Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Southside, St. Thomas (USVI)

Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Southside, St. Thomas (USVI)

4.3

Out of 5
35 reviews
  • 5

    (47)

  • 4

    (11)

  • 3

    (6)

  • 2

    (5)

  • 1

    (3)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for susanb533
    By susanb533 Updated Jul 21, 2016

    We just returned from staying in St. Thomas and this beautiful resort last week. The villas are spacious, clean and well supplied. Room service for extra towels, dish soap etc. was slow, they always showed up quickly after I called and let them know it was my second call. The beach is good but be careful, my 7 year old Daughter stepped on a sea urchin, not too fun getting those things out. We never saw the sign that someone said was posted on the beach, there were other victims also. Walk down the middle of the beach and into the water to avoid the little sea creatures. The statement someone posted about the outrageous grocery prices we did not find to be true, I think our candy bar was a $1.50. Shop outside of the marriott for best deals on food though.

    Take the day trip to Virgin Gorda, Baths it's fabulous there, take the Inter Island Ferry, it is $70 per person $50.00 per child, includes immigration fees and all. When you get off the boat, try to be one of the first, because the line through immigration can be a little long and is annoying when you want to get the the Baths and enjoy the amazing water and beach, truly a highlight you won't want to miss! Go to COKI BEACH, awesome snorkeling, yes there has been some issues there. We visited 2 times on our trip it is the most outstanding beach on the island, promise! The locals are very nice and the smoothies there are great! Magens Bay is beautiful too, just no good snorkeling, the food here is decent and reasonably priced. Don't miss St. John and Trunks Bay, again fabulous snorkeling here. This was our 5th visit to the Island, it is our favorite!

  • Avatar for bharatis2
    By bharatis2 Feb 10, 2016

    I love this property and that's why I own here.... this is the first year we can't go visit and I will miss it very much! Looking forward to going next year.

  • Avatar for waynea87
    By waynea87 Updated Jul 27, 2015

    We love this place and return each year. This year we had a MAJOR issue with the cleanliness of the villa. We brought this to the GD attention, who had the matter addressed. We were quite embarrassed with the 4 guests we brought to MARRIOTT for the first time. We still love FRENCHMAN COVE and will return year after year. The view from the villa(s) are paradisiac and makes for sitting on the patio(s) heavenly. Really enjoy this property and the island of St. Thomas itself. See you next year!

  • Avatar for suzanned109
    By suzanned109 Oct 8, 2014

    10th year in St Thomas at Marriott's Frenchman's cove - outstanding!

  • Avatar for janinef14
    By janinef14 Apr 18, 2014

    Just got back from a stay at Frenchman's Cove. I had been there 3 years ago and I forgot how simply spectacular the view is from this resort- took my breath away every morning as I looked out from my balcony with my delicious morning coffee(supplied by resort!). I own here and love it more each time I come! The units are beautifully appointed and perfectly equipped. Every unit faces the ocean with magnificent views. Location is great- close to town and fabulous restaurants. Mafolie was a favorite as it overlooked the entire harbor and food was fabulous! Resort has been kept in impeccable condition. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and plan on coming back many more times!

  • Avatar for dewill
    By dewill Updated Oct 29, 2013

    Marriots Frenchmans Cove, St. Thomas, USVI: Sep. 29-Oct. 6, 2013

    My wife and I visited Frenchmans Cove in the fall of 2013 as an exchange through Interval International. The resort is a wonderful facility with only a couple of minor caveats. Typical of the best Marriotts, this is a large resort that has many buildings and multiple floors. There are elevators in all of the buildings, 2 and 3 bedroom units, all of which face the ocean and the pool. There are 3 levels of buildings built up the side of a rock mountain, and are painted in a multi-hued blend of extremely nice tropical colors on the front and sides, with lots of vegetation attached to the eall faces at the rear where the hallways and doors are. The units are beautifully done with molding, fancy, wide door and a full kitchen with quartz counters and all full appliances. Beds are of the absolute best, with excellent mattresses and fine thread sheets, down pillows and comforters. The views from all of the rooms and 2 balconies (bathrooms excepted) are of the ocean and pool and the lush vegetation. They must have planted 100,000 trees and shrubs, etc. Parking never seemed to be a problem, with some spaces under the building which helps keep cars cooler while parked. One couldnt ask for a much nicer unit. No problems and excellent sign-in/out, great concierge.

