Back to resort

Reviews of Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u

Lihue, Hawaii

4.2

Out of 5
10 reviews
  • 5

    (9)

  • 4

    (5)

  • 3

    (5)

  • 2

    (0)

  • 1

    (0)

  • Resort location
  • Staff/Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Sleep comfort
Show detailed review

Have you been to Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u lately?

Reviews

  • Avatar for andyb86
    By andyb86 Updated Jul 8, 2015

    Having visited Marriott properties around the world, this is the best we have ever experienced. The location on Kalapaki Bay is sensational with both ocean and golf course views from the same lanai. Because we like privacy, this location and property is the best (maybe next to Frenchman's Cove in Jamaica). The sub-zero appliances in kitchen are great (we don't even have them at home) and the washer/dryer was perfect for our family use. We look forward to our next relaxing trip to Kauai. p.s. KATHY - There is also a Frenchman's Cove in Jamaica.

  • Avatar for kathyw84
    By kathyw84 Updated Nov 10, 2014

    Just so andyb86 knows and the rest of you are not misled, Frenchman's Cove is in St. Thomas, NOT Jamaica! Kauai Lagoons IS a beautiful property, but Maui Marriott Ocean Club, Marriott Kauai Beach Club, Marriott Waiohai on Kauai, and Crystal Shores on Marco Island, FL have better (magnificent) views in our opinion. We own at the Hawaii properties - all oceanfront views - and have stayed in an oceanfront villa at Crystal Shores. Kauai Lagoons IS gorgeous with very nicely done interiors, but we prefer the views at the others. We also believe Lagoons is overpriced, but we did trade into a three-bedroom unit and loved it.

  • Avatar for dustinh21
    By dustinh21 Mar 13, 2013

    We are points owners. We visited this resort in February of this year (2013) and enjoyed it very much. We loved the location, the rooms were awesome (3 bd 3 bath), and the views were great. We learned a trick in order to use the pools at the other marriott resort, which made the trip worth it. Had we not done that we might not have had as much fun. The golf was really good, and the help from the staff was good. We'll go back here very soon.

  • Avatar for owenc12
    By owenc12 Apr 11, 2012

    Stayed at property on Spring Break 2012 (3/30 - 4/6) with party of 2 grandparents, 2 parents, and three children (7, 11, 13). This same grouping had stayed at Maui Ocean Club over the same period in 2010, and considered this property to be vastly superior overall to the Maui Property. That must be put in context ... this is not a full featured resort. Unlike Maui, it does not have a restaurant, multiple pools, a spa, an on-site beach, or an ocean shopping walk. But ... because there are only slightly over 70 villas, it is not noisy, crowded, you do not have to scramble for pool lounges or grills, and the smaller number of guests gives it a family feel and much more social atmosphere. We considered our view of the golf course and bay to be spectacular, and were not at all bothered by airplanes, helicopters, or mosquitos. Restaurants and beach facilities are readily available at the nearby Marriott Kauai Ocean Club. As previously noted, the location has better access to all parts of the island than either Poipu or Princeville, and is close to both shopping (think Costco and Walmart) and medical facilities. My only complaint is it required almost 2 weeks of NCV points to get one week at Lagoons. We can't wait to go back!

  • Avatar for laural99
    By laural99 Feb 4, 2012

    Our extended family of 8 stayed here from Jan 4th thru the 10th and we did not want to leave. This was by far the most comfortable and clean condo we have ever stayed in. Top of the line appliances and high end decor. The beds were very comfortable as was the sofa bed. Staff were super accomodating and quick to respond if we had questions. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a home away from home, this is your place. We had 3 couples and 2 teenagers in this room with plenty of space for everyone. The lanai was to die for, with windows opening to a full panormaic view of the ocean and mountains. As for those who posted about the airport, the entire stay we were there we heard 2 planes and a couple of helicopters. Totally no big deal, it was actually neat to see. Mosquitoes were all over the island, not just near the lagoons. We bought a citronella candle and put it in the lanai. We never had a problem with mosquitoes inside our rooms. The location is central to going anywhere..Poipu, north shore, and the Canyon. It never took us more than 40 minutes to get to where we wanted to go.

    This is definitely not a resort, but that is why it is such a peaceful stay. We loved it so much we booked a return trip for May. We are not owners but book through their Marriott Reward Specials on Marriott.com. Kauai Lagoons is the place to stay!

  • Avatar for randyh160
    By randyh160 Updated Jan 5, 2012

    We recently stayed in a 3br/3ba unit in building "B" at Marriott Kauai Lagoons. We are not owners, but rented a week on RedWeek for a good price. This property is a hard one to review actually because there are some definate "Pros" but also some "Cons" as well. Most of the "Cons" aren't really anything Marriott can rectify however.

