Marriott's Timber Lodge Tahoe

South Lake Tahoe, California

Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Timber Lodge Tahoe

South Lake Tahoe, California

4.3

Out of 5
20 reviews
  • 5

    (22)

  • 4

    (8)

  • 3

    (4)

  • 2

    (2)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Timber Lodge Tahoe lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for charlotteb31
    By charlotteb31 Updated Aug 17, 2016

    Just steps from Heavenly Mountain and the gondola (literally), Marriott's Timber Lodge Tahoe is the essence of a "ski in, ski out" resort. Key features include: heated cobblestone sidewalks; free valet parking and ski valet steps from the gondola; spacious well appointed rooms; large pool, kids pool and multiple jacuzzis; and large fitness center. If skiing, the gondola is literally a few steps out Marriott's door. Also, great childrens activity center with many supervised activities for your kids to enjoy while you explore Heavenly Village or nearby Casinos and night life.

    Heavenly Village also has many shops, restaurants, businesses, an ice rink AND movie theater. Great supermarket and Starbucks are just across the street. Great experience, amenities, staff and stay!

  • Avatar for jearln
    By jearln Aug 20, 2015

    Incredible, walk to casino's, huge rooms and kitchen, mountain/pool/lake views, and the restaurants and Gondola is right outside the door !

  • Avatar for karenc952
    By karenc952 Feb 3, 2015

    South Lake Tahoe in the Summer time is stunning. So much to do and such great weather. This resort is the very best.

  • Avatar for charm4
    By charm4 Nov 10, 2014

    Just returned from a bonus trade through Interval. We had two units, one 1bedroom and a studio. Because of the catigories of the units they couldn't reconnect them but they did go out of their way ahead of time to get them really close. Friendly service, location is great and so convenient. Rooms are very quiet. Nice gym, pool and spas. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Avatar for belindac34
    By belindac34 Mar 18, 2014

    This resort is one of the best in the Lake Tahoe area, and is located in a great location. We have always had the best vacationing time in Lake Tahoe, either in the summer on the lake or the winter on the slopes. How many resorts have a gondola at your door step? You must experience a week stay here, to take it all in. I am a proud owner of 8 years, and love it.

  • Avatar for bradj49
    By bradj49 Dec 30, 2013

    Best resort in Tahoe, location could not be any better. Units are comfy and cozy. Pool and Jacuzzi area big. Excellent restaurant down stairs. You will love it so much you might even buy a timeshare. Marriott is a great brand to own.

  • Avatar for suet94
    By suet94 Aug 16, 2011

    Best place to stay in South Shore!

  • Avatar for emili2
    By emili2 Feb 7, 2011

    best location

  • Avatar for johne353
    By johne353 Jan 15, 2011

    Superb location in South Lake Tahoe. Walking distance to Nevada casinos. Spotless accommodations. Very modern room with all amenities. Great kitchen area. Large screen digital TV. Very courteous and helpful staff. Visit here was one of the best in all our vacations. Great outdoor activities available in both winter and summer.

  • Avatar for karnoldsen
    By karnoldsen Nov 10, 2010

    We had intended on staying here for a week, but only lasted 2 nights. Mattress was horrible and the unit was awkward. When you opened the bedroom door, the door blocked the air conditioning/heat vent, the space that the refrigerator is located it does not allow the refrigerator door to open all of the way, and there was quite a bit of awkwardness with the kitchen counters and the bathroom as they stuck us in a handicapped unit that we did not need. As an interesting side note, for some reason the handicapped unit is placed about as far from the lobby as you can get........way down several winding corridors.........I feel for anyone who uses a walker or crutches or wheel chair as it would be especially difficult for them to get to this handicapped room.

  • Avatar for juliannen3
    By juliannen3 Mar 22, 2009

    We love the beauty of Lake Tahoe, lots to do. Hiking, nature trails, boating, swimming, casions, great night life. Lodge is beautiful with all the comforts. Well maintained and service great. Spa treatments too. Great pool. We will most certainly go back.

