Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina Villas

Lahaina, Hawaii

4.3

Out of 5
25 reviews
  • 5

    (39)

  • 4

    (10)

  • 3

    (5)

  • 2

    (4)

  • 1

    (2)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club - Lahaina Villas lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for margaretm353
    By margaretm353 Updated Feb 19, 2016

    This resort is the Best of the Best! The location is perfect as we can walk everywhere- onsite activities, pools, restaurants, grills, Great Lawn- to throw a ball, or to play Bocce. Ocean Activities center on site- scuba certification, surfing lessons. Short walk to many other restaurants and activities- banana boat and wave runners, along with shopping at Whalers Village and snorkeling at Black Rock. The units have gorgeous full ocean front views from all rooms. There are full kitchens, washer/ dryers in the unit, and multiple lanias. The sunsets from this resort are breathtaking. The grills are very high quality. The staff does everything to accommodate all guests. Great for couples, families of all ages.

  • Avatar for cays2
    By cays2 Oct 11, 2015

    Whether you select the original Marriott Maui Ocean Club or the newer Lahaina or Napili Towers, you can't go wrong! We visit every year and have enjoyed each tower. Details are below.

    For a full panoramic view of the ocean, sunset, whales and other Hawaiian Islands, select an ocean FRONT unit. Sleep to the soothing sound of waves below you.

    The original Molokai, Lanai and Maui buildings (Marriott Maui Ocean Club) have larger bedrooms, plus a full bath, tropical fan and flatscreen TV in every room, e.g., a 2-bedroom suite (2/3) includes a living/dining central room, totaling 3 rooms with a full bath and TV in all 3 rooms. A 1- bedroom unit (1/2) has a large master bedroom + the living/dining/ kitchenette room, for a total of 2 full baths. A studio (0/1) is the 2nd bedroom, guest/lock-out unit that has a full bath and its own kitchenette area (dishwasher, stainless sink, microwave, under-counter fridge, toaster, coffee maker, blender, etc.). All units have lanais (balconies) off each room. The lush 3.5 acre super pool sits in the middle of these 3 buildings. Free large laundry area is near the pool.

    The newer Lahaina & Napili Towers have full kitchens featuring granite counters, full-size stainless appliances (large fridge/freezer, stove with oven, microwave, dishwasher), fully equipped to cook & eat. A washer & dryer, plus a 3-section master suite (jacuzzi, 2 vanity areas, rain head ceramic/glass shower, and master king bedroom) is in each 1 and 2-bedroom villa. A studio 2nd bedroom lockout (0/1) features its own granite kitchenette with microwave, small fridge, stainless sink, stocked upper and lower cabinets. Each tower has relaxing tropical pools meandering below with hot tubs and lush green lawns for games or lounging under thatched roofs or palm trees.

    On site oceanfront STARBUCKS, restaurant, carry-out food, pool bars, spa, tennis courts, playground, workout circuit & modern fitness center. World-class golf courses nearby (two behind the resort). FREE offerings include: DVD rentals, movie nights under the stars, popcorn, shave-ice, daily children activities, game nights, pool activities/lessons, laundry and more.

    Bottomless, unlimited-refill mugs can be purchased for coffee, soda, juices (pineapple, mango, apple, lemonaide, etc.), tea & ice water during your entire stay.

    An ocean-side boardwalk leads to nearby Whaler's Village with wonderful restaurants and shopping. Don't miss the Whaling Museum on the top floor! Some of Hawaii's best snorkeling is at Black Rock, also along the Ka'anapali Beach boardwalk.

    Great for couples, families, groups of friends. Truly paradise!

  • Avatar for deborahw185
    By deborahw185 Jan 4, 2013

    We just spent Christmas with my family celebrating my brothers BIG birthday. Our room, view were just great. We had an Oceanview. The owner we worked with was wonderful. We saw lots of whales. Overall, had a excellent time. Would highly recommend staying at this resort.

  • Avatar for katherinek72
    By katherinek72 Dec 30, 2012

    Amazing property! Beautiful -well kept -great Value! Maui at its Best!

