Marriott's Custom House

Boston, Massachusetts

Back to resort

Timeshare reviews at Marriott's Custom House

Boston, Massachusetts


  • Avatar for ronald118
    By ronald118 Nov 18, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Marriott’s Custom House has been on our radar for 17 years.

    Tis a grand week to visit Boston!

    We have enjoyed 24+ visits to Boston for either holidays or conventions. During recent business, conventions have required stays at conference hotels near Hynes Convention Center.

    We have been Platinum Marriott Elite members for years, and prefer the full service and high-end Marriotts.

    Moreover, we have been timeshare owners for 40 years, and we have purchased and sold nearly 40 timeshares.

    30 years ago we discovered Marriott Vacation Club though a trade, and we purchased our first Marriott Vacation Villa at Palm Beach’s Ocean Pointe while the development was under construction.

    Today we own seven Marriott Vacation Villas in Palm Beach and in Hilton Head Island. All of our properties are two Bedroom/two BR, and all properties are deeded Atlantic Beach Marriott Vacation Villas. We do own two ski non-Marriotts in Breckenridge, CO, and Canaan Valley, WV, and we own a neat timeshare in the Great Smokies.

    Yes, we have been guests at nearly all U.S. Marriott Vacation Villas and of course find that our Marriott Vacation Villas trade easily when traveling abroad.

    Actually, we were able to confirm a trade into Marriott’s Custom House with several mouse clicks a year in advance by using one of our Atlantic Ocean Marriott’s as a trade.

    Our best advice is to READ many TripAdvisor reviews about Marriott’s Custom House. We garnered valuable information at this site. Whether one is a first time visitor to Boston or a very experienced road warrior, TripAdvisor is a valuable tool.

    If one is flying into Logan, take the Blue Line T inbound. Marriott’s Custom House is only two stops, and allow 30-40 minutes from Logan. The “general” airport shuttle collects people and luggage at Logan’s several terminals, and makes several stops prior to the Logan T.

    Remember to take the inbound T and exit at Aquariumn. We recommend a simple $2.00 T ticket for the T. One may purchase multiday T tickets later. Next exit the T at State Street! Look directly across State Street to SEE the Landmark Marriott Custom House. Walk three minutes, and one shall encounter a wonderful front desk staff.

    We had a high room (1702) with a Boston Harbor view, including Little Italy, The Old State House, Logan, Quincy Market, Long- Wharf. Nevertheless, Marriott’s Custom House has an observation deck for a 360 view. Do visit this deck day and night.

    All Marriott staff are wonderful and approachable. We cite three Marriott professionals as nearly magical: Matt, Karen, and Bonnie. Matt is in charge of customer relations, and he shall greet you at Friday’s wine and cheese evening event. Karen and Bonnie are REAL concierge. That is Karen and Bonnie are not the “fake concierge,” who may call a week in advance and is really a sales person. The Boston Concierge society is one of the best in the nation, and so are Karen and Bonnie.

    We strongly recommend the Saturday morning Welcome to Boston, Beantown Workshop led by Matt and Karen at 9:30AM. No matter if you are from nearby or afar, this is not the standard Marriott “welcome event.”

    Next, at 11:00AM on Saturday, rain, snow, sun, cold, or heat take the 1.5 walking tour with Matt. The North End is very walkable, and walking is better than the T or the trolleys. Matt is an amazing historian, and Matt provides geography lessons that shall serve one well. Want to know where John Kerry’s home is? Ask Matt when touring Beacon Hill.

    Next Matt does an incredible Marriott’s Custom House internal tour at 4:00PM on Saturday. This tour is repeated at 11:00AM on Thursday.

    Karen and Bonnie are mature professionals, who enjoy people, and who enjoy sharing their extensive knowledge with Marriott visitors. Know that one might wait five – ten minutes while Karen and Bonnie assist other guests. Do call from your villa, and your call shall be returned.

    Marriott’s Custom House villas are very expensive, and the current maintenance fee is $1,600.00. That information pleases us as we consider our seven weeks of annual maintenance fees. Marriott’s Custom House also rents or uses Rewards Points. Know that your Villa may rent for $400.00 per night plus about $50.00 in various taxes. Thus, a week’s rent might be in the range of $3,150.00 (give or take.)

