Sandyport Beaches Resort

Nassau, Bahamas

Back to resort

Reviews of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Nassau, Bahamas

4.2

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Sandyport Beaches Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for carmanz
    By carmanz Sep 11, 2013

    We had an amazing time !!! Although it was slow season and not too many people at resort, and not many activities, this suited us fine as we were there just to relax. We booked a three night get away two weeks prior, so we didn't attend their activities/info presentation. No sales pitches which was nice. Our flight got in early so staff stored our luggage in an unoccupied room, and allowed us to change and sit by pool until our room was ready. Staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. Be sure to request a renovated room. There is about 6 two level villa style buildings on site, but only one (blue building) that is renovated. The rest are in process. Each room has a patio/balcony depending on level, and suite rooms have best views on canal. 1BR and studio rooms have pool/garden views. No need to rent car as cabs are very reasonable and mini transit bus is only $1.25 per person which will take you down the street for groceries, or downtown Nassau. They come by every 10-15 minutes. Only negative would be government fees which is applicable apparently ANYWHERE IN BAHAMAS. There is a check-in government fee which ranges from about $90 to $120 depending on how many bedrooms. Also a government hydro fee of $12 per person, PER NIGHT over 12 yrs old. Bahamas in general is on the expensive side for groceries, beer and liquor (except rum). If can get over this and plan a vacation to Bahamas, this is a great choice. Should we plan to return to Bahamas, this would be first on our list.

  • Avatar for cindys339
    By cindys339 Updated Jan 6, 2010

    We've been owners at Sandyport for about 13 years now and have always enjoyed spending a week or more there. The resort is quiet and though most of the time the units are being used, it never feels crowded like some of the hotels/resorts nearer the casino. We always rent a car but as others have mentioned the #10 bus is perfect for getting around and the grocery stores, Crystal Palace Casino, upscale shops as well as the mini-straw markets are just 5 minutes down the street.

    The staff are always helpful but at the same time not annoying which is why we can relax and enjoy our time which is what it is all about.

    CSlagle Charlotte, NC

  • Avatar for cherylgriffiths
    By cherylgriffiths Apr 17, 2008

    Just come back from sandyport, first impressions where great, they arranged pick up from the airport which saved a lot of hassle. The staff on the reception on arrival where very efficient, they made us feel very welcome. We did three tours from the site and they where excellent, big ALs tour was probally the only one that took you into the real bahamas,this was a great day, and you must try the melon rum at the bacardi factory. rose island is a must for anyone, and so is the snorkelling, the best was with Bahamas Divers which the resort can arrange. THe beach restaurant is great, nice views with great seating on the balcony. Pirces are high compared with the rest of the resort, but worth every cent. The apartment had wonderful views, across the harbour. This resort is not family friendly, there is no entertainment for children, the swimming pool was dirty and in my opinion unsafe due to the way it is designed. My daugter hurt her leg and refused to go in again. There is a man made beach which is good to read a book on, however the sea which doubles as the harbour smells, and not a place to step into. Despite the negatives there is a great private beach to go to, so the swimming pool and harbour was never really an issue. A food store in walking distance, and regular buses into Nassau which cost $1 each way. Will be going back next year.

  • Avatar for zilphias2
    By zilphias2 Feb 28, 2008

    We just came back from Sandyport. We had a marvelous time. Our room was great. We had a great view of the marina and often sat on our patio watching the boats go by. We enjoyed Big Al's island tour which included only members of the resort, making for a fun, friendly trip. We also took the snorkel tour and enjoyed the trip even though we did not snorkel. Touring the island by boat was great and the boat crew gave great info on the island. We took advantage of the $1 bus trip to go downtown several times. Once downtime, we also took the $3 ferry to Atlantis and enjoyed Marina Village and the aquarium called "The Dig".

    The location of Sandyport is great. Restaurants and grocery stores are near. The staff was friendly. We will definitely go back to Sandyport again!

  • Avatar for maureenk13
    By maureenk13 Updated Dec 29, 2005

    Over the last four years, I have stayed at Sandyport seven weeks. I have always enjoyed my vacation there. The suites are spacious and clean. The housekeeping and maintenance staff are friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained. Each suite has a balcony and windows overlooking the water. The oceanside restaurant is perfect for a cool break from the beach and sunset evenings. The ocean beach is private and beautiful. One thing I most like about Sandyport is that it is located in a quiet area, yet only short ride from Nassau.

  • Avatar for isula1
    By isula1 Jun 11, 2005

    Great place to stay for a vacation. Always clean and nice friendly staff who make sure that your stay in confortable.

    New shopping center with gym, bank etc. next to this Resort. I love all of the trees and lovely plants and flowers.

  • Avatar for nooyawk
    By nooyawk Updated May 22, 2005

    Spent two weeks there. Nice area. Pleasant, quiet and laid back. Attractive grounds full of trees and flowers. Rooms clean, pool cleaned each week, no litter on grounds. Beautiful ocean beach. Caught red snappers and pompano at night off the beach. Great sunsets from restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. Had a great time. We are going back next year.

  • Avatar for henry316
    By henry316 May 15, 2005

    I went to Sandyport for vacation in April... I

    was great. The wonderful plants and flowers,

    and the view overlooking the lagoon makes me

    feel very relaxed. The premises including the

    pools were very clean and well maintained, the

    worker were nice and frindly. They even have a

    party for the new guests on the premises with

    free food champayne and drink. I felt great to

    be there.

  • Avatar for lucylovertoo
    By lucylovertoo Updated May 9, 2005

    Pool.... dirty, filthy and cold. water slides constantly broken. Asked mulitple times for cleaning and heating but, no response.

    beach accross street. Shopping center is a ghost town. Strong septic odor through the entire property.

    I have been there 3 times and each time gets worse. If this is the best you can do... don't go.

  • Avatar for harvey51
    By harvey51 Mar 14, 2005

    We have stayed at Sandyport many times and have always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Whenever you call them with questions about what to do in the area or if you need any help, they always got right back to you with information.

    When my husband hurt his back one year, they were extremely helpful, taking us to the doctor, arranging for a pharmacist to help us and even brought us to the airport and waited with us there until we were ready to leave.

    The area is great, with enough things to do during the day to keep you busy running all day long or keep you sitting by the beach or pool as long as you want. There are enough great restaurants around, that you have to keep coming back year after year to try them all.

  • Avatar for nunzio
    By nunzio Feb 15, 2003

    we stayed there over thanksgiving and it was great. great staff.

Back to reviews
Resort review