The Royal Islander

Cancun, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of The Royal Islander

Cancun, Mexico

4.8

Out of 5
17 reviews
  • 5

    (24)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (1)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Royal Islander lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for pamr72
    By pamr72 Updated Feb 16, 2014

    The Royal Resorts are fabulous, gorgeous villas, grounds, pools, beach, and Caribbean sea, wonderful staff, many of whom know you by name. Maintenance when needed (as well as annual and continuous upgrades) excellent. You can't do any better. We've been going to the Royal Caribbean since 1989 and the Royal Islander since it opened about five years later. It doesn't really matter which one you stay at, because they are connected and you end up using the facilities of both. All villas are the same, same layout at both resorts though the decor is a bit different. All have ocean views or are ocean front.

    The ocean water is great, crystal clear and you can walk out waist or chest deep for quite a ways. Sometimes it can get rough - in which case the guards will put up red flags and limit swimmers to the quieter areas.

    One warning......some advertisers are claiming that their villas sleep 7 or 8. ALL Royal Caribbean and Royal Islander villas have 6 as the maximum occupancy, though a 7th (generally a child) is permitted with payment of an extra fee to the front desk (not the owner). 8 is not allowed. Beware, if you plan to go with 8, you might have problems with the resort.

  • Avatar for pattyh52
    By pattyh52 Jun 20, 2011

    We have been coming to Cancun since 1994. We have been owners at the Royal Islander since 1996 (week #23) & 1998 (week #24). Royal Resorts definitely knows how to manage resorts and they take excellent care of their owners & guests.

    The latest beach restoration project has made the beach better than it ever was before. We come in June each year and was very happy to see how great the beach was last year (June 2010) and still is now!!

    And of course the staff - waiters, maids, front desk personnel, concierges, etc. - all are WONDERFUL and many have become close friends over the years.

    This is an excellent place to vacation - 5 star - yes indeed - in every way!!!!

  • Avatar for roberti19
    By roberti19 Jan 28, 2011

    I bought a week in the Royal Islander when it opened & bought a consecutive week in the R.C. the following year as a result of the March break time period. I look forward to our annual vacation at our Royal Resort Villas.

  • Avatar for maritza10
    By maritza10 Updated Jan 26, 2010

    Outstanding beach, amenities and comfort for all ages, great staff, bilingual, excellent maid service, you will love vacationing here!

  • Avatar for ellenc73
    By ellenc73 Oct 19, 2008

    I have been an owner since 2002 and recommend the Islander and the Caribbean to everyone. The service is wonderful, and the resort staff are provided training to speak english. Go there...you will love it!

  • Avatar for alex500
    By alex500 Apr 13, 2008

    If you want a family, quiet at night atmosphere, this is the resort for you. Service on the beach and around the pool was good. The staff is very friendly and speak excellent English. Resort is very clean and rooms are in excellent condition. The ocean is VERY rough in this area. No one could get in it the entire week. Also, due to hurricanes the beach area is very small. I never had trouble getting a palapa to sit under the whole week as most people stay by the pool. I loved looking at the beautiful blue ocean and didn't mind not getting in because there was a great breeze and I never felt "hot". I would not recommend this beach for young children (the children's pool is where all the little ones stayed). The shuttle service was great and allowed us to eat dinner at different locations. I suggest Puerto Madero and El Conquistador for fine dining. Captains Cove is good. One night we didn't want to leave the resort so we ate mexican at Paco's Tacos at the resort. It was good for a more casual meal. This is the second time I have stayed at this resort and since I don't care about swimming in the ocean, only looking at it, I would definitely return here.

  • Avatar for marks261
    By marks261 Jul 9, 2006

    Just returned from 2 weeks (1- Royal Islander, 1-Royal Caribbean) and togehter this was just fantastic. Nothing compares. The three resorts tied together gives a vast amount of choices for pools and places to eat! Outdoor or indoor the food was great.

    The staff is excellent - say hi to "Bear" Manuel at the Royal Mayan Swim-up Bar when you stay!