    There is a small beach just beyond the pool, which is half infinity. The beach, pool and restaurant are al on ground level, and steps or elevators are available to move from one level to the other. This brings up the only somewhat negative aspects of the resort: 1) the pool, while an estimated 100 feet long is only 3.5 feet deep over the entire area. This is a little too shallow for swimming and immersing, but is probably great for young kids. There are more than enough lounge chairs, some in a couple inches of pool water, and many in the shade, the rows are terraced also. There is also a kiddy pool and one hot tub (which wasnt that hot) and had a low level of circulation; 2) the beach has algae on the bottom over most of the area, but there is a well marked spot at one end that has a clean bottom for entering. There is a long wooden dock at the end as well. Again, there are plenty of lounges, sun or shade, on an extremely soft and clean beach. 3) The restaurant: Small open patio under cover with a bar for sitting. However, the food is just barely palatable and prices high, even for St. Thomas. Not many people ate there. They could sure use an upscale, more romantic restaurant with better atmosphere, food and service. There are many decent restaurants on St. Thomas accessible by car, which is really a must anyway as there are too many other, better, beaches to visit, along with enjoying the spectacular views as you round the many curves on the mountainous island. (Driving is on the left, but cars are reasonable, especially for an island.) Guests have full access to the other Marriot facilities: Frenchmans Reef and Morningstar Beach which are just down the road walking path to the Reef, but preferably driving for Morningstar, although there are shuttles running amongst them and town. They may have better restaurants, and the beach at Morningstar is excellent, with beach bars and all the toys. We only swam there. We also never used the fitness centers at any of the 3 resorts, but they appeared to be fully outfitted and very nice.

    Will be returning to St. Thomas again soon (have been going frequently since getting married and buying our first timeshare there in 1980), and would definitely stay at the Cove again if possible. Everything on the island was the best it has ever been: clean, painted and very friendly. During the time we spent there the tourism is definitely on the slow side, which we like. Several days there were NO cruise ships in, and never more than one. This means easier getting around and parking, although some restaurants do close for October and maybe November. It still makes for a more pleasant time.

    Overall we love the resort and give it a 4.5/5 rating; the pool and restaurant the lowering values.

  • Avatar for stevep186
    By stevep186 Updated Jul 22, 2015

    An outstanding resort - Great for families. Close to town yet with a waterside pool and easy access to Morning Star beach and the Marriott Hotel amenities/spa next door. Frenchman's Cove residents can use the Hotel's facilities but not vice versa! Watch the cruise ships sail by as you sit on your balcony drinking painkillers

  • Avatar for stevenc226
    By stevenc226 Updated Aug 21, 2012

    Just got back from a week at the Cove. We had a wonderful time, the Cove is a great location with outstanding water views. The service was exceptional and the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. The Reef renovations are finished and in keeping with Marriott's high standards. Make sure to rent a car/jeep and explore all that St Thomas and the surrounding islands have to offer. Lots of good shopping, beaches and eating locations. We'll be back time and time again. Can't wait till the next time!

  • Avatar for margiej25
    By margiej25 Feb 17, 2012

    Just finished our week in a 3 bedroom unit,Tortola building. Magnificent views of harbor, beach and pool. Would definitely come again and rent unit on Red Week.com. Could not be better!

  • Avatar for vivians22
    By vivians22 Updated Jan 22, 2012

    We have enjoyed vacationing at the Marriott Frenchmans Cove for four years and love it. The 2bedroom 2 bath condo villas are well appointed with super comfy Marriott bedding! The kitchens are very nice and there are outdoor grills. We also enjoyed the poolside cafe, and the hotel spa. Snorkeling off the beach is good enough! Plus there are lots of excursion boats to take you to fabulous spots. Lots of good restaurants on the island so we have fun finding some of the smaller out of the way places!~ Best advice - rent a car and explore! And be sure to take a boat charter to Virgin Gorda, Jost Van Dyke and the Willy T for a day!

