Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club

Koloa, Hawaii

4.5

Out of 5
44 reviews
  • 5

    (63)

  • 4

    (11)

  • 3

    (5)

  • 2

    (3)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for donaldm317
    By donaldm317 Updated Nov 5, 2016

    Updated from 2014

    One of the original pre-construction owners in 2003 and with exception of 2013 when a family emergency arose, have been every year since. Daughter married on Kaua'i in 2011 and some relatives and guests stayed elsewhere and commented they wished they had been able to book their stay at Waiohai.

    Upgrades and complete makeover of interiors, furniture etc. are really first class. Sure local five star hotels may have more stunning amenities but then they only have a hotel room. All the villas have a full kitchen and we rarely eat out during our two week stay except for when on the road exploring favorite locations North, South, East and West of the island.

    New Safeway near Puhi and Costco are convenient although Sueoka's in Koloa is our go to for some local items especially Mochi that comes from Oahu only once a week.

    August best summer month as not as hot but still a lot of kids so September best if want a quieter stay for mostly adults. Staff is always courteous and makes you feel a part of Ohana (family). I've seen complaints about renters not getting same preference as owners but guests of ours in another Villa came earlier that we did and got same considerations as we did. They actually got location better that we did. My Granddaughter was especially pleased that Ms. Delia remembered her from the year previous.

    Last visit 2015 and was put way in back of property but other than having to walk a bit farther to get to beach etc. was still great experience. My only gripe is that despite have been an owner since 2003 the Destination Club members arriving at mid week etc. sometimes get the best locations. We were offered a better location second of 2 weeks but then would have had to leave villa in at 10 AM and not be able to check into better location until 4 PM. Too much hassle so stayed where we were.

    This is a family resort on a quiet island with happy people and the true Hawaiian experience. If you like noise and night life go to Maui. If miss freeways an tall high rises go to Oahu. Been to both and have their own charms and interests but I'll take Kaua'i and Waiohai every time.

    Mahalo!

  • Avatar for davidm2197
    By davidm2197 Updated Apr 17, 2016

    The beach can have rough surf. People try to "save" lounge chairs by the pool starting at 6am in the morning. Seriously. To the right of the development, the beach is very rocky, and easy to get cut up on rocks. We stayed here last year and the activities were good. Especially for kids.

  • Avatar for barbaral102
    By barbaral102 Updated Oct 15, 2015

    We had a mini family reunion April 1015 at Marriott Waiohai. The resort just finished redecorating and repainting and the place looked amazing. There were many noticeable improvements. As longtime owners we couldn't have been more pleased. It is a wonderful family resort.

  • Avatar for barryt22
    By barryt22 Aug 19, 2015

    Our most recent visit was in July. In May 2014 we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by renewing our vows on Nukumoi Point with eleven of our friends. We love this place. The location is perfect. Excellent beach. Great snorkeling. The grounds are lovely. If you get the opportunity, do the grounds tour with Lee. (Check with the concierge.) He's passionate about his work and it shows. The new gym is much improved over the previous one. The Marketplace does a nice job for such a small place. The Honu Bar is expensive but the view canNOT be beat. The staff has always been warm, friendly, accommodating and efficient. We will be back in February and we can't wait.

  • Avatar for c614
    By c614 Dec 21, 2014

    The resort is beautiful. It is located right on a great beach with lots to do close by. The rooms are pretty spacious and well appointed. There really isn't a bad view room on the property! They have a little 'general store' on-site (pricey but very convenient) that serves coffee, lunch and early dinner snacks. The grounds are beautiful and it's worth your time to get out and walk the property. There are amazing birds and some interesting fish and frogs to be found in and around the waters. The staff are great and super accomodating. We had zero maintenance issues during our stay and I think that speaks to how well the property is maintained. So why only a four? It comes down to pool lounging room. If you aren't a pooler you won't care a bit about the lack of space around the pool so you can get down by the pool and spread out with you kids/friends. By the end of our visit it was almost a daily 6am race to get down to the pool and stake your claim of lounging space. We really had to scramble to get to the 'adult' side of the pool. I seem to recall that there was an additional pool for children ??? There is a small grassy area where you can plop down a chair or two, but it's not near the pool. The beach is public, so you may or may not find a space to spread out your towel, but hey, you're in Hawaii... who cares if you can't get a spot by the pool...just go down the beach a short ways and you'll have the whole beach to yourself! Beautiful property and we would return to this resort.