  • Avatar for stephaniem139
    By stephaniem139 Jul 25, 2012

    Absolutely beautiful location. We bought a week from an owner and received a 3 bedroom unit on the 8th floor. Views are breathtaking. Had great access to beach with snorkeling and wonderful beginning surf lessons. Wasn't "wowed" by the food at LongBoards but there are several options right down the beach walk. We enjoyed dinner at HulaGrill. Wonderful restful location.

  • Avatar for ron1031
    By ron1031 Sep 27, 2010

    We love this resort! We stayed in a two bedroom at the Lahaina tower, with the full size kitchen and large living room, the room was perfect. What a great location, with rooms large enough for any family. The main pool is still allowing people to save chairs in the morning, this needs to be stopped and the resort will benefit by selling more for and beverage all day. There is enough chairs, just to many people saving a spot for later. Overall a small problem to have when in paradise! Marriott is the best at the small things, water always in the coolers and the resort is spotless.

  • Avatar for scottl206
    By scottl206 Sep 9, 2010

    This is one of the best locations in Maui, along the Lahaina coast. There are plenty of places to walk for food. Good beginner surf out front of the resort with lessons and boards to rent. A short walk up the beach to “black rocks” to snorkel with turtles and jump off the rocks. Safe and friendly location with a fun pirate ship in the kids pool.

  • Avatar for kallak
    By kallak Updated Jun 30, 2010

    We own here in a fixed week oceanfront, and we love it! Our family looks forward all year to our time in Maui in this upscale condo with fabulous views of neighbor islands, beach, surf, pool. Anyone who owns or rents here will not be disappointed. It's tops.

  • Avatar for roberts1152
    By roberts1152 Jun 21, 2010

    Excellent for families.

  • Avatar for ginnysavage2
    By ginnysavage2 Mar 31, 2010

    We stayed in a one-bedroom/one-bathroom unit in the Lahaina Villas and LOVED it! Great living room, full kitchen with washer/dryer and great master bedroom!

  • Avatar for bartm16
    By bartm16 Jan 8, 2010

    We were in the Lahaina Tower in Aug. (4 adults and 5 teenagers ) Everyone had a BLAST The views, the closeness to a great pool and the beach ,loads of other kids their age, it was perfect. We bought a lot of groceries in town and did most of our own cooking The out side BBQ was easy to use with out any waiting. We found the pool bars to be very comfortable and sometimes hard to leave. The nearby town was a great little beach town where you could let the kids explore for a couple of hours on their own. Don't miss the magic show in town (Warren and Annabelle) or a chance to take in a luau. We wish it could have been longer than a week. One of the kids now wants to live in Maui and we are from Massachusetts. Don't miss a chance to go if you can swing it. It is like a beautiful Carribean island with great infra structure

  • Avatar for barbarak156
    By barbarak156 Nov 28, 2009

    We just returned from our week at the Lahaina Villas. This was our first time using the timeshare even though we bought it in 2008. We were absolutely thrilled with it! Everything is very high end -- great beds, linens, kitchen, laundry, bathrooms -- and we loved the shady, grassy area between the pool and the ocean. We own a 2/2 Mountain view unit.

    We had originally booked for September but had to change our date to November, and by that time, there were only 2 units available for the rest of the year, so we had to take what we could get. We were offered a non-lock off unit, which I thought might be "the leftovers" but we took it anyway. It could not have been nicer! It didn't have the entry way that the lock off units have, but who cares? We had a view of both the ocean and the mountains. The unit directly above ours is considered "ocean view." We walked from room to room just marveling at this paradise.

    We had drinks and appetizers at Longboards twice -- the food was excellent and so were the mai tai's. We went over to the main pool a few times to watch the world series at the bar and slide down the water slide like a bunch of kids. We walked to Black Rock three times for snorkeling (rented the gear from the Marriott beach kiosk on the way). Used the BBQ's several times -- they were also super high end and clean.

    We are so happy we bought here and can't wait to go back in 2010.

  • Avatar for rickc167
    By rickc167 Updated Jun 21, 2009

    Just returned from first visit to Hawaii. Stayed for 2 weeks in Maui; first week at Marriott Ocean Club, second week at Westin Ocean Villas. I'll use a comparison as a review and a 1-10 rating.