  • Avatar for michellek307
    By michellek307 Jan 3, 2012

    Awesome resort! Great for families or a romantic escape. Resort is close to town, yet secluded enough to enjoy the peace of the islands. Private beach is a plus. Resort also has access to the Larger Marriott Frenchman's Reef and Morningstar resorts.

  • Avatar for vpr147
    By vpr147 Nov 23, 2011

    We stayed here during November 20-27, 2011. This resort is convenient to town. Very friendly staff and clean. The beach is okay but lots of iguanas (huge). The infinity pool is great and plenty of chairs for everyone. Food was expensive but good. The island is beautiful. The view from the room was spectacular looking out over the ocean. You can see the cruise ships coming into and leaving the port. We would definitely return and would stay at this resort. I would definitely try to vacation here in the winter months as November is one of their rainy months. It has rained on and off each day we have been here so far. It can rain very hard at times but if you take cover, it will usually stop after 15 minutes. Great time on the islans.

  • Avatar for davide227
    By davide227 Oct 11, 2010

    Great resort. We own here and love it. The beach in front of the resort is not the greatest but there's great beach access close by. The proximity to town is fantastic as well as to the rest of the island and St John.

  • Avatar for rebecca9
    By rebecca9 Apr 16, 2010

    Family of 5. Stayed Xmas 2009 going back for Xmas 2010. Spacious comfortable condo with beautiful views from every room. Pool located alongside ocean is very relaxing. Kids enjoyed the slide. Took lots of day trips and were always glad to return to the Cove at the end of the day. Food at the pool bar was good and kids enjoyed activities by the pool most days. Went to Aruba for President's weekend- had fun there- but Aruba (on the whole) was disappointing compared to the USVI.

  • Avatar for sharonp129
    By sharonp129 Updated Mar 18, 2010

    We have recently returned from our fourth stay at Frenchman's Cove. The property is wonderful and continues to improve. The new dock will be finished this year. All units face the ocean with breathtaking views. The pool and beach are wonderful with lots of shade. The staff is friendly and helpful. The units are top-notch, like all Marriott properties.

    St. Thomas offers endless opportunities from world-class dining to water sports of all sorts, and of course the shopping can't be beat.

  • Avatar for lim14
    By lim14 Updated Mar 8, 2010

    Recently stayed in St. Thomas and purchased timeshare while visiting - beautiful place to stay, great view in every villa - fabulous Marriott property - Morning star beach excellent place to spend the day within walking distance. Great dining! Great views! Great day trips - this is the place to go in the Carribean - safe and fun!!! Location Location Location - easy from airport, easy to downtown. You will love the sunsets and watching the cruise ships appear from around the cliff as they leave in the evening. Highly recommend!

  • Avatar for kevinz4
    By kevinz4 Feb 27, 2010

    Nice complex - still under construction, but that does not affect much. The rooms are very nice - your typical Marriott Vacation Club timeshare - the timeshare resort itself is lacking a little - we didn't think the menu at Sunset Grill was impressive, there were no wait staff walking around the pool at any time serving - you actually had to go up to the bar and order - not as many activities as other resorts - but with that said, St Thomas is a destination where you go out and experience the beautiful beaches and neighboring islands on day trips - so we understood why there weren't as many activities. We love St Thomas and the very pretty neighboring isalnds - so don't sit by the pool - get out there and experience what the islands have to offer - and not the resort.

  • Avatar for sarahf83
    By sarahf83 Feb 21, 2010

    Had a great trip here. Loved the accommodations, staff and the setting. Close to the airport. Good food at the Sunset Grill. Great view from our room. The pool and beach are fantastic. They had a few fun kids activities a day led by nice staff.

