Casa Dorada at Medano Beach

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Back to resort

Reviews of Casa Dorada at Medano Beach

Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

4.5

Out of 5
11 reviews
  • 5

    (18)

  • 4

    (6)

  • 3

    (3)

  • 2

    (1)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Casa Dorada at Medano Beach lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for michellef361
    By michellef361 Oct 21, 2015

    We have been staying at Casa Dorada for 7 years now and love every minute of it. I travel with kids (teens now) and feel extremely safe. The hotel is within walking distance of town with great shopping and fantastic restaurants. The hotel does not allow "spring breakers" which keeps the resort family friendly. All water activities are right on the beach (which so happens to be the only swimmable beach in Cabo) so a no brainer when it comes to water sports. Stay and enjoy!

  • Avatar for jakew15
    By jakew15 Aug 28, 2012

    I have been traveling to Cabo for 18 years and Casa Dorada is one of the best Resorts in the area. I spent 1 week split between 2 Pueblo Bonita resorts (not very nice accommodations, very timesharish) and while we were there they were building this resort. We did the tour and meet the management team, then ended up buying a Penthouse on a fixed week. It was our honeymoon and we wanted a place we could bring our family year after year and enjoy the excitement of being on the bay, but having a luxury resort to stay at. Well we have been occupying our week for 4 years now and every year it gets better, the resort gets better and the experience is better.

    First off you can't get a better location, you have access to everything by foot or if you want you can get a taxi (not needed for much). But we mainly spend our time in our Penthouse (its beautiful) or on the beach in one of the many cabanas (that are free to guests). The restaurant 9-tribes is great and the absolute best restaurant in Cabo, Ediths, is right next door. Plus you have all the party spots on the beach right in front of the hotel, so its always very alive and energizing. If you looking for a romantic and quiet resort this is not it. But if you are looking for a 5-star resort that promotes fun, family & relaxation, Casa Dorada is the place for you.

  • Avatar for robertc376
    By robertc376 Updated Jun 3, 2012

    Just recently stayed here for a week, paid for two bedroom, which was very clean, beautiful room. The views from balcony are very limited, you won't be seeing the beautiful famous Arches from your room, but do see the ocean. However, there are local businesses right in front of your view below your room, they are noisy in early mornings. I felt the staff was generally nice, however, the hotel will rip you off on the small stuff , they are not customer focused :) For example, I paid $18.00 for taxi at the hotel desk upon the hotels recommendation, for hotel to airport. However, when cab arrived (late), hotel comes back to me at says its now $70 USD for cab. I even talked to Front Desk Manager, who could care less, did nothing for me, and lied directly at me. Keep in mind, I just stayed there for a week, eating at their restaurants, spending daily on drinks, etc... I had to pay the difference at last minute when trying to rush to airport. I loved the pool, its very nice, beautiful, however they have very limited umbrellas, and guest were leaving their books on lounge chairs having best views and leaving pool area for hours at a time. I approached the pool service staff twice about this, who listen to me, but they did nothing :), why ??? So, if you wanting to go to a place to enjoy the pool and relax - forget staying at this place!!!! You will see lounge chairs with books, etc, and no people all day - not enjoyable time at the pool. I travel to Cabo a few times a year, love it there, there are many nicer , higher quality, better priced resort/hotels to stay in same area that care about service and its guest. I don't recommend you staying at the Casa Dorada.

  • Avatar for marshallr12
    By marshallr12 Feb 28, 2011

    After visiting and staying at other resorts in Cabo there is no question that Casa Dorada is the best we have found.

    For returning visitors to Cabo and for those that have never been there before it just doesn't get any better than Casa Dorada Medano Beach! We will definitely be going back!

    Would highly reccommend! Casa Dorada Medano Beach "Best In Class"

  • Avatar for summyrwidmann
    By summyrwidmann Jan 18, 2011

    The perfect location on Medano Beach (the only swimmable beach) and very close 10 min walking distance to downtown, shopping and restaurants. Almost every room at Casa Dorada has an incredible view of the famous Lands End. The rooms are very modern, spacious and well appointed with granite counters, stainless appliances and contemporary fixtures. The penthouse suites are amazing - from the private hot tub, full sized kitchen, huge terraces, washer/dryer and huge terraces, they are really stunning! The one bedroom units are also equally as nice and perfect for a couple or family of 4.