    On the positive side, the rooms are very nice, pretty much brand new, with great kitchens (granite counters and sub-zero appliances etc.), flat-screens and blue-rays in every room. Some of the furniture that was chosen didn't exactly have small children in mind however, for example the coffee table which was a huge inverted pyramid thing with quite sharp pointed metal corners, exactly the type of thing you would child-proof at home with toddlers. Also, it would be nice to have some kind of better locking mechanism or safety latch on the accordian-style doors to the balcony. Our 2.5 yr-old was able to open the locked door and go out to the 3rd floor balcony by himself. Aside from these toddler-proofing safety concerns, the rooms were outstanding.

    Also nice was the fact that it didn't seem like many people were staying there, because everytime we used the pool, we were either the only ones using it, or perhaps one other family. It was a welcome change from having to jockey for poolside chairs at other more crowded resorts.

    Now, some concerns about the service. First I guess it should be stated that this property is still being fully completed with building "C" not open yet (as of 10/2011). However, the staff is so minimal it is laughable. There is no bell-hop service at all. We pulled up in our rental car with all the luggage that a toddler and 2 adults bring and when I asked for luggage assistance I was pointed toward a luggage cart and told "go ahead you can use it", not exactly my idea of a supposedly high-end resort. There are NO facilities on property, no market, no restaurants, no kids activities, nothing. Just a swimming pool and a shuttle bus which will take you down to the Marriott Kauai Beach Club, however, they are quick to point out that you are not allowed to use their swimming pool or beach chairs, but they will be happy to let you sign Kauai Beach Club food/bev charges to your Lagoons room (they say this like its some kind of great benefit for you).

    The real problem with this "resort" is the location. Probably one must understand the history of the whole Kauai Lagoons master project plan as a backdrop. Basically, from what I understand it has been a financial disaster that someone has taken a real bath on. I think Marriott snapped up this Kauai Lagoons parcel for a good price and is trying to make the best of it (I believe they were originally slated to be Ritz-Carlton residences). The problem is, the idea of having these man-made lagoons with boats cruising along the waterways to shops, restaurants and residences has become a far-fetched farce that is years and years away from being realized, if ever. What it is at the moment however, is just man-made swamps that are a mosquito paradise that will eat you alive if you dont take precautions.

    There is no beach access from the property, only a shuttle to the Marriott Kauai Beach Club beach (but stay off their chairs and out of their pool!), and the views aren't that great. Right in front of the property are custom residential lots for future resale, with PVC pipes all over them, and just beyond that is the skeleton of an abandoned Ritz-Carlton hotel, literally two stories built and now just abandoned, its looks just awful and Marriott could at least paint some shade of green all the stark white pillars so as to make it more blend into the background. As it is now, it looks like a bombed out building from WWII or something. And just beyond that is the port where container ships come in/out. Our 2.5 yr old loved seeing the "big boats", but we found it odd to have a resort view of loading/offloading container ships in the background.

    And then there is of course the proximity to Lihue airport, literally a stones throw. Now, I must say it wasn't a big deal to us (other reviewers had more issues with this) because our 2.5 yr old son was excited everytime a helicopter flew overahead, which is quite literally every few minutes at times. It is true the helicopters take off and fly directly over the hotel on their route, and they are noisy no question about it. Planes coming and going weren't as big a deal, not as noisy.

    So all in all, I would say this property has some issues, particularly for families with kids (no beach access, no "water-park" type of pool aside from a small short slide, no other kids activities). But, the rooms are very nice. I think this property is just going to be run more like an apartment complex than a separate resort, with shuttles to take you to the Marriott Kauai Beach Club (but yet even they dont fully welcome Lagoon guests as use of pool/chairs is not permitted).

    We spent much of our time away from the property at different beaches and parks in Poipu, Waimea, Princeville, etc. but it was nice to come back to the quality of rooms here, we just wish the property itself could offer more.

  • Avatar for stevenj122
    By stevenj122 Oct 24, 2011

    Very Luxurious, Wolf Appliances, Brand New! Absolutely Incredible spot.

  • Avatar for sewanl2
    By sewanl2 Updated Oct 23, 2015

    Mosquitos gone wild, helicopters flying over the resort all day long, no beach access, no services, hotel isn't complete wait a year and this resort will be much better. Rooms are nice but that's about it.

  • Avatar for johnh577
    By johnh577 Sep 25, 2011

    Service at this resort is way below Marriott standards. The cost of the units are premium. The service level from the staff is way below Marriott courtyard level.. Not acceptable.

  • Avatar for karenc473
    By karenc473 Updated Sep 26, 2010

    This resort is a beautiful new resort adjacent to the Marriott's Kauai Beach Club resort & hotel. They also offer complimentary shuttle service from the airport. The famous Duke's restaurant on the ocean is also located at the hotel. Escape to the quiet beautiful island! Kauai is the island to go for relaxation!

    KC - Michigan

Back to reviews
Resort review