  • Avatar for gaylen9
    By gaylen9 Updated Jan 2, 2010

    Warning: Our safe was broken into at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove. We went out to dinner and the grocery store the night we arrived. We came back & were unable to open our safe. A man from Loss Prevention opened it. $500.00 was missing. The man from Loss Prevention ran a list of the times our room entered with a key. He told us that our room was entered 3 times while we were at dinner and the grocery store. We had receipts showing when we paid for our dinner & groceries. A report was written up & the case was turned over to Marriott's insurance company. We never received a penney back. The insurance company said Marriott was not responsible & that there was no record of anyone entering our room while we were not in it. PLEASE DO NOT USE THE SAFE IF YOU GO TO Marriott's Frenchman's Cove!!!

  • Avatar for jenniferc417
    By jenniferc417 Feb 12, 2009

    This is my family's home away from home. The resort is beautiful the condos are georgeous and each room has a view of the ocean. There is plenty to see and do on the island. Everyone on the island is friendly and welcoming. We visit two times a year. Let me know if you need any recomendations, I would be glad to help.

  • Avatar for vrbanj
    By vrbanj Nov 25, 2008

    We just got back from spending a week at Frenchman's Cove. We own Christmas week as well and are going back next month for that. This was our first stay at the resort although we spent a week 2 years ago at the Marriott Frenchman's Reef Hotel. The unit is very nice with island decor, full kitchen, laundry and lots of space. There is a great view of the pool, beach, and harbor from all units. The complex is still under construction but we were not at all bothered by that. The beach is not large but is sufficient and the water is refreshing. We own many weeks with Marriott and are very happy to have the space and amenities when we go on vacation. It is sooo much better than staying in a hotel room. There is plenty to do if you want to venture out or just enjoy the activities at the resort.

  • Avatar for janet1528
    By janet1528 Apr 13, 2008

    The most beautiful timeshare I have ever stayed at! Beds that you just sink into. Ocean view from all units. Plenty of space, well laid out. Great location!

  • Avatar for yvette28
    By yvette28 Mar 4, 2008

    This resort, although still under construction, is absolutely gorgeous. It sits at a perfect spot on the island. With its own private beach, as well as complete access to the other Marriott properties, it has the best of both worlds. The view of the cruise ships coming in and out of port is breath- taking! The villas are large and comfortable. Loved it!

  • Avatar for paul1557
    By paul1557 Updated Feb 23, 2008

    St. Thomas is clearly the center of action for the Virgin Islands. Frenchman's Cove is located close to shopping and the island was easy for us to navigate. The resort is under construction still, but we were not bothered by it in any meaningful way. The beach at the Cove is not easily accessible for swimming because of a reef, but nice to walk along. There is talk of Marriott trying to remove the reef, but that seems unlikely to happen anytime soon. The pool and children's program were excellent.

    Frenchman's Reef hotel is adjacent to the property and is a full-service hotel with all the amenities one would expect from a large Marriott (restaurants, tour desk, pools, etc.) Morningstar is a part of the property and has a great beach which is available to Cove owners/renters and is an easy walk or there is free shuttle transportation.

    The villas are nicely equipped in typical Marriott fashion with an island theme. Our villa had a beautiful view of Charlotte Amalie and the harbor area and the units have balconies with tables to enjoy the view.

    World-class beaches are a short drive or taxi away. Megan's Bay, the most popular, was beautiful but crowded. We found several other beaches close by that were essentially as nice and practically deserted. The snorkeling is some of the best we've seen and great snorkeling is to be had from many beaches without the need for a tour or any cost incurred.

    Although the taxis are everywhere, we enjoyed the freedom of having our own vehicle. A rental car was easy to get, as long as you don't mind driving on the left side of the road. St. John's is a beautiful, quaint island which is a quick ferry away, and Tortola and Virgin Gorda are easily accessible. The shopping district is about two miles away, and is the shopping is plentiful, but crowded when the cruise ships are in.

    All-in-all, a wonderful experience and it is hard to imagine someone being disappointed in any significant way with the property or the area.