  • Avatar for lynn611
    By lynn611 Apr 9, 2014

    Lovely resort on beautiful Poipu Beach. Our family of seven fit perfectly In a two bedroom two bath condo. We all had a great time and the grounds are something else. All staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly from the pool guy to the activities lady Delia. We would most definitely stay here again. We all would choose Kauai over Maui where we have usually gone.

  • Avatar for wadef12
    By wadef12 Updated Jan 14, 2014

    We just returned from our 4th stay at the Waiohai. The board and property managers have done a great job keeping the property well maintained. This was our first winter visit and the whale watching from the ocean view rooms was spectacular. If your looking for a relatively quiet Hawaii week, this is your place. Yes, there is plenty to see and do on Kauai but if your looking for a place just to relax, the Waiohai is the place.

  • Avatar for cherylj116
    By cherylj116 Dec 20, 2013

    Horrific view of the parking lot! Noisy villa and barbecue area not kept up as well as previous visits.

  • Avatar for tonjan
    By tonjan Sep 2, 2013

    The Marriott Waiohai on Popui beach is the BEST timeshare resort in all of Kauai. We also own the Marriott in Maui at the Ocean Club and I must admit that I prefer the Waiohai to the Maui resort. (Our teenage boys prefer this location too). They say the beach and the waves are much better than at Kaanapali. It's 5 Star all the way. You can not beat the beach, the exploring locations and the gorgeous grounds. The timeshare is very spacious and has everything we could possibly need. If you want commercialized Hawaii- go to a different island. If you want pure beauty and lush tropical feel as you'd imagine Hawaii to be- this is the resort to be at and the island of choice! Mahalo!

  • Avatar for rebeccar47
    By rebeccar47 Jul 23, 2012

    Beautiful resort. This resort is on the best beach in Poipu. The beach at the Hyatt is way too dangerous. I will say that paying more for ocean view is a waste of money. The best buildings are 1 and 8. Unless you are the owner and are going to stay for multiple weeks, you will not get those buildings. Ocean view in buliding 7 and 6 are a great view of a parking lot. Ocean view in building 2 is ok but it is of the resort. Island view of building 3, 4, and 5 are of a parking lot.

  • Avatar for glennp61
    By glennp61 Mar 11, 2012

    Been coming here for 6 years now, every year. It has a kind of magic to it- the resort grounds, the beach, waves, sunsets, the locals, the pool bar, the beautiful and large pools. It's like a second home. Some years the staff are good about keeping the chairs free of people who just put their towels on them for the day, other years they don't attend to this annoyance. The units are large and well equipped, and in reasonable shape. All in all, a memorable place to enjoy any time of the year.

  • Avatar for ken242
    By ken242 Jul 5, 2011

    Superb property and services. One of the premier locations in the world.

  • Avatar for johnh577
    By johnh577 Feb 27, 2011

    The Waiohai Beach Club is a great location for a Hawaii vacation. The staff provides super service. The rooms have all been recently updated with new furniture and carpet. The beach is right in front of the property and the three pools and spas are great. Golf is close by. Only a 15 minute drive from the airport.

  • Avatar for barbarap248
    By barbarap248 Updated Oct 29, 2010

    Just returned from another spectacular week at Waiohai. We are long time owners and supplement our week with rentals from Redweek. Our experience was sensational. Last year Marriott made lots of cutbacks in amenities and services throughout the brand. They were still visible at Desert Springs and other resorts but minimally apparent at Waoihai. The staff (many of whom have been there for years) is most friendly and professional. The maintenance is better than most hotels. The service is always gracious. As the area expands, there are more and more good choices for dining so that the dinner service is not really missed.

