Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Sedona, Arizona

Back to resort

Reviews of Hyatt Pinon Pointe

Sedona, Arizona

4.2

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (12)

  • 4

    (10)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Hyatt Pinon Pointe lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for antoinetteg16
    By antoinetteg16 Apr 2, 2014

    we have stayed at this resort for the last two years (both in march). Sedona is special and has won me over. never thought I would consider anyplace but oceanside. The Hyatt staff is remarkable. From office to service staff - They bend over backwards to accommodate. Don't miss an opportunity to stay here! Whether you like to hike or shop, want a romantic getaway or are with family - visit Sedona. Red rock country is hauntingly beautiful.

  • Avatar for georgeg84
    By georgeg84 Updated Feb 1, 2014

    As owners at this resort we have stayed here several times over the past 8 years. Our most recent stay was from 27 October through 2 November, 2013. That was a total of 6 nights, which we scheduled by using two "split week" Hyatt Vacation Club reservations. The first 2 nights we stayed in studio unit 923A, and the last four nights we were in the adjoining 1-bedroom unit 923B. The scheduling staff was very thoughtful in assuring that we had virtually no distance to move our belongings, and adjusted our check-out and check-in times for a very smooth relocation. We were very thankful for that and only wished that we had retained enough points from our other trips to reserve a 1-bedroom for the entire time! Unit 923 is an upper floor unit. We had stayed in an upper unit (922) in this building during a prior visit - and the 30+ steps needed to reach that level have not changed! We did notice somewhat of a difference between the queen bed in the studio unit and the king bed in the 1-bedroom unit. We are not sure if that difference just reflected the size difference, or something else, but the king bed seemed more comfortable.

    During our stay we visited Slide Rock State Park, Walnut Creek National Monument, and Tonto Natural Bridge State Park - each within a single day's excursion from Sedona (although the latter was visited on our departure day en route to another destination). All are recommended, but these represent only a few of the many day-trip opportunities from Sedona. We had some great dining experiences as well. In particular we had dinner at (and recommend) Dahl & DiLuca's Restorante and the Barking Frog Grille. Of course we also had meals at the classic Wildflower Bread Company and the new Sound Bites Grill, both located within Pinon Pointe, and they were very good as well. We also returned to our favorite Sedona view-dining experience at the Enchantment Resort. This was recommended to us by the Hyatt concierge some years ago and continues to be "a terrific suggestion!" Although about 10 miles outside of the city center (Hyatt Pinon Pointe location) a lunch or sunset dinner at the Enchantment Resort is an experience to relish. There are many other good restaurants - some of which we have visited on previous trips - but there are only so many meals one can consume in 6 days. We have decided that Sedona must have one of the highest number of excellent restaurants per capita of anywhere we have been!

    This was our second stay at Hyatt Pinon Pointe since the last review we posted in 2009. In 2011 we stayed in the 2-bedrrom unit 1211. We invited a friend who stayed in the studio lock-off, 1211A. Unit 1211 is on the lower level, but the 1-bedroom side (1211B) has a beautiful west-facing view. Since 2009, we have also used our Hyatt Vacation Club points for stays at the Hyatt High Sierra Lodge (Incline Village, NV), the Hyatt Grand Aspen (Aspen, CO) and the Hyatt Mountain Lodge (Beaver Creek, CO), as well as for return visits to two of our favorite resorts: the Hyatt Highlands Inn (Carmel, CA) and the Hyatt Sunset Harbor (Key West, FL). We also exchanged into Interval International one year to get three (3!) 2-bedroom units at a World Mark Resort (Clear Lake, CA) for a week-long family reunion. The Hyatt Vacation Club (now called the Hyatt Residence Club) has a point system that is remarkably flexible -- once you learn how to use it! Although, to be honest, one needs a little luck too, and you may need to exhibit a little of your own flexibility as well, in order to best utilize your points. Still, Sedona continues to have an attraction for us and we expect to return here often. "We cannot imagine anyone being disappointed in this resort."

    Our 2009 Review:

    We are owners at this resort (unit 1121) and so you may want to factor that information into this review. We have stayed at Hyatt Pinon Pointe three times, recently using a "split week" Hyatt Vacation Club option, staying the four nights from Jan 19-22 (Mon-Thur) and then the two nights from Jan 25-26 (Sun-Mon). The two nights in between were spent at the Grand Canyon, which is only 2 hours away by car. At the Grand Canyon, we stayed at the El Tovar. That is supposed to be the premier hotel inside the National Park, but pales by comparison to the Hyatt in nearly all respects except historical. (We were very happy to be back at Pinon Pointe before departing for home!) Every time we visit, our experience in Sedona has been exceptional in nearly all aspects.