    Location: TIE (8) = 2 miles seperate the two properties and each have advantageous locations

    Room: Westin (9) = occupied the single best unit at the Westin (2631/2630=top floor ocean front new building w/ largest balony) GET THIS ROOM if you can; at Marriott (6)stayed in Lanai (older converted hotel) 2 bed/3 bath...OK, but missed a full kitchen; If we had a new room at Marriott, I've a feeling that Westin would have lost out overall.

    Grounds: Marriott (10) = Gorgeous park-like setting...stunning/lots of private areas around the pool with high-end umbrellas; Westin (7) was nice but felt like a resort...Westin pool chairs are so close you have NO privacy and there are very few chickies for which you have to hunt or go down at 730AM to attain

    Outdoor grills: Marriott (10) = New VERY high end granite surrounded outdoor grills that are numerous and conveniently located-probably cost over $10K for each pair. Westin (7) nice, but more like a built in outdoor home type gas grill as opposed to Marriotts professional grade

    Beach: Marriott (7) = The beach directly at Marriott is nice, but further down toward Sheraton it is very nice; Westin (5) = Nice to look at but unusable due coral. [As reference, we've traveled extensively throughout the carribean and typically vacation in Aruba which would score a (10) for beach quality]

    Luxury feeling: Westin (8) High end products and service abound-nothing feels cheap except the beach towels; Marriott (7)...felt like a Marriott.

    Service (front desk/restaurants/shops/bellman/valet): Westin (9) = VERY professional upscale service; very responsive. Marriott (7) felt like a Marriott.

    Housekeeping: Westin/Marriott (4). Both resorts have subpar housekeeping standards. Each have a 1 time per week cleaning; When the sofa bed was opened the previous occupants bedding was still in place and very unkempt; Marriott had mold on the shower curtain and between some shower tiles; Westin had hairballs on shower floor; Westin housekeeping made the bed and left some toiletries...no towels replaced, nothing else done. Very disappointed with housekeeping at both properties and both felt somewhat dirty. Would not purchase from either for this fact alone. Our timeshare in Aruba (CLBR) has housekeeping 6 days per week and on the 7th day (Sunday) towels are replaced...and costs far less (albeit a somewhat older property) than either of these properties but still maintains a far superior beach with great service.

    Recap. We had a nice time at both resorts and would probably return, but Maui would not be our first choice for destination.

  • Avatar for charm4
    By charm4 Updated Jun 15, 2009

    We really enjoyed the extra space that these condos have with the full kitchen, washer & dryers. The outside bbq area came in really handy. Found the new pool area smaller than the main pool, but some really enjoy the quieter side, great larger lawn area with loungers. Staying here was great & you still get to enjoy the main pool & all the restaurants. Great location!

  • Avatar for robl44
    By robl44 Feb 8, 2009

    My family stayed in a 2 bed suite at the top of the lahaina towers in the first weeks of January. We had 4 adults, and the 2 kids slept on the foldout couch. The amount of space was simply awesome when when we arrived. Rooms are spacious, 3 large flat panel TV's with DVD's, free WIFI, balconys. The views are unmatched, only 50 feet from the water, and islands in front of us. We saw whales almost every day from our room - if you come that time of year, don't forget your binoculars. While it is an incredible place for adults, it is even better with kids because of the 10 pools and beaches. You don't need to leave the parking garage except to pick up food. Gigantic kitchen, BBQ's next to the pools, we had the best food making it by ourselves. I can't comment on the restaurants there, or breakfast, as we cooked at the condo most of the time. But a 10 minute walk brings you to tens of restaurants, malls, shopping, whalers village and 15 minutes gets you to black rock, the best simple snorkeling in Maui - tons of fish and easy for young kids. They don't stock things like cooking oil, spices other than salt and pepper, so you want to find a way to bring that. But we loved cooking at the gas BBQ's, meeting the other guests, and letting kids play with other kids.

  • Avatar for amyc169
    By amyc169 Oct 20, 2008

    WE LOVE IT HERE AND KEEP COMING BACK. OUR KIDS LOVE THE MAIN POOL AND EVEN USED THE SMALLER POOL OVER AT THE LAHAINA TOWERS WHEN THEY WANTED SOME MORE RELAXED DOWNTIME AND SOME SHADE!! WE HAVE BEEN TO MAUI MANY TIMES AND HAVE STAYED AT A FEW DIFFERENT PLACES... BUT NONE EVEN COMPARE. IF WE CAN'T GET A 2 WEEK STAY HERE AT THE MARRIOTT, WE DON'T COME TO MAUI UNTIL WE DO!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THE POOL STAFF AND MOST OF THEM HAVE BEEN THERE FOR A GOOD WHILE SO IT IS NICE COMING BACK TO SEE THEM EVERY YEAR!

