Los Cabos Golf Club

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of Los Cabos Golf Club

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

3.8

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Los Cabos Golf Club lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for kerry9
    By kerry9 Updated Jun 18, 2012

    After owning as many as 3 weeks at this resort for almost 10 years, we are now deeding our last week back to the establishment. This place is nice on the very surface, but the management is a pack of theives. Through "owner's updates" they will hardball owners into spending more and more year after year on things like "perpetuity" which gave permanent ownership, and "magnum golf" which allowed owners to let anyone use their week and golf instead of just the named owners. Then after taking thousands and thousands of dollars from owners for these things, they will raise their dues out of reason. Our dues have gone up almost 50% in 9 years, and they were high to begin with. All the friends we made during our stays at this resort have finally had to pay a weeks maintenance and relinquish their weeks, and this was AFTER buying "perpetuity" and "magnum golf" for a ton of money in very recent years. The dues on a 1 bedroom went from $1000.00 a week (including golf without cart for 2) to over $1700.00 per year last year with no sign of letting up. All the staff is super kind and friendly but the management is vile and slimy. And if you dare ask them about any of this, or mention to anyone the problems encountered, they will become very nasty and threaten to have you arrested. Even when weeks are relinquished exactly as they directed, they can and will then demand more money. If a person refuses to pay this extortion attempt, they will simply turn it over to a collection agency, and ruin your credit. They will do this despite their own records stating that there is NO balance due. Even the Federal Trade Commission cannot force them to remove it from your credit report. Then when you are desperate to buy a house or refinance they will offer to remove it from the credit bureaus with no trace of it left on your report if you'll only pay that made up amount PLUS fees! They are liars and theives. Can you tell we are victims?

    We believe that this resort is sucking as much money from existing owners as possible before going bankrupt. Why else alienate so many dues paying owners? Rent weeks there if you must, but buy at HUGE risk!

    Never buy a timeshare here, even if its FREE. You will regret it.

  • Avatar for billw102
    By billw102 Dec 29, 2011

    I must caveat this review that we have since gotten rid of the unit. First timeshare ever bought back in 2003. Was a great sell from the owners with the low fee ($15pp) golf. Well that $15 gets you a decent park like golf course, a few nice views, and a lot of sewage smell. The CSL waste processing plant is right in the middle of the golf course, so dont even think about retrieving balls from the water. The golf course has also changed hands several times since we bought.

    I say the golf is $15 pp, that is really a cart fee. In addition to a cart fee, annual maintenance is over $1200 for a studio for 7 nights useage annually(we also have a palce at Pueblo Bonto Sunset and maintenance is only $500/year and we can see whales swimming from our balcony). If the entire family plays golf, well then a deal, for two that is $85 per round, a steal in CSL. But that is playing once every day, and there are WAY BETTER GOLF COURSES in The Baja area. My wife doesn't paly and I typically only play 2-3 times while there, so discounted what should be a normal maintenance fee of $500, golf costs me over $200 per round, still slightly cheaper than surrounding courses but no variety(same old boring sewer smell and scenery daily)

    Now for the resort, way lots of promises made. First, the roads have never been paved, they are exactly the way we found them in 2003. There have been no new units added although promised. The promise of the gym again never materialized. CCHurchills, the cigar bar, has closed. There is one restaurant that serves mediocre meals. I beleive the beds in the units are the same as we bought in 2003 except those replaced when the resort flooded and was filled with sand(its built in the middle of an arroyo. The beds are miserable as well as the comfort of the furniture. Oh, BTW, if the wind is blowing the wrong direction, tehn the sewer smell comes in to your room.

    THe one thing that is nice about the resort are the local people that work there. The pool area is also very nice.

  • Avatar for carlg58
    By carlg58 Dec 2, 2010

    I stay here the first week of every Feb with friends who own. We come for the golf and great climate. Always sunny and daytime temps reach into the high 70s and mid 80s. The resort is only 1 mile outside of Cabo San Lucas. its a $10 cab ride for up to 4 people. A public bus is available at the front of the resort next to the Walmart on the main Highway. I never took it probably 50 cents to town. This place has a mexican motif to its rooms/units.The full kitchens are great/easy for those who want to make meals. Rooms are spacious and very clean and the free daily housekeeping is excellent. The units are in a half circle around the pool area. They have gound floor units and second floor ones. No elevators. We love the laid back attitude of this resort. The restaurant/ bar (Double Eagle restaurant) has good food. Two pools with a swim up bar and a big super heated soaking pool that will really helps our tired bodies after 36 holes of golf a day. Did I say we love this golf course. There are many other golf courses in the area that would rival pebble beach. This resort is not on the water and is mostly adults escaping the winter chill. We enjoy its quiet tranquility. The resort has a free shuttle that takes people to Medano Beach and back. Ask at the concierge desk for info. Lots of inexpensive restaurants in town that serve great food. Try Gordo Leles for incredible Tacos .

