Morritt’s Tortuga Seaside

East End, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Back to resort

Reviews of Morritt’s Tortuga Seaside

East End, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

4.3

Out of 5
6 reviews
  • 5

    (6)

  • 4

    (2)

  • 3

    (0)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (1)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Morritt’s Tortuga Seaside lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for lawallkt
    By lawallkt Dec 19, 2012

    We've been owners at Morritt's since 1990 and upgraded to the new Seaside building after hurricane Ivan. This is a great building right on the ocean with excellent views of the beach, dock and sunrises. We just visited in late October and we were impressed with the condition of our unit - was in great shape - happy to see that David's team is keeping the place looking good! The entertainment in the evening is also getting close to what we had in the "old" days - lots of fun and met a ton of nice guests. The SCUBA diving on the east end is world class - once you've been here you will never dive the west side again!

  • Avatar for mike827
    By mike827 Updated Aug 9, 2011

    Was just at the resort December 2010 the week before Christmas. This is an excellent building at an excellent resort. All units are ocean front with a beautiful uncrowded beach. There is excellent snorkeling both under the piers or just out in the water from the beach with live coral, hundreds of fish, and lobsters. There are many very good restaurants nearby including the one on site. If you prefer to prepare your own meals, each unit has a full modern kitchen and there are also BBQ grills outside. There is a small grocery store within walking distance that has every thing you need. The sunrises from your patio are breathtaking.

  • Avatar for deborahz11
    By deborahz11 Updated May 18, 2009

    good review!!!

  • Avatar for rctennant
    By rctennant Updated Oct 29, 2008

    April 2008 Seaside 4th floor, 1BR: Absolutely AMAZING and gorgeous view from the balcony!!! Warm water and great snorkelling right out front. Must have seen 30 lobster and lots of fish life in shallow and very clear water - better than I remembered it from 5 years ago. Diving staff and diving experience was amazing! My wife and I slept on the sleeper sofa and gave our kids the bedroom - the sofa was surprisingly comfortable. Easy and fun walk to the small Foster's grocery and English bakery across the street. Although the resort was said to be full, it felt uncrowded and VERY relaxing. What an awesome experience and can't wait to do it again!

  • Avatar for mummaredweek
    By mummaredweek Updated Apr 21, 2008

    The restaurant is the best part of the resort and it was very good, the best we found. There is still a bit of hurricane damage to be repaired. The GM said recovery has been slower than expected because the insurance has not paid off and that is also why there was a special assessment (but there are no plans to rebate the special assessment when the insurance money is received). The staff is generally friendly but upper management has an attitude. There is no concierge, you are assigned a “Host” who is actually a sales person and does double duty as concierge. Since we bought on the resale market, we were told the ‘host’ couldn’t help us, now discount's or other owner priveleges either, and the sales manager basically shrugged his shoulders implying – that’s the way we do things, if you don’t like it don’t come – so we probably won’t. We got treated better at The Reef next door and we weren’t staying and didn’t buy there. All in all, it is very expensive for what you get particularly if you look at what else is available.

  • Avatar for chris1180
    By chris1180 Nov 24, 2007

    I am here this week (Nov 24th) and stayed in the new Seaside Building. First off, the Seaside is the NEWEST building and now surpasses the GRAND as the best part of the resort. It is brand new and quite nice. I was in a 1BR/1BA unit that sleeps 4. All tile floors, all white kitchen, dishwasher. Yellow walls with brown wicker furniture. Pull out couch is relatively comfortable and bed in master seemed like a king unit. Building has elevator and is 5 stories- all concrete. Only one building now and sounds like second building will be started in early 2008. I've been in the GRAND units and this is nicer and newer. It goes by Seaside or the 1 building is called the Wembley Building (named after the stadium).

    Highly reccomend this part of the Morritts....again, over the MORRITTS GRAND or REEF.

Back to reviews
Resort review