Kahana Beach Vacation Club

Lahaina, Hawaii

Back to resort

Reviews of Kahana Beach Vacation Club

Lahaina, Hawaii

3.8

Out of 5
18 reviews
  • 5

    (8)

  • 4

    (11)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Kahana Beach Vacation Club lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for rond157
    By rond157 Updated May 2, 2016

    We have owned a corner unit for years. Someone back a while ago on here complained of bugs and that they moved out. In all our years there we have NEVER seen ANY kind of a bug in our rooms. They spray constantly to pests. People say it is an older building, yes it is , renovated a few years back. But as others have said you will NEVER find a resort any closer to the water...you can practically jump off the lanai into the ocean.

    AND reasonably priced.

  • Avatar for elfrieds
    By elfrieds Jan 21, 2016

    Depending on what you're looking for when coming to Maui this can be a great little surprise (the good one) or not your cup of tea. We LOVE the location. You're ON the beach here, with the ocean front (owner) units all facing dead on. Lanai on your left and Molokai on your right and in whaling season (thru end of April) sunsets between the islands every night. If your unit is on one of the higher floors you'll look straight down into the water and see turtles swimming by. Our last visit was last year and we were amazed at how many turtles we saw. And plenty of whale action right from your lanai. The units are relatively small but comfortable with air conditioning. Swimming pool is small but ocean is steps away and lounge chairs are comfortable. If you're out much of your day taking in the island this is a great place to come home to and wake up in.

  • Avatar for margaretc60
    By margaretc60 Jun 2, 2013

    Just spent another 2 weeks at this resort. We love Maui and travel from the east coast every year to relax on this beautiful island. This resort is not like the big name resorts having only basic amenities but the view from every unit is amazing!! It is located in a very peaceful area and has a very local feel! The staff is friendly and very helpful. The units were clean . Outdoor furniture needs to be replaced.looking to stey 3 weeks next year

  • Avatar for michaelk335
    By michaelk335 Apr 11, 2012

    One of the worst places I have ever stayed at, period. Do not go there!!!!!!!!!!! Bugs were everywhere. We left and found a hotel after the first night.

  • Avatar for lorraines88
    By lorraines88 Updated May 31, 2011

    As owners, we love staying here. It is right on the beach. The view from our balcony is very beautiful -- you can see both the island of Molokai and the island of Lanai. We own a seventh floor corner unit and can also see the park and the pool. It is very relaxing to sit in the hot tub or by the pool and just look at the view. The kitchen is very efficient -- small -- but has everything you need. The location is close to both Kapalua and to Kaanapali. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

  • Avatar for debras192
    By debras192 Apr 29, 2010

    Really oceanfront, you are just feet away from the ocean. You can see the whales! Sitting on the lanai is the best. The studio had all that we needed in a kitchen. Close to snorkeling and lahaina. Beach is nice and fun to play in the waves. Great resort and it's not costly!

  • Avatar for stevenb38
    By stevenb38 Updated Apr 21, 2008

    I am an owner: If you want to get away from the crowds, have incredible views of the ocean, and have a quiet peaceful place in which to explore the island from...the is the place your you. It is not a Hotel where you will have all of services that you may be used to, but you're not paying Hotel prices either. Think of it more as apartment style living, and you won't be disappointed when a maid doesn't show up every morning.

  • Avatar for brian1152
    By brian1152 Sep 4, 2007

    We just returned from a week stay. This is not a five star resort; more like a 1960's motel kitchenette. They must have bribed Interval International to give them a 5-star rating. All but one of the rooms on each floor are tiny studios with Murphy beds and microscopic kitchenettes (example: the small counter doubles as a range; there is no dishwasher). My wife and I both had backaches from the bed. The staff is very, very nice and friendly but the on-site activities are very minimal. They push pretty hard to get you to take a timeshare sales presentation. Grounds are also minimal (small pool and hot tub, minimal grass/grounds, limited parking). It is located in Kahana, several miles north of the Lahaina and Kaanapali areas where you will want to spend most of your time, so it is basically little more than a room to spend the night. Coin operated laundry only. There is no mid-week cleaning or new bed sheets, only an exchange of towels and discarding trash in the receptacles in the middle of the week.

  • Avatar for deborah566
    By deborah566 Jul 11, 2007

    The 4 of us stayed in an ocean view studio the spring of 2005 and 2006, & are looking forward to staying at Kahana Beach again this summer (2007). We had an upper floor and full ocean view both times. There is no other place in Maui that we know of where the units have central air conditioning, and you are guaranteed the full ocean view and beach - literally "at your feet," for a reasonable price. You fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves. We saw sea turtles, dolphins and a few whales from the studio’s private lanai. The rooms are very quiet - we couldn’t hear any sounds from neighboring units. The neighborhood is lovely and convenient. Much is within a short walking distance (restaurants, fast food, convenience mart, variety of shops, water sports gear rental, etc.). The unit had what we needed and was clean, comfortable, and air conditioned. The furnishings and decor are "beach island casual" with one wall of nothing but ocean + sky + Molokai views. The lobby is small....but was occupied by a very friendly and helpful staff who made all our excursions easy to plan. When we were in the mood for the lively Kaanapali beaches and attractions, we just drove the 5-10 minutes and stayed however long we wanted. We spent most of our days exploring the island and doing a lot of activities, and Kahana Beach provided a wonderful home base.

