The Royal Caribbean

Cancun, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of The Royal Caribbean

Cancun, Mexico

4.8

Out of 5
20 reviews
  • 5

    (33)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Royal Caribbean lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for t368
    By t368 Aug 19, 2014

    A true 1st class resort with employees that are nice, helpful and anxious to please. I normally stay 2 weeks and in 20 years have never been disappointed.

  • Avatar for pamr72
    By pamr72 Updated Feb 16, 2014

    The Royal Resorts are fabulous, gorgeous villas, grounds, pools, beach, and Caribbean sea, wonderful staff, many of whom know you by name. Maintenance when needed (as well as annual and continuous upgrades) excellent. You can't do any better. We've been going to the Royal Caribbean since 1989 and the Royal Islander since it opened about five years later. It doesn't really matter which one you stay at, because they are connected and you end up using the facilities of both. All villas are the same, same layout at both resorts though the decor is a bit different. All have ocean views or are ocean front.

    The ocean water is great, crystal clear and you can walk out waist or chest deep for quite a ways. Sometimes it can get rough - in which case the guards will put up red flags and limit swimmers to the quieter areas.

    One warning......some advertisers are claiming that their villas sleep 7 or 8. ALL Royal Caribbean and Royal Islander villas have 6 as the maximum occupancy, though a 7th (generally a child) is permitted with payment of an extra fee to the front desk (not the owner). 8 is not allowed. Beware, if you plan to go with 8, you might have problems with the resort.

  • Avatar for patk70
    By patk70 Updated Nov 4, 2009

    Beautiful !!! The service is like no other. It should be rated a 10 !!

    We go almost every April. The weather then is perfect. Always sunny and warm.

  • Avatar for walterc1
    By walterc1 Updated Mar 14, 2009

    We have been guests of the Royals for nearly 20 years. It is beyond a doubt one of the best facilities in all of Cancun.

  • Avatar for ellenc73
    By ellenc73 Oct 19, 2008

    The Royal Resorts in Cancun are a wonderful place to getaway from it all. Just got back from a week at the Islander and family at the Caribbean. Inspite of the rainy season, we had a wonderful time. You truly are treated like royalty. The staff are wonderful. The Royal resorts have their own travel service, Thomas Moore, who help with shuttles to and from the airport, day excursions, etc. The Royal have 6 resorts with transportation to and from all of them, so you get to enjoy the amenities at all during your stay. I would gladly trade my two weeks in Orlando for another week with the Royal Resorts!

  • Avatar for jeffs284
    By jeffs284 Aug 24, 2008

    We've owned at the Royal Caribbean since 1989. After visiting several other parts of Mexico, without any doubt, we're convinced that owning with the Royal Resorts is the way to go. We also own at the Royal Islander and Club International. This resort is ultra-clean all the time. The staff is outstanding.

  • Avatar for margaret915
    By margaret915 Feb 1, 2008

    Fantastic resort. The staff is wonderful. The resort is Very clean with beautiful views. Food is reasonably price. The grocery stores at the resorts are clean and reasonably priced. No reason to go to Wal-mart. Great happy hour.

    Many activities for both adults and children.

  • Avatar for marks261
    By marks261 Updated Jul 9, 2006

    Just returned from 2 weeks (1- Royal Islander, 1-Royal Caribbean) and together this was just fantastic. Nothing compares. The three resorts tied together gives a vast amount of choices for pools and places to eat! Outdoor or indoor the food was great.

    The Royal Caribbean is the jewel of all the Royal Resorts - right size - great beach - great staff and fun (non-stuffy) guests.

    Try it !

  • Avatar for joanne252
    By joanne252 Jan 9, 2006

    CANCUN IS ALIVE AND WELL. We just spent 2 weeks in Cancun over the holidays. The Royal Resorts did an outstanding job getting the 5 Royal Resorts cleaned up and open after the hurricane. We had a wonderful vacation at the Royal Caribbean and the Royal Sands. The Mexican people are in great spirits and everyday more hotels and restaurants are opening.

