire sales people, they capture you again when you think you are finally getting your "frebbie" at a different station.

  • Avatar for maandpaham
    By maandpaham Updated Apr 8, 2007

    We stayed at the Mayan with another couple in a lockoff in March 2007. Our stay started out bad with the outside door to the lockoff could not be opened with a key. After three attempts from the front desk and 10:30 at night, we had to call the General Manager who brought a master key to open it. The resort is beautiful tho. The rooms we were in needed to be refurbished. The restaurants on site are little expensive. We ordered the salad bar from one of the restaurants and for $12, there were 4 kinds of lettuce, potatoe salad, cucumber salad and cactus salad. That was it! If we had known that before ordering, we wouldn't have ordered it. For a relaxing vacation, sitting by the pool, playing in the ocean, this is where to be. Cost $25-$30 to take a taxi into town. Not interested in going back.

  • Avatar for robert3624
    By robert3624 Jan 4, 2006

    Grand Mayan is beautiful, great food, great beach amazing pool.

  • Avatar for marygrace4
    By marygrace4 Mar 11, 2005

    My husband and I just got back from our wonderful stay at this family oriented resort. We were there from 2/27 until 3/9. We were glad to be situated outside of the "Bay of Acapulco" which was loaded with spring breakers. We were protected from all of that chaos and were grateful for the mindful location. This magnificent resort boasts wonderful views, incredible pools, a water park and 6 top notch restaurants. We were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We are looking to become owners here.

  • Avatar for greg855
    By greg855 Mar 7, 2005

    Stayed at this wonderful resort feb, 12 - feb, 19, 2005. We were very pleased with everything about this location. Service was excellent and staff was very helpful. There was some construction going on during our stay but it was not that noticable. I am sure that when they are done it will be more beautiful than when we visited. I would recommend this resort highly.

  • Avatar for lsweezey
    By lsweezey Oct 10, 2003

    there is no place like it on earth. Have stayed here 5 times, out of the 9 weeks, only saw one cloud. Staff are amazing, grounds are exquisite/ local off-resort businesses are true mexico... great people, great food, and great prices.

  • Avatar for sahel
    By sahel Apr 27, 2003

    This resort is fabulous! The public areas are simply beautiful. The swimming pool is huge, but landscaped so that you don't feel "lost at sea", with waterfalls and vegetation. The restaurants are very good & the outdoor settings are particularly lovely in the evening. The beach is magnificent, wide and miles long. The rooms are somewhat ordinary (but still better than most) and my only complaint is that the balconies are too small to sit on - particularly because there is such a gorgeous view! Due to the location of the resort it's necessary to take a taxi into the city - walk to the taxi rank outside of the resort to get a better rate. It is a long way to the nearest bus stop. We plan to stay here again soon.

  • Avatar for oceanbreeze
    By oceanbreeze Feb 26, 2003

    Spent 2 weeks at the Mayan Palace Acapulco this past November. It was fabulous! ! ! Beautiful resort, friendly staff, spectacular pools, huge beach area. Splashing in the huge waves was great fun. Long walks down the beach. Beautiful sunsets. Food was good, we enjoyed the Happy Hours and the entertainment. Our entire stay was sunny, blue skies, temps between 85-95 degrees.

    Enjoyed a day tour to Taxco (located up in the mountains and built over silver mines)where I indulged in some silver jewelry purchases (beautiful artistic workmanship and great prices). Would like to have stayed the night, though, to really visit this huge old colonial town.

    It was wonderful vacation and we look forward to a return trip. We are not golfers, but for those who are, there is a beautiful golf course on site and a water park.

  • Avatar for harley03
    By harley03 Feb 1, 2003

    WE'VE STAYED HERE ONCE & OUR DAUGHTER & FRIEINDS STAYED ONCE. WE ALL LOVE THIS PLACE. IT'S A BEAUTIFUL RESORT. IT'S THE BEST MYAN PALACE RESORT WE HAVE STAYED IN. WILL GO BACK.

  • Avatar for brandonb1
    By brandonb1 Jan 24, 2003

    I have stayed here 9 times! It is an incredible resort. I wish I could live there!

  • Avatar for marjorie
    By marjorie Jan 1, 2003

    This is a gorgeous resort. The lobby area is simply amazing. The grounds and pools are also amazing. This resort is on the water. We found the rooms poorly sited: they do not look out on the ocean necessarily. Many overlook a pool. We also found the rooms uncomfortable, as in uncomfortable furniture. These are why we rate this 4 stars rather than 5. Also, the "decks" are miniscule. There is a shuttle with a limited agenda. It was helpful . The kitchen was mediocre. Acapulco is a substantial drive from the resort. 1/1/03

  • Avatar for shepro
    By shepro Nov 2, 2002

    I think of all the Mayan resorts this is the best one. The rooms are great, the service is wonderful and the staff are fantastic.

Back to reviews
Resort review