The Reef Resort

East End, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Back to resort

Reviews of The Reef Resort

East End, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

4.7

Out of 5
9 reviews
  • 5

    (14)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (2)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to The Reef Resort lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for carolb107
    By carolb107 Jan 20, 2015

    stayed 2 weeks at christmas 2014 ! awsome resort ! staff very friendly and helpful. grounds very cleaned and maintaned,beach cleaned and groomed daily. had a maintanance issue that was addressed immediately. highly recommend !!!

  • Avatar for hugos9
    By hugos9 Jan 11, 2010

    on the other side of the Island you really have to drive very far

  • Avatar for lawallkt
    By lawallkt Updated May 11, 2008

    Top notch resort -- everything is first class!

  • Avatar for lindak84
    By lindak84 Jun 9, 2007

    We rented at Morritt's next door and bought a unit at the Reef. There's no comparison. It's stunning, comfortable, and the staff is amazing.

    As for restaurants, I would agree, the one at the resort could be better (although they recently added a new chef). Check out Cecil's at Kaibo Yatch Club, or the Lighthouse, both within easy driving distance and excellent.

    We also go to the 7 Mile Beach side for an occassional dinner (The Wharf is terrific), and we spend at least one day shopping in Georgetown, but nothing beats being able to come home to the quiet side of the Island.

    Oh, and there is now shade on the beach -- the ever-responsive staff built shade structures on the beach right near the bar. It truly is heaven!

  • Avatar for reeseb
    By reeseb Mar 1, 2006

    Great place. This is a place to dive and relax. Not much else around the area. After the hurricane, the beach is lacking in shade. The people were great, friendly and helpful. The food at the resort was not great but not much is on the island. The diving is beyond great.

  • Avatar for kevinrs
    By kevinrs Updated Jun 3, 2005

    Because it is so small, it is very uncrowded, we almost always had the pool to ourselves, there was always an open barstool, and kayaks were always available. Parking was a breeze, and the staff couldn not have been friendlier.

    The dive shop in the lobby- Ocean Frontiers, deserves its' high ratings, they were fantastic. We'd wake up early (7:30) go out on a 2-tank dive, be home by noon, and enjoy the pool (to ourselves). We used the complimentary kayak, and the complementary internet.

    The kitchen was fully stocked, we only ate out two meals the whole week this year, the kids (11 and 14) never wanted to leave the resort after coming home from the dive.

  • Avatar for pluskota
    By pluskota Updated Apr 26, 2005

    Beautiful well maintained resort truely on the waters edge! Own multiple Marriott Grand Ocean time-shares and while I loveeee my Marriott Resorts I must say we bought a unit at the Reef while on vacation there and would rate it just as high.

  • Avatar for kltagert
    By kltagert Updated Oct 15, 2003

    Five trips to Grand Cayman and this is the ultimate resort. Peaceful, quiet - yet close enough to town to provide for a relaxing drive. In 13 years as a time share owner/traveller - we've not came across a resort finer than The Royal Reef. And the staff is GREAT..... that's why we're owners now.....

  • Avatar for dmodemd
    By dmodemd Updated Sep 16, 2003

    I have been an owner of this resort since when it was under construction and everything that was promised + more has come true. The real distinction with this resort is it is on the QUIET side of the island away from all the hustle and bustle. If you want active party night life you need to be on 7 mile beach. If you want to have pristine quiet beaches and snorkeling, this is the perfect place. You can explore the surrounding areas, drive into town, or just stay around the resort, walk the beach, snorkel, ride a bike, enjoy the activities, or chill out at the beachside bar. The rooms are immaculate and so incredibly relaxing! You will enjoy immensely.

Back to reviews
Resort review