  • Avatar for geom
    By geom Aug 23, 2004

    We bought one week at Royal Sands in 2002. After the first 2 years of using it, we were so impressed with everything, that we decided to buy one more week. Traveling is expensive enough to make sense to stay in Cancun for 2 weeks if you can afford it. We bought the second week at Royal Caribbean. From there, we can cross easily at Royal Mayan or Royal Islander, its sister resorts. So, in 2 weeks we are using the facilities of 4 different resorts. It’s impossible to get bored with so many programs offered, so many restaurants and different beaches. We love each Royal resort and recommend them ALL to anyone. They accommodate very well older folks (easy access, wheelchair accessible, elevators everywhere) , as well as families with infants (crib, stroller etc. available on request.) Very high quality, beautiful weather, large beaches with super fine white sands, GORGEOUS ocean and pools!!!

  • Avatar for pluskota
    By pluskota Updated Jan 22, 2004

    Nice resort, staff very friendly and attentive. Rooms are bare and very basic, could use a splash of color, a few more rugs on the tiled floors and a softer mattress. Pools were beautiful and nicely landscaped but too cold. When you take the time to travel a long distance from the cold and snow to a warm climate in the winter one of your expectations is to be able to enjoy swimming in the pools. Food very good and reasonably priced. No exercise facility on site, can take a shuttle to the Royal Sands but inconvient for a quick workout. Good location.

  • Avatar for kimmer
    By kimmer Sep 23, 2003

    It doesn't get any better than the Royal Resorts. They have already thought of everything. You would never have to leave the resort if you didn't want to. Everything is spotlessly clean (daily maid service) and in good repair. It is very well equipped and nicely furnished. We feel right at home. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent in the restaurants or you can shop at the grocery store onsite and cook a meal if you so desire.

    We are very spoiled by the service , amenities, price and cleanliness.

    Kim F

  • Avatar for eric_h
    By eric_h Aug 19, 2003

    We traded into Royal Caribbean last year. The thing we like most is the fact that the Islander and Mayan are connected to it. It's like a huge super resort. You have a variety of pools, restaurants and bars. You could very easily never leave the resort if that was your wish. Very clean and well kept. Not a bad room in the resort.

  • Avatar for sportznut55
    By sportznut55 Jul 19, 2003

    Can I just say......."WOW." This is the nicest resort we have stayed in to date (7/03). Our room was not only overlooking the ocean, you could almost spit in to it (not that you would). The only problem I had was the plumbing seemed a little old. The had a few on-site restaurants and an on-site store. I would definately recommend this resort. It actually was a resort, not just a condo club.

  • Avatar for jbuzzy11
    By jbuzzy11 Jan 5, 2003

    Outstanding!! should be 10 stars!!

  • Avatar for egray
    By egray Dec 30, 2002

    Excellent location. Staff isn't as helpful as they could be however the location, facilities and rooms are far better than I even imagined. The resort offers everything. no need to leave!!!! Very relaxing.

  • Avatar for larryheadhunter
    By larryheadhunter Nov 15, 2002

    I have been going to the Royal Caribbean since its opening and the Royal Resorts are fantastic, 5 star resorts, where you get a credit card when you register, and no outsiders can use the facilities without this card, so there are no long waits and it is immaculate, great location, split between Royal Mayan and Royal Islander. Highly recommend!!!!!

  • Avatar for berndev
    By berndev Oct 27, 2002

    One of the best resorts in I.I. and the World. This will be our 19th year in Cancun.

  • Avatar for dawson
    By dawson Oct 17, 2002

    Have stayed at this resort and would rate it one of the best ever. Service is excellent and the rooms are beautiful. You can use all the sister resorts facilities also.

  • Avatar for greatgreeneyess
    By greatgreeneyess Updated Oct 2, 2002

    I stayed Thanksgiving 2001. Had a wonderful time. Facilities were kept extremely well.Have a pending request for Thanksgiving 2002. Had a 2 bedroom villa with ocean and pool view. Planned activities if u choose. Taco party, get to know u party. I would highly recommend. U can also use the facilities of Royal Islander, Royal Mayan. I am spoiled.3rd time in Cancun. Stayed elswhere Nothing bad to say about Royal Caribbean

Back to reviews
Resort review