Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge

Phoenix, Arizona

4.5

Out of 5
21 reviews
  • 5

    (28)

  • 4

    (8)

  • 3

    (5)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for marthap98
    By marthap98 Sep 5, 2016

    Best place ever!

  • Avatar for davids819
    By davids819 Updated Jul 30, 2015

    I would rate the resort 4 1/2 stars. The staff is fantastic. The pool complex is really nice at the timeshare, and, you can use the pool, lazy river and restaraunts at the adjacent JW Marriott. I love the golf at the JW and lots of great courses within 10-15 miles.

    We find the Desert Ridge mall a big benefit to our stay. We walk over in the morning to Starbucks or Paradise Bakery. We often eat at the mall and shop at the big Albertson's.

    I own here and have started visiting every year, even twice this year. There is great weather and so much to do in the Phoenix area.

  • Avatar for km260
    By km260 Jun 17, 2014

    I love Canyon Villas and spent both Thanksgiving and Memorial Day there. The rooms need the update they are scheduled to receive beginning this summer. They are well maintained and stylish now, but I noticed in the master shower, the tile needs replacing. I have no complaints about the property and will hopefully return again.

    I'm not sure if this is a new thing or it was just not an issue in the fall, but certain days have a restriction on using the pool at the adjacent JW Marriott. We were blocked for a couple of days in May. If that is really important to you, request the closing schedule before booking. The JW has also started prohibiting anyone from taking food or drinks into the pool area. We saw a number of folks stopped at the gate and food confiscated.

    My best tip when staying there is to hit the happy hour at Roy's at the JW. From 4 to 6 they have a Happy Hour menu where drinks and appetizers are $6 each. Beautiful outdoor seating, sometimes with live music, always with festive tiki torches. A great time indeed.

  • Avatar for theresav50
    By theresav50 Mar 18, 2014

    This is a magnificent Marriott property. However, please be aware that when you are renting at this property there is NO guarantee as to the view even if it states golf course or pool. You will be given whatever is available at the time of check in. Of course if Marriott is able to honor your request they certainly will do so!

  • Avatar for garyw366
    By garyw366 Updated Jan 1, 2014

    We've stayed on two different occasions in late winter and had a great time. There's so much to do in Scottsdale from hiking to dining. The resort is minutes away by shuttle or a 5 minute walk. We liked it so much we bought a third week.

  • Avatar for robertk129
    By robertk129 Updated Feb 25, 2013

    This is a very special Marriott Vacation Club property. Beautiful views of the desert, the mountains and the Faldo Starfire Golf Course. The grounds are immaculate. A large swimming pool with a waterfall, a jacuzzi and a lap swimming pool along with a separate shallow quiet pool area, shuffle board area, sitting area, outdoor grills are just some of the outdoor amenities. Resort guests have access to the swimming facilities, including the Lazy River, at the amazing JW Marriott Resort located across the street five minute walk away. Happy hour drinks for $5.00 from 3-5pm at the Canyon Villas pool. The Desert Market Place is a 10-15 minute walk away. Phoenix is amazing for golf, shopping and restaurants and is at your doorstep.

  • Avatar for thomas472
    By thomas472 Nov 24, 2011

    Unit was a large 2bedroom 2 bath unit (not a lock off but a true two bedroom). Since there was only two of us we rattled around in it. Very clean, but for the first time, as a Marriott owner (desert Springs) I was disappointed in the living room furnishings and rug. They were dirty and slightly worn. The way the kitchen is laid out when you enter the unit there is only a small space for a passage into the main area of the living room, so that 10 or 12 Square foot area is highly trafficked. While it had been vacuumed it was slightly worn and the dirt was simply ground into it. Ditto the main couch; the edges were dirty and slightly worn. I do not wish to push this too far, because everything had been cleaned and vacuumed,and very servicable, but the upholstered furnishings are in need of replacement.