    THE ROOMS ARE CLEAN AND SPACIOUS AND SO UPDATED! AWESOME VIEWS TOO.

    WE JUST LOVE IT HERE!

  • Avatar for lauraj78
    By lauraj78 Updated Aug 29, 2008

    I stayed here August 2008. The rooms are beautiful/large and most have a waterview 5*. You share all of the "resort" amenities with the Marriott and some of them need updating. The Lahaina Villas pool is smaller than the main resort pool, but itdoesn't get as crowded as the main pool where they reserve chairs by the crack of dawn. The marriott doesn't have a breakfast restaurant (except a buffet on Saturday & Sunday). They do have a "cafeteria" "fast food" style restaurant that you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner at, but you feel like you are at a Walmart and not an upscale resort. It's also over by the main pool and not close to Lahaina Villas.The lobby of the Marriott needs updating badly and the only bar they have is the pool bar at the "main pool" which has no tables. Your only choice is to sit arround the bar, which is dirty and the service is bad. Longboards restaurant is very good. They have a small casual bar "area", that only has room for about 4 groups of people. You sit on chairs that look like surfboards in the sand. If you want to go to a nice bar or a bar that is larger you need to go to one at a different resort. This resort needs more restaurants and bars.

  • Avatar for bill186
    By bill186 Jul 8, 2008

    The units are excellent, however the pool lacks the size and design of the main pool which sends many residents there. There is no onsite food/beverage service by the Lahaina pool so the service personnel must come from the main pool area which slows service. Also be very careful as Marriott has sold the two bedroom units as a "lock-off" units but in reality, many do not have that feature and may not be available. They say it is rare but it happened to me twice in a row now.

  • Avatar for dejak
    By dejak Mar 30, 2008

    My family and I spent a week (Mar. 22 - 29, 2008) at the new tower and very much enjoyed every minute of it. Our 3 bedroom ocean front unit was amazing, with breath taking views of Lanai and Molokai. The unit was very comfortable, clean, beautiful and spacious. We also had a view of the pool area that was perfectly designed for small children in mind. Very kid friendly. It was great. The staff there were very helpful. It was truly a perfect family vacation, and we look forward to returning to this wonderful place every year.

  • Avatar for lauras187
    By lauras187 Mar 21, 2008

    WONDERFUL PROPERTY....HERE DURING EASTER, 2008 AND 2009 AND REGARDING THE CONCERN ABOUT THE OVERCROWDING OF THE BEACH WALK, NOT TO WORRY. THE FOOD IS GREAT, EVEN AT 100% OCCUPANCY, NEVER A WAIT AND EVERYTHING KEEPS GETTING BETTER...THE STAFF HAS BEEN THE SAME AND THEY ARE ALWAYS AIMING TO PLEASE.

  • Avatar for rickh103
    By rickh103 Updated Feb 2, 2008

    This is the very best property in the Marriott chain for timeshares and a great new property. We loved the new Lahaina Villas. Very plush and first rate all around.

  • Avatar for mauricec11
    By mauricec11 Jan 9, 2008

    This is the Best of the Best on Maui ....love the full kitchen with granate countertops, the s.steel appliances and the layout of the units. The flat screen TVs are great. The security of this building is the best on the island.

  • Avatar for davidg194
    By davidg194 Updated Jan 6, 2008

    The new Lahaina Tower is the best of all the Marriott Hawaii resorts, and the location of Napili Tower (currently being built) will be even better. The only thing that could be better is to have a larger lanai.

  • Avatar for toddm85
    By toddm85 Aug 25, 2007

    Awesome property!!!! Great Beach!!! If you want the best..... this is it!

  • Avatar for bills243
    By bills243 May 2, 2007

    I was there 4/21/07-4/28/07 and it was excellent.

    I am concerned about pool overcrowding and the Beach Walk Cafe being overcrowded when the new tower opens 6/29/07.

Back to reviews
Resort review