    The resort has a really nice layout. The moment you walk into the Lobby, you can see the spectacular view! The pools area is perfect for lounging all day, comfortable chairs and loungers. The swim up bar offers a great happy hour! Excellent and honest staff (accidentally left valuables/cash by the pool overnight and they we returned to me untouched). We spend most of the time on the beach. Love those comfy beach bed cabanas and watching the action. The beach service is very attentive, great food and drinks. The spa / workout area is quite deluxe, enjoyed the jacuzzi, steam room and gym - very clean and fancy. My daughter loved the kids club - lots of fun activities and great staff. Ended up getting a babysitter from the kids club - a little spendy but worth it to have such a reliable/ trustworthy sitter. Overall Casa Dorada offers a cut above the rest of the Medano resorts. Perfect for couples, girls getaways or families. A very modern/luxurious resort in the perfect location!

  • Avatar for scottw318
    By scottw318 Updated May 13, 2015

    Newest Hotel on the beach. Two-bedroom suites are very spacious and look over the ocean. We have been there every year since it opened. Very clean and centrally-located to all the fun!

  • Avatar for barbih2
    By barbih2 May 13, 2010

    We love Casa Dorada. We were hanging out on Medano beach every day during our August 2009 vacation and took the timeshare tour at this hotel. They put us in a 1 BR unit as incentive to hear the timeshare pitch. We LOVED it. The units are clean and modern. Daily Maid Service which is rare in timeshares. Pool was great with a swim up bar. The beach is literally steps away. It is close to shopping and restaurants. The PERFECT spot. We purchased and will be back in July.

  • Avatar for ilanab3
    By ilanab3 Feb 2, 2010

    We stayed in Sept 2009 with our 3 year old, and another couple with a 3 year old and one year old (2 bedroom) The place was AMAZING! Unfortunately at the time we visited, the kids pool and the pool with the swim up bar were closed for renovation; however, due to the view and proximity to town, this didn't bother us that much (even with the jackhammer). The kids club is good if you want to drop your kids off for awhile to have dinner or just lay out by the pool. It's free and sufficient, you just have to stay on property. The rooms are fabulous and have a magnificant view of the arch. I imagine it would be hard not to enjoy this place....

  • Avatar for mel202
    By mel202 Mar 31, 2009

    We just spent two weeks at this Resort with our two young children 7 and 10. We purchased our 2 bedroom in March of 2008 and were concerned about the noise from the beach area which was never a concern. It was a little noisy around 4pm when the bar on the beach had its little competitions going but it was not really that bad and after the first week you did not even notice it. The staff at the Resort were great coming around the pool and asking us for input on the music that we would like to hear, bringing cold towels and we never had an issue getting a good loung chair or seat around the pool anytime of day. The loung chairs and beds were at most times avaialable and the service was good with the people selling things respecting the roped off area. The Ocean was absolutely magnificent to swim in. We ate a little around the pool but for the most part either cooked in our room or walked within 10 minutes of the Resort which included more restaurants than we could mention with everything and anything that you can think of. The Resort will need to make their prices much more attractive with the food and drinks to get us to eat there because we have so many options for much less outside the Resort but the food we did have was excellent. We never had any issues with noise at night or really even during the day. Any young people were very respective of the other people staying at the Resort and perhaps security assisted to make certain this happened.

    Not because we own at this property but I have spent 7 years going to Cabo and I personally think this property is the best in the area because of its location, security and they did not cheap out on the loung chairs or furntiure in the rooms.

    If we could have we would have stayed another month or two but all good things come to an end and we are looking forward to next year. To the staff at Casa Dorada Medano Beach well done and please keep improving and dont let a good thing change. Cheers

  • Avatar for steves529
    By steves529 Jun 26, 2008

    Ok, so here is a resort that seems to have thought of it all. I happen to be from the U.S. (as most visitors here are) and they have staffed this resort with "well spoken" English language employees.

    The swim up bar is a "God Send." You get great sun there in the morning and a little shade if the late afternoon if you need it. The room are fabulous and just a short jaunt to the pool. Staff are friendly and not pushy. The concierge actually does what they're are supposed to do, HELP...

    Beach Access with a "ROPED OFF AREA" to prevent those peskie people who try and sell you things.

    The Marina is just a quick jaunt away or $6.00 for a cab (don't pay any more, some will try). Lots of night life and folks just having a good time. Quiet area's and the view is to die for.

    FYI... We had a "diabetic incident" and had to goto the local hospital "Code 3" in a 1971 Ford Econo-line Van/Ambulance... The Medic's couldn't speak English, but the hospital did. The treatment was good, all things considered. They made you pay your bill before you left, but they took pretty good care of us considering. Kudo's to all involved!

  • Avatar for joeb378
    By joeb378 Mar 29, 2008

    We were there for Spring Break and the rooms here are WONDERFUL!! They are spacious, comfortable and the view in our room was breathtaking!! Being brand new there are a few things they are working on but overall staff was very accomodating and helpful and resort is A+++.

Back to reviews
Resort review