  • Avatar for michaeld143
    By michaeld143 Updated May 16, 2007

    We own a 1 bedroom unit here and love the resort. We last stayed here Dec. 27-06 and are always amazed how well everything is maintained and kept up-to-date and is always clean. This was our 5th stay and you really get spoiled with the view and actually just walking a few steps out to the beach! Last visit we even found out they are not allowed to build this close to the ocean any more. The resort is conveniently located to everything!The sister resort next door has a wonderful poolside restaurant that is great for times when you just don't want to cook. The staff is great and you don't have to walk a mile to your room which is even better! Try it you'll like it!

  • Avatar for vivian97
    By vivian97 Mar 28, 2007

    My family and I stayed at Kahana Beach in March 07. The resort itself was small but the rooms are very nice and extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the ocean (it is almost directly below) and there is a great beach. We would certainly stay here again. The pool is small, but heated and warm (unlike many in Hawaii).

    The resort was also a 10 minute walk from Black Rock which is an excellent place to snorkel. We even saw several turtles!

  • Avatar for crystal.keelee
    By crystal.keelee Apr 25, 2006

    My wife and I own 2 timeshares at Kahana Beach because we like the personal treatment that we receive when we come to town. The location is beautiful - yes the beach is small, but it is private and always offers great relaxation time. The hottub has always been a wonderful place for us to meet new friends and we often spend most of our time on the beach and then in everyone's rooms. Maui is paradise and your accomodations are just a part of the entire equation. You have to see it to believe it.

  • Avatar for happy1
    By happy1 Aug 10, 2005

    We stayed here in March 04 and had a great time. I really gotta laugh at other reviews. The hot tub is a 6-8 person "spa" that was always empty and is literally 5 feet off the beach and 15 feet to the waters edge... pretty cool!!! The pool is small but again , the ocean is 15 feet away. They have nice cabana chairs on the deck and every unit has at least an ocean view with the majority having direct balconies with the closest water on the entire island. The units are very nice and clean and well stocked with coffee, laundy soap and all other necessities. No nickle and dime BS. LIKE SOME OTHER RESORTS.I guess if you're going to Maui to hang by the pool ,this isn't the place but we go every year and that's not why we're there. management was also very nice and helpful in every way.

  • Avatar for tony84
    By tony84 Oct 15, 2004

    Stayed at this resort 1 full week in September of 2003 and found the resort to be in an excellent location. The rooms were like new. Most of the rooms are Beach Front so the views are wonderful and the convenience of having a sandy beach and a restaurant on the property was magnificent!

    We highly reccommend it!

  • Avatar for jlnowak
    By jlnowak Apr 20, 2004

    Beautiful Room view

  • Avatar for frank130
    By frank130 Updated Feb 16, 2004

    Spartan resort with bare minimum amenities: very small pool, tiny above-ground hot tub, and small strip of sand called beach. Timeshare salesman actually raved about no amenities keeping maintenance fees low! Room is small but comfortable – be sure you are booked in an Oceanfront room – 24 Ocean view units on side of building offer partial view of ocean and no view of sunsets. Upgrades to Oceanfront from Ocean view are rare to impossible according to front desk. As mentioned below, no maid service unless paid for (about $27/service); bathrooms are in need of a makeover, despite “millions” in renovations; Murphy bed seems like a joke but is actually comfortable – too bad the sheets are too small for the bed. Pull-out Sofa, coffee table, TV, nice mini-kitchen, good A/C round out the bill.

    When visiting Maui, you will not spend too much time in the room – much to see and do on island. Truly great restaurants are a short drive away. You can also grab beach towels at the front desk and "sneak" over to Sands of Kahana next door – larger beach, pool, hot tub, & lots of lounge chairs for some R&R. Would we stay here again? Probably not. You get what you pay for, and ever though the prices here are not bargain basement, expectations were much higher.

    Note: 5-star reviewer below is an owner.

  • Avatar for sefranck
    By sefranck Feb 13, 2004

    I just got back from a week at the Kahana Beach Resort and I was disappointed. While the rooms had been recently remodeled with nice tile floors, granite countertops and neutral decor, the bathroom fixtures have not been maintained well. The mildew and mold is already forming and the bathroom faucet required a lot of fiddling to shut the water off completely.

    The property is small and sparce with a tiny pool area and severe lack of parking. The services offered are "no-frills:" there is no daily housekeeping offered other than a mid- week replacement of towels and trash removal. If you are looking for a low-cost place to stay, it is ok, but I probably would pay a little more next time to get more service as part of my vacation.

  • Avatar for lazyjrvranch
    By lazyjrvranch Nov 12, 2003

    Stayed at this resort October 2003. Excellent ocean front view. Excellent service received at all times.

Back to reviews
Resort review