    The location is great and the grounds are in perfect condition. We did stay in a handicapped accessible villa because it is in our favorite location. There were no downsides and we were pleased to have two sink areas in the master in lieu of the soaking tub. It was sparkling clean and fresh. There were two palm fronds encroaching on our balcony. I discussed it when I ran into the head gardener. Later that day, he sent a tree pruner up the tree to remove the fronds so that critters cannot climb into our area....removed budding coconuts too to prevent them from falling. (We were on the 4th floor). He then called to see if everything was OK...Wish I could have that service at home.

    Kauai is the friendliest island and the least commercial. It is like turning the clock back for forty years. We enjoy the local vendors, farmers markets and great food and drink from fancy to budget minded venues. We travel the world but vacation at Waiohai.

  • Avatar for carole177
    By carole177 Updated Jul 21, 2010

    Great place for a family vacation. The units are spacious, nicely decorated and well equipped. The beachfront location is ideal for walks, swimming and finding sleeping seals that have come ashore for a nap. The island view units are really parking lot views which isn't what you hope for when in Hawaii. The garden view and ocean view units are very pleasant. Restaurants are only a short drive away and there is a supermarket within a 10 minute drive.

    Our college aged daughter loves this place and it is her first choice for a family getaway. My husband and I really enjoy it and look forward to coming back for our 4th visit next year. Thanks to Redweek, we have been fortunate to find nice units at reasonable prices.

    The wild Kauai roosters that are everywhere on the island do start crowing at the break of day so you have to leave your windows closed at night unless you want a 5 am wake up call.

  • Avatar for marks768
    By marks768 Jul 12, 2010

    I read some of the reviews that were not so flattering about this resort. I don't know if we're talking about the same place. I've been here 3 times and have always found the villas exceptionally clean and the staff accomodating. This is by far the nicest of the Marriott 5 star resorts. They don't get any better than this. I have NEVER seen kids at the adult pool, cock roaches or musty smells. It would not have a 5-Star rating if this were the case. One word or caution- if you buy a pineapple at a pineapple farm, check for scorpions before you bring them back to your villa. No problem with them anywhere else. I've even commented on the lack of flies or bugs at the resort. This place is truly paradise!

  • Avatar for norma170
    By norma170 Jan 26, 2010

    We just came back-this is by far our favorite Marriott TS in Hawaii. We love the resort and the Poipu area as well. The resort is so lovely and lush, and the pools and beach are well designed. The rooms have everything we need and you are close to restaurants and shopping. Can't wait until we go next year!!!

    Only one complaint and that is the staff doesn't really handle the chair-hogs who leave their towels on the chairs for hours at a time.

  • Avatar for judithb115
    By judithb115 Updated Nov 22, 2009

    This is truly the most beautiful resort property on Kauai. We have been in Kauai over 15 times but never stayed in a timeshare. We toured the property last year and decided to rent for a week before purchasing. We are very happy we did not purchase a timeshare. When we checked in there were only two villas available, one with an ocean view but a handicap villa and the other ocean view villa overlooked the public beach parking lot. We took the handicap villa because of the view even though it smelled very moldy and musty. The counters were lower and one of the showers was wheel accessable and not useful for us because water got all over the bathroom.We had the room ionized two times and finally resorted to using candles to mask the odors. As the week progressed and the ionization wore off one of the bedrooms smelled of urine. I found two dead cockroaches in one of the bathrooms. To be fair the villas are in the process of being redone and I am sure ours was next on the list. I would stay here again but only in a villa that has been updated.

  • Avatar for virginiah44
    By virginiah44 Jul 15, 2009

    We have been to Waiohai Beach Club multipal times and every time we have had the greatest vacations! The staff are very friendly the property is amazingly beautiful and there is so much to do. We feel like we are coming home when we arrive. The rooms are very spacious and have everything you need.

    We can't wait to go back!

  • Avatar for jdub001
    By jdub001 Jul 4, 2009

    Just returned from a stay at this facility(6/09). Am I the only one who can't see the Kings clothes? Great rooms. Other than this, I was not impressed, crowded!!! The pools, the beach, the lobbies, even the timeshare presentations are crowded. The quiet pool is not adult only, we had families in the pool and when questioned, the staff wouldn't have anything to do with it. I've been to wonderful Marriott facilities, and this isn't one of them!!! BTW, Great timeshare presentation from Robin, Go figure.......