    Kitchen area was quite large, and the breakfast bar very wide with lots of space to sit and eat. Plenty of dishes and utensils. Check in was a breeze. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concierge service was friendly but the ladies depended upon their computers and directions stored in the memory. We are hikers so asked for info on hikes in the area, of which there are many. unlike the Sheraton Desert Oasis Marriott staff while willing could not offer any personalized service other than the preprinted sheets.

    The resort grounds ate extensive, attractive and well maintained. Canyon Village is a true resort, No need to leave the grounds. However it is close to the 101 beltway so very easy to hop on the beltway and get to main attractions. Easy to get around by car.

    Altho we did not participate they seemed to have many resort activities. In addition the resort is surrounded by two golf courses and within walking distance of the very large Marriott resort hotel. So no lack of things to do. Of course since this is a 5 star Marriott hotel you pay for everything. We ate in the lounge one evening and a "cone" of chips and a coke and a draft beer cost us $25.00 during happy hour. Beer was good, and coke is coke; guess we paid for the ambience which was great.

    This is a great place for anyone, couples, families etc.

  • Avatar for danam133
    By danam133 Sep 24, 2010

    Visited: July 2010- This was my families first stay at the timeshare villa side of the JW Marriott's resort and it did not disappoint. Visited JW Marriott resort side back in 2007, so I already knew how I loved the resort side. Check in was quick, easy and included lots of detailed info to guide us on the villa side and resort side.

    We stayed in a 2/2 villa and it was beautiful and very clean. We thought that no one stayed in the villa before because the place was immaculate. So, Arriving in July in 115 degree heat was not as bad as I thought. We went straight to the pool (with our shoes on), so between the water and pool bar drink specials we forgot about the heat. We dined at the resort a couple of nights, but mostly went to the awesome shopping and entainment center across the street. Its got to be 5 to 6 acres in size. Great grocery store there too. We did not do much, but swim, eat and sleep. There are tons of things to do, but we do that everyday of our lives. Our vacations call for R&R. Nanny recommendation from front desk was great and reliable for a couple of nights our without young kids. Villa Highlight: The awesome 20 minute showers that you never want to end. Water pressure is like getting a massage.

  • Avatar for jamesb403
    By jamesb403 Apr 1, 2010

    This place is the best. We have owned here for four years. Money well spent! We stay in a 2BD villa, and the accommodations could not be better. First class all the way. The lock off units are great for a couple. Having the villa gives you the full kitchen for eating in occasionally if you choose. The pools at the Villas are great. There is a snack bar, where you can order from a room service type menu and a full bar as well. Access to the JW across the street (shuttle provided) is the capper. Lazy River, Waterslide, and poolside drink/food service are the best. There are several great restaurants at the hotel as well (Roy's, Meritage, etc.) Across the street is Desert Ridge Shopping Mall that has an Albertson's and several chain type restaurants of all sorts. Retail shopping as well. It is impossible to not have a great time here. We have gone in July and August when it has been 110+. When you are poolside, you don't notice that much. It is hot, but not unbearable depending on your activity level. You are a short drive from Scottsdale, where there are even more great restaurants and shopping. We have not even thought about trading our "Gold" week. This is a trip that we look forward to every year.

  • Avatar for kara99
    By kara99 Dec 6, 2009

    This resort is absolutely gorgeous. It is located directly on two championship Golf Courses, has great activities for kids and grown ups too. The 2 pools have waterfalls and are heated all year round. It has a splash park/pool for the kids as well as a giant gecko sand yard to play in. Activities for the kids are provided daily.

    The rooms are completely first class. Directly across from the resort is the JW Marriott which has a ton of great restaurants/bars/Starbucks etc. And it also has a wonderful SPA. I think the hotel has 5 different pools including the lazy river pool, where you just hop on a raft and float around. First class shopping is right next door at Desert Ridge. Desert Ridge even provides a shuttle to drive you there and back...as well as over to the JW Marriott if you don't want to walk. The staff is great. Sunsets are gorgeous. Couldn't ask for a better vacation. Whole family was entertained.