    Let’s observe that we were initially disappointed that Marriott’s Custom House villas had only a small fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. We were dismayed with the reports concerning the Marriotts Custom House villas’ breakfast.

    Some linear thinking resulted in remarkable solutions. We always travel with our preferred ground Starbucks coffee, and we like this.

    Second, not once did we ever visit Marriott’s Custom House villas’ breakfast arrangements: why? We already knew that Quincy Market houses an incredible food court (not that we would “dine” there.) One of our favorites is Chowda and CO. (check out the TripAdvisor reviews.) Thus, every evening following dinner, we would stop by Chowda and CO. and order takeaway for the fridge for breakfast the following morning. We favor a real breakfast and not the American continental. Very often we would breakfast on a lobster roll, clam chowder, chili, or lobster pot pie.

    We may or may not take lunch somewhere. However, Karen or Bonnie always made a great seafood or Little Italy dinner reservation for us. We always dine with reservations. Little Italy has an abundance of restaurants, and ask Karen or Bonnie for Little Italy recommendations. We always walked to dinner.

    We have traded into Marriott’s Manor Club in Williamburg, VA. for years. We prefer Williamsburg during the decorated Christmas season. Marriott’s Manor Club offers 1200 – 1400 square feet of colonial decorated villas.

    Marriott’s Custom House offers 450 – 600 square feet of colonial decorated villas. Both colonial properties are pure refinement and elegance!

    Boston is a city of the arts and sports, and we have experience with these aspects. Marriott’s Custom House Resort Activities are the penultimate for adults. Very often, our Atlantic Ocean Marriotts are overwhelmed with children’s activities and offer the adults very little, and we are fine with this.

    We like that Marriott’s Custom House does not have a pool and is not overrun by young parents and children; well, been there, done that.

    Marriott’s Custom House offers adults very special amenities: we like the fitness center, we like the observation area, we like the Counting Room bar, we like the movie theater, we like the informal wine and cheese, and we especially like the 8:00PM live entertainment featuring various musical genres. We like the limited daily maid service.

    Marriott’s Custom House achieves perfection in our view, and we shall return for business or holiday.

  • Avatar for nancy1836
    By nancy1836 Mar 9, 2014
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We stayed for 6 nights over Christmas, 2013. Loved it. Conveniently close to a lot of restaurants and to Whole Foods. One downside: they really don't expect you to eat in the unit a lot. So the kitchen is miniscule, if not smaller. And there are only enough dishes and utensils for one day. So if 4 people are staying, you will be washing dishes a lot or hiring the staff to do it for you. But, other than that, we had a great time. We exchanged in through II. We live in Maine and usually cannot afford to stay more than two nights in Boston. The Custom House gave us the opportunity to stay for a week.

  • Avatar for kathleens366
    By kathleens366 Oct 31, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Wonderful location and lots of " personality". Perfect place to stay in Boston to walk everywhere or take public transportation via subway, train or boat.

  • Avatar for josephd78
    By josephd78 May 15, 2013
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    Great place in middle of a lot of attractions great staff very helpful

  • Avatar for jeanner44
    By jeanner44 Apr 11, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    My wife and I used some of our vacation club points and spent two nights there. What a beautiful hotel! Our room was on the 6th floor. We stayed there on a Sunday and Monday night. We did not hear any noise from the street as some reviewers have reported, but since these are not big partying nights that may be partially the reason.

    This hotel is perfectly located. The Aquarium entrance to the T is across the street and Fanueil Hall and Quincy Market are about a half a block away. We did eat the continental breakfast the hotel provides. Coffee & tea are free and you pay a few dollars for the fruit, danish, bagels, cereal, waffles, yogurt, etc. We spent a total of $6 for breakfast the first day and $9 the second. Best breakfast deal in town. There is so much to do and see that we will have to return. We are looking forward to staying at the Custom House again.

  • Avatar for deborahe23
    By deborahe23 Jan 10, 2012
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We stayed here for a week about two years ago. It was in the early spring. We had such a wonderful time. It is one block away from the T, so you can go anywhere. The staff at the resort were wonderful. They had several very enjoyable no-cost evenings-one night with a singer, another with a story teller. I would highly recommend staying here if you can get a room. It's pretty popular.