  • Avatar for nicolem115
    By nicolem115 Updated Jan 6, 2009

    Location- This is not the place for nature lovers- tons of traffic, noise, people and buildings. We are not gamblers so the casinos are of no benefit and actually detract from the atmosphere. The way onto the mountain is by gondola(~20 min). Not many challenging runs as most were closed, crowded runs and at the bottom of the mountain snow conditions were lousy. The ski school is chaotic, poorly managed and executed in the mornings. It took 45 minutes to drop off my kids and cost $190 per child per day- rip off.

    Unit- The condo is nicely furnished with comfortable beds but the outlook we had was dismal - looking onto the road. We tried to change however the second unit had an even worse view onto a garage. The kitchen has no basic condiments- bring your own salt&pepper! We are used to renting condos that you can cook in and not have to stock the basics. We tried to dine at the on site restaurant on New Years and put our name in at 4:30 (they don't take reservations) told that we would have a 1.5 hr wait. They called at 7:30 saying that we could be seated- we had already eaten in our unit. Most of the dining in the walking vicinity are chain restaurants. We did discover a rib place across the street and Indian restaurant that were good.

  • Avatar for david3186
    By david3186 Jul 22, 2007

    A beautiful Marriott resort. Location Location Location. A large resort and some rooms are a long way from entrance. Visited in July 2007. Weather fantastic.

  • Avatar for ronaldb74
    By ronaldb74 Mar 13, 2007

    Stayed in the 3bd, lots of room, beds great, kitchen furnished complete for cooking. Wireless internet(free)and cable T.V. for all ages. Ski lift right next to it. All the staff was very helpful with check-in and luggage. Outstanding place to stay.

  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Aug 27, 2006

    Unusual Marriott. Ski in/out duirng ski season.

    Nicely appointed.

    This property is directly on RT 50. Most units do not front Lake Tahoe, and an "urban" setting is not our idea of a Mountain Resort.

    If the visitor is inclined to require human and road traffic, this is the resort. If on the other hand, the visitor requires a more natural environment, pass on this resort.

    We have stayed at most Marriotts and are Marriot owners - Excellent ski resort, but lacks the nature connection in the summer.

  • Avatar for marjorieb2
    By marjorieb2 Nov 19, 2005

    We LOVED it! Beautiful, spacious units and the best location in all of Lake Tahoe. Adjacent to Heavenly gondola and village with shops, restaurants, theaters. Raley's supermarket and more shops across the street. Just a short block to Stateline casinos. Wonderful accommodating, friendly staff. Great resort for any season.

  • Avatar for earl64
    By earl64 Apr 7, 2005

    Marriott Timber Lodge is in a top notch location at South Lake Tahoe. While the accomodations were nicely appointed, I do have to say that my stay there did not meet my expectations. I stayed there as part of a promo package. They stuck me in a handicapped unit. I found the air-conditioning unit noisy and difficult to sleep through. I am not generally one to complain but for the money, I would probably choose a quieter location as I prefer to get away from the crowds on my visit to the countryside. Management failed to respond to any of my concerns.

  • Avatar for felice1
    By felice1 Feb 24, 2004

    GREAT amenities, friendly staff. Raley's across the street, shops, dessert places and ski rental places just outside the lobby. Practically everything is within walking distance. My only disappointment was the adjoining restaurant. Hopefully they'll work out their kinks.

  • Avatar for ddodgin
    By ddodgin Jan 28, 2004

    Very nice accomodations, location is key with gondola and village. The ice rink and coming building phases will make for a nice ski village

  • Avatar for marick
    By marick Jan 21, 2003

    Location, Location, Location! Adjacent to Heavenly Gondola; casinos 1 block.

    Spacious accomodations, with Marriott quality. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, whirlpool tub in master b/r, fireplace.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff!!

Back to reviews
Resort review