  • Avatar for stephaniec97
    By stephaniec97 May 11, 2008

    I have stayed at many resorts throughout the world and this place is one of the nicest. Truly first- class on all levels!!!

  • Avatar for kenv8
    By kenv8 Sep 19, 2007

    The top of the line for Marriott.

  • Avatar for debra89
    By debra89 Updated May 8, 2007

    My husband and I have been there twice and have had a wonderful time. The staff is very friendly and helpful and there is plenty to do at the resort. Is has a great location right next to a shopping center with a lot of restaurants. Our guests have all enjoyed it as well. We are going back again this year and cannot wait!

  • Avatar for tome37
    By tome37 Mar 5, 2007

    Wonderful! Spent the week of Feb 17th there and it is REALLY First Class! Loved it soooo much I am looking to buying another week.;-)

  • Avatar for gary1576
    By gary1576 Feb 14, 2007

    Just got back from our exchange to Canyon Villas and the place is first class.We had a 2 bedroom unit for the 2 of us so we had plenty of room. You have full access to the J.W. Marriott Desert Ridge Resort, a really nice plus.We used the lazy river over there.Really close to Desert Ridge shopping complex so there is no end to restaurants & shopping.

  • Avatar for jared52
    By jared52 Oct 18, 2006

    ABSOLUTELY A WONDERFUL PLACE!!!!! WILL BE THERE EVERY YEAR,AND LOOKING FORWARD TO IT!!!!!!!

  • Avatar for maryjanes4
    By maryjanes4 Oct 1, 2006

    Just returned from a week in a two bedroom unit. Lovely property with access to facilities at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort. Drinks are better at the JW pools than at the Villa pools!

  • Avatar for kathyw84
    By kathyw84 Updated Feb 3, 2006

    We just spent a week here in a two bedroom unit and loved it. Close to a great shopping center. Across the street from the JW Marriott and can use all of the amenities there - and they are fantastic (several pools including a lazy river pool and wonderful restaurants).

    Wonderful pool area at the resort, beautiful sunsets and sunrises from our patio and entry door, towel exchange whenever we wanted, free wireless Internet in the condo as well as by the pool, huge master bedroom suite and second bedroom is also very large as it can be used as a lockoff. We also loved being on the very north end of Phoenix as we were right on the way for a day trip to Flagstaff and Sedona - well worth the trip!

    Need we say more? All that is missing is an ocean!

  • Avatar for sydney12
    By sydney12 Updated Dec 19, 2005

    My wife and I just spent two consecutive weeks here. Our first was in a lock-off unit and the second week was with our daughter and twin grandbabies in a 2 bedroom unit.

    The staff was superb. Service requests were promptly handled. There was close proximity to the JW Marriott and to the Desert Ridge shopping mall.

    Daily towel exchange was available on a compimentary basis but one had to request it as it did not come automatically. For users of the lock off unit there was a washer and dryer on premises. The 2 bedroom unit came with a washer and dryer.

    Maid service is included for rentals (directly from Marriott) but if you owned the timeshare or exchanged for it, a cleaning fee was involved. The fee was $15 for the lock off unit or $50 for the 2 bedroom suite.

    The kitchen was very well stocked and the accomodations were very spacious and quiet. We had a great time.

  • Avatar for rudolph1
    By rudolph1 Updated Apr 24, 2005

    Great resort and well appointed. Kids loved the playground and resort pool onsite as well as the lazy river at the JW Marriott. The Roy's Restaurant at the JW Marriott is excellent and was very kid friendly. A great vacation destination.

  • Avatar for jalfonsoct
    By jalfonsoct Nov 11, 2004

    My wife and I stayed in a lock-out. It was fine for 2 persons. There was no housekeeping for the entire week. Guests have use of washer and dryer for doing towels, i.e. no towel exchange. There is construction as Marriott gets set to open 2 new buildings. Besides these inconveniences the staff was great and the close proximity to J.W. and the Desert Ridge Marketplace made it an enjoyable week.

Back to reviews
Resort review