  • Avatar for paulc62
    By paulc62 May 16, 2006

    Excellent accommodation excellent pool. Very good service and value at bars and resturants.

    Not too big , great beach.

    I'll be back.

  • Avatar for kevint35
    By kevint35 May 15, 2006

    We stayed in August 2005 and it was fantastic! Our room was spotless and the maid was a worker bee! The service was impeccable at all the Royal resorts, which prompted us to buy one at The Royal Haciendas during pre-construction. We're on the lookout for another Royal purchase to give us a 2 week stay! You can't go wrong. This is a proven company with a great track record.

  • Avatar for patriciam118
    By patriciam118 Updated Apr 9, 2006

    What a wonderful place to spend a vacation! Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The Welcome party & Taco party are alot of fun! We were amazed at how clean and beautiful the Royal Islander was so soon after the hurricane! I would recommend this lovely place to anyone who wants to relax in warm weather and feel pampered! We will defintely go back! Don't wait-go soon!

  • Avatar for donna1855
    By donna1855 Apr 27, 2005

    You will actually relax at this place. It is gorgeous, clean, wonderful staff & amenities and once you've left.. you'll be dreaming of how quickly you can come back again. We took over family timeshare last year, and had the best time here. Accessible to tours, buses, taxis, very secure environment, family friendly. You really are treated like royalty. Loved the on- site grocery and how resorts connect. Dolce Vita restaurant was fabulous, as were those on premise.

    We have been to many other timeshare locations, and this beats all.

  • Avatar for lindajoyceann
    By lindajoyceann Jan 13, 2005

    We just returned from a weeks stay at the Royal Islander. The resort is meticulous and the food is very good. It was nice to meander through the 3 resorts. My only complaint is that the pillows were like rocks. The staff was very friendly. I think they could have more activities out by the pool area ... that could get a little boring. And they need to heat the pool. It was freezing! There was some beach erosion and there are large rocks at the Islander. But next door at the Royal Carribean, you could get into the ocean and swim (which was a balmy 80 degrees). I would definitely return.

  • Avatar for holly_berries
    By holly_berries May 3, 2004

    The Royals do an amazing job of setting the bar by which you will measure all Cancun non- inclusive resorts. The Islander has beautifully maintained grounds, spacious units with large balconies and excellent on-site amenities. The food at the restaurants is delicious and the prices at the boutique are great! Everyone is friendly and helpful. Happy hour's half price drinks and free chips and salsa are an added bonus. If you ever get the chance, stay at one of the Royal resorts in Cancun.

  • Avatar for eric_h
    By eric_h Aug 19, 2003

    We own at the Royal Sands, but purchased a resale unit here last year. The price was right and we thought it would be a good trader. The dilema is whether to trade it or not. We love the Sands, but the three connected Royals here are just awesome. Our unit is on the bottom of the food chain, yet still just incredible! There are no bad units here. You just can't go wrong.

  • Avatar for jbuzzy11
    By jbuzzy11 Jul 16, 2003

    stayed here over the 4th of july weekend 03 and things just dont get any better then the royal resorts! the place was as clean as it gets and the staff was GREAT! food prices were also fantastic.. I will continue to go to the royals evry year!

  • Avatar for pegshafer
    By pegshafer Updated Nov 20, 2002

    The Royal Islander has 2 bedroom, 2 bath units which "split" to a 1 bedroom and a "studio". This is a first class resort with a staff that is magnificent. Daily maid service, 5* restaurants at reasonable prices, beautiful pools, and a full list of daily activities make this a perfect family vacation. A free hour of sailboating daily and free snorkel gear to use are provided with each unit.

    The layout of the buildings means almost every unit has an ocean view. View the units at www.royalresorts.com. We totally enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return!

  • Avatar for gloriamaria
    By gloriamaria Nov 1, 2002

    great resort in beautiful cancun. so many activities and the friendliest service. so much to do in cancun, so many restaurants and the prettiest beach. this resort is truly a first class resort. consider yourself lucky if you get to stay in this resort. we put a search and had the fortune to get in, took us six months to get it.

Back to reviews
Resort review