  • Avatar for gl55
    By gl55 Updated Jul 30, 2010
    This review has multiple ratings
    • Overall Rating
    • Resort Location
    • Staff/Service
    • Cleanliness
    • Sleep Comfort

    We rented a week from an owner here. Had a great room on the 16th floor overlooking the harbor and Aquarium. We landed at Logan, took the shuttle bus to the MBTA Airport stop and bought 7 day unlimited ride passes for $15 each. Two stops on the inbound T and exit at the Aquarium stop. Go in the opposite direction of the Aquarium to exit on State Street at the hotel front entrance. We bought some essentials at the grocery store across the street and were ready to go.

    We had 2 day trips planned to Cape Cod and Portland Maine and rented a car from Enterprise at One Congress Street which is about a 4 block walk or you can take the T to the Haymarket stop and it is only half a block from there. To avoid the $38 a day parking fee at the hotel, I had made 2 one-day reservations with Enterprise but they consolidated it into one reservation and told me to park the car overnight in their garage and they validated my parking the next day. Great folks to deal with in that office.

    Marriotts Custom House is as everyone has described. We had an air conditioning malfunction and they moved us over night to another room until the HVAC technician could come the next day. Gave us chocolates and a bottle of champagne for our inconvenience.

    A week was not enough to see everything we wanted and we look forward to returning to the Custom House again.

  • Avatar for dennish144
    By dennish144 Jan 1, 2010

    "A great experience" - We traded initially to stay at this property and we then bought a timeshare week that year. We have now been to Custom House three years in a row and are still enjoying it. There seems to be an endless list of interesting and historic educational sites in the area with easy access by public transportation. I can't think of any other vacation site with so much to see and do. Further, this historic facility provides deluxe accommodations and is staffed with very helpful and friendly personnel. Don't miss the opportunity to experience Boston from the center, the Custom House.

  • Avatar for chriskre
    By chriskre Jun 16, 2009

    Wow, now this is a great place to stay. Just got back from my visit to Custom House.

    I used my Marriott rewards points to stay here for a few days and I'm glad I did. Like everyone else says ditch the rental car because at $38 a night you will resent it and honestly you don't need a car if you stay here.

    You are literally steps to the subway and the Trolley stops. There is a 24 hour convenience store about 50 feet from the resort. There is a nice Irish Pub (Black Rose) right outside the door and of course you can walk just 1/2 block to Quincy Market where you can eat tons of great local cheap eats.

    So if you are hesitating on whether to stay here or not, I recommend you go for it. You won't regret it. The staff is super super friendly and the timeshare salesman Tim is also very low key and polite. They do a free wine & cheese mixer on Saturday to of course introduce you to the timeshare process but it was pleasant and got me a few points for my Marriott rewards account.

    They do have a very small bar with a nice female bartender. She mixes nice drinks. The valet staff are great and attentive. The resort does have a small gym and a game room with a pool table, air hockey and some games and books. The top floor is an observation deck where you can see fabulous views of Boston and the Harbor. Take your camera for great shots.

    The rooms are very pleasant and decorated in elegant furnishings. The rooms facing Quincy Market & the Irish Pub get very loud at night because this is afterall a college party town so if you take a room facing this area make sure it is a very high floor as you can hear the cops and noise for the first 10 floors. I stayed on the 1st floor but the room has been soundproofed so it wasn't so bad.

    There is no pool on site but they will give you a pass to the Marriott on Long Wharf. The trolley stops are very close by and there is a great concierge at the resort to help with all the details.

    The resort has a laundry area with 3 washers and dryers.

    The kitchens are really a wet bar. You can't do any cooking here but who cares because great restaurants abound in the area.

    This place makes a great exchange if you can get it. I had a great time and you will too.

  • Avatar for donm115
    By donm115 Dec 27, 2008

    My wife and I have stayed in a number of Marriott properties across the United States and Europe and the Boston Custom House ranks right up there with the best. You can't beat the location; right downtown, a few steps from the T blue line and central for all your walking excursions. Boston Common, Newbury Street and all the other highlights are a short walk away. Parking is very expensive so leave your car behind. You can walk to a grocery store about 15 minutes away and save the cost of the continental breakfast they serve every morning. The front counter staff are very friendly and helpful and the sales staff don't hound you to attend a "promotional" seminar.

