Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Imperial Fiesta Club at Hotel Casa Maya

Cancun, Mexico


  • Avatar for mgb
    By mgb Updated Jan 11, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We returned to IFC April 2-16, 2011 after having upgraded to Elite status on our last visit. The upgrades to the rooms are very nice - flat screen TVs, updated kitchen, new furnishing. If you get a chance to stay in an Elite suite, it's well worth it. But, the appeal for us continues to be the wonderful staff, gorgeous beach and the location. The April weather was perfect. In the mid 80s the whole time with no rain. This time we ventured to Puerto Morales to The Little Mexican Cooking School for a fun day learning to make the best salsas, guacamole and other traditional Mexican dishes followed by a great lunch. Check it out at It's a short bus ride from Cancun.

    There is laundry service available at a very reasonable rate.

    We continue to be very happy Imperial Fiesta Club owner/members.

    We just spent another week at Casa Maya (Feb25- Mar4, '06) and it's in great shape after Wilma. They're doing more work on some areas but it was not disruptive. Even though we had rain most afternoons, the rooms are comfortable enough to just lounge around and read and watch the clouds go by.

    We have owned at this resort for 10 or so years and the best things about it are location and size. Smaller than the big resorts in the hotel zone, it's cozy, friendly and comfortable. The staff is pleasant, the grounds well kept and the units comfortable. They have regular activities for those who like to mingle. It has a nice shallow pool for the kids and larger pool for everyone else. The beach is excellent and very safe with shallow areas for the kids to play. We've toured the big resorts and still prefer this one.

    M in Mill Valley, CA

  • Avatar for lawanat4
    By lawanat4 Jan 2, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Very pleased with staff, they all go out of there way to help you, and get to know you personnally I have upgraded to Elite here, excited to return next year. I enjoyed going on the catamaran for adults only, Mary R Arena who also made it fun if you love sun and water, booked from Casa Maya. The bar music was relaxing and entertaining every night. Buffets were excellent, be sure to get coupons for discounts. This is an older facility, but they do a good job to keeping it clean. Spa is also new since I was here last. I love the visit here each time.

  • Avatar for peggyr62
    By peggyr62 Nov 27, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Stayed here in May 2010. Other family members stayed at royal sands, royal carribean and westin laguna mar. They had nice resorts, but they liked our beach! Overall, it was clean, friendly staff and can't say it enough...great beach! My only issue with this resort, is its old, but well maintained. Also there is no self laundry service or washer/dryer in the room. Generally, I prefer newer resorts with more amenities. But you can't beat its beach!

  • Avatar for ronk66
    By ronk66 Feb 21, 2010

    Stayed here in March 2009 for a week.. liked the place ... especially their poolside activities during the day... folks are friendly, staff is courteous and obliging.. love the Corona girls and the games they were promoting poolside, seemed to serve everyone... food is quite nicely presented... rooms are clean and attended to... beach is wide, and has no rough waves like you see in the other parts of Cancun...

    Sits next door to one of the best Italian eateries that you can find in Cancun... barefoot walk to the beach and your in their spot.. wouldn't hurt to make a reservation .. prices are good.. this resort's location is prime... quick bus one way to the hotel and action zone.. and short trip the other way to the center of Cancun and shopping, Walmart, etc.,.. Little bit of timeshare presentation pressure, but nothing serious.. Would I go again.. ? Yes.. and that's probably as good a recommendation as their is..

  • Avatar for kenr34
    By kenr34 Apr 9, 2008

    Great beach with calm surf located on the bay side between Cancun and Punta Cancun. Wonderful staff and very clean. Older resort but is maintained. New surface put in around the pool and pool newly heated.

  • Avatar for john4008
    By john4008 Mar 31, 2008

    We stayed here from jan14th thru feb 16th.. A great place for a vacation. The staff and condo where all excellent. When we return to Cancun, this will be where we stay!

  • Avatar for verena1
    By verena1 Feb 22, 2008

    great family resort, beautiful beach with no waves or undertow

  • Avatar for lueloffp
    By lueloffp Jan 6, 2008

    Nov/07, stayed 1 wk at Sands and 3 wks here at Casa Maya. Loved it, Sands was newer but no beach. CM has a gorgeous, private, very quiet beach very close to run back to your suite for whatever. Rt on a bus route which stops every 2 mins to anywhere or nice routes for a stroll. Loved it. Prefer downtown/Walmart Inet prices than CM. We had a beautiful 900 sq ft suite, lots of room for privacy. One of the oldest Resorts in Cancun but nicely maintained as they were doing on the grounds the whole time we were there. Yes, we will go back.