  • Avatar for lyndaf17
    By lyndaf17 Jan 16, 2009

    From the moment you arrive, you are home! The staff will do anything to make you happy. The Property is the smallest of the Marriott change. Everyone knows everyone. A very private, fun, safe, family place to play.

  • Avatar for thomass132
    By thomass132 Dec 29, 2008

    We stayed at the Marriott Kauai Beach club a few years ago and visited here for the day. Two years later we returned for a full week. The Lihue property has the better pool for kids but the rooms are pathetically small (consistent with a hotel conversion to timeshare). The Waiohai property is beautiful, lush, well planned and relatively quiet. The multiple tiered pools (including a pool dedicated to QUIET (aka, no kids) and the overall atmosphere were delightful. The area is rich with restaurants, grocery stores, etc. without being "built up." The rooms are nicely planned (although it's tough to decide which of the two bedrooms is the "master" (we went with the one with the double vanity and private toilet, although the other bathroom is larger somehow. The rooms will start to date themselves in a couple of years and need refreshing. The beach is delightful, the waves are relatively kid friendly and even though the beach is part public, the general riff raff seems to stay away from the Marriott property.

  • Avatar for barbarak156
    By barbarak156 Oct 2, 2008

    We're at the Waiohai right now and think it is close to perfect. The accommodations are spacious, the kitchen fully outfitted and the beds heavenly. The beach is just right for swimming and we've enjoyed all of the pools. We love the way lounge chairs are placed on the lawn overlooking the ocean -- spectacular setting! The staff has been incredible. We went to the Tuesday night Chef's Cooking Demonstration and were astounded to find that the chef not only gave us a demonstration, but they served us a complete dinner with dessert and mai tais! Cannot say enough good about this place -- there's nothing I would change. We're owners at the Marriott Ocean Club on Maui -- if we weren't, we'd be buying at this place in a heartbeat.

  • Avatar for barbaraf
    By barbaraf Updated Sep 28, 2008

    We are loyal Marriott timeshare owners with weeks at Maui Ocean Club and Desert Springs. We liked Waiohai Beach Club very much. Furnishing and overall design of the unit is excellent. One drawback that I would express was the lack of housekeeping/linen service. Also found the hallway outside the unit wasn't maintained as well as it could have been. We reported blood on the floor apparently from someone's cut foot. It took a second day and second call before it was cleaned up.

    The availability of food at the "market" on site is really lacking. The service at the Marketplace take-out food counter was both indifferent and slow. There were very few choices. When at the pool, it is very inconvenient to have to go through the lobby to get to the "marketplace" to get a sandwich. The pool bar had minimal food and inadequate service for food. This is very unusual for a resort. Maui Ocean Club has food service at the pool with waiter delivered food to the pool as well as sit-down tables at the marketplace and also the bar. Ditto for Ko Olina on Oahu. Maui also has a wide variety of choices in food available for take out. At the Waiohai the choices were terribly limited, the Marketplace was dark and unfriendly and buried behind the lobby and dark restaurant. If you want food while staying at the Waiohai, you need to leave the resort or cook in your villa. The restaurant there was ok but once was enough during our stay.

    The front desk staff was excellent, especially Lisa, the front desk manager.

    About the amenities, the entire week we were there, the jacuzzi at the "quiet" relaxation pool was not working. The pools were a little disappointing after experiencing other Marriott resorts. None were more than 3 1/2 to 4 feet deep and were awfully small. I know everyone was raving about the beach in these reviews but when we were there in August the waves were starting to get rough. Great for boogie boards and surfers, not so much for swimmers and snorkelers. With not enough pool area and no enough lounges to accommodate the guests, I was a little disappointed with the swimming situation.

    I love Kauai but would not rush back to the Waiohai. If I were going to Kauai I would go to the Westin in Princeville for a superior experience. I hate to get in my car to drive for a meal. At Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, everything is at the resort or within walking distance. Marriott needs to look at the Waiohai food service and give more and better choices.

