Back to resort

Reviews of Palace Resort at Moon Palace

Cancun, Mexico

4.5

Out of 5
12 reviews
  • 5

    (18)

  • 4

    (3)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Palace Resort at Moon Palace lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for alyceg2
    By alyceg2 Mar 12, 2014

    This is the best resort that I have ever stayed in. It is a five star plus. Staff wonderful, food fantastic, location is excellent, very, very clean and comfort of your sleep is oh so nice. My family and I have been several times and we have two boys and have also included some of their friends and they had a wonderful time. These boys went two years ago and it is the number one conversation of going back. At that time they were eighteen and twenty six and there were six of them and it is a trip that they will remember for a life time. They were on the go all week and never a dull moment. We are planning to go back hoping to include there friends again. If ever there is a place that you want to be entertained, pampered and also relax this is the right place. This is lasting memories!!!

  • Avatar for sharond100
    By sharond100 Sep 17, 2008

    We have been coming to the Moon Palace for 8 years now and it never fails to improve every year !!!

    We have 2 chiildren who are now 9 and 11 years old and they always choose this resort.

    The service is excellent - friendly and never too much trouble for absolutely anything. The facilities are always clean, and they are always adding new things each visit The food is glorious and there is something for every taste. We will continue to return and always in the off season as it is always less busy and more laid back for a relaxing holiday. The spa resort and the golf facilities are also fabulous !! keep up the excellent work !!

  • Avatar for gina391
    By gina391 Apr 12, 2007

    My husband and I were there in Sept 06. It was wonderful. We had the Presidential Suite which is, very impressive. I recommend staying here if there are groups or couples with kids. The nice thing is the tours are included and we favor Wet & Wild and Isla Mujeres for the day.

  • Avatar for kim1044
    By kim1044 Updated Jan 8, 2007

    We just returned from 10d in a 2bd2ba with 2 jacuzzi tubs. Very lavish! Kids club was fun but rigid on check in policies. Pools, activities, service, people were better than perfect. Food variety is good. Value is excellent. Tours: Jungle Tour and Tulum + Paradise Beach, great! Wet & Wild + dolphins, perfect! Plus no lines. You can relax or play. You could play so hard you could need another vacation. We'll be back next year.

  • Avatar for nancyd7
    By nancyd7 Apr 13, 2006

    Spent a week here this past March and had a fabulous time. Stayed in a Presidential Suite with another couple which worked out beautifully. The sleeping accommodations are great. The living room, dining room, kitchen and huge balcony were wonderful to have. We ordered room service for breakfast and dinner several times. The servers arrived (sometimes 2 or more) and set the dining room table complete with cloth napkins and fine glassware. When you're done eating, you simply have to call them and they promptly arrive to clear the table. Of course, giving them each a dollar or two each time is a good idea and certainly well deserved. When you stock your bar, be sure to ask for the brand of liquor you want. They have it. If you aren't specific, they'll bring you the low-end brand.

    The restaurants were all very good. The food at the Brazilian restaurant was great once we asked for "rare" beef. The Chinese restaurant was our favorite. You really can't go wrong at any of the restaurants.

    The pool is amazing. The depth is 3-4 feet and configured in such a way that people simply walked back and forth from one end to the other-- getting their exercise and a drink along the way. There are areas for people who prefer water activities and an MC running games, etc., and areas for people (like us) who would rather lay in the sun and read, or eat and drink, or take a nap or people watch. It was perfect.

    The beach looked a little messy. We're not sand people so we didn't spend any time there.

    Also, I agree with the review about airport arrival confusion. Yes, there are a lot of people; however, all you need to do is read the signs and ask where to find Moon Palace transportation. It's only difficult if you wait for someone to find you. They won't. You need to find them. It's not hard.

    It was a wonderful trip and we look forward to our return. Highest recommendation.

  • Avatar for eds5
    By eds5 Mar 13, 2006

    Just got back from Moon Palace on 3/11/06. This is a fabulous resort. Post-hurricane, the property has been restored approximately 80%. All restaurants, venues, etc. are open and running efficiently. The staff is exceptional. The food is mostly wonderful (only had one bad meal).

    One note of concern: If you like to swim in the ocean and lay on the beach, this is probably not the place for you. The beach itself is great; however, the shoreline is covered in seaweed. If you like to swim in a pool and lay on comfy lounge chairs, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Avatar for william2591
    By william2591 Sep 14, 2005

    Went in May 2005, huge resort, tons of great restaurants, get to use all of the palace resorts and there is a shuttle to all of them. Beautiful rooms as well as views and the grounds were well groomed and very clean. Huge pools with plenty of swimup bars to keep the drinks flowing. All staff at the hotels were extremely helpful and pleasant.

    The negatives were few but memorable. On arriving at the airport, there is a throng of people waiting outside to transport people and finding your specific ride can be confusing. Our room was between the beach in the distance and the water filtration plant right outside our door. Depending on the wind direction, we either got a charcoal smell from the plant, or a rotting vegatation smell from the piles of seaweed on the beach. We had two tours included with our package, both of which had snags. The first was to include snorkeling at Xpu-ha which the day of our tour was shutdown and evacuated due to the power plant failing. The second to the Isle Mujeres ended with my wife getting sick from swallowing seawater during snorkeling. We did get a nice ride through the mangrove preserve out of it. On leaving the resort, the ride to the airport was badly managed and resulted in our departing about an hour later than planned. However, we did make our flight.

    Overall, the good very much outweighed the bad

  • Avatar for sprewell
    By sprewell Updated Jun 1, 2005

    Moon Palace is wonderful. Many, many restaurants to choose from all hours of the day, poolside is fun - be sure and do water aerobics, abs on the beach, etc. It all adds to the wonderful experience. I'd like to go 2 x's a year for 2 weeks at a time.

  • Avatar for roxanne
    By roxanne Updated May 4, 2005

    Just returned from 2 weeks in my Presidential suite at the Moon Palace. It was wonderful. The place is beautiful, the food great and the service amazing. It was the best Vacation Yet! Can't wait to go back.

  • Avatar for birder
    By birder Mar 7, 2005

    Last month we had our 2nd visit to Moon palace (This year we also had a week at Xpu-ha). Everything was excellent: well, getting tee- times could be timeconsuming. Staff is outstanding and very accomodating. We had a golf membership, so we hit those courses 6 times. Treated like royalty.

  • Avatar for lesor
    By lesor Mar 12, 2004

    Excellent service. Great entertainment every night on premises. Inclusive, which means no tipping. Tours and none moterized equipment are free. Resort is on a private well kept beach. Several swimming pools with swim up bar. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Avatar for dan131333
    By dan131333 Updated Jan 5, 2003

    This resort took our breath away on our first visit. The room was large for the two of us and was very romantic. A two person jucuzzi and a hammock on the balcony added to its allure. The pool is huge with a swim-up bar. Restaurants abound with very good food. The staff is excellent and accomodating.

Back to reviews
Resort review