    Most of the original 90+ ("Phase I") units have been sold, and there was some on-going construction on the remaining 30+ ("Phase II") units. We were generally gone during the day, taking advantage of the excellent hiking and other outdoor activities available in Sedona, so the construction noise did not really bother us. The construction is scheduled for completion in March.

    We stayed in a studio unit both times on this trip, and had some minor problems with our rooms, units 1011A and 922A. The safe did not work in our first room, and an ice tray was missing from our second room. Both were quickly fixed following a phone call to the front desk. The front-desk, concierge, and engineering staff were exceptionally helpful throughout our visit. As one example, the front-desk was very responsive during our check in to get us west- facing views from the balcony (a personal favorite, looking towards Cathedral Rock). The initial tentative room assignment did not have a west-facing view. (Split week room assignments usually pose a challenge!) Unit 1011A was on the lower level with only a few steps to the parking lot, but a good west-facing view. Unit 922A was an upper floor unit, had some steps (36) to climb from the parking lot, but had an equally good view. As another example, the concierge suggested having lunch one day in the lounge at the Enchantment Resort. This was a terrific suggestion! The Enchantment Resort is about 10 miles to the southwest of Sedona center city (Hyatt Pinon Pointe location) but well worth the drive. Nestled in a beautiful setting of Red Rocks, the views from the lounge were incredible. Of course, most views in Sedona are incredible :)

    Undoubtedly we will continue to return to the Hyatt Pinon Pointe on a regular basis, although perhaps not quite annually. We have used our Hyatt Vacation Club points for stays at the Hyatt Highlands Inn (Carmel, CA) and the Hyatt Sunset Harbor (Key West, FL) resorts, and plan to visit other Hyatt resorts in the future. But Sedona is always attractive and has an alluring appeal that keeps bringing us back. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed in this resort.

  • Avatar for guybusy
    By guybusy Jan 15, 2014

    Great resort. Stayed in both older and new units. Both well maintained and furnishings nice, views vary. Downstairs smaller unit can be a bit caverness even with its little patio. Biggest Gripe - The BEDS are awful...they claim that they are Hyatt premiere beds. Too soft. We actually couldn't get sleep and left one night early. Property and amenities were nice. Clubhouse needs some freshening. Timeshare pitch took longer than stated and though not high pressure, included the ... once you're not a buyer we give you the cold shoulder...from the salespeople. Did get coupons for 125.00 off at Pink Jeep tours so was worth the pain.

  • Avatar for harold187
    By harold187 Aug 6, 2010

    Exchanged into a 2 BR lock-off unit. We can't say enough good things about this resort. Wish the pool were a little larger, and had a few more umbrellas but they added all new ones today with brand new umbrella stands. Units are spacious, and well-equipped. Great having access to Starbucks, short distance to grocery stores and most shopping in town. Highly recommend Pink Jeep Tour. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Avatar for davel77
    By davel77 Aug 11, 2009

    We went there with our 17 year old daughter and 20 year old son and my mother in-law. It is a beautiful place, the pool is the gem of the property. Staff are friendly and I like the free breakfast on Mondays and appetizers on Tuesday night, they had sales staff around but they didn't bother you. The had a guy talk Monday morning talking about these wild new-age vortex things in Sedona, on tuesday Paul provided excellent information on the hikes around the area. We went bike riding on the Bell rock trail (very easy and interesting views). We exchanged in and received a 2 bedroom, it was a bit dark but very large and rustic. My kids were a bit bored in Sedona, they don't tend to get up before 10-11 am and by then it is really hot in August. The crowd at the resort tends to either be the retired crowd or parents with younger children (< 10 years old). I'd recommend it though, beautiful views and very clean rooms. Dave

  • Avatar for jamesh62
    By jamesh62 Updated May 5, 2009

    March 2009

    This resort was very nice. The units were great and the property is very well maintained and beautiful. We enjoyed the free activities and entertainment. The exercise room was top notch. We had a wonderful time in Sedona. We did do alot of hiking and saw some beautiful sights. The Pink Jeep tour was lots of fun. The pools and hot tubs were sparking clean. We liked some of the talks that were offered about the area. The flute player was enjoyable. We thought it was everything you can expect from Hyatt. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Avatar for elizabethc129
    By elizabethc129 Apr 14, 2009