  • Avatar for judy1021
    By judy1021 Jul 8, 2008

    Stayed a week in June. Perfect weather, best beach, great pools, very large units with big bedrooms, one on each side of living space. Large balcony. Stayed oceanfront (Hale 8) which was fantastic! Loved going to sleep and waking up to the sound of the waves. Guests leave beach chairs, mats, etc. for others to use after them so didn't need to buy a thing except food, drink & sunscreen. Will definitely return.

  • Avatar for cherylg109
    By cherylg109 Jun 19, 2008

    Just got back and loved it so much we bought a week. Great for families with the 2 bedrooms. Don't need to leave the resort you have it all there.

  • Avatar for dennism202
    By dennism202 Jun 16, 2008

    The most amazing place for family vacations!!! You really feel loved at Waiohai Beach Club!

  • Avatar for time36
    By time36 Updated Feb 1, 2008

    Just returned from a stay on January 13 to 20, 2008. Units are very large with big kitchens, and nicely furnished. The complex has a very beatiful interior court with two pools. We played golf almost every day with great courses close by and rates (twilight) on the reasonable side. Be careful that you don't get a unit overlooking the parking lot!! Other than that, a great vacation place.

  • Avatar for robertk184
    By robertk184 Dec 13, 2007

    Serene. Beautiful. Great pool. Perfect beach for swimming and snorkeling.

  • Avatar for annb133
    By annb133 Jun 13, 2007

    Just returned from an amazing week at Waiohai BC. We were in Hale 4 ~ great location....furthest from the beach, but "far" really isn't FAR! The walk down to the pools and beach is a quick one through beautiful grounds. All of the amenities were excellent, and the beach....best beach for families!!

  • Avatar for barbarac270
    By barbarac270 Jun 10, 2007

    We stayed in Hale 5 for a week in May. Fabulous, fantastic week. Amenities are great, staff friendly, suites are nicely furnished and the beds were great! The beach is fantastic, swam with turtles and enjoyed a monk seal sunning itself all day on the beach. I'd like to trade our Tahiti Village 2 bedroom, 2 bath lockout unit for one of these. We'll be back.

  • Avatar for marilynv12
    By marilynv12 Updated May 9, 2007

    Beautiful location (best on the island, in my opinion), brand-new facilities, and very well- maintained grounds.

    VERY large, beautiful rooms with all the things you would want. Great place to rent for a week or two. On site ammenities were VERY good. Even a restaurant, bar, snorkle/surfboard rental hut, coffee bar, and small "store."

    The only drawback I could imagine would be the fact that the units are in a hotel-like setting (even though they are all 2 bedrooms with a large living space), but the walls are very sound-proof. It would be impossible to feel "alone" at this resort, but still a great get- away.

    Highly recommend to stay. To purchase, though, I don't think I would want to fork out the $42,600 they are asking for oceanview, BUT if you want a good trade, this one can't be beat.

  • Avatar for janiced19
    By janiced19 Apr 14, 2007

    We stayed here during March 2007 on a Marriott promotion. We had no intentions of purchasing however enjoyed it so much that we ended up buying. Nice units although avoid the ones that overlook the parking lot. Lovely pool area, fantastic beach. Regular activities for kids. The Starbucks on site is a great plus!

  • Avatar for kenc40
    By kenc40 Sep 25, 2006

    We stayed here at the end of January. This is the newest hotel in Poipu. It is beautiful and serene. We were on a promotion in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. These rooms are brand new and beautifully furnished. We only stay at very nice hotels and this one definitely qualifies. Great for families due to the Koi feeding, kids programs, and beach. The beach is rated as one of the best in the world by Travel Channel (especially for kids). We loved it so much that we bought a resale unit at Ko Olina so we can trade it.

  • Avatar for douglas475
    By douglas475 Updated Jul 11, 2006

    Stayed 2 weeks at Waiohai and 2 weeks at Marriott Maui Ocean Club in 2005. Waiohai wins handdown for friendly staff, amenities,relaxing atmosphere. Occupied Hale 2 fourth floor with great view of grounds and tangential ocean view. I am trying to spend a month there by trading Ocean Pointe for Waiohai. Any of you Florida owners interested in coming to Hawaii?