  • Avatar for michellej90
    By michellej90 Aug 23, 2008

    Exchanged into it for a complete and utter disappointing stay. Very outdated; not rustic, simply old. More low end Hotel 6 than anything else. Staff was very pleasant, but clearly not a resort by any stretch.

  • Avatar for carolynm64
    By carolynm64 Apr 19, 2008

    We exchanged here recently and this is what we experienced - good and not so good.

    Good:

    Fantastic pool - if you like to hang out around the pool, this is for you. Excellent housekeeping - one of the best we've seen Very nice front desk staff - always willing to help Place for you if you like to golf and willing to pay $200 a round (Cabo golf is expensive.) Villas are very nice and spacious. Plenty of room decorated in a mexican villa theme. Had hot water all the time for showers Lock-off was fully stocked with frig, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, etc. Nice outdoor patios - beautiful scenery and birds. People staying there (many owners) were very nice and helpful.

    Not so Good We did not receive a discount on any golf - they said we had to go to a timeshare presentation to get free and/or discounted golf. We went to golf club house and one of the guys behind the desk was rude - we never did golf there. Went to Pamilla Golf course and it was beautiful!!!! We can't rate the actual golf there since we did not golf there but other people staying at the resort really liked it - owners of this timeshare get free golf - quite a deal! Mexican buffet and breakfast not good - not happy with the service at breakfast - ordered over medium eggs (normally like over-easy but wanted to make sure they were done) and they came out runny. I told the waiter I need them more done and he said that's medium and that's what I ordered. It took awhile to finally get them to cook the eggs more. Just wasn't a very pleasant guy. Also eggs were suppose to come with bacon, never did, never received a spoon for yogurt or the oj we ordered. Mexican Buffet's food was mediocre but the desserts were really good. - we were on the second floor and the master bathroom had steps to get into the shower - so if you have trouble going up and down steep steps - this isn't for you. Master bath shower faucet's pressure was weak. Neither of our safes worked. We did ask to get them things fixed but never did - guy came and looked at it but that was about it. No beach -its on the other side of the highway from beach - they say they have access to a beach club but there is no shuttle and its a public beach in town. _While they offered wireless internet access in lobby, half the time it did not work.

    Recommendations: We spent alot of time and money using cabs - get a car! Really check out restaurant reviews before you go - we had trouble finding a good restaurant with reasonable prices. If you like to play golf, this is the place. Just make sure you go to the timeshare presentation so you can get free/discounted golf.

  • Avatar for joannp30
    By joannp30 Dec 28, 2007

    Unlimited Free Golf for our entire stay!! Very few small children, no activities for them, so mostly couples. Great service. Our unit has a beautiful view of the Bay. We have 3 weeks and would love to have you as a rental couple!

  • Avatar for dustinf2
    By dustinf2 Jun 19, 2006

    We have owned at this resort since 2000 and have returned every year since. From the moment we arrive to the moment we leave the very attentive staff are there to fulfill every need. They remember us instantly by our first names and even remember what we like to eat at the restaurant. This is very high end service that we simply do not encounter often in our travels. We are not golfers but absolutely enjoy this unique resort every year. Thank you Los Cabos Golf Resort!

  • Avatar for ruth21
    By ruth21 Jan 26, 2006

    This is the only GOOD deal in Cabo. Ownership of even the smallest unit includes free golf on a course that costs almost $200 per day per person. You do pay cart fee. This is a small, quiet, very beautiful place to stay out in a desert setting with masses of gorgeous bougainvillia, but close to Cabo San Lucas. Beautiful mexican decor, first class services, a little market and spa services at 1/3 the price of the big hotels. We love it.

  • Avatar for mollybannister
    By mollybannister Mar 27, 2003

    We bought as charter members in 1998 and have gone every year since. We love it, and we are lucky to be one of the few (as charter members) that gets unlimited free golf and cart when we stay there. In the five years we have owned this, it has paid for itself in saved golf fees alone. We are now listing it for sale as we have just moved to Arizona and have constant golf here. See listing if you are interested.

Back to reviews
Resort review