    Sedona is so beautiful, everyone should visit it at least once in their lifetime. The positives: The Hyatt is in a prime location. The condo was brand new, and we were among the first to occupy this 2 Bed 2 bath unit. The quality of the condo (construction, furnishings) was excellent, as were the facilities (club house with pool table, ping pong, hot tubs, and pool). This was one of the nicest condo's I have stayed in and it compares in quality to the Grand Mayan (Mayan Palace resorts). The negatives: I would not use the word "resort", as you see too much cement and parking. A few condo's have gorgeous views and many do not. Expect high climbs (stairway) and even low what I would call basement condo's with no view at all. The Hyatt truely lacks in service. We had daility servicing of our condo and paid for this. This is a first in all my travels around the world. The Hyatt maids actually made up my son's bed without any sheets. The gargage was taken out and left outside our doorstep by the maids, for us to walk by for the next 24 hours every day. I prefer a resort that is more "lush" than parking and am guessing that either Sedona has strict building codes, or prefer's to have parking right up to each condo. I like a resort with a separate parking area, and lots of trails and greenery to live around. This is one of the better resorts in Sedona, not the best and a bit disappointing given that this is a new resort and things could have been done in other ways to make this a more beautiful resort than a large condo development project.

  • Avatar for tyrone36
    By tyrone36 Jan 9, 2008

    This resort has it all! The location is perfect, the best in Sedona really. Incredible views. We own unit 1112 which has a perfect view of Cathedral Rock. The concierge service is first rate and the overall feel of the resort is very warm and welcoming. The actvity center is great and the gym is the best I have seen. They even have a mercedes pick you up and shuttle you to the Amara Resort for some pampering at the spa. There is wine tasting at the Pinon Pointe Shops as well as some great restaurants. I have always felt that the only drawback to timeshares is that you usually have to get in your car and drive to see and do things. You have access to everything here within walking distance. And the jeep tour companies pick you up and drop you off right at the door. Convenience is a must and this resort has it!

  • Avatar for marya110
    By marya110 Jun 30, 2007

    We came here for three nights at end of June this year. Beautiful and spacious! Nice decor in unit and good layout. Two bedroom lockoff unit perfect for our family of two adults and four children. We got a special rate as we agreed to attend 90 minute timeshare presentation. Mostly positive but will add a couple of warnings. Second floor unit required going up and down flights of stairs. No restaurant on premises - but excellent food in adjacent shops. We LOVED the Wildflower Bread Company. Our unit was close to dumpsters and were awakened at 6 am two out of three mornings to garbage pickup (not good for selling US a timeshare). Pool and activity center in nice scenic location. Be sure to attend owner's breakfast (even if you are renting) as there is valuable information presented for area activities. Overall, a nice relaxing stay in a beautiful scenic location.

  • Avatar for guinl
    By guinl May 11, 2006

    The best part about this property is the location. It is in the heart of Sedona and within walking distance to town. They also have a set of shops/restaurants in the hotel itself, which is very convenient. Try the Bistro La Bella restaurant in the hotel. The food was great and very reasonably priced. Plus as a guest you get 15% off the food bill when you present their coupon. It's a great deal. The room itself was good, but not luxurious. The large size jacuzzi tub was very enjoyable after a long hike. The town does not have enough to keep us busy for a whole week, but certainly a nice resort for a 3-4 day weekend.

  • Avatar for sean138
    By sean138 Oct 2, 2004

    Very clean, very upgraded, (granite counters, etc) great location in the heart of town. No restaurant on premises, 2 in the new adjacent shopping center. Biggest problem could be parking. The shopping center (strip mall size) isn't done yet, but parking there is tough. So much so that they have complementary valet parking with only about 20 to 30 stores in the whole center. I was there 4 days midweek, end of Sept. 2004, I would imagine parking would be horrific on weekends. Also, only about 1/3 of the units have potential at door parking. In 1/3 of the units, you must go down about 20 stairs from the parking level (no elevator) and the remaining 1/3 are on the same level as parking, but not at door.

    The pool and gym were first class, awesome views. Today, I would give it a 4.5 due to parking, but I am sure they will work to improve that situation

Back to reviews
Resort review