  • Avatar for snehalp
    By snehalp Feb 21, 2008

    Excellent resort. Friendly staff and wide variety of activities at resort. In addition, multitude of amenities at adjacent Marriott hotel and beach resort. Central and convenient access to nearby St. Johns and British Virgin Islands. Breathtaking views from large windows and balconies facing harbor and islands. Sunset directly accross from the resort for spectacular sunsets. Spacious well furnished rooms. Would recommend very strongly.

  • Avatar for donaldm103
    By donaldm103 Updated Dec 13, 2007

    This is one of the great properties that MVCI has. Terrific views of Charlotte Amalie harbor from all villas, pool and beach.

    Excellent dining opportunities close by. Havana Blue is at the Adjacent Marriott Frenchman's Reef hotel and other great restaurants like Herve, The Old Stone Farmhouse, Oceana are a short car or cab ride away. We found cab drivers to be friendly, knowledgable and accessible.

    Boat ride from adjacent Marriott hotel to downtown Charlotte Amalie.

    The beach is fine. Anyone who goes to St. Thomas for a great beach leaves their hotel to go to Magens Bay, etc. anyway.

    Look forward to next trip!

  • Avatar for alang45
    By alang45 Nov 19, 2007

    Great property. Can't wait to go back.

  • Avatar for robertm294
    By robertm294 Jul 31, 2007

    I was there in April and am very happy that I purchased a platinum 3 bedroom unit. I was dissapointed about the beach as the pictures made it look like a beach you could just run into and play with the kids. The coral reef does not make that possible. However, if you are want to snorkel right from your resort, then it is great. There is a safe opening to the left of the old dock which I heard is going to be restored. Once that is completed, you will be able to jump off the end and play on a water tramp. Just passing on what I was told by the GM. I would give 5 stars if the beach was better. Do not let that stop you from buying as you can always go next door if you want to play in the waves.

  • Avatar for jamesh58
    By jamesh58 Jul 22, 2007

    If all you are looking for is a deserted, mile long beach, this may not be the place for you. If you are looking for a first class vacation experience with wonderful amenities and a fantastic view, Frenchman's Cove is right at the top.

  • Avatar for debra89
    By debra89 Jun 4, 2007

    Just visited the resort and it is amazing! The fitness center with steam and sauna just opened as well as the pool grill with 3 large TVs. The rooms are spacious and well decorated. Only 2 buildings are open so the pool and beach were never crowded. In addition, the Marriott hotel nearby had excellent facilities with shuttle service from the Cove.

  • Avatar for ivettec5
    By ivettec5 May 13, 2007

    I really don't know what these people are saying about the beach. St. thomas was just wonderful. The facilities are excellent, the staff was just great and the list can go on. This is just a place you have to experience for yourselves. I would do it all over again!!!!:)

  • Avatar for chuck2527
    By chuck2527 Apr 27, 2007

    Beautiful location and Villa's. However there is no actual beach access(there is a Dead Coral reef blocking the beach)

    The pool in nice, most ammenities ar at the Marriot Reef--next door but not accessable with out taking the hotel shuttle)

  • Avatar for jimf41
    By jimf41 Mar 25, 2007

    I rate it 4 stars only because its still under construction. The beach is beautiful but difficult to swim at because of a coral formation about 10' offshore. The upside is the beach at the adjacent Marriott hotel is gorgeous and about a 7 minute walk. You can't beat the view day or nite from the balconies. I could say a lot about drinking Pina Coladas in the infinity pool at sunset with the cruise ships leaving port but you really have to experience it yourself. Sunsets just don't get much better than that.

  • Avatar for 124peter
    By 124peter Mar 24, 2007

    disappointing beach

  • Avatar for johan34
    By johan34 Updated Jan 13, 2007

    I stayed at the hotel and it was one of the greatest places I have ever stayed at. The resort development looks great and the first face looks amazing. Anyone going to this resort will have A 5 STAR Experience.

Back to reviews
Resort review