  • Avatar for bill2224
    By bill2224 Updated Feb 22, 2007

    This was the worst resort I have ever stayed in... it is literally falling to pieces as if it had never been repaired after the hurricanes. I was told that it was owned by a business group from Monterrey and that they were not intersted in investing money into the resort for repairs and maintenance. However, it did have a new spa area.

    The bedrom TV took 4 days to get fixed, there was no safe in the room, and there were problems with lighting. My suite overlooked a junkyard, roof top, and had a limited view of the ocean. The management was unwilling to move me to a different suite location.

    This was a nice resort 15 years ago, but one star may be too high for this resort today !!!

  • Avatar for marius
    By marius Jan 13, 2007

    March 2006

    We own 2 weeks at this resort and can't wait every year to go back. We love the beach that is never too crowded.

    The staff did an excellent job after Wilma and although there were quite a few places that needed remodelling the resort was overall in a great condition.

    It would be great if they can get the internet room going again.

    We can recommend this resort for a great holiday and friendly service.

  • Avatar for paulc62
    By paulc62 Updated Aug 1, 2006

    Excellent smaller resort. We had a nice remodeled villa over looking the bay.

    Nice resturant on the ocean. Found the staff to be very helpful and very friendly.

    Great internet access for a very reasonable price. Open all day.

    I bought and I'll be bcak.

  • Avatar for lisa3835
    By lisa3835 Feb 6, 2006

    My husband and I have stayed at this resort a couple times and would return again. The customer service is wonderful. We feel very welcomed here. However, they do push the timeshare sales very hard here. If you tell them you are not interested they will leave you alone and you will still receive excellant service.

    We love the beach off the hotel. It is very peaceful and quiet. This place is not overrun with party-goers so if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place to go. We brought my 9 year old daughter and she loved it. There is a small playground and 3 pools. She was in heaven. The weather was wonderful.

    This resort is on the elbow of Cancun, near the end of the strip. You can take a bus or taxi downtown to do your shopping. We would take a taxi to Walmart to shop for meals for the week. But if you wanted to eat on-site they have 2 wonderful restaurants (one indoor and one outdoor).

    They have been in the process of remodeling the past couple years and most of their rooms should be complete by now and very beautiful. Huge master bedroom with a king, balcony overlooking the sea. Peaceful, lovely view.

    I have rated this a 4 star just because it doesn't have all the activities that other ts may have but I would stay here again and again.

  • Avatar for 1bigbadboxerdog
    By 1bigbadboxerdog Updated Aug 1, 2006

    We were there last wk.3/13-3/20 2005. The resort is being remodeled- new rooms look very nice.Our room was older,dirty carpet, dirty cushions, rips in the drapery, no lamp shade(was promised to get us one all week),the stove was unplugged because the electrical box in the wall was extremely loose-promised to be fix....never was. I had to crawl under the cabinet to plug it in each time I wanted to kitchen supplies-no paper towels, or plastic liners for the trash cans "we dont use them here" We were shown a room which was not what we paid had no murphy bed or sleep sofa.Not real pleased with the resort--we are use to the quality of the Melia, Westin Regina or Fiesta Americana Condesa.

  • Avatar for rachelrs6
    By rachelrs6 Updated Aug 1, 2006

    We stayed here January 2004 and had a great time. Our room was a 1 BR with a kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean. The staff was very nice - a little pushy about going to their presentation but we declined. They had activities by the pool everyday including volleyball which was a lot of fun. They had a restaurant for breakfast in the morning and a little bar inside, as well as a hut for lunch and dinner and a beach/pool bar.

  • Avatar for donita
    By donita Updated Aug 1, 2006

    Nice resort. They did some remodeling and the new units are beautiful. Quiet beach. Good area... just down the road is Carlos & Charlies. Service was wonderful.

  • Avatar for sahel
    By sahel Updated Aug 1, 2006

    Best thing about this resort is its location. Right beside the huge Mexican flag! Being at the top of the "7" that is Cancun island means it's quick to get into the city for the great restaurants like La Habichuela and Los Almendros and a more "Mexican" experience. And it's also close to get to the elbow where the best action is without having to live with the noise. One of the boat docks for Isla Mujeres is just a short walk from Casa Maya. The beach is fine and the ocean calmer there than on the exposed eastern side. The service at the resort was very good and we appreciated the snorkle & scuba "try-ons" that were available at no charge daily in the pool. So much so that we tripped right down to La Isla shopping center to get our own snorkle gear and book a tour to the reef - great stuff! This resort is Gold Crown, but it's really about location, location, location!

Back to reviews
Resort review