  • Avatar for joolvera
    By joolvera Updated Feb 8, 2008

    This is the ONLY way to see Boston. Steps away from all the historical sites, Cheers, Fanuiel Hall, Quincy Market, and the Old State House. You can catch a train from the airport that delivers you right across the street from the Custom House. Staff is exceptionally friendly. Leave your car at home and walk all over Boston. We had a room with a wonderful view. We want to go again on the 4th of July when all of Boston is ablaze in red, white, and blue!

  • Avatar for judya48
    By judya48 Nov 13, 2007

    Exceptional location near Fanuel Hall/Market Place and within walking distance to the Italian North End. Downtown construction is complete and the city is now wonderfully walkable and the automobile congestion is no longer visible. The resort is in a restored historical building. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Parking is expensive $35 daily.

  • Avatar for katherine130
    By katherine130 Mar 1, 2007

    I'm staying at the Custom House right now on an exchange. I have LOTS of timeshare exchange experience over 20 years. This is probably the highest end lodging you could imagine--really top shelf.

  • Avatar for luvack2
    By luvack2 Jan 7, 2007

    We just rented from an owner for First Night. The location is perfect - 50 ft. f rom the Blue line Aquarium stop. Qunicy Market and Fanneul Hall are out the door. The view from the 11th floor was stunning. Very attentive staff though the front desk personnel was not as knowledgeable about First Night info. Very clean. Small, slow elevators so check-in and getting to your unit can be slow. We left the car at the beginning of the Green Line and took the T. Parking was $4/day as opposed to $25-$30. Would definitely recommend the Custom House to all.

  • Avatar for kathi32
    By kathi32 Updated Mar 5, 2006

    We traded one of our Barony Beach weeks and stayed in July. This is not a typical Marriott Resort, nor did we expect it to be.

    The reception desk/concierge was friendly and helpful. The units are one bedroom, 1.5 bath, with a King bed in the bedroom, and a Queen sleeper sofa in the living room. There is a microwave, a bar sized refrigerator and a sink in the living room, plus the sofabed, two easy chairs and a small dining table with four chairs.

    We found an ice bucket, various types of glasses, and a few plates, but this resort is not meant for cooking. The unit is small, but it worked for the two of us and our adult daughter.

    The best part is the ideal location and the view. We were on a high floor and had a view over Boston Harbor and down into Quincy Market. It was easy to walk to many of the sites in Boston, and a "T" station was not too far away. Wonderful restaurants were close by; the Custon House does have a bar, but nowhere to eat.

    The only downside we could find (and it was a problem for us since we drove to Boston from North Carolina) was finding a place to park. You can park at the Custom House to check in, or visitors can stop for a few minutes to pick someone up, but there is no parking at the Custom House at all, not even paid valet parking. My husband located pay parking, which was not particularly convenient and was very, very expensive. Best suggestion - if you plan to stay at the Custom House, don't drive into Boston!

    I also noticed this facility is advertised as having an obsevation deck, a play area and a game room. During the week we were there, I think we were everywhere in the building, and I did not see anything I would call a play room or play area. On the top floor, there were a couple of pinball type electronic games. However, this facility is not a resort I would bring young children too - it is not oriented for them. The observation deck is very tiny but has fabulous views over Boston. There is no pool or hot tub on site either, unless they added them somewhere since we stayed. However the reception desk told us at checkin they offer passes to a health club nearby - perhaps where the exercise facility and pool are located.

  • Avatar for james528
    By james528 Mar 23, 2005

    Best location and excellent facilities. We have stayed there 4 times and no complaints. If you can, leave your car at home or do as we do, take it back to the rental agency and take the T for the rest of your stay.

  • Avatar for 124peter
    By 124peter Jan 15, 2005

    The location is excellent

    Small units....

  • Avatar for alldolledup
    By alldolledup Aug 28, 2003

    My husband and I sepent a week at the Custom House. We just had such a great time! Right in the middle of everything. Park your car outside Boston and use public transportation. Great view and Great activities. The staff mad our stay wonderful.

  • Avatar for pwrshift
    By pwrshift Dec 22, 2002

    Beautiful place in a historic building that Marriott purchased for back taxes, and restored into a timeshare. Only one bedrooms with just a small kitchenette, but in a terrific location for shopping and restaurants. Parking expensive. Daily maid service when I was there on a $199 getaway week with II.

Back to reviews
Resort review