  • Avatar for suzanneh32
    By suzanneh32 Updated Jan 2, 2006

    We spent X-Mas week at this marvelous resort and can't wait to get back! Beautifully landscaped with waterfalls and lagoons...complete with swan. Beach frontage makes for ideal snorkelling, swimming, or a lazy day in the sun. We found the rooms extremely soundproof, fur- nished for an exceptionally comfortable night's sleep. Truly worthy of it's five star rating.

  • Avatar for barbara2007
    By barbara2007 Sep 14, 2005

    We love it so much that we are going to sell back our Marriott Desert Springs Villas II (2 weeks) in Palm Desert California for Waiohai.

    If you go, just don't let them put you into a unit overlooking the parking lot. Stand firm (but friendly) and wait until what you want opens up.

    And be sure to drink a Polynesian Paralyzer only when you have no where else to go. Eeee Haa.

    Barbara Boyer - Rio Rancho, New Mexico

  • Avatar for johngmcd
    By johngmcd Apr 12, 2005

    BEEN HERE TWICE NOW -- AND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!! EVERY ASPECT OF THE RESORT IS FABULOUS, ESPECIALLY THE LOCATION. THE GROUNDS ARE BEAUTIFULLY LANDSCAPED AND SOAKING IN THE FRESHWATER POOL WAS A FAVORITE PASTTIME!

  • Avatar for patrick136
    By patrick136 Updated Jan 13, 2005

    Stayed in Hale 1 ocean view on 3rd floor. Great room. Room was great. Staff was very friendly. Resturant had excellent food at a reasonable cost.

    They had wireless internet in the common areas for free, so checking email or surfing the web was easy. There are also a couple of community laptops.

    The fitness room is well equiped.

    I like the fact that this resort is big enough to have the amenities but small enough to get to know some of the staff and not get lost.

    We're glad we purchased and can't wait to return.

  • Avatar for mark971
    By mark971 Jan 3, 2005

    Just returned (December '04) and absolutely loved this property. If you're going to Kauai this is the place to stay if you want to relax and enjoy the sun and beach. We stayed in Hale 1 and it was absolutely the best building on the property. Be careful when rooms are assigned as it is quite possible that your "view" may be a combination parking lot/mountain. The staff are very nice and we were never pressured into a timeshare presentation and didn't go on one!

    This was also a location that my 5 year old loved as the pool is shallow (4 ft. max.) and multi-leveled. Brick Oven Pizza is about 20 minutes away and fantastic. Much better than the pizza place in Koloa and worth the drive.

    One final note: the beach is perfect for kids and adults alike. Enjoy!!!

  • Avatar for william471
    By william471 Oct 12, 2004

    Exchange (NCV PLT) stay Oct 1-8, 2004. Stayed in Hale 8, villa 306, with view of pool complex/gardens and tangential ocean view from balcony. Outstanding staff; the open house cart (by the beach) concierge was memorable. Villa was ready by 1 pm. Beautiful grounds. Conveniently located to beach. Fair/good snorkeling during our stay. Quiet units. Comfortable beds. Did not try sofa beds. Fully stocked kitchens (less food of course :-) ) . Hale 1 and 8 closest to beach. Marketplace items reasonable compared to local stores. Did not try restaurant.

    Will definitely return again.

  • Avatar for carrie177
    By carrie177 Sep 16, 2004

    We were supposed to have stayed for one week and were having so much fun that we rented the second week. The ocean view was head on, and the grounds are so pretty. Staff seemed like family, and everything was very clean and well done.

  • Avatar for patricia625
    By patricia625 Jul 28, 2004

    We just returned from a great week. We own a garden view unit. The view was lovely. All the grounds are beautiful. Staff was great and the weather was great all week. Plenty of room for 6 to 8 people in each unit. Recomend this resort to everyone. Kauai is a beautiful and friendly island.

  • Avatar for gail216
    By gail216 May 14, 2004

    Although two buildings are not yet in operation, our stay in May 2004 was extremely enjoyable. The service and units were excellent. The snack bar reasonable and of very good quality. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the beach....Poipu is a dream beach! We noticed quite a few 3 generational family units enjoying their vacation. Even free internet access for checking e-mail and news. We are so glad we purchased here!

Back to reviews
Resort review